DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “the heat receiving plate” in line 14; it must be recited as “the finned heat receiving plate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hino (JP 2019057739 A).
Claim 1: Hino discloses a cooling device (FIG.1) for a power device (intended use), comprising:
a first casing member as a plate member (31), a second casing member as a frame member (frame member 21) having a predetermined thickness (inherent), and
a finned heat receiving plate (fin body 3) having a heat receiving surface (plate inherently has a surface) joined to an exothermic body (intended use), each of which are made of aluminum material (paragraph [16]: all made of aluminum); and
a coolant inlet and a coolant outlet (paragraph [24]: openings 35, 35 are one is inlet for fluid and other one is outlet) formed in any one of the first casing member (31) and the finned heat receiving plate at positions to be opposed to each other (top/bottom of plate),
wherein the second casing member (frame member 21) has the predetermined thickness possible to prevent warpage thereof by a heat when joining the exothermic body to the heat receiving surface (intended use/functional language), and
an inlet side coolant guide (front protruding portion used as inlet coolant guide 33) communicated with the coolant inlet (35) and an outlet side coolant guide (rear protruding portion used as outlet coolant guide 34) communicated with the coolant outlet (35) are formed in the second casing member (21) at positions to be opposed to each other (see FIG.2),
the finned heat receiving plate (3) comprises a plurality of fins (43) formed integrally on an inner surface (inherent) of the heat receiving plate (3) within a region excluding a joint section that is to be joined (fins 43 are on region 42 which is not on section joined 21; see FIG.2) to the second casing member (21), and
each clearance between the adjoining fins (43) serves as a flow passage, and the first casing member (31), the second casing member (21), and the finned heat receiving plate (3) are joined to one another, and the fins (43) are joined to the first casing member (31; to clarify, liquid cooling structure is manufactured that all plates are joined together forming structure in FIG.1).
Claim 2: Hino discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first casing member (31), the second casing member (21), and the finned heat receiving plate (3) are brazed with one another (paragraph [58]: all plates can be brazed together during brazing process).
Claim 3: Hino discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the first casing member (31), the second casing member (21), and the finned heat receiving plate (3) are brazed with one another while forming a layer of brazing material on at least any one of the adjoining members to be brazed with each other, applying brazing material to at least any one of the adjoining members to be brazed with each other (paragraph [37]: brazing material forming brazing material layer), or using a brazing plate, brazing powder, or a brazing rod.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hino (JP 2019057739 A).
Claim 4: Hino discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the first casing member (31), the second casing member (21), and the finned heat receiving plate (3) are made of aluminum alloy selected from the group consisting of the 1000 series pure aluminum, the 3000 series Al-Mn series, the 6000 series Al-Mg-Si series, and the 8000 series Al-Fe series (Preferred Material: Hino discloses aluminum and aluminum alloy, except for the 3000 series Al-Mn series, the 6000 series Al-Mg-Si series, and the 8000 series Al-Fe series. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Hino in order to enhance thermal conductivity (paragraph [16]), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice).
Claim 5: Hino as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 4, wherein the first casing member (31), the second casing member (21), and the finned heat receiving plate (3) are brazed with one another using flux containing cesium fluoride (Preferred Material: Hino discloses aluminum and aluminum alloy, except for the 6000 series Al-Mg-Si series, cesium fluoride. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Hino in order to enhance thermal conductivity (paragraph [16]), in a case that the first casing member (31), the second casing member (21), and the finned heat receiving plate (3) are made of the 6000 series aluminum alloy (Preferred Material).
Claim 6: Hino discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first casing member (31), the second casing member (21), and the finned heat receiving plate (3) are made of aluminum alloy (paragraph [16]: aluminum and aluminum alloy) selected from the group consisting of the 1000 series pure aluminum, the 3000 series Al-Mn series, the 6000 series Al-Mg-Si series, and the 8000 series Al-Fe series (Preferred Material: Hino discloses aluminum and aluminum alloy, except for the 1000 series pure aluminum, the 3000 series Al-Mn series, the 6000 series Al-Mg-Si series, and the 8000 series Al-Fe series. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Hino in order to enhance thermal conductivity (paragraph [16]), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice).
Claim 7: Hino as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein the first casing member (31), the second casing member (21), and the finned heat receiving plate (3) are brazed with one another using flux containing cesium fluoride CsF, in a case that the first casing member (31), the second casing member (21), and the finned heat receiving plate (3) are made of the 6000 series Al-Mg-Si series aluminum alloy (Preferred Material: Hino discloses aluminum and aluminum alloy, except the 6000 series Al-Mg-Si series, cesium fluoride. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Hino in order to enhance thermal conductivity (paragraph [16]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure which is relevant to cold plate:
Yang (US 2021/0176896 A1).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached on (571) 272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/PAUL ALVARE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763