DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 1/29/26 have been fully considered and the rejections withdrawn for all but Claim 16. Accordingly, the rejection to Claim 16 stands. The objection to Claim 16 is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment.
Examiner acknowledges Claim 17 has been added.
The application of 35 U.S.C. section 112(f) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment filed on 1/29/26.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks on Pages 9-13, the amendment and remarks filed on 1/29/26 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for Claim 16. Applicant’s amendments and remarks for the remaining claims have been fully considered and the rejections withdrawn. With regards to Applicant’s remarks directed towards the prior art of record and ‘eye-box’ viewpoints/architecture, Examiner respectfully submits Claims 16 does not recite ‘eye-box’ (See rejection contained herein). Accordingly, the rejections stand for Claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DOORNAERT et al. (Pub. No: US 2023-0375906) in view of BANNO et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020-0269696).
As per Claim 16 DOORNAERT discloses Light-field projector for generating images, comprising (Figs. 1-4 [0013, 0015] [0266] [0307-0309] [0318-0320] – See said analysis for Claim 1):
a light device including a plurality of point light sources (Figs. 1-4 [0015] [0049] [0102]), an illumination control unit controlling an illumination signal (Figs. 1-4 control light [0015] [0049] [0055-0056] [0063-0064] [0084] [0102]) powering each point light to emit an incident light field illuminating a spatial light modulator (SLM) (Figs. 1-4 [0055-0056] [0063-0064] incident SLM 15 [0084]);
a SLM control unit controlling an SLM signal to display a reference SLM image pattern in an SLM plane of the SLM (Figs. 1-4 original patterns prior to correction [0084-0085] display [0095-0096]), the reference SLM image pattern being configured to modulate the incident light field and generate a modulated light field in accordance with the SLM image pattern (Figs. 1-4 incident light [0084-0085] [0095-0096] [0180-0181]);
and a projection optic projecting the modulated light field along a reference optical axis (Figs. 1-4 optic inclusive projector lens 20 and imager 19 [0084-0085] [0095-0096] [0180-0181]), wherein the SLM control unit further controls the SLM signal to display a corrected SLM image pattern (Figs. 1-4 incident light [0084-0085] [0095-0096] [0180-0181]); wherein the corrected SLM image pattern corresponds to the reference SLM image pattern being shifted in the SLM plane (Figs. 1-4 shift correction of original pattern [0084-0085] [0095-0096] [0180-0181]); and wherein the corrected SLM image pattern is configured such that the projection optic projects (Figs. 1-4 shift correction [0084-0085] displayed [0095-0096] [0180-0181])
DOORNAERT does not disclose but BANNO discloses generating optically corrected virtual images (Figs. 1, 4-7 corrected virtual images [0023] [0044-0047] unit 55 [0070, 0072-0074]); project a virtual image along the reference optical axis (Figs. 1, 4-7 [0023] 3D rendering by unit 30 [0044-0047] [0070, 0072-0074]); projects the virtual image along an apparent projection axis that differs from the reference optical axis, such that the virtual image simulates at least an optical correction (Figs. 1, 4-7 [0023] projection and correction - target axis [0044-0048] [0064-0067] [0070, 0072-0074])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include generating optically corrected virtual images; project a virtual image along the reference optical axis; projects the virtual image along an apparent projection axis that differs from the reference optical axis, such that the virtual image simulates at least an optical correction as taught by BANNO into the system of DOORNAERT because of the benefit taught by BANNO to include in a imaging and projection system the inclusion of augmented image manipulation to assist with the correction from imaging distortion whereby DOORNAERT is directed towards imaging calibration and distorting considerations and would benefit from the additional capability directed towards image distortion compensation to improve upon system performance and outcome.
Allowable Subject Matter
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
As per Claim 1, the following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art obtained from an Examiner’s search (DOORNAERT, Pub. No: US 2023-0375906; BANNO, Pub. No.: US 2020-0269696; SANDSTROM, Pub. No.: US 2004-0053143) does not teach nor suggest in detail the limitations:
“Light-field projector for generating optically corrected virtual images, comprising: a spatial light modulator (SLM); a light device including a plurality of point light sources; an illumination control unit controlling the light device to sequentially illuminate each point light source and emit an incident light field illuminating the SLM; a SLM control unit controlling the SLM being to display a reference SLM image pattern in an SLM plane, the reference SLM image pattern being configured to modulate the incident light field and generate a modulated light field in accordance with the SLM image pattern; and a projection optic projecting the modulated light field along a reference optical axis, and project a virtual image along the reference optical axis; wherein the SLM is further configured to display a corrected SLM image pattern, the corrected SLM image pattern being obtained by modifying the reference SLM image pattern as a function of at least one optical correction parameter; wherein the corrected SLM image pattern corresponds to the reference SLM image pattern being shifted in the SLM plane; wherein the corrected SLM image pattern is configured such that the projection optic projects the virtual image along an apparent projection axis that differs from the reference optical axis, such that the virtual image simulates at least an optical correction; and wherein the optometric correction comprises at least one of negative refractive correction, positive refractive correction, prismatic refraction correction, or cylindrical correction”
as well as the combination of all the limitations within the independent claims and the enabling portions of the specification.
The closest prior art of record DOORNAERT does not teach or suggest in detail optometric correction comprising at least one of negative refractive correction, positive refractive correction, prismatic refraction correction, or cylindrical correction. The prior art is also silent as to the corrected SLM image pattern being obtained by modifying the reference SLM image pattern as a function of at least one optical correction parameter as amended and presented by the Applicant.
DOORNAERT only discloses a light-field projector that includes a spatial light modulator (SLM), and a light source including a plurality of point light, each point light being configured to emit an incident light field illuminating the SLM. The prior art further discloses the SLM displays a reference SLM image pattern in an SLM plane, the reference SLM image pattern being configured to modulate the incident light field and generate a modulated light field in accordance with the SLM image pattern. Further, the prior art teaches a projection optic configured to project the modulated light field along a reference optical axis, wherein the SLM is further configured to display a corrected SLM image patten, and wherein the corrected SLM image pattern corresponds to the reference SLM image pattern-being shifted in the SLM plane.
Whereas, as stated above, Applicant’s claimed invention recites a light-field projector for generating optically corrected virtual images that includes a spatial light modulator (SLM), a light device including a plurality of point light sources, an illumination control unit controlling the light device to sequentially illuminate each point light source and emit an incident light field illuminating the SLM, a SLM control unit controlling the SLM being to display a reference SLM image pattern in an SLM plane, the reference SLM image pattern being configured to modulate the incident light field and generate a modulated light field in accordance with the SLM image pattern, and a projection optic projecting the modulated light field along a reference optical axis, and project a virtual image along the reference optical axis; wherein the SLM is further configured to display a corrected SLM image pattern, the corrected SLM image pattern being obtained by modifying the reference SLM image pattern as a function of at least one optical correction parameter. The claims further recite the corrected SLM image pattern corresponds to the reference SLM image pattern being shifted in the SLM plane, as well as recites the corrected SLM image pattern is configured such that the projection optic projects the virtual image along an apparent projection axis that differs from the reference optical axis, such that the virtual image simulates at least an optical correction, and wherein the optometric correction comprises at least one of negative refractive correction, positive refractive correction, prismatic refraction correction, or cylindrical correction.
So as indicated by the above statements, Applicant’s arguments and amendment have been considered persuasive, in light of the claim limitations as well as the enabling portions of the specification.
The dependent claims further limit the independent claims and are considered allowable on the same basis as the independent claims as well as for the further limitations set forth.
As per Claim 11, the following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art obtained from an Examiner’s search (DOORNAERT, Pub. No: US 2023-0375906; BANNO, Pub. No.: US 2020-0269696; SANDSTROM, Pub. No.: US 2004-0053143) does not teach nor suggest in detail the limitations:
“A method for generating corrected virtual images by using a light field projector comprising a SLM; a light device including a plurality of point light sources, each point light source being configured to emit an incident light field illuminating the SLM; the SLM being configured to display a reference SLM image pattern in an SLM plane, the reference SLM image pattern being configured to modulate the incident light field and generate a modulated light field in accordance with the SLM image pattern; and a projection optic configured to project the modulated light field along a reference optical axis, and project a virtual image along the reference optical axis; wherein the SLM is further configured to display a corrected SLM image pattern; wherein the corrected SLM image pattern corresponds to the reference SLM image pattern being shifted in the SLM plane; and wherein the corrected SLM image pattern is configured such that the projection optic projects the virtual image along an apparent projection axis that differs from the reference optical axis, such that the virtual image simulates at least an optical correction; the method comprising: computing at least one virtual image by using a virtual pinhole camera model imaging a virtual 3D scene and displaying a reference SLM image pattern in accordance with the computed virtual image; generating at least one optical correction parameter; modifying the reference SLM image pattern as a function of said at least one optical correction parameter to obtain a corrected SLM image pattern; sequentially illuminating the SLM by the incident light fields such as to generate at least one modulated light field configured to form said at least one virtual image; and sequentially projecting said at least one modulated light field to project said at least one virtual image simulating said at least one optical correction”
as well as the combination of all the limitations within the independent claims and the enabling portions of the specification.
The closest prior art of record DOORNAERT does not teach or suggest in detail at least virtual images, virtual image correction, pin hole cameras, or sequentially illuminating a spatial light modulator by incident light fields such as to generate at least one modulated light field configured to form said at least one virtual image. The prior art is also silent as to sequentially projecting said at least one modulated light field to project said at least one virtual image simulating said at least one optical correction as presented by the Applicant.
DOORNAERT only discloses a light-field projector that includes a spatial light modulator (SLM), and a light source including a plurality of point light, each point light being configured to emit an incident light field illuminating the SLM. The prior art further discloses the SLM displays a reference SLM image pattern in an SLM plane, the reference SLM image pattern being configured to modulate the incident light field and generate a modulated light field in accordance with the SLM image pattern. Further, the prior art teaches a projection optic configured to project the modulated light field along a reference optical axis, wherein the SLM is further configured to display a corrected SLM image patten, and wherein the corrected SLM image pattern corresponds to the reference SLM image pattern-being shifted in the SLM plane.
Whereas, as stated above, Applicant’s claimed invention recites generating corrected virtual images by using a light field projector comprising a SLM, a light device including a plurality of point light sources, each point light source being configured to emit an incident light field illuminating the SLM, the SLM being configured to display a reference SLM image pattern in an SLM plane, the reference SLM image pattern being configured to modulate the incident light field and generate a modulated light field in accordance with the SLM image pattern. The invention further claims a projection optic configured to project the modulated light field along a reference optical axis, and project a virtual image along the reference optical axis, wherein the SLM is further configured to display a corrected SLM image pattern and wherein the corrected SLM image pattern corresponds to the reference SLM image pattern being shifted in the SLM plane. Further, the invention claims the corrected SLM image pattern is configured such that the projection optic projects the virtual image along an apparent projection axis that differs from the reference optical axis, such that the virtual image simulates at least an optical correction, and computing at least one virtual image by using a virtual pinhole camera model imaging a virtual 3D scene and displaying a reference SLM image pattern in accordance with the computed virtual image. The invention further claims generating at least one optical correction parameter, modifying the reference SLM image pattern as a function of said at least one optical correction parameter to obtain a corrected SLM image pattern, sequentially illuminating the SLM by the incident light fields such as to generate at least one modulated light field configured to form said at least one virtual image, and sequentially projecting said at least one modulated light field to project said at least one virtual image simulating said at least one optical correction.
So as indicated by the above statements, Applicant’s arguments and amendment have been considered persuasive, in light of the claim limitations as well as the enabling portions of the specification.
The dependent claims further limit the independent claims and are considered allowable on the same basis as the independent claims as well as for the further limitations set forth.
As per Claim 17, the following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art obtained from an Examiner’s search (DOORNAERT, Pub. No: US 2023-0375906; BANNO, Pub. No.: US 2020-0269696; SANDSTROM, Pub. No.: US 2004-0053143) does not teach nor suggest in detail the limitations:
“Light-field projector for generating optically corrected virtual images, comprising: a spatial light modulator (SLM) defining an SLM plane; a light device comprising a plurality of spatially disparate point light sources; an illumination control unit controlling the light device to sequentially illuminate said point light sources to sequentially emit incident light fields; an SLM control unit controlling the SLM to display a reference SLM image pattern and to modulate each incident light field to generate corresponding modulated light fields; and a projection optic sequentially projecting the modulated light fields along a reference projection axis to form a plurality of virtual viewpoints within an eye box and to form at least one virtual image; wherein the SLM control unit is further configured to generate at least one optical correction parameter and, as a function of the optical correction parameter, to cause the SLM to display a corrected SLM image pattern; wherein the corrected SLM image pattern is derived from the reference SLM image pattern by at least a lateral shift in the SLM plane, and/or by at least one of a rotation and a geometrical distortion; and wherein the corrected SLM image pattern is configured such that the projection optic projects the virtual image from the virtual viewpoints along respective apparent projection axes that differ from the reference projection axis in a manner that simulates at least one optometric correction, including at least one of negative refractive correction, positive refractive correction, prismatic refraction correction, or cylindrical correction”
as well as the combination of all the limitations within the independent claims and the enabling portions of the specification.
The closest prior art of record DOORNAERT does not teach or suggest in detail optometric correction comprising at least one of negative refractive correction, positive refractive correction, prismatic refraction correction, or cylindrical correction. The prior art is also silent as to a projection optic sequentially projecting the modulated light fields along a reference projection axis to form a plurality of virtual viewpoints within an eye box and to form at least one virtual image as amended and presented by the Applicant.
DOORNAERT only discloses a light-field projector that includes a spatial light modulator (SLM), and a light source including a plurality of point light, each point light being configured to emit an incident light field illuminating the SLM. The prior art further discloses the SLM displays a reference SLM image pattern in an SLM plane, the reference SLM image pattern being configured to modulate the incident light field and generate a modulated light field in accordance with the SLM image pattern. Further, the prior art teaches a projection optic configured to project the modulated light field along a reference optical axis, wherein the SLM is further configured to display a corrected SLM image patten, and wherein the corrected SLM image pattern corresponds to the reference SLM image pattern-being shifted in the SLM plane.
Whereas, as stated above, Applicant’s claimed invention recites a light-field projector for generating optically corrected virtual images comprising a spatial light modulator (SLM) defining an SLM plane, a light device comprising a plurality of spatially disparate point light sources, an illumination control unit controlling the light device to sequentially illuminate said point light sources to sequentially emit incident light fields, an SLM control unit controlling the SLM to display a reference SLM image pattern and to modulate each incident light field to generate corresponding modulated light fields. The claims further recite a projection optic sequentially projecting the modulated light fields along a reference projection axis to form a plurality of virtual viewpoints within an eye box and to form at least one virtual image, wherein the SLM control unit is further configured to generate at least one optical correction parameter and, as a function of the optical correction parameter, to cause the SLM to display a corrected SLM image pattern. Finally, the invention claims corrected SLM image pattern is derived from the reference SLM image pattern by at least a lateral shift in the SLM plane, and/or by at least one of a rotation and a geometrical distortion, and wherein the corrected SLM image pattern is configured such that the projection optic projects the virtual image from the virtual viewpoints along respective apparent projection axes that differ from the reference projection axis in a manner that simulates at least one optometric correction, including at least one of negative refractive correction, positive refractive correction, prismatic refraction correction, or cylindrical correction.
So as indicated by the above statements, Applicant’s arguments and amendment have been considered persuasive, in light of the claim limitations as well as the enabling portions of the specification.
The dependent claims further limit the independent claims and are considered allowable on the same basis as the independent claims as well as for the further limitations set forth.
Claims 1-15, 17 are allowed.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Eileen M. Adams whose telephone number is 571-270-3688. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:30am-5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, William Vaughn can be reached on (571) 272-3922. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270-4688.
/EILEEN M ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481