DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 6 of the Remarks. Applicant argues that Takao does not disclose forming an exit surface of a primary layer that is “dependent on” a predetermined shape to ensure return waves reach receive antennas with the same angle of incidence. Applicant refers to the specification which provides mathematical computations showing how the exit surface shape is derived as a function of the predetermined shape. Applicant concludes that Takao’s approach of controlling layer thickness to minimize deviation is fundamentally different from computing a compensating surface geometry. However, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. (MPEP 2113). The argument is not persuasive as Takao discloses the structural limitation imposed on the claim, that is, the layers, including the primary layer, are shaped such that return waves reach the receive antennas with the same angle of incidence regardless of position of the target, as illustrated in Figure 5 and discussed at [0023], [0088]-[0089]. Takao discloses that detection angle measurements would be erroneous otherwise ([0089]). Further, the mathematical computations referenced in the Remarks do not impose limitation on the claimed layered arrangement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takao et al. (US 2016/0248152).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Takao discloses a vehicular assembly (Fig. 3) for a vehicle, the vehicular assembly being configured to detect a target object in the environment of the vehicle ([0004], [00039] and comprising:
- a radar sensor (6) including at least one transmit antenna (inherent for radar transmission) configured to transmit radar waves ([0074]) and at least two receive antennas configured to receive return radar waves reflected by the target object ([0022]),
- a layered arrangement including:
(i) a primary layer (2 or 5) placed facing the radar sensor and including an exit surface for the return radar waves, and
(ii)
at least one secondary layer (4) comprising an entrance surface of the return radar waves, and
(iii) at least one non-planar predetermined shape present in the primary layer or in at least one secondary layer (illustrated Fig. 3), wherein the exit surface of the primary layer is formed responsive to the at least one predetermined shape, so that return waves reach the at least two receive antennas with the same angle of incidence (θ) regardless of the position of the target object (Fig. 5; [0023], [0088]-[0089]).
Regarding claim 2, Takao discloses the primary and secondary layers are merged into a single layer ([0101]).
Regarding claim 3, Takao discloses the primary and secondary layers are distinct and each has a different refractive index (the result of different permittivities, [0025]).
Regarding claim 5, the claim indicates that the shape of the exit surface is determined by a finite-difference method. As addressed above, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113). As Takao discloses the surface shaped to the extent required, the claim is anticipated.
Regarding claim 7, Takao discloses the layered arrangement forms a logo ([0012]).
Regarding claim 8, Takao discloses the predetermined shape is a relief formed from planar or conical surfaces (Fig. 3 as illustrated, also [0045]).
Regarding claim 10, Takao discloses the primary layer (2) has a primary refractive index, and the layered arrangement includes two secondary layers (4, 5) each with a secondary refractive index and a tertiary refractive index, respectively, one layer (4) of the layers including the entrance surface of the return radar waves and possessing the tertiary refractive index, the entrance surface being partially parallel to the exit surface (Fig. 3, the curves are parallel) and the tertiary refractive index being the same as the primary refractive index (2 and 4 may have the same relative permittivity, 5 is different ([0060], [0070]). Alternatively, the primary layer may be viewed as layer 5, and the secondary layers 2 and 4 [0070].
Regarding claim 11, Takao discloses the predetermined shape is curved and smooth (Fig. 3 as illustrated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Asanuma et al. (US 2012/0306685).
Takao does not disclose correcting a phase difference measured by the radar by a correction function of a processing unit. Asanuma discloses a similar vehicular radar including a phase difference calculating unit with a function of calculating an averaged phase difference to correct the phase difference of a moving target ([0080]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of Takao to include such phase correction in order to improve the accuracy of detecting directions of the targets as disclosed and identified by Asanuma.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW M BARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646