DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed June 4, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-17 are noted as amended and claim 18 is noted as newly added. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome all previous objections, 112(b), and 112(d) rejections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed March 6, 2026 and all objections and rejections therein have been withdrawn. Further, Applicant’s amendments to the claims have rendered the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation moot and the previous claim interpretation is withdrawn as the limitations have been amended to no longer invoke the interpretation. Further, the rejection of claim 17 as non-statutory subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 is overcome by Applicant’s amendment and hereby withdrawn. Claim 17 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1, 16, and 17 recite a machine, a process, and a computer program product for performing the process, the process including the steps of selecting a moving speed by the examinee; accepting a location-pointing action performed by the examinee to point to a specific location in the simulated moving image; and measuring the characteristics based on the indication results correlating with whether the location-pointing action correctly pointed to the location of the target object at a specific time when the scene including each target object in the simulated moving image is displayed in the speed-variable display process and on the content of the speed selection instruction. The recited steps, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are selecting a moving speed by the examinee, accepting a location-point action/selection performed by the examinee, and measuring characteristics of the examinee based on results of whether a pointing action correctly pointed to a target object at a specific time. The recited steps, as drafted, are a process that is a method of applying an abstract idea, specifically mental processes (evaluation (measuring the characteristics), judgement (selecting a moving speed), observation (accepting a location-pointing action)) and/or certain methods of organizing human activity (selecting a moving speed; accepting a location pointing action; and measuring the characteristics). If claim limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, include a mental process and/or certain methods of organizing human activity, the limitations fall under the abstract ideas judicial exception and therefore recite ineligible subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1, 16, and 17 recite abstract ideas.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not recite additional elements that are significantly more than the judicial exception or meaningfully limit the practice of the judicial exception. The additional elements are a speed selection instruction receiving circuit [claim 1]; a display control circuit [claim 1]; a location-pointing action accepting circuit [claim 1]; a characteristic measurement circuit [claim 1]; a display circuit or an operation input circuit [claims 16/17]; a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions for execution by a computer [claim 17]; and the steps of receiving a speed selection instruction; executing a speed-variable display process to display a simulated moving image, which is a moving image simulating the field of vision of a human moving along a predetermined course and including at least one target object in such a manner that the moving speed is set in accordance with the speed selection instruction; and outputting characteristic information representing the measurement results of the characteristics. The additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activity and instructions for applying the judicial exception with a generic computing device as, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional step(s) is/are merely displaying the results of the process (outputting), data gathering/receiving an input, and displaying a moving image on a display unit. The other additional elements of the various circuits and NTCRM and the step of executing the display process are generic computer components/instructions for performing the above method, per MPEP 2106.05(f). Under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements are generic components of a computing device used to apply the abstract idea. Further, paragraph 0129 of the specification states the information processing device may be any other types of computer including PCs, smartphones, tablet terminals, or the like. As such, these additional elements are interpreted as merely instructions to apply the judicial exception. Accordingly, the additional elements and steps do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limitations on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, as discussed above, the additional step(s) is/are insignificant extra-solution activity performed during the abstract idea. The additional elements of the various circuits, NTCRM, and an image display unit used to perform the process are generic computing components/instructions used to apply the judicial exception and therefore fall under the “apply it” limitation of the judicial exception and do not amount to significantly more per MPEP 2106.05(f). Further, the limitations, taken in combination, add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. As such, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, the additional elements do not meaningfully limit the practice of the abstract idea and do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. Therefore, claims 1, 16, and 17 are not directed to eligible subject matter as they are directed to abstract ideas without significantly more.
Claims 2-15 and 18 are dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of the independent claim. Therefore, the dependent claims recite the same abstract idea. The limitations of the dependent claims fail to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For example:
The limitations of claims 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, and 12 recite further abstract ideas including measuring the characteristics based on the indication results (evaluation MP), receiving a self-evaluation of the indication results (CMOHA), measuring the characteristics based on the self-evaluation (evaluation MP), determining the self-evaluation ability of the examinee (evaluation MP), determining the risk of the examinee (evaluation MP), and measuring the risk due to a visual field defect and cognitive function (evaluation MP). As the limitations are further abstract ideas, the limitations cannot meaningfully limit or amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas of the independent claims. The additional elements of the dependent claims are further insignificant extra-solution activities including defining data being manipulated such as the data included in the characteristics (see MPEP 2106.05(g)) and displaying content. The limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claim is also applicable on these claims.
The limitations of claims 3, 7, and 11 recite further insignificant extra-solution activities including executing processes to display images, the order of steps, and receiving inputs. With regard to the order of steps, the limitations have been considered as a whole and as an order combination and the limitations, taken in combination, add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually as the order does not provide a practical application or significantly more as they do not result in unexpected results or benefits. The limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claim is also applicable on these claims.
The limitations of claims 4 and 13 recite clarification of the types of data used/comprising the characteristics and the simulated moving image. The limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, are merely defining/selecting a type of data to be manipulated which, per MPEP 2106.05(g), is insignificant extra-solution activity. The limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claim is also applicable on these claims.
The limitations of claims 14, 15, and 18 recite further instructions for applying the judicial exceptions with a generic computing device as the limitations are further reciting a generic display unit/device which under its broadest reasonable interpretation is any known computing display such as a monitor, projector, or LCD (Paragraphs 0003, 0129) and the circuits being part of a processor which is a generic computing component. Therefore, the limitations are further generic computing components/devices used to apply the judicial exceptions. The limitations fail to provide any teaching that integrates the judicial exceptions into a practical application or amounts to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. For this reason, the analysis performed on the independent claim is also applicable on these claims.
Accordingly, claims 2-15 and 18 are directed to abstract ideas without significantly more and are not drawn to eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harkness (US PGPub 20160163217) in view of Faubert et al. (US 10,743,807), hereinafter referred to Faubert.
With regard to claims 1, 16, and 17, Harkness teaches an information processing device [claim 1] (Abstract; Paragraphs 0049-0050, 0192; “computing device”), an information processing method [claim 16] (Abstract; Paragraphs 0031, 0192; “method”; “a process”), and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions for execution by a computer, the instructions including a computer-implemented method [claim 17] (Paragraphs 0015, 0192; “a non-transitory computing device readable medium”) for measuring characteristics of an examinee when the examinee moves (Paragraphs 0033-0034 teach the system and method evaluate driver/examinee behaviors and measure performance (characteristics) while driving (moving)), comprising:
a display control circuit that executes a speed-variable display process to display a simulated moving image (Abstract; Paragraphs 0042, 0049, 0053, 0118 teach the system includes presenting driving simulations of a vehicle in motion (simulated moving image) including simulations wherein the speed of the vehicle is adjusted (speed-variable)), which is a moving image simulating the field of vision of a human moving along a predetermined course and including at least one target object in such a manner that the moving speed is set in accordance with the speed selection instruction (Paragraphs 0049-0050, 0118, 0147 teach the simulations can be for driving scenarios including prerecorded scenarios (predetermined course) thereby simulating the view of a driver while driving (field of vision) and wherein a driver can adjust the speed of the vehicle thereby “setting” a moving speed and inputting a speed (speed selection));
a location-pointing action accepting circuit that accepts a location-pointing action performed by the examinee (from one of the display circuit or the operation input circuit [claims 16 and 17] (Examiner notes that the display circuit or operation input circuit are interpreted as a user interface and/or input means which are taught by the user interface and mouse click or space bar tap (operation input circuit) and device which can be a table or touch screen media device of Harkness Paragraphs 0050, 0052)) to point to a specific location in the simulated moving image (Paragraphs 0098-0099, 0108, 0127 teach the scenario can include a visual awareness activity in which a trainee is tasked with clicking (location pointing action) on the sections of the display containing hazards or clues of potential hazards or possible change); and
a characteristic measurement circuit that measures the characteristics based on the indication results correlating with whether the location-pointing action correctly pointed to the location of the target object at a specific time when the scene including each target object in the simulated moving image is displayed in the speed-variable display process and on the content of the speed selection instruction (Paragraphs 0107-0109, 0126-0128, 0189 teach the system can evaluate user performance including determining a number of missed hazards or clues and each scenario/activity can be scored to determine a user’s crash-avoidance skill with regard to the simulations wherein the user’s performance in the visual awareness and hazard recognition would be based on the correct clicking (pointing actions) based on selecting the correct areas of the simulation including the hazards (target objects)), and outputs characteristic information representing the measurement results of the characteristics (Paragraphs 0109, 0128, 0188-0190 teach the system can display the results of an activity or the user’s overall performance or score).
Harkness may not explicitly teach a speed selection instruction receiving circuit that receives a speed selection instruction (from one of a display circuit or an operation input circuit [claims 16 and 17]) for selecting a moving speed by the examinee; and the moving image simulating at the moving speed. However, Faubert teaches a system and method for determining a perceptual-cognitive signature of a subject when performing a task correlating to abilities such as driving a car wherein a user is tested by presenting a plurality of objects moving on a display for a predetermined duration as part of a trial wherein the method can include a series of trails wherein the objects can have a fixed preset speed or a variable speed based on the parameters/settings of each trial wherein the speed for a first trial is set via an input interface which a user can use to supply the controller with the parameters for the trials (Col 1, lines 36-41; Col 4, lines 5-36; Col 8, lines 15-62).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harkness to incorporate the teachings of Faubert by incorporating the technique of setting a fixed or variable speed for target objects of Faubert for the simulations of Harkness, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to systems and method for testing user visual perception of target objects such as during driving. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Harkness by coding the system to include setting a speed variable for the simulation in order to adjust the movement speed of the vehicle or the relative speed of the target objects such that each scenario or trial has a fixed, staircase, or variable speed depending on the setting wherein the setting/parameter of at least a first trial or simulation is set by a user via an input interface using the display and mouse of Harkness. Upon such modification, the method and system of Harkness would include a speed selection instruction receiving circuit that receives a speed selection instruction (from one of a display circuit or an operation input circuit [claims 16 and 17]) for selecting a moving speed by the examinee; and the moving image simulating at the moving speed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Faubert with Harkness’s system and method in order to provide appropriate testing of the user’s ability by adjusting the simulations to the subjects abilities to determine their skill level (Faubert Col 6, lines 55-64; Col 8, lines 15-41).
With regard to claim 2, Harkness further teaches wherein the characteristic measurement circuit measures the characteristics based on the indication results in the speed-fixed display process (Paragraphs 0107-0109, 0126-0128, 0189 teach the system can evaluate user performance including determining a number of missed hazards or clues and each scenario/activity can be scored to determine a user’s crash-avoidance skill with regard to the simulations wherein the user’s performance in the visual awareness and hazard recognition would be based on the correct clicking (pointing actions) based on selecting the correct areas of the simulation including the hazards (target objects)), but may not explicitly teach wherein the display control circuit further executes a speed-fixed display process to display the simulated moving image on an image display unit in a manner in which the moving speed is fixed to a preset reference speed. However, as discussed above, Faubert teaches a system and method for determining a perceptual-cognitive signature of a subject when performing a task correlating to abilities such as driving a car wherein a user is tested by presenting a plurality of objects moving on a display for a predetermined duration as part of a trial wherein the method can include a series of trails wherein the objects can have a fixed preset speed or a variable speed based on the parameters/settings of each trial (Col 1, lines 36-41; Col 4, lines 5-31; Col 8, lines 15-62).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harkness to incorporate the teachings of Faubert by incorporating the technique of setting a fixed or variable speed for target objects of Faubert for the simulations of Harkness, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to systems and method for testing user visual perception of target objects such as during driving. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Harkness by coding the system to include setting a speed variable for the simulation in order to adjust the movement speed of the vehicle or the relative speed of the target objects such that each scenario or trial has a fixed, staircase, or variable speed depending on the setting such that the moving speed can be fixed to a preset reference speed. Upon such modification, the method and system of Harkness would include wherein the display control circuit further executes a speed-fixed display process to display the simulated moving image on the image display unit in a manner in which the moving speed is fixed to a preset reference speed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Faubert with Harkness’s system and method in order to provide appropriate testing of the user’s ability by adjusting the simulations to the subjects abilities to determine their skill level (Faubert Col 6, lines 55-64; Col 8, lines 15-41).
With regard to claim 3, Harkness may not explicitly teach wherein the display control circuit executes the speed-variable display process after execution of the speed-fixed display process, and the speed selection instruction receiving circuit receives the speed selection instruction after execution of the speed-fixed display process and before execution of the speed-variable display process. However, Faubert further teaches the process can include a series of trials and/or a plurality of series such that each trail or series can have a set or variable speed, and the speed can be adjusted between trials (Col 5, lines 55-64; Col 6, lines 38-52; Col 8, lines 1-41).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harkness to incorporate the teachings of Faubert by incorporating the technique of setting a fixed or variable speed for target objects of Faubert for the simulations of Harkness, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to systems and method for testing user visual perception of target objects such as during driving. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Harkness by coding the system to include setting a speed variable for the simulation in order to adjust the movement speed of the vehicle or the relative speed of the target objects such that each scenario or trial has a fixed, staircase, or variable speed depending on the setting wherein the speed being fixed or variable or the set speed can be adjusted between trials such that a first trial is a fixed speed and the second is a variable speed wherein the speed is set between the trials. Upon such modification, the method and system of Harkness would include wherein the display control circuit executes the speed-variable display process after execution of the speed-fixed display process, and the speed selection instruction receiving circuit receives the speed selection instruction after execution of the speed-fixed display process and before execution of the speed-variable display process. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Faubert with Harkness’s system and method in order to provide appropriate testing of the user’s ability by adjusting the simulations to the subjects abilities to determine their skill level (Faubert Col 6, lines 55-64; Col 8, lines 15-41).
With regard to claim 4, Harkness further teaches wherein the characteristics include a target object perception ability (Paragraph 0102; “visual awareness skills”) and a self-control ability of the examinee (Paragraphs 0114, 0118; “managing speed and space for safer driving”).
With regard to claim 7, Harkness further teaches wherein the speed selection instruction receiving circuit receives the speed selection instruction during the speed-variable display process, and the display control circuit changes the moving speed in accordance with the speed selection instruction during the speed-variable display process (Paragraphs 0118, 0147, 0150, 0156 teach the scenarios can include the trainee adjusting speed such as to maintain safe spacing or for merging such that adjusting the speed of the simulated vehicle would result in the display speed adjusting accordingly during the scenario/simulation and displaying accordingly).
With regard to claims 8-10, Harkness further teaches wherein the characteristic includes a risk of the examinee while moving (Paragraphs 0037, 0050, 0056, 0140, 0151 teach the performance evaluation can include qualitative assessments of the simulation performance including if behavior is risky or safe). Harkness further teaches the simulations can be combinations of the skill assessments including visual awareness, hazard recognition, and speed and space management skills such that a combination of a user’s performance at hazard recognition/identification of clues and speed adjustments based on the situation such as a vehicle being in a blind spot can be used for the qualitative assessment of risky and safe behavior wherein slowing down (reducing moving speed) to perform an action or when a hazard is missed would result in a safer behavior assessment while missing an identification or improper speed is a worse score/riskier behavior (Paragraphs 0050, 0143, 0153, 0156, 0189, 0191, 0194) thereby teaching the characteristic measurement circuit determines that in a case where there is no location-pointing action correctly pointing to the location of the target object at the specific time during the speed-variable display process, the risk is lower when there is a speed selection instruction to reduce the moving speed than when there is no speed selection instruction to reduce the moving speed [claim 8]; the characteristic measurement circuit determines that in a case where there is no location- pointing action correctly pointing to the location of the target object at the specific time during the speed-fixed display process and there is no location-pointing action correctly pointing to the location of the target object at the specific time during the speed-variable display process, the risk is lower when there is a speed selection instruction to reduce the moving speed than when there is no speed selection instruction to reduce the moving speed [claim 9]; and wherein the characteristic measurement circuit determines that in a case where there is no location- pointing action correctly pointing to the location of the target object at the specific time during the speed-fixed display process and there is a location-pointing action correctly pointing to the location of the target object at the specific time during the speed-variable display process, the risk is lower when there is a speed selection instruction to reduce the moving speed than when there is no speed selection instruction to reduce the moving speed [claim 10]. Examiner further notes that Harkness teaches slowing down results in safer behavior and all three claims state that the risk is lower when a user reduces moving speed than when they do not. The preceding determinations of correct or incorrect pointing all result in the same determination that risk is lower when the moving speed is reduced as is taught by Harkness regardless of performance in identifying the hazards (Harkness Paragraphs 0110, 0150-0151).
With regard to claim 11, Harkness may not explicitly teach wherein the display control circuit executes the speed-variable display process after execution of the speed-fixed display process. However, Faubert further teaches the process can include a series of trials and/or a plurality of series such that each trail or series can have a set or variable speed, and the speed can be adjusted between trials (Col 5, lines 55-64; Col 6, lines 38-52; Col 8, lines 1-41).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harkness to incorporate the teachings of Faubert by incorporating the technique of setting a fixed or variable speed for target objects of Faubert for the simulations of Harkness, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to systems and method for testing user visual perception of target objects such as during driving. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Harkness by coding the system to include setting a speed variable for the simulation in order to adjust the movement speed of the vehicle or the relative speed of the target objects such that each scenario or trial has a fixed, staircase, or variable speed depending on the setting wherein the speed being fixed or variable or the set speed can be adjusted between trials such that a first trial is a fixed speed and the second is a variable speed. Upon such modification, the method and system of Harkness would include wherein the display control circuit executes the speed-variable display process after execution of the speed-fixed display process. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Faubert with Harkness’s system and method in order to provide appropriate testing of the user’s ability by adjusting the simulations to the subjects abilities to determine their skill level (Faubert Col 6, lines 55-64; Col 8, lines 15-41).
With regard to claim 12, Harkness further teaches wherein the simulated moving image includes the target object representing actual risk (Per paragraph 0021 of the instant application, actual risk objects are physical objects such as cars, bicycles, and pedestrians; Harkness Paragraphs 0096, 0101-0102, 0107-0108 teach the scenarios can include having the user identify hazards including other cars, pedestrians, and bicycles) and the target object representing potential risk (Per paragraph 0021 of the instant application, potential risk objects are perceived dangers such as blind spots; Harkness Paragraphs 0093, 0098, 0102 teach the scenarios can include having a trainee identify blind spots), the characteristics include a risk of the examinee while moving (Paragraphs 0110, 0122, 0132, 0140, 0151 teach the evaluation can be with regard to a risk of crash or risky behavior of the trainee while driving), and the characteristic measurement circuit measures the risk due to a visual field defect based on the indication result at the specific time when a scene including the target object representing actual risk is displayed (Paragraphs 0108-0109, 0126-0128, 0189 teach the system can determine how many missed hazards and clues such as the cars, pedestrians, and bicycles the trainee missed which can be used for calculating a score for the skill such that a measurement of weakness in the skill (risk) can be determined; While Harkness does not specifically teach this being a visual field defect, the limitation is an intended use that is reflective of the determination which can be performed by the teachings of Harkness without further modification as Harkness performs all the functional elements as recited), and the risk due to cognitive function decline based on the indication result at the specific time when a scene including the target object representing potential risk is displayed (Paragraphs 0108-0109, 0126-0128, 0189 teach the system can determine how many missed hazards and clues such as the blind spots the trainee missed which can be used for calculating a score for the skill such that a measurement of weakness in the skill (risk) can be determined; While Harkness does not specifically teach this being a cognitive function decline, the limitation is an intended use that is reflective of the determination which can be performed by the teachings of Harkness without further modification as Harkness performs all the functional elements as recited).
With regard to claim 13, Harkness further teaches wherein the simulated moving image is a moving image simulating the field of vision of a human driving a vehicle and moving on the predetermined course (Paragraphs 0040, 0042, 0049 teach the system presents a trainee with driving scenarios within a simulated driving environment corresponding with a trainee’s field of view while driving (moving)).
With regard to claim 14, Harkness further teaches further comprising an image display unit (Paragraphs 0049, 0052; “audiovisual device”), wherein the display control circuit executes the speed-variable display process to display the simulated moving image on the image display unit (Abstract; Paragraphs 0042, 0049, 0053, 0118 teach the system includes presenting driving simulations of a vehicle in motion (simulated moving image) including simulations wherein the speed of the vehicle is adjusted (speed-variable) wherein the simulations are displayed on the audiovisual device).
With regard to claim 15, Harkness, as modified, further teaches an information processing system (Abstract; Paragraphs 0049-0050, 0192; “computing device”) comprising: the information processing device according to claim 14 (see prior art rejection of claim 14 above); and an image display device as the image display unit (Paragraphs 0049, 0052; “audiovisual device”).
With regard to claim 18, Harkness further teaches wherein the speed selection instruction receiving circuit, the display control circuit, the location pointing action accepting circuit, and the characteristic measurement circuit are all formed as part of a processor (Paragraphs 0050-0052, 0192 teach the system is executed using a computing device which includes a processor executing the methods and instructions such that the processes and “circuits” are performed by/as part of a processor).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harkness in view of Faubert as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Harkness ‘349 (US PGPub 20090181349), and further in view of Kamath (US PGPub 20210110737).
With regard to claim 5, Harkness in view of Faubert may not explicitly teach wherein the characteristics include a self-evaluation ability of the examinee, the information processing device further comprises a self-evaluation receiving circuit that receives a self-evaluation of the indication results evaluated by the examinee, and the characteristic measurement circuit measures a self-evaluation characteristic of the characteristics based on the self- evaluation. However, Harkness ‘349 teaches a system and method for diagnosing driving skills of a driver including driving simulations and providing a self-assessment to a driver to complete a survey wherein the responses to the survey are recorded for correlation analysis (Abstract; Paragraphs 0048, 0105, 0109-0112).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harkness in view of Faubert to incorporate the teachings of Harkness ‘349 by incorporating the step of providing a self-assessment of Harkness ‘349 for the driving scenarios and simulations of Harkness, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to systems and method for testing user visual perception of target objects using driving simulations. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Harkness in view of Faubert by coding the system to include providing a self-assessment survey to a trainee with regards to a driving scenario to self-assess their driving and related skills and storing the responses for correlation analysis. Upon such modification, the method and system of Harkness in view of Faubert would include wherein the characteristics include a self-evaluation ability of the examinee, the information processing device further comprises a self-evaluation receiving circuit that receives a self-evaluation of the indication results evaluated by the examinee. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Harkness ‘349 with Harkness in view of Faubert’s system and method in order to further analyze trainee performance and improve trainee performance.
Harkness in view of Faubert and Harkness ‘349 may not explicitly teach the characteristic measurement circuit measures a self-evaluation characteristic of the characteristics based on the self- evaluation. However, Kamath teaches a system and method for measuring user performance and self-awareness while performing tasks wherein the user’s self-awareness score is based on the user’s awareness of their performance and actions wherein a user’s score is affected more when they are less accurate (higher difference between self-assessment and actual performance) (Paragraphs 0050-0051, 0053, 0055, 0060, 0108).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harkness in view of Faubert and Harkness ‘349 to incorporate the teachings of Kamath by applying the technique of measuring a user’s self-awareness of their performance and actions of Kamath as a measured skill of Harkness, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to systems and method for evaluating user skills with regard to task performance. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Harkness in view of Faubert and Harkness ‘349 by coding the system to use the self-assessments as taught by Harkness ‘349 with regard to the activities and skill evaluations of Harkness to measure a user’s self-awareness with regard to their performance and driving risk. Upon such modification, the method and system of Harkness in view of Faubert and Harkness ‘349 would include the characteristic measurement circuit measures a self-evaluation characteristic of the characteristics based on the self- evaluation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Kamath with Harkness in view of Faubert and Harkness ‘349’s system and method in order to improve trainee recognition of their skills and limitations and improve upon them (Kamath Paragraph 0003).
With regard to claim 6, Harkness in view of Faubert and Harkness ‘349 may not explicitly teach wherein the characteristic measurement circuit determines the self-evaluation ability of the examinee based on a difference between the self-evaluation and actual indication results. However, as discussed above, Kamath teaches a system and method for measuring user performance and self-awareness while performing tasks wherein the user’s self-awareness score is based on the user’s awareness of their performance and actions wherein a user’s score is affected more when they are less accurate (higher difference between self-assessment and actual performance) (Paragraphs 0050-0051, 0053, 0055, 0060, 0108).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harkness in view of Faubert and Harkness ‘349 to incorporate the teachings of Kamath by applying the technique of measuring a user’s self-awareness of their performance and actions of Kamath as a measured skill of Harkness, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to systems and method for evaluating user skills with regard to task performance. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Harkness in view of Faubert and Harkness ‘349 by coding the system to use the self-assessments as taught by Harkness ‘349 with regard to the activities and skill evaluations of Harkness to measure a user’s self-awareness with regard to their performance and driving risk wherein the self-awareness metric is based on the accuracy (difference) between a user’s self-assessment and actual performance. Upon such modification, the method and system of Harkness in view of Faubert and Harkness ‘349 would include wherein the characteristic measurement circuit determines the self-evaluation ability of the examinee based on a difference between the self-evaluation and actual indication results. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Kamath with Harkness in view of Faubert and Harkness ‘349’s system and method in order to improve trainee recognition of their skills and limitations and improve upon them (Kamath Paragraph 0003).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed June 4, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. 101 and 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to the arguments directed to the 101 rejection, Applicant’s arguments are as follows: A) the claims do not recite a mental process because the claims require action by a circuit, CPU, or processor that cannot be practically applied in the mind thereby the claims do not recite abstract ideas and B) even if the claims are considered to be directed to an abstract idea, the claims recite a practical application by providing an improved user interface. With regard to Argument A, Examiner notes that Applicant is combining the analysis of step 2A prong one and prong two to determine if the claims are directed to a judicial exception. Under prong one, the initial determination is whether or not the claims recite a judicial exception under the broadest reasonable interpretation. The claims recite selecting a moving speed, accepting a location-pointing action, and measuring the characteristics which as discussed above are mental processes under their broadest reasonable interpretation as a human mind could select a moving speed as a decision/judgement, recognize a user click/pointing action as an observation, and measure characteristics based on the analyzed data as an evaluation. Applicant’s analysis is that the claims cannot recite and/or be directed to a judicial exception because of the use of a processor/CPU/circuit, but these elements are additional elements for the sake of analysis and are analyzed under prong two and Step 2B to determine if the limitations individually or in combination amount to a practical application or significantly more than the judicial exceptions. The recitation of displaying a moving image/simulation and the steps being performed by a circuit, CPU, or processor does not preclude the claims from reciting judicial exceptions as a claim that requires a computer or computing hardware may still recite a mental process or other judicial exceptions per MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) and the mere implementation of a process by a computing device does not amount to a practical application or significantly more per MPEP 2106.05(f) which is more addressing Applicant’s argument B. Regarding argument B and the claims being directed to the judicial exceptions, Examiner agrees that a human mind cannot “generate the data for displaying a moving image” and simulated field of view and that the claims require hardware, but per MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f), the implementation of judicial exceptions by a generic computing device does not amount to a practical application or significantly more. In the instant application, the display of a moving image and receiving the user input are generic computing functions for having the computing device act as an intermediary for evaluating a user’s visual acuity in place of a human being. Further, the setting of a speed does not amount to a practical application because there is no clear technical improvement to the user interface or display. Applicant’s argument of an improved user interface is a conclusory statement without sufficient support in the arguments, claims, or specification to show a technical improvement. Therefore, the claims stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as the claims are directed to judicial exceptions without significantly more.
Regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. First, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant’s argument is primarily directed to the Faubert reference and fails to address that the teachings of Faubert are used/applied to modify the Harkness reference. Applicant’s argument is that Faubert fails to teach the movement speed being set by an examinee and that there is a difference between setting the speed of objects moving on the screen and the moving speed of an examinee itself. While Faubert does teach automatically setting a movement speed, Faubert does teach the speed being a setting/parameter settable by a user input via a user interface for at least a first trial as discussed above. Additionally, the other amended limitations are taught by the combination of Harkness in view of Faubert as discussed above. Regarding an alleged difference between the moving speed of objects and an examinee, Examiner first notes that the “examinee” is not moving but rather a field of view is simulated as having a travel speed. As discussed above, Harkness teaches a user can adjust a speed of a simulated vehicle and thereby adjust the speed of the field of view and objects moving within the field of view. The teachings of Faubert are applied to Harkness to modify the ability to set a fixed speed via a user speed selection and thereby moving the vehicle at the set speed. Both references are directed to forms of visual field testing/evaluation such that Applicant’s argument of there being no technical motivation is not persuasive, as even if the references are treated as different fields of endeavor, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the teachings in order to provide a focused evaluation of an operator of Harkness by limiting the user’s focus to identifying objects and obstacles in the field of view without needing to focus on adjusting the speed of the vehicle or providing functionality of testing a user at set speeds.
Regarding a difference between objects moving and a field of view moving, Examiner does not find this argument persuasive as the difference is relativity as changing a field of view movement speed would result in changing the relative movement speed of objects within the field of view and the same effect can be observed in reverse such that applying the teaching of setting and/or adjusting the movement speed of objects would be applicable to setting and/or adjusting a movement speed of a field of view or simulated vehicle/user movement. Applicant’s comparison to Pong and Mario Cart is not persuasive as the cited examples have a user controlling an object on the screen directly rather than the system controlling movement of objects within the simulation/screen as is the case in the instant application and references. This is another reason the teachings of Faubert can be applied to Harkness. Finally, with regard to claims 2 and 3, Applicant argues that Faubert does not recite the claimed order of a fixed speed, user selection, and variable speed. Per Applicant’s argument, Faubert recites it as a “typical” order but does not preclude or prevent the claimed order from being performed as mere reordering of the steps would be obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art per MPEP 2144.04. Further, Faubert explicitly states the sequence of operations and test series can be in a variable order thereby explicitly teaching that the order could be for a fixed test series followed by a variable speed test series (Faubert Col 6, lines 38-52 and Col 9, lines 49-56). Therefore, the claims stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-17 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CORRELL T FRENCH/Examiner, Art Circuit 3715