DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1, directed to Claims 1-11, in the reply filed on 8 June 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Examiner’s Comments
The following comments are provided to enhance the clarity of the record. They may encompass situations in which meaning is clear, but there are suggested edits to the claims which may help enhance clarity. Or interpretations of the claims which are relevant to the 35 USC § 102 or 103 rejections included below.
Clarity:
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 3, 6, 8, 10 and 11 recite a broader range or clause and then a narrower range within the same claim. These claims are currently not considered indefinite as the applicant is using the term “optionally” rather than “preferred”. As such, it is clear that the narrower range is considered to be merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required for a complete understanding of the metes and bounds of the claim interpretation.
In the case of Claim 8, the number and complexity of the “optionally” statements do rise to a point of indefinite as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 requires a series of “optionally” and “and/or” clauses as well as a “further optionally clause” it is unclear whether the clause after “further optionally” is an option in place of one of the preceding clauses, or if it is an optional modification of one of the previous clauses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yu et al. (US 2014/0224727).
With regards to Claim 1 Yu teaches:
A filter media comprising cellulose fibers and fibrillated thermoplastic fibers. (See Yu Paragraph 63, 64-73 cellulose fibers and percentages and 43-54 fibrillated thermoplastic fibers and percentages)
With regards to Claim 2 Yu teaches:
The cellulose fibers comprise hardwood fibers, softwood fibers, fibrillated cellulose fibers or any combination thereof. (See Yu Paragraphs 63-73)
With regards to Claim 3 Yu teaches:
The fibrillated thermoplastic fibers comprise fibrillate polyolefin fibers including polyethylene and polypropylene. (See Yu Paragraph 43)
With regards to Claim 4 and 5 Yu teaches:
The filter media comprises a cationic polymer, specifically polyacrylamide. (See Yu Paragraph 113)
With regards to Claim 6 Yu teaches:
The media comprises 0 to 98% hardwood fibers. (See Yu Paragraphs 63 and 67-70)
Example 4 teaches “The second, bottom layer was made from HPZ, softwood kraft pulp and eucalyptus fibers in the weight ratio of 0.34:0.15:0.52 “ or 52% hardwood pulp, and 15% softwood pulp. (See Paragraphs 191-193)
Yu discloses the filter media comprises a range of 0 to 98% by weight of hardwood fibers and discloses Example 4 with a hardwood percentage of 52% which anticipates applicant’s claimed range of 40 to 70 wt% hardwood. In the alternative Yu renders the claimed range obvious as it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the range disclosed by Yu as discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further in cases where the claimed range overlaps or lies inside of prior art ranges a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05
Softwood fibers comprise 0 to 98 wt % of the fiber web. (See Yu Paragraphs 63 and 71-73)
Example 4 teaches “The second, bottom layer was made from HPZ, softwood kraft pulp and eucalyptus fibers in the weight ratio of 0.34:0.15:0.52 “ or 52% hardwood pulp, and 15% softwood pulp. (See Paragraphs 191-193)
Yu discloses the filter media comprises a range of 0 to 98% by weight of softwood fibers and discloses Example 4 with a softwood percentage of 15% which anticipates applicant’s claimed range of 0 to 30 wt% softwood. In the alternative Yu renders the claimed range obvious as it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the range disclosed by Yu as discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further in cases where the claimed range overlaps or lies inside of prior art ranges a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05
Fibrillated fibers comprise thermoplastic fibers, including polyethylene, and comprise 1 wt% and 100 wt % of the fiber mat. (See Yu Paragraphs 43 and 54)
“Robur Flash (cellulose) fibers: HP-11 fibers: PET (0.6 d.times.5 mm) fibers in the ratio 1:1:0.46 by weight” or roughly 18.6 wt % of PET fibers. (See Yu Paragraphs 188 and 189)
Yu discloses the filter media comprises a range of 1 to 100% by weight of fibrillated thermoplastic fibers and discloses Example 1 with a softwood percentage of 18.6% which is considered close enough and anticipates applicant’s claimed range of 0.5 to 15 wt% fibrillated thermoplastic fibers. In the alternative Yu renders the claimed range obvious as it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the range disclosed by Yu as discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further in cases where the claimed range overlaps or lies inside of prior art ranges a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05
Yu teaches that the hardwood and softwood fibers can be fibrillated, not fibrillated, or a mixture of both. (See Yu Paragraph 63)
Yu discloses the filter media comprises a range of 0 to 98% by weight of cellulose fibers which can be a fibrillated, not fibrillated, or a mixture of both which anticipates applicant’s claimed range of 0 to 30 wt% fibrillated cellulose fibers. In the alternative Yu renders the claimed range obvious as it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the range disclosed by Yu as discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further in cases where the claimed range overlaps or lies inside of prior art ranges a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05
A binder which comprises polyacrylamide comprises less than 5% by weight of the fiber web. (See Yu paragraph 113)
Yu discloses the filter media comprises a range of 0 to 5% by weight of polyacrylamide binder which anticipates applicant’s claimed range of 0.5 to 1.5 parts of cationic polymer per every 100 parts of fiber (approximately 0.5 to 1.5 wt %). In the alternative Yu renders the claimed range obvious as it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the range disclosed by Yu as discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. Further in cases where the claimed range overlaps or lies inside of prior art ranges a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05
With regards to Claim 7 Yu teaches:
The hardwood and/or softwood fibers comprise refined fibers. (See Yu Paragraph 63)
With regards to Claim 8 Yu teaches:
A binder which comprises polyacrylamide comprises less than 5% by weight of the fiber web. (See Yu paragraph 113)
With regards to Claim 9 and 10 Yu teaches:
The fibrous web is a wet-laid non-woven mat. (See Yu Paragraph 168 and 169)
With regards to Claim 11 Yu teaches:
The fiber web is electrically charged which reads on applicant's claimed electret. (See Yu Paragraph 176)
Other Applicable Prior Art
All other art cited not detailed above in a rejection is considered relevant to at least some portion or feature of the current application and is cited for possible future use for reference. Applicant may find it useful to be familiar with all cited art for possible future rejections or discussion.
Contact Information
/BRIT E. ANBACHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
BRIT E. ANBACHT
Examiner
Art Unit 1776