DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/08/2024 and 12/12/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. U.S. Patent Application 2019/0295792 (hereinafter “Li”) and further in view of Dlugokecki U.S. Patent No. 5,318,926 (hereinafter “Dlugokecki”).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a thermal-protective transient voltage suppressor (TVS) (refer to figures 2 and 3 and Abstract), comprising a TVS assembly (i.e. varistors 2, 21, and 22)(fig.2), a housing (i.e. outer housing 1)(fig.2), a frame (i.e. insulating partition wall 3 and 31)(fig.2), a cover plate (i.e. supporting plate 7)(fig.2), and a pin (i.e. electrical connection means 6)(fig.2), wherein the TVS assembly is provided in the frame (implicit)(refer to figures 2 and 3); the TVS assembly is electrically connected to the pin (refer to disconnecting lever 80)(fig.3)(refer also to Abstract and [0059] and [0060]); the housing and the cover plate form an accommodation chamber for accommodating the frame (implicit)(refer to fig.2); the pin extends out of the accommodation chamber (refer to abstract and figure 2), and a spacing limit post (i.e. web faces 71)(fig.3)(refer also to claim 10) is provided on the cover plate (refer to claim 10); and the frame abuts against the spacing limit post (implicit)(refer to figures 2 and 3), such that the mounting portion of the pin and the TVS assembly are spaced apart by a preset distance (refer to claim 10); however, Li does not teach an extended part of the pin is provided with a mounting portion for surface mount soldering. However, Dlugokecki teaches an extended part of the pin is provided with a mounting portion for surface mount soldering (refer to main body, first bending portion, mounting portion, and second bending portion in the figure below)(fig.5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the TVS of Li to include the extended part of the pin of Dlugokecki to provide the advantage of using a well-known type of surface mount which allows for easy mounting for use with reflow soldering or for easy installation after reflow soldering.
Regarding claim 2, Li and Dlugokecki teach the thermal-protective TVS according to claim 1, wherein the TVS assembly is conductive with the pin through a connecting electrode (i.e. Li disconnecting lever 80)(fig.3); and the connecting electrode comprises a plurality of bending portions for lengthening a heat transfer path (refer to bending portions in the figure below)(fig.4).
Regarding claim 4, Li and Dlugokecki teach the thermal-protective TVS according to claim 1, however they do not teach wherein a spacing distance between the mounting portion of the pin and the TVS assembly falls between 0.3 mm and 30 mm. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a spacing distance between the mounting portion of the pin and the TVS assembly falls between 0.3 mm and 30 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the TVS of Li and Dlugokecki to include wherein a spacing distance between the mounting portion of the pin and the TVS assembly falls between 0.3 mm and 30 mm to provide the advantage of allowing for appropriate distance between the TVS assembly and the pin for thermal dissipation so that the high temperatures of the TVS assembly are not transferred to the circuit to which the TVS is attached.
Regarding claim 5, Li and Dlugokecki teach the thermal-protective TVS according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of spacing limit posts are arranged (refer to Li web faces 71)(fig.2); and a bottom of each of the plurality of spacing limit posts is fixed on the cover plate (implicit)(refer to Li claim 10), and a top of each of the plurality of spacing limit posts abuts against the frame (implicit)(refer to Li claim 10 and figures 2 and 3).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Dlugokecki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsovilis et al. U.S. Patent Application 2020/0036185 (hereinafter “Tsovilis”).
Regarding claim 3, Li and Dlugokecki teach the thermal-protective TVS according to claim 2; however, they do not teach wherein the connecting electrode is made of copper, iron, aluminum, a copper alloy, an iron alloy, or an aluminum alloy. However, Tsovilis teaches wherein the connecting electrode is made of copper, iron, aluminum, a copper alloy, an iron alloy, or an aluminum alloy (refer to [0136]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the TVS of Li and Dlugokecki to include the material of Tsovilis to provide the advantage of using common materials with good strength and good heat and electrical conductivity.
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Dlugokecki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Luo et al. Chinese Patent Document CN 209982055 U (hereinafter “Luo”).
Regarding claim 6, Li and Dlugokecki teach the thermal-protective TVS according to claim 1; however, they do not teach wherein a step-like accommodation groove and a semi-open accommodation groove are respectively formed at two sides of the frame; the TVS assembly is provided in the step-like accommodation groove; a reed electrode is provided on the semi-open accommodation groove; a first terminal of the reed electrode is connected to an electrode of the TVS assembly through a fusible alloy, and a second terminal of the reed electrode is electrically connected to the pin; and in response to tripping, the reed electrode bounces up under an elastic force of the reed electrode to disconnect from the electrode of the TVS assembly. However, Luo teaches wherein a step-like accommodation groove (i.e. TVS chip holding groove 121)(Fig.3A) and a semi-open accommodation groove (i.e. spring electrode holding groove 122)(fig.3B) are respectively formed at two sides of the frame (implicit)(refer to figures 3A and 3B); the TVS assembly is provided in the step-like accommodation groove (implicit)(refer to TVS chip holding groove 121)(fig.3A); a reed electrode (i.e. spring electrode 13)(fig.2) is provided on the semi-open accommodation groove (implicit)(refer to spring electrode holding groove 122)(fig.3B); a first terminal of the reed electrode is connected to an electrode of the TVS assembly through a fusible alloy (refer to claim 2), and a second terminal of the reed electrode is electrically connected to the pin (refer to pin 21)(fig.6); and in response to tripping, the reed electrode bounces up under an elastic force of the reed electrode to disconnect from the electrode of the TVS assembly (implicit)(refer to Abstract). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the TVS of Li and Dlugokecki to include the grooves and reed electrode of Luo to provide the advantage of using a simple and reliable method of disconnecting the TVS assembly when it is overheating.
Regarding claim 8, Li, Dlugokecki, and Luo teach the thermal-protective TVS according to claim 6, wherein at least one thermal insulation through hole is formed in the reed electrode (refer to Luo holes in the figure below)(fig.5).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Dlugokecki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang Chinese Patent Document CN 209434871 U (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 7, Li and Dlugokecki teach the thermal-protective TVS according to claim 1; however, they do not teach wherein a step-like accommodation groove and a semi-open accommodation groove are respectively formed at two sides of the frame; the TVS assembly is provided in the step-like accommodation groove; a reed electrode, a slider, and an elastic member are provided on the semi-open accommodation groove; a first terminal of the reed electrode is connected to an electrode of the TVS assembly through a fusible alloy, and a second terminal of the reed electrode is electrically connected to the pin; a first end of the elastic member is connected to the frame, and a second end of the elastic member is connected to the slider; and in response to tripping, an elastic force of the elastic member is acted on the slider to push the reed electrode to bounce up and disconnect from the TVS assembly. However, Zhang teaches wherein a step-like accommodation groove (i.e. varistor containing groove 71a)(fig.7) and a semi-open accommodation groove (i.e. groove in the figure below)(fig.8) are respectively formed at two sides of the frame (implicit); the TVS assembly is provided in the step-like accommodation groove (refer to varistor containing groove 71a)(fig.7); a reed electrode (i.e. spring electrode 19a)(figs.2 and 9), a slider (i.e. sliding block 16a)(figs.2, 4, 5, and 10), and an elastic member (i.e. pressure spring 17a)(figs.2, 4, and 5) are provided on the semi-open accommodation groove (implicit)(refer to figs.2, 4, and 5); a first terminal of the reed electrode is connected to an electrode of the TVS assembly through a fusible alloy (refer to claim 8), and a second terminal of the reed electrode is electrically connected to the pin (refer to claim 8); a first end of the elastic member is connected to the frame (implicit)(refer to figs.4 and 5), and a second end of the elastic member is connected to the slider (implicit)(refer to figs.4 and 5 and claim 9); and in response to tripping, an elastic force of the elastic member is acted on the slider to push the reed electrode to bounce up and disconnect from the TVS assembly (refer to claim 9 and figures 4 and 5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the TVS of Li and Dlugokecki to include the grooves and reed electrode of Zhang to provide the advantage of using a reliable method of disconnecting the TVS assembly when it is overheating and ensuring complete disconnection of the TVS.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Dlugokecki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Estes U.S. Patent No. 5,297,008 (hereinafter “Estes”).
Regarding claim 9, Li and Dlugokecki teach the thermal-protective TVS according to claim 1, wherein the pin comprises a straight platy main body portion (i.e. Dlugokecki main body in the figure above)(fig.5), a first anti-deformation bending portion (i.e. Dlugokecki first bending portion in the figure above)(fig.5), the mounting portion (i.e. Dlugokecki mounting portion in the figure above)(fig.5), and a second anti-deformation bending portion (i.e. Dlugokecki second bending portion in the figure above)(fig.5), wherein the straight platy main body portion, the first anti-deformation bending portion, the mounting portion, and the second anti-deformation bending portion are connected sequentially (implicit); however, they do not teach a cavity matched with the pin is formed in the cover plate; and the second anti-deformation bending portion of the pin is embedded into the cavity of the cover plate. However, Estes teaches a cavity (cavity in the figure below)(fig.6) matched with the pin (refer to lead 210)(fig.6) is formed in the cover plate (refer to cover plate in the figure below)(fig.6); and the second anti-deformation bending portion of the pin is embedded into the cavity of the cover plate (implicit). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the TVS of Li and Dlugokecki to include the cavity of Estes to provide the advantage of increasing the strength of the pin and preventing deformation.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Dlugokecki, and Zhang as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Luo.
Regarding claim 11, Li, Dlugokecki, and Zhang teach the thermal-protective TVS according to claim 7, however, they do not teach wherein at least one thermal insulation through hole is formed in the reed electrode. However, Luo teaches wherein at least one thermal insulation through hole is formed in the reed electrode (refer to holes in the figure above)(fig.5 of Luo). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the TVS of Li, Dlugokecki, and Zhang to include the holes of Luo to provide the advantage of making the electrode lighter so that it springs away from the TVS assembly more easily and preventing to much heat from passing to the pin and possibly damaging the circuit to which the TVS is connected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 10 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 10, especially wherein an included angle between the first anti-deformation bending portion and the straight platy main body portion falls between 60° and 89.5°, and an included angle between the second anti-deformation bending portion and the straight platy main body portion also falls between 60° and 89.5°.
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838