DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/26/24 9/18/24, and 9/16/25 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/26/24. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213071251 U (CN’251) in view of US 20160240892 (US’892).
As to Claim 1:
CN’251 discloses a battery core module (discloses an “electric core with buffer damping mechanism”), comprising: a battery unit including a battery body (electric core body 1), a first electrode (first tab 5), a second electrode (second tab 6) and a thermal cut-off (TCO element 4); wherein the battery body has an end portion, wherein the first electrode, the second electrode and the thermal cut-off are disposed at the end portion (the first tab 5, the second tab 6, and the TCO element 4 are all located at and extend out from the end part of the electric core main body 1); wherein the thermal cut-off is connected to the first electrode (the TCO element 4 is electrically connected in series between the first pole ear/tab 5 and a pole piece of the electric core main body); and an anti-collision structure including a first sheet and a second sheet (the buffer damping mechanism comprises at least two buffer damping sheets, including a first buffer damping sheet 2 and a second buffer damping sheet 3); and wherein the first sheet and the second sheet are coupled to each other (the first buffer damping sheet and the second buffer damping sheet are fixedly assembled on the end part) (CN’251 Pg. 1-4).
However, CN’251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet, as its damping sheets are only described as being arranged locally below and above the TCO element and the root part of the first tab (CN’251 Pg. 4).
US’892 discloses a multi-shell protection module case comprising an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair) configured to form an internal space that encloses, clamps, and protects both electrode terminals 110, 120 and the active safety components exiting a battery cell head margin (US’892 [0014], [0031], [0036], [0060]-[0061], [0067], [0069]-[0071]).
The primary reference CN’251 and the secondary reference US’892 are analogous arts because both belong to the same technical field of secondary battery structural design and both address the identical field of endeavor and problem of mechanically isolating, shielding, and safeguarding the extending terminal leads and safety components at the top end margin of a battery cell assembly against external physical impact damage (CN’251 Pg. 1-2; US’892 [0009]-[0010], [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN’251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component between the first sheet and the second sheet, as taught by the comprehensive component head shielding of US’892, in order to provide uniform mechanical isolation, balanced structural protection, and anti-collision cushioning symmetrically across all extending electrical outputs of the terminal end group (CN’251 Pg. 1-4; US’892 [0014], [0036], [0060]-[0061], [0067], [0069]-[0071]).
As to Claim 2:
See the rejection of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends; CN’251 discloses a battery core module according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first sheet and the second sheet has a bent portion to form an accommodation space, and the thermal cut-off is located within the accommodation space (teaches that the buffer damping mechanism may comprise a lower buffering damping half-wrapping sheet and an upper buffering damping half-wrapping sheet where two ends of each are formed with curved, arc-shaped wrapping edges to create a semi-enclosed wrapping structure surrounding and forming an accommodation area around the TCO element 4) (CN’251 Pg. 2, 4-5).
However, CN’251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet forming said accommodation space, as its damping half-wrapping sheets are only described as being arranged locally to encapsulate the TCO element and a root part of the first tab (CN’251 Pg. 4).
US’892 discloses separate housing shell panels, including an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair), that are configured to couple together to form an internal hollow accommodation space designed to fully enclose, clamp, and protect both electrode terminals 110, 120 and the active safety components exiting a battery cell head margin (US’892 [0014], [0031], [0036], [0060]-[0061], [0064]-[0067], [0069]-[0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN’251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component within the accommodation space formed between the first sheet and the second sheet, as taught by the comprehensive component head shielding of US’892, in order to provide uniform mechanical isolation, balanced structural protection, and anti-collision cushioning symmetrically across all extending electrical outputs of the terminal end group (CN’251 Pg. 2-5; US’892 [0014], [0036], [0060]-[0061], [0064]-[0067], [0069]-[0071]).
As to Claim 3:
See the rejection of claim 1, from which claim 3 depends; CN'251 discloses a battery core module according to claim 1, wherein the first sheet and the second sheet are included in a buffer damping structure (teaches that the buffer damping mechanism comprises at least two buffer damping sheets, including a first buffer damping sheet 2 and a second buffer damping sheet 3, to protect the internal components) (CN’251 Pg. 1-4).
However, CN'251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet, nor does it explicitly disclose that the first sheet and the second sheet include an insulating material (CN’251 Pg. 3-4).
US'892 discloses separate housing shell panels, including an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair), that are configured to couple together to enclose both electrode terminals 110, 120 and the safety components, wherein the case parts explicitly include and are formed of an electrically insulative material to protect the components (US’892 [0014], [0036], [0041], [0059]-[0060], [0064], [0067], [0069]-[0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN'251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component between the first sheet and the second sheet, and further to form the first sheet and the second sheet out of an insulating material as taught by US'892, in order to provide uniform mechanical isolation, electrical insulation, and anti-collision cushioning symmetrically across all extending electrical outputs of the terminal end group while preventing electrical short circuits (CN’251 Pg. 1-4; US'892 [0004], [0006], [0009]-[0010], [0036], [0041], [0059]-[0060], [0064], [0067], [0069]-[0071]).
As to Claim 4:
See the rejection of claim 1, from which claim 4 depends; CN'251 discloses a battery core module according to claim 1, including a protective structure comprising a first sheet and a second sheet coupled to each other (teaches that the buffer damping mechanism comprises at least two buffer damping sheets, including a first buffer damping sheet 2 and a second buffer damping sheet 3, which are fixedly assembled together) (CN’251 Pg. 1-4).
However, CN'251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet, nor does it disclose that one of the first sheet and the second sheet has at least one clamping hole, the other of the first sheet and the second sheet has at least one clamping pillar, and the at least one clamping pillar penetrates the at least one clamping hole (CN’251 Pg. 3-4).
US'892 discloses a multi-shell protection case comprising separate casing elements, including an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair) designed to enclose the components, wherein one of the case sheets (the lower case 320) has at least one clamping pillar (fastening protrusion 323) and the other of the case sheets (the upper case 310) has at least one clamping hole (fastening groove/recess 313), and the at least one clamping pillar penetrates the at least one clamping hole to assemble and join the parts together (US’892 [0014]-[0015], [0032], [0064]-[0067]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN'251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component between the first sheet and the second sheet, and further to incorporate the structural interlocking pillar and hole interlocking fastening profiles of US'892 on the first and second sheets, in order to provide uniform mechanical isolation and anti-collision cushioning symmetrically across all extending electrical leads of the terminal end group while establishing a secure, toolless mechanical snap-fit closure that simplifies manual core assembly (CN’251 Pg. 1-4; US'892 [0008]-[0010], [0014]-[0015], [0032], [0036], [0064]-[0067]).
As to Claim 5:
See the rejection of claim 1, from which claim 5 depends; CN'251 discloses a battery core module according to claim 1, wherein the first electrode includes a first conductive element and a second conductive element (teaches that the first electrode consists of an internal tab connecting piece 7 and an external first tab 5); the first conductive element is connected between one end of the thermal cut-off and the battery body (teaches that the tab connecting piece 7 is connected between an electrical pole piece of the core main body and a first end of the TCO element 4); the second conductive element is connected to the other end of the thermal cut-off (teaches that the first tab 5 is connected to the opposite second end of the TCO element 4); and a part of the first conductive element and a part of the second conductive element are installed between the first sheet and the second sheet (teaches that parts of both the tab connecting piece 7 and the first tab 5 are installed together between the protective buffer damping sheets) (CN’251 Pg. 3-4).
However, CN'251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet, as its damping sheets are only described as being arranged locally to cover the TCO element and the root part of the first tab (CN’251 Pg. 3-4).
US'892 discloses a multi-shell protection module case comprising an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair) configured to form an internal space that encloses, clamps, and protects both electrode terminals 110, 120 and the active safety components exiting a battery cell head margin (US’892 [0014], [0036], [0059]-[0061], [0064], [0067], [0069]-[0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN'251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component between the first sheet and the second sheet, as taught by the comprehensive component head shielding of US'892, in order to provide uniform mechanical isolation, balanced structural protection, and anti-collision cushioning symmetrically across all extending electrical outputs of the terminal end group (CN’251 Pg. 1-4; US'892 [0014], [0036], [0059]-[0061], [0064], [0067], [0069]-[0071]).
As to Claim 10:
See the rejection of claim 1, from which claim 10 depends; CN'251 discloses the battery core module according to claim 1, including an anti-collision structure including a first sheet and a second sheet coupled to each other (teaches that the buffer damping mechanism comprises at least two buffer damping sheets, including a first buffer damping sheet 2 and a second buffer damping sheet 3, which are fixedly assembled together) (CN’251 Pg. 1-4).
However, CN'251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet, nor does it explicitly disclose that the first sheet and the second sheet are coupled to each other by being clamped and fixed to each other (CN’251 Pg. 3-4).
US'892 discloses a multi-shell protection module case comprising separate casing elements, including an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair) designed to enclose the components, wherein the first sheet and the second sheet are coupled to each other by being clamped and fixed to each other (teaches that the first shell layer and the second shell layer are securely combined and assembled through an integrated mechanical fastening design where the pieces snap together using interlocking male fastening protrusions 323 and female grooves 313 to clamp and fix the module panels to one another) (US’892 [0014]-[0015], [0032], [0036], [0064]-[0067]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN'251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component between the first sheet and the second sheet, and further to couple the first sheet and the second sheet to each other by being clamped and fixed to each other as taught by the snap-fit mechanical interlocking profiles of US'892, in order to provide uniform mechanical isolation and anti-collision cushioning symmetrically across all extending electrical leads of the terminal end group while establishing a secure, toolless mechanical closure that simplifies manual core assembly (CN’251 Pg. 1-4; US'892 [0014]-[0015], [0032], [0036], [0064]-[0067]).
As to Claim 11:
See the rejection of claim 4, from which claim 11 depends; CN'251 discloses a battery core module according to claim 4, including a protective structure comprising a first sheet and a second sheet coupled to each other (teaches that the buffer damping mechanism comprises at least two buffer damping sheets, including a first buffer damping sheet 2 and a second buffer damping sheet 3, which are fixedly assembled together) (CN’251 Pg. 1-4).
However, CN'251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet, nor does it disclose that the at least one clamping pillar is clamped and fixed to the at least one clamping hole (CN’251 Pg. 3-4).
US'892 discloses a multi-shell protection case comprising separate casing elements, including an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair) designed to enclose the components, wherein the clamping pillar (fastening protrusion 323) is clamped and fixed to the at least one clamping hole (inserted into, caught on, and flexibly locked by the corresponding structural fastening groove/recess 313) to retain the shell panels securely fixed together (US’892 [0014]-[0015], [0032], [0064]-[0067]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN'251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component between the first sheet and the second sheet, and further to configure the clamping pillar to be clamped and fixed to the at least one clamping hole as taught by the snap-fit mechanical interlocking profiles of US'892, in order to provide uniform mechanical isolation and anti-collision cushioning symmetrically across all extending electrical leads of the terminal end group while establishing a secure, toolless mechanical closure that prevents structural separation under external load (CN’251 Pg. 1-4; US'892 [0008]-[0010], [0014]-[0015], [0032], [0036], [0064]-[0067]).
As to Claim 12:
See the rejection of claim 1, from which claim 12 depends; CN'251 discloses a battery core module according to claim 1, including an anti-collision structure comprising a first sheet and a second sheet coupled to each other (teaches that the buffer damping mechanism comprises at least two buffer damping sheets, including a first buffer damping sheet 2 and a second buffer damping sheet 3, which are fixedly assembled together on the end part) (CN'251 Pg. 1-4).
However, CN'251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet, nor does it disclose that a gap is disposed between the first sheet and the second sheet, as its damping sheets are described as being in close contact and adhered around the TCO element and the root part of the first tab (CN'251 (Pg. 3-4).
US'892 discloses a multi-shell protection module case comprising separate casing elements, including an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair) designed to enclose the components, wherein a gap is disposed between the first sheet and the second sheet (teaches that an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 couple to define an internal space or structural clearance gap between the parts to receive and accommodate a protection circuit board 200, electrode terminals, and safety elements) (US'892 [0014], [0036], [0059]-[0064], [0067], [0069]-[0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN'251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component between the first sheet and the second sheet as taught by the comprehensive component head shielding of US'892, and further to maintain a structural gap between the inner surfaces of the first sheet and the second sheet as taught by the case receiving space of US'892, in order to provide uniform mechanical isolation and anti-collision cushioning symmetrically across all extending electrical leads of the terminal end group while ensuring a designated internal clearance zone that avoids mechanical crushing or excessive localized compression on the enclosed safety elements during module assembly (CN'251 Pg. 1-4; US'892 [0014], [0036], [0059]-[0064], [0067], [0069]-[0071]).
As to Claim 14:
See the rejection of claim 1, from which claim 14 depends; CN'251 discloses a battery core module according to claim 1, including an anti-collision structure comprising a first sheet and a second sheet coupled to each other (teaches that the buffer damping mechanism comprises at least two buffer damping sheets, including a first buffer damping sheet 2 and a second buffer damping sheet 3, which are fixedly assembled together) (CN'251 Pg. 1-4).
However, CN'251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet, nor does it disclose that a thickness of the first sheet is different from a thickness of the second sheet, as its damping layers are treated as structurally symmetrical, uniform components (CN'251 Pg. 3-5).
US'892 discloses a multi-shell protection module case comprising separate casing elements, including an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair) configured to create an internal space that encloses, clamps, and protects both electrode terminals 110, 120 and the safety components exiting a battery cell head margin. US'892 [0014], [0036], [0059]-[0064], [0067], [0069]-[0071]. US'892 further teaches that the separate components of the assembly case vary in size and height depending on the layout parameters of the parts they receive (US'892 [0060]-[0061], [0073]-[0074]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN'251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component between the first sheet and the second sheet as taught by the comprehensive component head shielding of US'892, and further to form the first sheet and the second sheet with different thicknesses based on the multi-shell design teachings of US'892, in order to provide uniform anti-collision cushioning symmetrically across all extending electrical outputs of the terminal end group while dynamically adjusting individual sheet thickness parameters to minimize package volume over crowded terminal zones while reinforcing rigid impact defense over exposed exterior boundaries (CN'251 Pg. 1-4; US'892 [0014], [0036], [0059]-[0064], [0067], [0069]-[0074].
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213071251 U (CN’251) in view of US 20160240892 (US’892), as applied to Claim 5 above, and further in view of US 20080070067 A1 (US'067).
As to Claim 6:
See the rejection of claim 5, from which claim 6 depends; CN'251 discloses a battery core module according to claim 5, including a battery body, a first sheet, a second sheet, and a first conductive element (tab connecting piece 7) connected between one end of the thermal cut-off (TCO element 4) and the battery body, where a part of the first conductive element is installed between the first sheet 2 and the second sheet 3 (CN’251 Pg. 3-4).
However, CN'251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet, nor does it disclose that the first conductive element is bent and extends onto the first sheet or the second sheet, as its conductive tab sheets are illustrated along straight routing lines between the damping layers (CN’251 Pg. 3-4).
US'892 discloses a multi-shell protection module case comprising separate casing elements, including an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair) configured to create an internal space that encloses, clamps, and protects both electrode terminals 110, 120 and the safety components exiting a battery cell head margin (US’892 [0014], [0036], [0059]-[0061], [0064], [0067], [0069]-[0071]). US'067 discloses an integrated terminal safety component sub-assembly connected to an electrode lead terminal of a pouch cell, wherein the electrode lead terminal connected to the safety component is explicitly bent downward and rotated 180 degrees so that it conforms flat and extends directly onto the outer surface profile of the assembly (US’067 Abstract, [0016]-[0019], [0035], [0055]-[0057], [0060]-[0063]).
The primary reference CN'251 and the secondary references US'892 and US'067 are analogous arts because all belong to the same technical field of secondary battery structural pack layout design, and all address the identical field of endeavor and problem of mechanically isolating, configuring, and shielding extending conductive terminals and thermal protection links at a terminal margin of a battery cell package to prevent internal short circuits and resist external impact forces (CN’251 Pg. 1-2; US'892 [0001], [0009]-[0010], [0036]; US'067 [0001], [0014]-[0019], [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN'251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component between the first sheet and the second sheet as taught by the comprehensive component head shielding of US'892, and further to bend the tab connecting piece 7 (first conductive element) such that it exits from between the sheets and extends flat onto the outer face of the first sheet or the second sheet as taught by the space-saving folding methods of US'067, in order to drastically minimize the physical spatial footprint of the cell head and provide a highly compact, thin-profile integrated battery core assembly (CN’251 Pg. 1-4; US'892 Abstract, [0014], [0036], [0059]-[0061], [0064], [0067], [0069]-[0071]; US'067 Abstract, [0016]-[0019], [0035], [0055]-[0057], [0060]-[0063]).
As to Claim 8:
See the rejection of claim 5, from which claim 8 depends; CN'251 discloses a battery core module according to claim 5, including a battery body, a first sheet, a second sheet, and a first conductive element (tab connecting piece 7) connected between one end of the thermal cut-off (TCO element 4) and the battery body, where a part of the first conductive element is installed between the first sheet 2 and the second sheet 3 (CN’251 Pg. 3-4).
However, CN'251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet, nor does it disclose that the first conductive element is bent to extend onto the first sheet based on a side surface of the first sheet, as its conductive tab sheets are illustrated along straight routing lines between the damping layers (CN’251 Pg. 3-4).
US'892 discloses a multi-shell protection module case comprising separate casing elements, including an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair) configured to create an internal space that encloses, clamps, and protects both electrode terminals 110, 120 and the safety components exiting a battery cell head margin (US’892 [0014], [0036], [0059]-[0061], [0064], [0067], [0069]-[0071]). US'067 discloses an integrated terminal safety component sub-assembly connected to an electrode lead terminal of a pouch cell, wherein the electrode lead terminal connected to the safety component is explicitly folded downward, wrapping around the end edge boundary (side surface) of the cell sealing part to make tight contact with and extend flat directly onto the outer surface profile of the assembly (US’067 Abstract, [0016]-[0019], [0035], [0055]-[0057], [0060]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN'251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component between the first sheet and the second sheet as taught by the comprehensive component head shielding of US'892, and further to bend the tab connecting piece 7 (first conductive element) around the side surface or edge of the first protective sheet layer so that it extends across its outer face as taught by the space-saving folding methods of US'067, in order to form a tight, profile-conforming layout that minimizes the physical spatial footprint of the cell head and provides a highly compact, thin-profile integrated battery core assembly (CN’251 Pg. 1-4; US'892 Abstract, [0014], [0036], [0059]-[0061], [0064], [0067], [0069]-[0071]; US'067 Abstract, [0016]-[0019], [0035], [0055]-[0057], [0060]-[0063]).
Claims 7, 9, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 213071251 U (CN’251) in view of US 20160240892 (US’892), as applied to Claim 5 above, and further in view of US 20150118541 A1 (US’541).
As to Claim 7:
See the rejection of claim 1, from which claim 7 depends; CN'251 discloses a battery core module according to claim 1, including a protective structure comprising a first sheet and a second sheet coupled to each other (teaches that the buffer damping mechanism comprises at least two buffer damping sheets, including a first buffer damping sheet 2 and a second buffer damping sheet 3, which are fixedly assembled together) (CN’251 Pg. 1-4).
However, CN'251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet, nor does it disclose that the first sheet includes Thermoplastic Polyurethane (TPU), as its damping sheets are only described as being made of a generalized soft material layer (CN’251 Pg. 3-4).
US'892 discloses a multi-shell protection module case comprising separate casing elements, including an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair) configured to create an internal space that encloses, clamps, and protects both electrode terminals 110, 120 and the safety components exiting a battery cell head margin (US’892 [0014], [0036], [0060]-[0061], [0064], [0067], [0069]-[0071]). US'541 discloses a battery module configuration utilizing structural components and perimeter fixing members configured to clamp and protect components, wherein each of the fixing members is explicitly made of an elastic polymer material, specifically identifying Thermoplastic Polyurethane (TPU) or silicone (US’541 [0012]-[0015], [0028], [0055]).
The primary reference CN'251 and the secondary references US'892 and US'541 are analogous arts because all belong to the same technical field of secondary battery structural design and module packaging layout, and all address the identical field of endeavor and problem of providing mechanical isolation, shielding, shock-absorption, and cushioning materials at a structural margin of a battery module assembly to resist external physical impact forces without damaging electrical leads (CN’251 Pg. 1-2; US'892 [0001], [0009]-[0010], [0036]; US'541 [0001], [0005]-[0011], [0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN'251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component between the first sheet and the second sheet as taught by the comprehensive component head shielding of US'892, and further to form the first sheet out of Thermoplastic Polyurethane (TPU) as taught by the elastic component material selections of US'541, in order to provide uniform anti-collision cushioning symmetrically across all extending electrical outputs of the terminal end group while utilizing the robust, well-known flexible elasticity of TPU to absorb external impacts and buffer internal cell layers from structural stress (CN’251 Pg. 1-4; US'892 Abstract, [0014], [0036], [0060]-[0061], [0064], [0067], [0069]-[0071]; US'541 [0005]-[0011], [0028]).
As to Claim 9:
See the rejection of claim 4, from which claim 9 depends; CN'251 discloses a battery core module according to claim 4, including a protective structure comprising a first sheet and a second sheet coupled to each other (teaches that the buffer damping mechanism comprises at least two buffer damping sheets, including a first buffer damping sheet 2 and a second buffer damping sheet 3, which are fixedly assembled together) (CN’251 Pg. 1-4).
However, CN'251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet, nor does it disclose that a front end of the at least one clamping pillar has an inclined shape (CN’251 Pg. 3-4).
US'892 discloses a multi-shell protection case comprising separate casing elements, including an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair) designed to enclose the components, wherein one of the case sheets (the lower case 320) has at least one clamping pillar (fastening protrusion 323) and the other of the case sheets (the upper case 310) has at least one clamping hole (fastening groove/recess 313), and the at least one clamping pillar penetrates the at least one clamping hole to assemble and join the parts together (US’892 [0014]-[0015], [0032], [0064]-[0067]). US'541 discloses a battery module configuration utilizing structural sheet components and matching perimeter fixing members configured to clamp and protect components, wherein the separate fastening elements or pillars of the assembly coupling structure are designed such that a front end of each clamping pillar explicitly has an inclined shape (teaches a fastening member that is formed in a wedge shape protruding from the fixing member and comprises a hook tapered outwardly at its upper end) (US’541 [0023]-[0025], [0055]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN'251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component between the first sheet and the second sheet as taught by the comprehensive component head shielding of US'892, and further to form the front end of the clamping pillar with an inclined shape as taught by the wedge-shaped and tapered hook profiles of US'541, in order to provide uniform mechanical isolation and anti-collision cushioning symmetrically across all extending electrical leads of the terminal end group while allowing the clamping pillars to guide smoothly into the receiving clamping holes during compression to provide an effortless, secure mechanical snap-fit manual engagement (CN’251 Pg. 1-4; US'892 [0014]-[0015], [0032], [0036], [0064]-[0067]; US'541 [0023]-[0025], [0055]-[0066]).
As to Claim 13:
See the rejection of claim 4, from which claim 13 depends; CN'251 discloses a battery core module according to claim 4, including a protective structure comprising a first sheet and a second sheet coupled to each other (teaches that the buffer damping mechanism comprises at least two buffer damping sheets, including a first buffer damping sheet 2 and a second buffer damping sheet 3, which are fixedly assembled together) (CN’251 Pg. 1-4).
However, CN'251 does not explicitly disclose that a part of the second electrode is installed between the first sheet and the second sheet, nor does it disclose that a maximum width of the at least one clamping pillar is greater than a maximum width of the at least one clamping hole (CN’251 Pg. 3-4).
US'892 discloses a multi-shell protection case comprising separate casing elements, including an upper case 310 and a lower case 320 (a structural first sheet and second sheet pair) designed to enclose the components, wherein one of the case sheets (the lower case 320) has at least one clamping pillar (fastening protrusion 323) and the other of the case sheets (the upper case 310) has at least one clamping hole (fastening groove/recess 313), and the at least one clamping pillar penetrates the at least one clamping hole to assemble and join the parts together (US’892 [0014]-[0015], [0032], [0064]-[0067]). US'541 discloses a battery module configuration utilizing structural sheet components and matching perimeter fixing members configured to clamp and protect components, wherein one part has an interlocking protrusion and the other has a matching recess, and a maximum width of the at least one clamping pillar is greater than a maximum width of the at least one clamping hole (teaches a fastening member engineered to enter an opening where the fastening member is formed in a wedge shape protruding outward and comprises a hook tapered outwardly, such that the hook expands out to lock against backward movement once it passes completely through the opening of the fastening groove) (US’541 [0023]-[0025], [0056]-[0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the localized buffer damping sheets of CN'251 by expanding their lateral coverage to enclose a portion of the adjacent second electrode tab alongside the first tab and the thermal cut-off component between the first sheet and the second sheet as taught by the comprehensive component head shielding of US'892, and further to size the clamping pillars and clamping holes such that the maximum width of the at least one clamping pillar is greater than the maximum width of the at least one clamping hole as taught by the locking hook and opening configurations of US'541, in order to provide uniform mechanical isolation and anti-collision cushioning symmetrically across all extending electrical leads of the terminal end group while ensuring an interference fit that catches and securely locks the sheets together to prevent backward movement or accidental disassembly after compression (CN’251 Pg. 1-4; US'892 [0014]-[0015], [0032], [0036], [0064]-[0067]; US'541 [0023]-[0025], [0056]-[0066]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 205406665 U discloses battery core for protection device comprises a protection device for protection of battery failure.
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723