DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Velve et al. Pub. No. US 2024/0357534 A1 (Hereinafter “Velve”).
Regarding Claim 1, Velve discloses a method for determining a Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN, with disaster condition by an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, in a wireless network (see Abstract), comprising:
receiving a registration request message from a user equipment, UE (see paragraphs [0089], [0101]);
identifying that a Fifth Generation System, 5GS, registration type information element, IE, in the registration request message is set to a “disaster roaming initial registration” or a “disaster roaming mobility registration updating” (see paragraphs [0100]- [0101]);
identifying whether a PLMN with disaster condition IE is included in the registration request message based on identifying that the 5GS registration type IE in the registration request message is set to the “disaster roaming initial registration” or the “disaster roaming mobility registration updating” (see paragraphs [0091], [0100], [0104]); and
determining a PLMN with disaster condition in the PLMN with disaster condition IE based on identifying that the PLMN with disaster condition IE is included in the registration request message (see paragraphs [0053], [0076] and [0100]);
Regarding Claim 3, Velve discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Velve further discloses the registration request message comprising the PLMN with disaster condition IE is received while the UE is registering for the disaster roaming service (see paragraphs [0091], [0100], [0104]).
Regarding Claim 4, Velve discloses an apparatus of an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, for determining a Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN, with disaster condition in a wireless network (see abstract), comprising:
a memory (see fig.2 and paragraph [0041]); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (see fig.2 and paragraph [0041]), wherein the processor is configured to perform the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding Claim 7, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 1 in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by at least one processor of an apparatus of an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, in a wireless network, cause the apparatus perform the method of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 3 in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by at least one processor of an apparatus of an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, in a wireless network, cause the apparatus perform the method of claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velve et al. Pub. No. US 2024/0357534 A1 (Hereinafter “Velve”) in view of PARK et al. et al. Pub. No. US 2023/0254733 A1 (Hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding Claim 2,Velve discloses the method as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Velve fails to disclose:
based on identifying that the PLMN with disaster condition IE is not included in the registration request message, determining the PLMN with disaster condition in a PLMN identity of a fifth generation-Globally Unique Temporary Identifier, 5G-GUTI, if an additional GUTI IE is included in the registration request message, and the additional GUTI IE contains the 5G-GUTI.
In analogous art, Park teaches:
based on identifying that the PLMN with disaster condition IE is not included in the registration request message, determining the PLMN with disaster condition in a PLMN identity of a fifth generation-Globally Unique Temporary Identifier, 5G-GUTI, if an additional GUTI IE is included in the registration request message, and the additional GUTI IE contains the 5G-GUTI (see paragraph [0306]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Velve with the teaching as taught by Park in order to reduce an impact on a communication service of the disaster roaming PLMN.
Regarding Claim 5, the claim is being analyzed with respect to the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 8, the claim is directed toward embody the method of claim 2 in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by at least one processor of an apparatus of an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, in a wireless network, cause the apparatus perform the method of claim 2.
Conclusion
/ALAZAR TILAHUN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/A.T/March 3, 2026