DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-4 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (CN publication 114744135 A (see IDS), using English translation), hereinafter referred to as Shi135.
Regarding claim 1, Shi135 teaches a display panel (fig. 1 and related text), comprising: a base substrate (10, see description, page 5); a plurality of light-emitting units (20) disposed on the base substrate; a plurality of protruding structures (31/41, fig. 1) disposed on the base substrate provided with the light-emitting units, wherein the protruding structures correspond to the light-emitting units (fig. 1), and an orthographic projection of the protruding structure on the base substrate surrounds an orthographic projection of a corresponding light-emitting unit on the base substrate (fig. 1); and a first light-transmitting structure (40) disposed on the base substrate provided with the protruding structures, wherein the first light-transmitting structure is disposed between two protruding structures corresponding to two adjacent light-emitting units (fig. 1); the first light-transmitting structure covers at least a portion of a sidewall of the protruding structure (fig. 1); and refractive index of a material of the first light-transmitting structure is greater than refractive index of a material of the protruding structure (see description, page 5).
Regarding claim 2, Shi135 teaches wherein the protruding structure is in a prismoid shape, with dimensions of the protruding structure on one side proximal to the base substrate larger than dimensions of the protruding structure on one side distal to the base substrate (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Shi135 teaches further comprising a second light-transmitting structure (30, fig. 1), wherein the second light-transmitting structure is disposed within a region surrounded by the protruding structure; the second light-transmitting structure covers at least a portion of a sidewall of the protruding structure; and refractive index of a material of the second light-transmitting structure is greater than the refractive index of the material of the protruding structure (see description).
Regarding claim 4, Shi135 teaches further comprising a protection layer (50, fig. 1), wherein the protection layer is disposed on one side of the first light-transmitting structure and the second light-transmitting structure distal to the base substrate, and the protection layer covers the first light-transmitting structure and the second light-transmitting structure (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Shi135 teaches wherein the protruding structure includes a top surface, a bottom surface, and a sidewall connecting the bottom surface and the top surface, an included angle between the sidewall and the bottom surface is in a range of 20° to 90° (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Shi135 teaches a display device (fig. 1 and related text), comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises: a base substrate (10, see description, page 5); a plurality of light-emitting units (20) disposed on the base substrate; a plurality of protruding structures (31/41, fig. 1) disposed on the base substrate provided with the light-emitting units, wherein the protruding structures correspond to the light-emitting units, and an orthographic projection of the protruding structure on the base substrate surrounds an orthographic projection of a corresponding light-emitting unit on the base substrate (fig. 1); and a first light-transmitting structure (40) disposed on the base substrate provided with the protruding structures, wherein the first light-transmitting structure is disposed between two protruding structures corresponding to two adjacent light-emitting units (fig. 1); the first light-transmitting structure covers at least a portion of a sidewall of the protruding structure (fig. 1); and refractive index of a material of the first light-transmitting structure is greater than refractive index of a material of the protruding structure (see description, page 5).
Regarding claim 16, Shi135 teaches wherein the protruding structure is in a prismoid shape, with dimensions of the protruding structure on one side proximal to the base substrate larger than dimensions of the protruding structure on one side distal to the base substrate (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Shi135 teaches further comprising a second light-transmitting structure (30, fig. 1), wherein the second light-transmitting structure is disposed within a region surrounded by the protruding structure; the second light-transmitting structure covers at least a portion of a sidewall of the protruding structure (fig. 1); and refractive index of a material of the second light-transmitting structure is greater than the refractive index of the material of the protruding structure (see description).
Regarding claim 18, Shi135 teaches further comprising a protection layer (50, fig. 1), wherein the protection layer is disposed on one side of the first light-transmitting structure and the second light-transmitting structure distal to the base substrate, and the protection layer covers the first light-transmitting structure and the second light-transmitting structure (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi135, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 13, Shi135 discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Shi135 also teaches further comprising a pixel definition layer (60, fig. 1), wherein the pixel definition layer is provided with pixel openings, and the light-emitting units are disposed within the pixel openings; an edge of the orthographic projection of the protruding structure on the base substrate and an edge of an orthographic projection of the pixel opening on the base substrate are separated by a specified distance, the specified distance being greater than or equal to 0 micron (fig. 1).
Shi135 does not explicitly teach the specified distance being greater than or equal to 0 micron and less than or equal to 5 microns. However, these values are parameters that one must consider and decide upon and depends on a process technology, overall size of the device. Furthermore, it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. (MPEP §2144.05 II/III).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Shi135 so that the specified distance being greater than or equal to 0 micron and less than or equal to 5 microns for the purpose of optimizing device performance and overall size of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-12 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claims contain limitations that none of the prior art of record discloses, teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combinations when taken in combination with all other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent cited art.
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897