DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,405,470. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all claimed limitations are disclosed.
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. US 11, 574, 734. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all claimed limitations are disclosed.
Claims 1-3 and 5-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,575,760. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all claimed limitations are disclosed.
Claims 1, 7-10 and 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,314,617. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all claimed limitations are disclosed. The current application discloses a communicatively insulated device while the patent discloses a device not having internet connectivity, there are being interpreted as the same.
Mapping is shown below for each Patent.
18/695,870
US 11,405,470
US 11,574,734
US 11,575,760
US 11,314,617
1
1
1
1
1
2
-
1
1
-
3
7
1
1
-
4
-
1
-
-
5
-
-
1
-
6
-
2
2
-
7
1
3
3
1
8
1
4
4
1
9
2
5
5
2
10
3
6
6
3
11
-
7
7
-
12
-
8
8
-
13
-
9
9
-
14
1
10
10
1
15
4
-
-
4
16
4
-
-
4
17
5
-
-
5
18
6
-
-
6
19
7
-
-
7
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite obtaining performance data, converting data to a scannable code, capturing the code and transmitting the data to a server, which constitutes data collection, encoding and transmission which fall under the metal process.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into practical application. The communicatively insulated device, communicatively enabled device, server are descried at a high level of generality and perform generic computer functions. The claims do not improve the functioning of the computer or technology.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitations of encoding the data, generating a scannable code and data transmission are well understood, routine and conventional activities in the field. These element amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea using generic computing components and fail to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2-14 and 16-19 recite limitations directed to performing analysis on the data, transmitting results, displaying data and specifying types of devices. These limitations are insignificant post solution activities, field of use limitations or well understood, routine and conventional functions. The dependent claims fail to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Permenter (US 2020/0133698).
As to claim 1, Permenter discloses a method comprising:
obtaining performance data of a communicatively-insulated device (¶0051-¶0057 & ¶0074);
converting the performance data into a scannable code (¶0074);
capturing an image of the scannable code (¶0074);
decoding the scannable code using a communicatively-enabled device to extract an address string encoded in the scannable code, the address string comprising an address of a remote server and the performance data (¶0074); and
initiating, by the communicatively-enabled device, a communications link with the remote server using the address string thereby to provide the performance data to the remote server (¶0074).
As to claim 2, Permenter discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: performing, by the remote server, analytics on the performance data (¶0071).
As to claim 3, Permenter discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising at least one of: sending historic device performance data and/or analytical results to a remote computing device; and sending a link to the historic device performance data and/or analytical results to the remote computing device (¶0060).
As to claim 6, Permenter discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to the converting, encoding the performance data (¶0074, encoding into a QR).
As to claim 11, Permenter discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the scannable code is a matrix code (¶0074).
As to claim 12, Permenter discloses the method of claim 11, wherein the matrix code is a quick response (QR) code (¶0074).
As to claim 13, Permenter discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, after the converting, presenting the scannable code on a display console of the communicatively-insulated device and/or printing the scannable code on a physical medium (¶0074).
As to claim 14, Permenter discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising capturing the image of the scannable code with the communicatively-enabled device (¶0074).
As to claim 15, Permenter discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a server, a network connection request from a communicatively- enabled device, the network connection request comprising an address string extracted from an image of a scannable code, the address string comprising an address of the server and performance data of a communicatively-insulated device; extracting, by the server, from network connection request the performance data; and verifying, by the server, the performance data (¶0071 & ¶0074).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7-10 and 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. All other outstanding rejections must be overcome.
Conclusion
/CHARLES EHNE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113