DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an amendment filed on 6/19/26 in which claims 1, 6-8, 17-19, 25 and 27 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 17-19, 25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (WO 2021/016773 A1), herein Lu, Shin et al. (Pub. No.: 2019/0373646), herein Shin and Miao et al. (Pub. No.: 2022/0386263), herein Miao.
As to claim 1, Lu teaches a method for determining a random access response window, comprising:
obtaining a round-trip time (RTT) between a first device and a second device (Lu [0113] The terminal device with the positioning capability may estimate a distance between the location of the terminal device and the network device based on its own positioning capability, to determine the RTT); and
determining a start position of the random access response window (Lu [0133]
Step S602: The terminal device determines the start time of the RAR time window based on the offset)
Lu does not teach
obtaining a number of repeated transmissions of a narrowband physical random access channel (NPRACH)
However Shin does teach
obtaining a number of repeated transmissions of a narrowband physical random access channel (NPRACH) (Shin [0802] The processor of the UE controls the receiver to receive NPRACH configuration information including control information for the number of repeated NPRACH preambles including symbol groups from the eNB through upper layer signaling. The upper layer signaling may be RRC signaling);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lu and Shin, because Shin teaches us [0497] When the corresponding method is used, it is advantageous in that since the preamble is continuously repeatedly transmitted by the pre-configured repetition number regardless of the number of invalid UL subframes which exist in the NPRACH resource, initially anticipated performance is maintained in terms of the NPRACH reliability.
Lu nor Shin teach
wherein determining the start position of the random access response window comprises: obtaining a preset value, and determining the start position of the random access response window based on the RTT and the preset value, wherein the number of repeated transmissions of the NPRACH is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and wherein the start position of the random access response window is: a subframe n + max{the RTT, the preset value}, the n being an integer.
However Miao does teach
wherein determining the start position of the random access response window comprises: obtaining a preset value, and determining the start position of the random access response window based on the RTT and the preset value, wherein the number of repeated transmissions of the NPRACH is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and wherein the start position of the random access response window is: a subframe n + max{the RTT, the preset value}, the n being an integer (Miao Fig. 9 and The starting time of the RAR window is a moment after delaying a sending moment of a random access preamble (Msg1 message) sent by the terminal by at least a reference RTT time length, and the duration of the RAR window is equal to a sum of a difference value between a maximum RTT and a reference RTT and a processing delay of a base station (preset value))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lu, Shin and Miao, because Miao teaches us [0126] In order to facilitate comparison, in an example, a terminal (terminal 1) closest to the base station and a terminal (terminal 2) furthest from the base station send the Msg1 message at the same moment. An RAR message (shown as Msg2_1 in the figure) sent to the terminal 1 by the base station and an RAR message (shown as Msg2_2 in the figure) sent to the terminal 2 by the base station are inconsistent in arrival time. A time length between a moment of sending the Msg2_1 message to the terminal 1 by the base station and a moment of sending the Msg1 message by the terminal 1 is roughly a sum of a time length of a minimum RTT and a processing delay of a the base station, and a time length between a moment of sending the Msg2_2 message to the terminal 2 by the base station and a moment of sending the Msg1 message by the terminal 2 is roughly a sum of a time length of a maximum RTT and a processing delay of a base station.
As to claim 17, Lu teaches a communication device, and one or more processors that are communicatively coupled to the memory, wherein the one or more processors are collectively configured to:
obtain a round-trip time (RTT) between a first device and a second device (Lu [0113] The terminal device with the positioning capability may estimate a distance between the location of the terminal device and the network device based on its own positioning capability, to determine the RTT); and
determine a start position of a random access response window (Lu [0133]
Step S602: The terminal device determines the start time of the RAR time window based on the offset)
Lu does not teach
obtain a number of repeated transmissions of a narrowband physical random access channel (NPRACH)
However Shin does teach
obtain a number of repeated transmissions of a narrowband physical random access channel (NPRACH) (Shin [0802] The processor of the UE controls the receiver to receive NPRACH configuration information including control information for the number of repeated NPRACH preambles including symbol groups from the eNB through upper layer signaling. The upper layer signaling may be RRC signaling);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lu and Shin for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
Lu nor Shin teach
wherein determining the start position of the random access response window comprises: obtaining a preset value, and determining the start position of the random access response window based on the RTT and the preset value, wherein the number of repeated transmissions of the NPRACH is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and wherein the start position of the random access response window is: a subframe n + max{the RTT, the preset value}, the n being an integer.
However Miao does teach
wherein determining the start position of the random access response window comprises: obtaining a preset value, and determining the start position of the random access response window based on the RTT and the preset value, wherein the number of repeated transmissions of the NPRACH is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and wherein the start position of the random access response window is: a subframe n + max{the RTT, the preset value}, the n being an integer (Miao Fig. 9 and The starting time of the RAR window is a moment after delaying a sending moment of a random access preamble (Msg1 message) sent by the terminal by at least a reference RTT time length, and the duration of the RAR window is equal to a sum of a difference value between a maximum RTT and a reference RTT and a processing delay of a base station (preset value))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lu, Shin and Miao, because Miao teaches us [0126] In order to facilitate comparison, in an example, a terminal (terminal 1) closest to the base station and a terminal (terminal 2) furthest from the base station send the Msg1 message at the same moment. An RAR message (shown as Msg2_1 in the figure) sent to the terminal 1 by the base station and an RAR message (shown as Msg2_2 in the figure) sent to the terminal 2 by the base station are inconsistent in arrival time. A time length between a moment of sending the Msg2_1 message to the terminal 1 by the base station and a moment of sending the Msg1 message by the terminal 1 is roughly a sum of a time length of a minimum RTT and a processing delay of a the base station, and a time length between a moment of sending the Msg2_2 message to the terminal 2 by the base station and a moment of sending the Msg1 message by the terminal 2 is roughly a sum of a time length of a maximum RTT and a processing delay of a base station.
As to claim 18, Lu teaches a communication device comprising:
one or more processors (Lu Fig. 16); and
an interface circuit (Lu Fig. 16);
wherein the interface circuit is configured to receive code instructions and transmitting the code instructions to at least one of the one or more processors (Lu Fig. 16); and
wherein the one or more processors are collectively configured to:
obtain around-trip time (RTT) between a first device and a second device (Lu [0113] The terminal device with the positioning capability may estimate a distance between the location of the terminal device and the network device based on its own positioning capability, to determine the RTT); and
determine a start position of a random access response window (Lu [0133]
Step S602: The terminal device determines the start time of the RAR time window based on the offset)
wherein determining the start position of the random access response window comprises: obtaining a preset value, and determining the start position of the random access response window based on the RTT and the preset value, wherein the number of repeated transmissions of the NPRACH is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and wherein the start position of the random access response window is: a subframe n + max{the RTT, the preset value}, the n being an integer.
Lu does not teach
obtain a number of repeated transmissions of a narrowband physical random access channel (NPRACH)
However Shin does teach
obtain a number of repeated transmissions of a narrowband physical random access channel (NPRACH) (Shin [0802] The processor of the UE controls the receiver to receive NPRACH configuration information including control information for the number of repeated NPRACH preambles including symbol groups from the eNB through upper layer signaling. The upper layer signaling may be RRC signaling);
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lu and Shin for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
Lu nor Shin teach
wherein determining the start position of the random access response window comprises: obtaining a preset value, and determining the start position of the random access response window based on the RTT and the preset value, wherein the number of repeated transmissions of the NPRACH is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and wherein the start position of the random access response window is: a subframe n + max{the RTT, the preset value}, the n being an integer.
However Miao does teach
wherein determining the start position of the random access response window comprises: obtaining a preset value, and determining the start position of the random access response window based on the RTT and the preset value, wherein the number of repeated transmissions of the NPRACH is greater than or equal to a preset threshold, and wherein the start position of the random access response window is: a subframe n + max{the RTT, the preset value}, the n being an integer (Miao Fig. 9 and The starting time of the RAR window is a moment after delaying a sending moment of a random access preamble (Msg1 message) sent by the terminal by at least a reference RTT time length, and the duration of the RAR window is equal to a sum of a difference value between a maximum RTT and a reference RTT and a processing delay of a base station (preset value))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lu, Shin and Miao, because Miao teaches us [0126] In order to facilitate comparison, in an example, a terminal (terminal 1) closest to the base station and a terminal (terminal 2) furthest from the base station send the Msg1 message at the same moment. An RAR message (shown as Msg2_1 in the figure) sent to the terminal 1 by the base station and an RAR message (shown as Msg2_2 in the figure) sent to the terminal 2 by the base station are inconsistent in arrival time. A time length between a moment of sending the Msg2_1 message to the terminal 1 by the base station and a moment of sending the Msg1 message by the terminal 1 is roughly a sum of a time length of a minimum RTT and a processing delay of a the base station, and a time length between a moment of sending the Msg2_2 message to the terminal 2 by the base station and a moment of sending the Msg1 message by the terminal 2 is roughly a sum of a time length of a maximum RTT and a processing delay of a base station.
As to claim 7, the combination of Lu, Shin and Miao teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the first device is a terminal device and the second device is a network device (Lu [0113] The terminal device with the positioning capability may estimate a distance between the location of the terminal device and the network device based on its own positioning capability, to determine the RTT);
As to claim 8, the combination of Lu, Shin and Miao teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the first device is a network device and the second device is a terminal device (Lu [0113] The terminal device with the positioning capability may estimate a distance between the location of the terminal device and the network device based on its own positioning capability, to determine the RTT);
As to claim 19, the combination of Lu, Shin and Miao teach the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing instructions which, the instructions when the instructions are executed by a processors, cause the processor to execute the method according to claim 1 (Lu Fig. 16)
As to claim 25, the combination of Lu, Shin and Miao teach the wireless system for determining a random access response window, the system comprising the communication device according to claim 17 (Lu Fig. 16)
As to claim 27, the combination of Lu, Shin and Miao teach a chip system, comprising: at least one processor and interfaces and wherein the chip system being configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (Lu Fig. 16)
Claim(s) 6 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, Shin and Miao and Shin2 et al. (Pub. No.: 2021/0314925), herein Shin2.
As to claim 6, Lu and Shin teach the method according to claim 4,
Lu nor Shin nor Miao teach
Wherein a last subframe comprising a repeated transmission of the NPRACH is the subframe n
However Shin2 does teach
Wherein a last subframe comprising a repeated transmission of the NPRACH is the subframe n (Shin2 [0409] The time window (or RAR window) starts at subframe (SF)+3 subframe (SF) of a last preamble)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lu, Shin, Miao and Shin2, because Shin2 teaches us [0410] When the preamble transmission is unsuccessful, for example, when the associated RAR message is not received, the UE transmits another preamble. Such an operation is performed up to a maximum number, and the maximum number depends on a CE level. When the RAR is not received even though the preamble is transmitted at the maximum number, the UE performs the corresponding operation at a next (i.e., higher) CE level. When the total number of access attempt is reached, the associated failure is reported to the RRC. Through the RAR, the UE acquires a temporary C-RNTI, a timing advance command, etc. The MSG3 is temporally aligned and required for transmission through the NPUSCH. The RAR provides a UL grant including all related data for transmission of the MSG3.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The claims were amended to include subject matter from claim 5, under Miao. The examiner now uses Miao in claim 1, because the preset value is not defined and Miao’s delay can be defined as the preset value. The examiner suggests defining explicitly the preset value or defining the calculation of the preset value. For these reasons the examiner maintains the rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467