Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14, 19, 29 and 31-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zacharias et al. (US 2020/0359330) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0413190). For dependent claims herein, the motivation to combine is the same as the parent claim unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 1, Zacharias discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1, item 115; fig. 11; para. 208), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: detect a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event for at least one component carrier (CC) (fig. 7, step 725; para. 158; note: an event is determining a receive uplink grant for an FR CC or CCs is limited by an MPE)
Zacharias discloses a MAC-CE for transmitting control information (para. 149, last sentence) but fails to disclose the processor configured to configure a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) based on the MPE event, the CE including a plurality of octets and at least one information element (IE), such that each of the at least one IE includes at least one of the plurality of octets; and transmit, to a base station, the MAC-CE including the plurality of octets and the at least one IE. However, Zhang discloses MPE information sent in a MAC-CE (which includes IEs and octets (figs. 5A-5B and 8-11C; paras. 41, 49-50, 55 and 60-61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) based on the MPE event, the CE including a plurality of octets and at least one information element (IE), such that each of the at least one IE includes at least one of the plurality of octets; and transmit, to a base station, the MAC-CE including the plurality of octets and the at least one IE in the invention of Zacharias. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, providing signaling information in a format as is known in the art (Zhang, figs. 5A-5B and 10A-11C, and paras. 41, 49-50, 55 and 60-61 ; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 2, Zacharias in view of Zhang teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: reduce an output power of the UE based on the detected MPE event for the at least one CC or the at least one panel of the at least one CC (Zacharias, steps 720, 725 and 735-740; paras. 157-159; note: reduced power relative to a grant; note: reduction of power on FR2 CCs by steering data to FR1 CCs).
Regarding claim 3, Zacharias in view of Zhang teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the base station, an indication of the reduced output power of the UE based on the detected MPE event (Zacharias, steps 720, 725 and 735-740; paras. 157-159; note: reduced power relative to a grant; note: reduction of power on FR2 CCs by steering data to FR1 CCs; note: an event is determining a receive uplink grant for an FR CC or CCs is limited by an MPE).
Regarding claim 4, Zacharias in view of Zhang teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the MAC-CE includes one or more of at least one resource index or at least one field (Zhang, figs. 5A-5B and 8-11C; paras. 40-41 and 60-69; note: CC as a resource and various bit fields).
Regarding claims 5-7, these limitations are rejected for failing to further define the rejected alternative of “one field” in claim 4.
Regarding claim 8, Zacharias in view of Zhang teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the at least one IE includes a first IE and a second IE (Zhang, figs. 5A-5B and 8-11C; paras. 40-41 and 60-69; note: various bit fields as information elements).
Regarding claim 9, Zacharias in view of Zhang teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first IE includes the at least one field including one or more of: a power headroom (PH) value (paras. 41 and 54), a power backoff (P) value (para. 41; note: maximum power reduction, MPR; para. 49), a real transmission or a reference format (V) value (paras. 41 and 55), a power management maximum output power reduction (P-MPR) value (para. 41), or a nominal UE transmit power level (Pcmax) value (paras. 41 and 49).
Regarding claim 10, Zacharias in view of Zhang teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second IE includes the at least one resource index (figs. 5A-5B and 8-11C; note: component carrier bits) and one or more power management maximum output power reduction (P-MPR) values (para. 41).
Regarding claim 11, Zacharias in view of Zhang teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify whether the at least one IE includes a second IE (Zhang, figs. 5A-5B and 8-11C; note: an IE as two octets of bits includes the P and MPE bit fields (IEs); para. 41; note: P value indicates whether MPE is reported), wherein the at least one IE includes a first IE (Zhang, figs. 5A-5B and 8-11C; note: first IE as the P bit field (IE)) (alternatively, Ci indicating whether the ith CC is reporting PH, where the IE includes the octets of Ci and its respective PH)).
Regarding claim 12, Zacharias in view of Zhang teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the at least one IE includes the second IE if the first IE indicates the second IE (Zhang, figs. 5A-5B and 8-11C; note: an IE as two octets of bits includes the P and MPE bit fields (IEs); para. 41; note: P value indicates whether MPE is reported).
Regarding claim 13, Zacharias in view of Zhang teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the at least one IE includes the second IE if at least one octet of the plurality of octets indicates the second IE (Zhang, figs. 5A-5B and 8-11C; note: an IE as two octets of bits includes the P and MPE bit fields (IEs); para. 41; note: P value indicates whether MPE is reported).
Regarding claim 14, Zacharias in view of Zhang teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the at least one IE includes the second IE, wherein the second IE includes at least one power management maximum output power reduction (P-MPR) value and at least one resource index (Zhang, figs. 5A-5B and 8-11C; paras. 41 and 49; note: CC bits as a resource index; MPE bit as the MPR value).
Regarding claim 19, Zacharias in view of Zhang teaches and makes obvious the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor (Zacharias, fig. 11), wherein the MAC-CE is a power headroom report (PHR) MAC-CE including at least one power management maximum output power reduction (P-MPR) value (Zhang, figs. 5A-5B and 8-11C; paras. 41 and 49).
Regarding claim 29, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 1.
Regarding claims 31-40, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 1-10, respectively. In addition, Zacharias discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having code stored thereon that (items 1130-1135; paras. 216 and 286-287), when executed by an apparatus, causes the apparatus to perform the functions of claims 1-10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yemane Mesfin, can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. For non-official communications, the examiner’s e-mail address is kevin.harper@uspto.gov (MPEP 502.03 – A copy of all received emails relating to an application including proposed amendments and excluding scheduling information for interviews will be placed informally into the application file).
/Kevin C. Harper/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462