DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 17 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 17, lines 1-2, the recitation “further comprising positioning a conductive contact on the first surface” appears to refer to the conductive contact introduced in lines 7-8 of claim 15. Thus, the recitation should be amended to recite: “further comprising positioning the conductive contact on the first surface”, or the line deleted to avoid redundancy.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 15 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/579,270 in view of the US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0350716 A1 by Narumi (please refer to the claims as amended in the Notice of Allowance mailed on 07/27/2026 in application 18/579,270 - copy provided with this communication).
Claim 15 of the instant application is substantially anticipated by claim 14 of the conflicting application in the manner described below:
Application 18/695,994
Co-pending application 18/579,270 - Claims as amended through Examiner’s Amendment in the Notice of Allowance mailed 07/27/2026
Claim 15. A method for manufacturing a test socket, said method comprising:
forming a conductive body from a conductive material and having a first surface
configured to face a printed circuit board (PCB) and a second surface configured to face an integrated circuit (IC) chip, the conductive body defining a signal cavity and a ground cavity, the signal cavity and the ground cavity extending from the first surface to the second surface;
positioning a conductive contact on the first surface proximate the ground cavity such that it extends from the first surface;
positioning a signal probe in the signal cavity, the signal probe configured to
electrically connect to a signal conductor of the PCB and to a signal pad of the IC chip, wherein said signal probe includes an electrically insulative coating and/or one or more insulation members; and
positioning a ground probe in the ground cavity, the ground probe configured to
electrically connect to a ground conductor of the PCB and to a ground pad of the IC chip, wherein the ground probe is further electrically connected to the conductive body.
Claim 14. A method for manufacturing a test socket, the test socket configured to couple an integrated circuit (IC) chip to a printed circuit board (PCB), said method comprising:
forming, in a conductive body having a first surface configured to face the PCB and a second surface configured to face the IC chip, a signal cavity and a ground cavity, the signal cavity and the ground cavity extending from the first surface to the second surface;
positioning a signal probe in the signal cavity, the signal probe configured to electrically connect to a signal conductor of the PCB and to a signal pad of the IC chip, wherein the signal probe has an insulative coating; and
positioning a ground probe in the ground cavity, the ground probe configured to electrically connect to a ground conductor of the PCB and to a ground pad of the IC chip, wherein the conductive body is configured to be electrically connected to the ground conductor of the PCB; and
positioning a shielding probe to extend from the first surface, the shielding probe configured to electrically connect the conductive body to the ground conductor of the PCB, wherein the shielding probe does not extend from the second surface.
The examiner notes that claim 14 of the conflicting application recites the ground probe is configured to electrically connect to the ground conductor of the PCB, and that the conductive body is configured to be electrically connected to the ground conductor. The recitation is equivalent to that recited in claim 15 of the instant application, which recites the ground probe is electrically connected to the conductive body and also the ground conductor. That is because, if electrically conductive element X is electrically connected to electrically conductive element Y, and element Y is electrically connected to electrically conductive element Z, then element X is electrically connected to element Z.
Also, although claim 14 in the conflicting application doesn’t explicitly recite the conductive body is form from a conductive material, inherently, if the body is conductive, it contains conductive material.
Finally, claim 14 in the conflicting application doesn’t recite a conductive contact on the first surface proximate the ground cavity such that it extends from the first surface.
Narumi shows in Figure 1, a socket comprising a conductive body (metal housing 10) including a conductive contact (10t) disposed on a surface facing a printed circuit board (“P”), and contacting a ground conductor of said printed circuit board.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of conductive contacts as taught by Zhou, in the system recited in claim 15 of the instant application, in order to ensure proper connection between the ground conductor and the conductive body.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 17 and 19 in the instant application are respectively anticipated by claims 17 and 15 of the conflicting application in view of Narumi as shown below:
Application 18/695,994
Co-pending application 18/579,270 - Claims as amended through Examiner’s Amendment in the Notice of Allowance mailed 07/27/2026
Claim 17. The method of Claim 15, further comprising positioning a conductive contact on the first surface, the conductive contact configured to contact the ground conductor of the PCB to electrically connect the conductive material of the conductive body to the ground conductor.
Claim 17. The method of Claim 14, further comprising positioning a conductive elastomer adjacent to the first surface, the conductive elastomer configured to electrically connect said conductive body to the ground conductor of the PCB.
Claim 19. The method of Claim 15, further comprising positioning a power probe in a power cavity defined by the conductive body, the power probe configured to electrically connect to a power conductor of the PCB and to a power pad of the IC chip.
Claim 15. The method of claim 14, further comprising: forming, in the conductive body, a power cavity extending from the first surface to the second surface; and
positioning a power probe in the power cavity, the power probe configured to electrically connect to a power conductor of the PCB and to a power pad of the IC chip.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/579,270 in view of the US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0350716 A1 by Narumi.
Claim 20 in the instant application is substantially anticipated by claim 20 in the conflicting application in the manner described below:
Application 18/695,994
Co-pending application 18/579,270 - Claims as amended through Examiner’s Amendment in the Notice of Allowance mailed 07/27/2026
20. An integrated circuit (IC) chip testing assembly comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) comprising a signal conductor and a ground conductor; an IC chip comprising a signal pad and a ground pad; and
a test socket comprising:
a conductive body formed from a conductive material and having a first surface configured to face said PCB and a second surface configured to face said IC chip, said conductive body defining a signal cavity and a ground cavity, the signal cavity and the ground cavity extending from the first surface to the second surface;
a signal probe disposed in the signal cavity, said signal probe configured to electrically connect to said signal conductor and to said signal pad, wherein said signal probe includes an electrically insulative coating and/or one or more insulation members;
a ground probe disposed in the ground cavity, said ground probe configured to electrically connect to said ground conductor and to said ground pad, wherein said ground probe is further electrically connected to said conductive body; and
a conductive contact disposed on the first surface and contacting said ground conductor.
20. An integrated circuit (IC) test assembly comprising:
an IC chip comprising a signal pad and a ground pad; a printed circuit board (PCB) comprising a signal conductor and a ground conductor; and
a test socket comprising:
a conductive body having a first surface configured to face the PCB and a second surface configured to face the IC chip, said conductive body defining a signal cavity, a ground cavity, and a power cavity, the signal cavity, the ground cavity, and the power cavity extending from the first surface to the second surface, said conductive body configured to be electrically connected to said ground conductor.
a signal probe disposed in the signal cavity, said signal probe configured to electrically connect to said signal conductor and to said signal pad;
a ground probe disposed in the ground cavity, said ground probe configured to electrically connect to said ground conductor and to said ground pad; and
a power probe disposed in the power cavity, said power probe configured to electrically connect to a power conductor of the PCB and to a power pad of the IC chip, wherein at least one of said signal probe or said power probe has an insulative coating.
However, claim 20 in the conflicting application doesn’t recite a conductive contact disposed on the first surface and contacting said ground conductor.
Narumi shows in Figure 1, a socket comprising a conductive body (metal housing 10) including a conductive contact (10t) disposed on a surface facing a printed circuit board (“P”), and contacting a ground conductor of said printed circuit board.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of conductive contacts as taught by Zhou, in the system recited in claim 20 of the instant application, in order to ensure proper connection between the ground conductor and the conductive body.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0350716 A1 by Narumi (Narumi hereafter).
Regarding claims 15, Narumi teaches in Figure 1, a method for manufacturing a test socket, said method comprising:
forming a conductive body (metal housing 10) from a conductive material (paragraph 0026) and having a first surface (lower surface) configured to face a printed circuit board (PCB “P”) and a second surface (upper surface) configured to face an integrated circuit (IC) chip (chip “B”), the conductive body defining a signal cavity (cavity 10a enclosing unit 11) and a ground cavity (cavity 10b enclosing unit 12), the signal cavity and the ground cavity extending from the first surface to the second surface;
positioning a conductive contact (10t) on the first surface proximate the ground cavity such that it extends from the first surface;
positioning a signal probe (11+13a+13b) in the signal cavity, the signal probe configured to electrically connect to a signal conductor of the PCB and to a signal pad of the IC chip (the signal probe is electrically conductive and configured to electrically connect contacts opposite the first and second surface, such as bumps Ba and pads Pa), wherein said signal probe includes an electrically insulative coating and/or one or more insulation members (13a and 13b); and
positioning a ground probe (12) in the ground cavity, the ground probe configured to electrically connect to a ground conductor of the PCB and to a ground pad of the IC chip (the signal probe is electrically conductive and configured to electrically connect contacts opposite the first and second surface, such as bumps Bb and pads Pb), wherein the ground probe is further electrically connected to the conductive body (see paragraph 0042).
** The examiner notes that the claim doesn’t require steps for manufacturing a PCB or a chip, only a method of manufacturing a socket configured to face a PCB and chip. Because xx teaches a method of manufacturing a socket as recited, and because the socket can be position to face a PCB and a chip as recited, xx teaches the limitations.
Regarding claim 16, Narumi teaches in Figure 1, the method of claim 15, further comprising positioning an insulation layer on the first surface (10s, which extends to cover the first surface as shown in Figure 1), wherein the conductive body and the insulation layer define a recess at an opening of the ground cavity to the first surface (recess defined by the portion surrounding contact 10t, at the opening of cavity 10b).
Regarding claim 17, Narumi teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising positioning a conductive contact on the first surface (10t), the conductive contact configured to contact the ground conductor of the PCB to electrically connect the conductive material of the conductive body to the ground conductor (see paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 18, Narumi teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising positioning a conductive member on the ground probe (pin barrel 12a extending radially from the longitudinal axis of ground pin 12 - similar to portion 11a of signal pin 11 illustrated in Figure 2 - see paragraph 0040), the conductive member configured to contact the conductive body to electrically connect the ground probe to the conductive body (see paragraphs 0039 and 0042).
Regarding claim 19, Narumi teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising positioning a power probe in a power cavity defined by the conductive body, the power probe configured to electrically connect to a power conductor of the PCB and to a power pad of the IC chip (not shown in the Figures, but described in paragraph 0043, last three lines).
Regarding claim 20, Narumi teaches in Figure 1, an integrated circuit (IC) chip testing assembly comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (“P”) comprising a signal conductor (Pa) and a ground conductor (Pb);
an IC chip (“B”) comprising a signal pad (Ba) and a ground pad (Bb); and
a test socket comprising:
a conductive body formed from a conductive material (metal housing 10, see paragraph 0042) and having a first surface (lower surface) configured to face said PCB and a second surface (upper surface) configured to face said IC chip, said conductive body defining a signal cavity (cavity 10a enclosing unit 11) and a ground cavity (cavity 10b enclosing unit 12), the signal cavity and the ground cavity extending from the first surface to the second surface;
a signal probe (11+13a+13b) disposed in the signal cavity, the signal probe configured to electrically connect to a signal conductor and to a signal pad (the signal probe is electrically conductive and configured to electrically connect contacts opposite the first and second surface, such as bumps Ba and pads Pa), wherein said signal probe includes an electrically insulative coating and/or one or more insulation members (13a and 13b); and
a ground probe (12) disposed in the ground cavity, the ground probe configured to electrically connect to a ground conductor and to a ground pad (the signal probe is electrically conductive and configured to electrically connect contacts opposite the first and second surface, such as bumps Bb and pads Pb), wherein the ground probe is further electrically connected to the conductive body (see paragraph 0042); and
a conductive contact (10t) disposed on the first surface and contacting said ground conductor (Pb).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narumi in view of the US Patent US 11,221,348 by Zhou et al., (Zhou hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Narumi teaches in Figure 1, a test socket for coupling an integrated circuit chip (“B”) to a printed circuit board (“P”), said test socket comprising:
a conductive body comprising a conductive material (metal housing 10, see paragraph 0042) and having a first surface (lower surface) configured to face said PCB and a second surface (upper surface) configured to face said IC chip, said conductive body defining a signal cavity (cavity 10a enclosing unit 11) and a ground cavity (cavity 10b enclosing unit 12), the signal cavity and the ground cavity extending from the first surface to the second surface;
a signal probe (11+13a+13b) disposed in the signal cavity, the signal probe configured to electrically connect to a signal conductor of the PCB and to a signal pad of the IC chip (the signal probe is electrically conductive and configured to electrically connect contacts opposite the first and second surface, such as bumps Ba and pads Pa), wherein said signal probe includes an electrically insulative coating and/or one or more insulation members (13a and 13b); and
a conductive ground probe (12) disposed in the ground cavity, said conductive ground probe configured to electrically connect to a ground conductor of the PCB and to a ground pad of the IC chip (the signal probe is electrically conductive and configured to electrically connect contacts opposite the first and second surface, such as bumps Bb and pads Pb), wherein said conductive ground probe is further electrically connected to the conductive body (see paragraph 0042); and
a conductive member (pin barrel 12a extending radially from the longitudinal axis of ground pin 12 - similar to portion 11a of signal pin 11 illustrated in Figure 2 - see paragraph 0040) disposed on said conductive ground probe, said conductive member configured to contact said conductive material of said conductive body to electrically connect said conductive ground probe to said conductive body (see paragraphs 0039 and 0042).
Narumi substantially teaches all of the elements disclosed above, except for explicitly mentioning two conductive members configured to contact the conductive material. Narumi teaches a single conductive member (pin barrel 12a).
However, said inclusion of an additional conductive member in the structure taught by Narumi would amount to simply duplicating one of the parts (for example, by dividing the barrel in two parts either axially or longitudinally) in an apparatus that is otherwise taught by the combination of prior art. Moreover, the addition of the additional conductive member doesn’t appear to add significance or new and unexpected results. Section 2144.04, VI in the MPEP addresses a similar scenario in reference to the decision In re Harza:
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a “web” which lies in the joint, and a plurality of “ribs” projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to divide the barrel in two parts either axially or longitudinally so that two conductive portions of the probe contact the conductive body, since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, In re Harza.
Nevertheless, Zhou shows in Figure 7C, a socket including a conductive housing (socket body 702, see col. 16, lines 46-47), and a ground probe (780) which includes a first and second conductive members (see arrows in annotated Figure below), that connect the ground probe to the conductive housing (by virtue of their external surface contacting the conductive member). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of conductive members on probes connecting the probe to a conductive socket body as taught by Zhou, in the device/system/method of Narumi, in order to aid in the alignment of Narumi's ground probe while ensuring the probe is reliably connected to the conductive body of the socket.
As to claim 2, Narumi teaches in Figure 1 an insulation layer (10s) disposed on the first surface (10s extends to substantially cover the first surface).
As to claim 3, Narumi teaches in Figure 1, said conductive body (10) and said insulation layer (10s) define a recess at an opening of the ground cavity to the first surface (recess defined by the portion surrounding contact 10t, at the opening of cavity 10b).
As to claim 4, Narumi teaches in Figure 1, a conductive contact (10t) disposed on the first surface and configured to contact the ground conductor (Pb) of the PCB (“P”) to electrically connect said conductive body to the ground conductor (see paragraph 0049).
As to claim 5, Narumi teaches in Figure 1, said conductive contact (10t) is disposed at an opening of the ground cavity to the first surface.
As to claim 6, Narumi teaches in Figure 1, said conductive contact (10t) extends from the first surface.
As to claim 11, Narumi teaches in Figure 1, a plurality of conductive shield needles (10t, which being elongated projections, is interpreted as the recited “needles”) extending from the first surface, said conductive shield needles configured to contact said ground conductor to form an electrical connection between said conductive body and the ground conductor (see paragraph 0049).
As to claim 12, Narumi teaches in Figure 1, at least some of said plurality of conductive shield needles (10t) are disposed adjacent to an opening of the signal cavity at the first surface (the term “adjacent” doesn’t define a specific distance. Thus, because the needles 10t are positioned in proximity to all other elements in the socket, including the signal cavity, the needles are “adjacent” to it).
As to claim 13, Narumi teaches in Figure 1, power probe configured to electrically connect to a power conductor of the PCB and to a power pad of the IC chip, said power probe disposed in a power cavity defined by said conductive body ((not shown in the Figures, but described in paragraph 0043, last three lines).
As to claim 14, Narumi teaches in Figure 1, an air gap is defined in the power cavity radially between said conductive body and said power probe. As explained in paragraph 0043, the socket comprises a power probe. Although not explicitly shown or mentioned, the power probes must inherently insulated from the conductive body so as not to short the circuit.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed, to arrange the power probe in the same manner as the signal probe (including the air gap between portion 11a and 10s shown in Figure 1) in order to insulate it from the conductive body at ground potential.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination, a test socket wherein the at least two conductive members comprise an elastomer, in combination with all other elements recited.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination, a test socket wherein the at least two conductive members comprise a ring positioned around at least a portion of a circumference of an outside surface of the ground probe, in combination with all other elements recited.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination, a test socket wherein the conductive body further defines a signal counterbore disposed at a first opening of the signal cavity at the second surface and a ground counterbore disposed at a second opening of the ground cavity at the second surface, wherein the signal counterbore is configured to at least partially receive the signal pad of the IC chip without contacting the signal pad, and wherein the ground counterbore is configured to at least partially receive the ground pad of the IC chip, in combination with all other elements recited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- The US Patent US 8,808,010 by Zhou et al., directed to a socket for use in a test system is provided. The socket can include a metal structure having a plurality of openings, the plurality of openings spaced to accommodate the plurality of aligned connectors. At least one opening in the plurality of openings can extend through a thickness of the metal structure and can have an annular inner surface. The annular inner surface can be proximal to at least a portion of a conductive outer surface of at least one aligned connector of the plurality of aligned connectors in the test system. The socket can further include an insulation layer provided on the annular inner surface. See figure below:
/RICHARD ISLA/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 September 3, 2026