Claims 1-5, 10-11, 13, 16-19, 28, 30-31, 33-34, 36, 40, and 43 are pending in this application.
Applicant’s election of the invention of Group I (claims 1-5, 10-11, 13, 16-18, 30-31, 33-34, 36, and 40) and chlorantraniliprole as the species of ryanodine receptor modulator in the reply filed on 6/4/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Accordingly, claims 19, 28, and 43 are withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-5, 10-11, 13, 16-18, 30-31, 33-34, 36, and 40 will presently be examined to the extent that they read on the elected subject matter, i.e., the invention of Group I, wherein chlorantraniliprole is the species of the ryanodine receptor modulator.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph
claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claim 2, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, it is confusing that “said C6-C10 saturated or unsaturated aliphatic acid additionally comprises” (emphasis added) C4, C5, C11, or C12 acids. By definition C6-C10 acids cannot comprise acids that are not C6 to C10 acids. This feature should be rephrased as the composition additionally comprising other acids.
Claim 10 is similar in that “the C6-C10 … acid comprises a C4-C12 … acid.”
In claim 17, the ratio is recited as between 1.25 and 1.25:1. This is obviously incorrect because those two are the same, i.e., 1.25 is the same as 1.25:1, so the ratio value cannot be “between” identical ratios.
Prior art-based grounds of rejection
35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 30, 31, 33, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 1084020501.
CN 108402050 discloses a synergistic composition that contains chlorantraniliprole and copper octanoate (see abstract; see also paragraphs 5-6 of the of the original document and corresponding translation). Treating plant diseases and insect pests is disclosed (page 1 of translation). Synergism as determined by the Colby formula is disclosed (page 10 of translation; see original document page 10/142). Table 7 in original document paragraphs 143-144 is human-translated and reproduced below:
Table 6: combined effects of chlorantraniliprole and copper octanoate
on tomato late blight pathogen
Concentration
(mg/L)
Observed activity
Expected activity
Chlorantraniliprole
40
4.12
--
100
6.35
--
Copper octanoate
5
30.28
--
10
63.72
--
Chlorantraniliprole + copper octanoate
40+5
45.16
33.15
40+10
78.45
65.21
100+5
51.23
34.71
100+10
86.07
66.02
Based on these results, the synergistic efficacy factor is high, for example about 1.36 at 40:5 ratio of chlorantraniliprole to copper octanoate.
The claims are thereby anticipated.
35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 1-5, 10-11, 13, 16-18, 30-31, 33-34, 36, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/061706.3
WO 2020/061706 discloses a synergistic pesticidal composition comprising a pesticidal active ingredient and a C4-C10 saturated or unsaturated aliphatic acid or an agriculturally compatible salt thereof (K, Na, Ca, Al, ammonium; see claim 11), wherein the ratio of the pesticidal active ingredient and the acid is between about 1:15,000 and 15,000:1 (claim 1), 1:100 to 100:1, 1:10 to 10:1, or 1:2 to 2:1 (claim 13). The pesticidal active ingredient can be selected from ryanodine receptor inhibitors, including chlorantraniliprole (claim 12, see page 167, last line to page 168, line 13). The acid can comprise at least one unsaturated C-C bond, trans or cis, and a plurality of conjugated unsaturated C-C bonds (claims 2-3), such as trans- or cis-hexenoic acid, trans- or cis-heptenoic acid, hepta-dienoic acid, heptynoic acid, trans-or cis-octenoic acid, octadienoic acid, octynoic acid, trans- or cis-nonenoic acid, nonadienoic acid, nonynoic acid, trans- or cis-decenoic acid, decadienoic acid, and decynoic acid (claim 5). The synergistic composition has an FIC index value of less than 1, preferably less than 0.75 or less than 0.5 (claim 6). The composition can comprise at least one of a natural plant extract, natural animal extract, or fractions thereof (claims 7-8). Pesticidally effective concentration of the pesticidal active ingredient and the acid is disclosed (claim 10). See also claims 26-33, 41-45. Synergistic efficacy factor, according to Colby Formula, of at least 1.2, at least 1.5, or at least 2 is disclosed (claims 46-48).
Importantly, WO 2020/061706 teaches that the C4-C10 saturated or unsaturated aliphatic acids “act as cell permeabilizing agents, and when combined with a suitable pesticidal active ingredient, may desirably facilitate the entry of the pesticidal active ingredient into the cell of a target pest or pathogen, thereby desirably providing for a synergistic activity of such a synergistic pesticidal composition” (page 22, lines 20-24). WO 2020/061706 further teaches cell permeabilizing action against insects, fungi, acari, mollusks, bacterial, and nematodes (page 22, line 24 to page 23, line 3), so as to “improve entry of and/or bioavailability or systemic distribution of a pesticidal active ingredient” (page 24, lines 1-7) and “compromise or alter the integrity of the lipid biolayer and protein organization of cellular membranes in target pest organisms (page 24, lines 20-22).
Therefore, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, because every element of the invention and the claimed invention as a whole have been fairly disclosed or suggested by the teachings of the cited reference.
In this regard, specification results with the elected chlorantraniliprole as the pesticidal active ingredient were considered, but they were deemed not sufficient to overcome the obviousness of combining chlorantraniliprole with C6-10 saturated or unsaturated acids. Tables 69A, 69B, 70A, 70B, 71, 72, 73 show improved results with the addition of the acids, but this would have been expected, not unexpected, because WO 2020/061706 not only teaches expectation of synergistic pesticidal activity but WO 2020/061706 teaches why the synergism would have been expected: the acid component would have been expected to facilitate entry of chlorantraniliprole into cells,
intracellular organelles, or intracellular bodies of a target, thereby desirably providing for synergistic activity.
Claim 1-5, 10-11, 13, 16-18, 30-31, 33-34, 36, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/061706 in view of CN 108402050 and Pesticide Manual.
Teachings of both WO 2020/061706 and CN 108402050 were discussed and set forth above, and the discussions there are incorporated herein by reference.
The Pesticide Manual discloses the insecticidal properties of chlorantraniliprole (pages 175-176). Chlorantraniliprole activates the ryanodine receptors, leading to unregulated loss of internal calcium stores (page 176). Uptake is through ingestion and contact (page 176). Control of a wide range of insects in crop plants such as fruits, vegetables, vines, cotton, sugar cane, rice, and grass is disclosed (page 176).
WO 2020/061706 teaches the combination of chlorantraniliprole and the claimed acids. CN 108402050 adds to the teachings of WO 2020/061706 by providing synergistic data for chlorantraniliprole + a C8 saturated salt with high synergistic efficacy factor. The Pesticide Manual further establishes that selection of chlorantraniliprole would have been obvious for control of a wide range of insects in various crop plants.
Therefore, the claimed invention, as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, because every element of the invention and the claimed invention as a whole have been fairly disclosed or suggested by the teachings of the cited references.
In this regard, specification results with the elected chlorantraniliprole as the pesticidal active ingredient were considered, but they were deemed not sufficient to overcome the obviousness of combining chlorantraniliprole with C6-10 saturated or unsaturated acids. Tables 69A, 69B, 70A, 70B, 71, 72, 73 show improved results with the addition of the acids, but this would have been expected, not unexpected, because WO 2020/061706 not only teaches expectation of synergistic pesticidal activity but WO 2020/061706 teaches why the synergism would have been expected: the acid component would have been expected to facilitate entry of chlorantraniliprole into cells,
intracellular organelles, or intracellular bodies of a target, thereby desirably providing for synergistic activity.
For these reasons, all claims must be rejected. No claim is allowed.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's SPE, Fereydoun Sajjadi, can be reached on (571)272-3311. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300.
/JOHN PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699
1 Machine translation is provided. All references are to the machine translation unless otherwise noted.
2 There are several page numbers in the original document. The referenced page number is the one located at the upper right corner of a page.
3 WO 2020/061706 was cited in the IDS of 4/25/2024.