DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/27/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13, 14, 15, 18, 19, 23, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lopatin US 20220146484.
As to claim 13, Lopatin teaches “A method for determining and/or monitoring a predeterminable fill level of a medium in a containment (Abstract; [0025]) using a sensor having a sensor unit with a mechanically oscillatable unit in the form of an oscillatory fork (Figure 2B) and at least one piezoelectric element ([0001]; Figure 2B, 11a), the method comprising: exciting the sensor unit with an excitation signal such that mechanical oscillations are executed ([0038]); receiving the mechanical oscillations of the sensor unit and converting the received mechanical oscillations into a first received signal ([0038]; Figure 2B shows the first signal being labeled as E); transmitting a transmitted signal from the sensor unit and receiving a second received signal by the sensor unit (Figure 2B shows the second signal being labeled as S; [0039]); ascertaining information concerning the predeterminable fill level of medium in the containment based on the first received signal ([0026]; [0040]); and ascertaining information concerning a state of the sensor unit based on the second received signal ([0026]; [0040]).”
As to claim 14, Lopatin teaches “wherein the excitation signal and/or the transmitted signal are/ is an electrical signal having at least one predeterminable frequency ([0026]).”
As to claim 15, Lopatin teaches “wherein the transmitted signal is a pulsed signal ([0039]),”
As to claim 18, Lopatin teaches “ascertaining an amplitude of the second received signal ([0026]).”
As to claim 19, Lopatin teaches “ascertaining a frequency of the first received signal ([0026]).”
As to claim 23, Lopatin teaches “wherein the excitation signal and the transmitted signal are periodically, alternately produced ([0039] teaches that the signals can be pulsed, therefore the structure in Lopatin can also produce signals periodically. This claim is functional language and since the prior art and claimed invention share same the structure, it can behave in the same manner).”
As to claim 24, Lopatin teaches “wherein the transmitted signal is produced at predeterminable points in time ([0039] teaches that the signals can be pulsed, therefore the structure in Lopatin can also produce signals periodically. This claim is functional language and since the prior art and claimed invention share the structure, it can behave in the same manner).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopatin US 20220146484 in view of Brengartner US 20120279283.
As to claim 16, Lopatin does not explicitly teach a variable frequency.
Brengartner teaches “wherein the transmitted signal is a signal of variable frequency using frequencies within a predeterminable frequency interval (Abstract; [0008]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Brengartner with Lopatin. Using a range of frequencies is known because using a range typically increases accuracy by overcoming noise.
Claim(s) 17, 20, 21, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopatin US 20220146484 in view of Grover US 20180010322.
As to claim 17, Lopatin does not explicitly teach a blockage in the region of the sensor.
Grover teaches “wherein the information with reference to state of the sensor unit is information concerning a blockage in the region of the sensor unit ([0096]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Grover with Lopatin. The received frequency spectra can aid in determining blockages or sediment buildup on sensors since this would dampen the oscillations. This indicates a fault in the sensor and this knowledge aids the user to determining when to address the issue.
As to claim 20, Grover teaches “determining that a blockage is present in a region of the sensor unit when the frequency of the first received signal exceeds or subceeds a predeterminable frequency limit value and the amplitude of the second received signal subceeds a predeterminable amplitude limit value ([0096] teaches the attenuation of signals when a blockage is present. This reads on the claim language in that a received signal of lower energy or lack of signal is below a predetermined limit, indicating the blockage).”
As to claim 21, Lopatin teaches “determining that a maximum fill level has been reached when the predeterminable limit level is a maximum fill level of medium in the containment and the amplitude of the second received signal exceeds a predeterminable limit value ([0026] teaches that the fill level can be determined by various variables such as frequency. At a maximum level, the frequency will remain constant since the level will not change. The same holds true to a minimum fill level as well).”
As to claim 22, Lopatin teaches “determining that the minimum fill level has been reached when the predeterminable limit level is a minimum fill level of medium in the containment and the amplitude of the second received signal subceeds a predeterminable limit value ([0026] teaches that the fill level can be determined by various variables such as frequency. At a maximum level, the frequency will remain constant since the level will not change. The same holds true to a minimum fill level as well).”
Conclusion
/TARUN SINHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863