DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the second sentence of paragraph [0032] should read "The lithium ion conducting phase may further .
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/723960 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations all map each other and have a bijective relationship.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Maeda et al. (US 20190181494 A1, hereinafter "Maeda").
Regarding Claim 1, Maeda teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising:
a negative electrode that contains a negative electrode material mixture (paragraphs [0093] through [0098] teach a negative electrode active material mixture);
a separator ([0079] teaches a separator);
a positive electrode that is provided to oppose the negative electrode via the separator ([0079] teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery in which the separator is disposed between the positive electrode and negative electrode); and
a non-aqueous electrolyte ([0079] teaches a nonaqueous electrolytic solution),
wherein the negative electrode material mixture contains a negative electrode active material ([0093] teaches the negative electrode active material layer/mixture contains the active material),
the negative electrode active material contains 3 mass% or more of a silicon-containing material ([0115] teaches the silicon is 5% mass or more of the Si/SiO/C composite, which is used in the negative electrode active material layer, as taught in the preceding 10 paragraphs),
the silicon-containing material contains carbon composite particles ([0109], [0111], and [0114] teach the silicon containing material contains carbon composite particles; silicon coated with carbon),
the carbon composite particles have a carbon phase and a silicon phase dispersed in the carbon phase ([0111] and [0114] teach a silicon phase dispersed in the carbon phase), and
the non-aqueous electrolyte contains a 5- or 6-membered cyclic compound component that contains a sulfur element as a ring-constituting element ([0062] teaches that the nonaqueous solvent in the nonaqueous electrolytic solution is a sulfone such as sulfolane, a 5 membered cyclic compound containing sulfur as a ring constituting element; additionally [0059] teaches the nonaqueous electrolytic solution may comprise 1,3-propanesultone as an additional additive).
Regarding Claim 2, Maeda teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery in accordance with claim 1, wherein the silicon-containing material further contains a silicon oxide ([0111] and [0112] teach the silicon containing material further contains silicon oxide, e.g., the Si/SiO/C composite).
Regarding Claim 3, Maeda teaches he non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery in accordance with claim 1, wherein the silicon-containing material further contains silicate composite particles ([0106] teaches silicates as an exemplary silicon compound usable in the composite particles of silicon and a silicon compound, as suggested in [0110]; additionally, [0108] teaches silicon oxide combined with a metal element, which is inherently a silicate), and the silicate composite particles have a silicate phase and a silicon phase dispersed in the silicate phase ([0110] first sentence explains the composition of the composite particle; in the case where silicate is used as the silicon compound in the silicon composite material, the silicon phase would be dispersed in the silicate phase; [0110] last sentence teaches the method of making such a particle).
Regarding Claim 7, Maeda teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery in accordance with claim 1,
wherein the negative electrode material mixture further contains carbon nanotubes ([0094] teaches that the negative electrode active material includes a carbonaceous material, and [0100] teaches that the carbonaceous material can be graphite, amorphous carbon, carbon nanotubes, or a composite material thereof).
Regarding Claim 7, Maeda teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery in accordance with claim 1,
wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte further contains fluoroethylene carbonate ([0059] teaches fluoroethylene carbonate as an additive compound for the nonaqueous electrolyte solution).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda (US 20190181494 A1) in view of Ashiura et al. (JP 2014192143 A, hereinafter “Ashiura”).
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Maeda teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery in accordance with claim 1.
Maeda does not teach that the sulfur heterocycle is unsaturated or is 1,3-propenesultone.
However, Ashiura teaches a lithium-ion secondary battery comprising LiPF6 salt and a nonaqueous electrolyte, which contains a cyclic compound that contains the sulfur element as the ring-constituting element and that has a carbon-carbon unsaturated bond ([0015] of the machine translated description teaches the electrolytic solution contains 1,3-propenesultone, PRS, as an additive, which is a 5-membered unsaturated sulfur heterocycle). He teaches that adding PRS performs interface control of the positive and negative electrodes, or in other words, the coating is formed, and improves the high-temperature retention characteristic ([0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have included 1,3-propenesultone (PRS) as an unsaturated sulfur heterocycle additive in the non-aqueous electrolyte solution to form a film or coating on the electrode interfaces, improving the high-temperature retention characteristic, as taught by Ashiura.
Regarding Claim 6, Maeda teaches the non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery in accordance with claim 1.
Maeda does not teach that the concentration of the cyclic compound component in the non-aqueous electrolyte is 2 mass% or less.
However, Ashiura teaches that the concentration of 1,3-propenesultone in the non-aqueous electrolyte is 0.1% by weight or more, which overlapps the range 0.1 mass% to 2.0 mass%.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that ‘suitable protection’ is provided if the protective layer is ‘about’ 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant’s] claimed range."). See also In re Bergen, 120 F.2d 329, 332, 49 USPQ 749, 751-52 (CCPA 1941) (The court found that the overlapping endpoint of the prior art and claimed range was sufficient to support an obviousness rejection, particularly when there was no showing of criticality of the claimed range).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have included the sulfur heterocycle in the non-aqueous electrolyte solution in a concentration of 2 mass% or less, as taught by Ashiura.
Conclusion
/ANDREW KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/Maria Laios/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727