DETAILED ACTION
Pursuant to the preliminary amendment dated 3/27/2024, claims 2-5, 9, 10, 13-19 are cancelled, claims 1, 6-8, 11, 12 are amended and claims 20 and 21 are newly added.
Claims 1, 6-8, 11, 12, 20 and 21 are pending in the instant application and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application is a National Stage Application of PCT/JP2022/037513, filed on 10/6/2022. The instant application claims foreign priority to JP 2021-165433 filed on 10/7/2021. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in the instant application on 3/27/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) dated 3/27/2024, 5/31/2024 and 1/8/2026 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609, except where noted. Accordingly, the IDS documents have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8, 11, 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (KR 102026365 B1, 2019, PTO-892).
Yang et al. discloses a cosmetic composition comprising uridine or derivative thereof, for topical application to the skin, where the uridine derivatives include uracil, uridine monophosphate, uridine diphosphate, triacetyl uridine, tribenzoyl uridine, 5-ethyluridine, 2-deoxyuridine, isopropylidene uridine, further where the uridine or derivative is present at 10-30 microg/mL. (¶0017, 0024-0025) Yang also discloses a method for reducing wrinkles caused by aging, where a component of skin aging is the loss of elasticity caused by ultraviolet rays. (¶0005)
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinohara et al. (US 7,557,093 B2, 2009, PTO-892).
Shinohara et al. discloses composition for promoting collagen production and acting as an anti-wrinkle composition, wherein the composition contains a pyrimidine nucleic acid-related substance in a proportion of 0.0001 to 10%, by weight based on the total amount of the composition, where the pyrimidine nucleic acid-related substance is uridine monophosphate or a salt thereof. (Col. 2, Ln. 9-13, 41-45; Col. 12, Ln. 4-8) Shinohara also discloses a method for promoting collagen production comprising applying to the skin an externally-applied composition containing a purine nucleic acid-related substance and the pyrimidine nucleic acid-related substance.(Col. 3, Ln. 7-11) Shinohara also discloses that It is known that collagen is lost when the skin is subject to specific exogenous influences, such as ultraviolet-ray, exposure, dryness, etc.(Col. 1, Ln. 15-16)
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 11, 12, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrne et al. (WO 2016/168735A1, PTO-892), in view of Yang et al. (KR 102026365 B1, 2019, PTO-892).
Byrne et al. discloses a cosmetic composition for skin application comprising cytidine triphosphate or precursors thereof including cytosine, cytidine, cytidine monophosphate (a.k.a. cytidylic acid), and cytidine diphosphate, at a concentration of 1-50 microM. (Claims 37-40; p. 34, Ln. 14-17; p. 36, Ln. 30) Byrne also discloses a method for reducing wrinkles by topically applying said composition. (Claims 78-86; p. 18, Embodiment 98)
Byrne does not explicitly teach wrinkles caused by photoaging.
Yang discloses that hyaluronic acid and glycosaminoglycans are maintained in constant amounts through a rapid metabolic process in which more than 3g per day is broken down and resynthesized during the process of removing harmful free radicals caused by ultraviolet rays or inflammation, but the amount produced gradually begins to decrease as we age. As the amount produced becomes less than the amount broken down, the skin loses elasticity and wrinkles begin to form. (¶0005)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that photoaging due to skin exposure to UV rays, is one of the causes of skin aging disclosed by Byrne. This conclusion is obvious due to the teaching of Yang that UV rays are responsible for increased free-radicals, decreased hyaluronic acid production, decreased skin elasticity and thus formation of wrinkles. Thus, it would have been obvious to specifically apply the composition of Byrne to the skin of a subject having wrinkles caused by photoaging, thereby arriving at the instant invention.
With respect to the concentrations of pyrimidine nucleotides claimed, the concentrations overlap those of the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2144.05(I)) Moreover, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP § 2144.05(II)) “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Claims 6, 11, 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinohara et al. (US 7,557,093 B2, 2009, PTO-892).
Shinohara et al. discloses composition for promoting collagen production and acting as an anti-wrinkle composition, wherein the composition contains a pyrimidine nucleic acid-related substance in a proportion of 0.0001 to 10%, by weight based on the total amount of the composition, where the pyrimidine nucleic acid-related substance is uridine monophosphate or a salt thereof. (Col. 2, Ln. 9-13, 41-45; Col. 12, Ln. 4-8) Shinohara also discloses a method for promoting collagen production comprising applying to the skin an externally-applied composition containing a purine nucleic acid-related substance and the pyrimidine nucleic acid-related substance.(Col. 3, Ln. 7-11) Shinohara also discloses that It is known that collagen is lost when the skin is subject to specific exogenous influences, such as ultraviolet-ray, exposure, dryness, etc.(Col. 1, Ln. 15-16)
With respect to the concentrations of pyrimidine nucleotides claimed, the concentrations overlap those of the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2144.05(I)) Moreover, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP § 2144.05(II)) “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DALE R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693