DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tenyama et al. (WO 2019045099 machine translation provided). Tenyama teaches a glass forming apparatus, comprising a conduit comprising an interior passage configured to carry a flow of molten glass therethrough (1st-2nd paragraphs on page 3), and at least one reinforcing member 8 attached to and extending around at least a portion of an external periphery of the conduit (refractory bricks 8, 2nd passage on page 2, last passage on page 3, 1st-2nd passages on page 4 i.e. fig.2). As can be seen in figures 3 and 9, the reinforcing member comprises an upper part 8B and lower part 8a that comes together to form a hollow interior (3rd passage on page 4, see at least figure 3) and the reinforcing member has a rectangular cross sectional shape. Tenyama further teaches the reinforcing member is positioned between and spaced apart from a pair of adjacent electrical flanges 22 (1st-2nd passages on page 6, figures 4-6).
Regarding claim 2, Tenyama teaches the reinforcing member 8 extends around an upper portion of the conduit (see at least figures 2-3 and 10-11).
Regarding claim 3, Tenyama teaches the reinforcing member extends circumferentially around the conduit (see at least figures 2-3 and 10-11).
Regarding claim 4, Tenyama teaches a plurality of reinforcing members (figure 4, 1st and 3rd passages on page 6).
Regarding claim 9, Tenyama teaches the conduit comprises a fining vessel (1st – 2nd and 6th passages on page 3, last passage on page 4).
Regarding claim 11, Tenyama teaches the reinforcing member is spaced apart from the conduit by a gap (2nd passage on page 4).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tenyama et al. (WO 2019045099 machine translation provided) Tenyama teaches a glass forming apparatus, comprising a fining vessel comprising an interior passage configured to carry a flow of molten glass therethrough (1st-2nd and 6th paragraphs on page 3, last passage on page 4), and at least one reinforcing member 8 attached to and extending around at least a portion of an external periphery of the fining vessel (refractory bricks 8, 2nd passage on page 2, last passage on page 3, 1st-2nd passages on page 4 i.e. fig.2). As can be seen in figures 3 and 9, the reinforcing member comprises an upper part 8B and lower part 8a that comes together to form a hollow interior 3rd passage on page 4, see at least figure 3) and the reinforcing member has a rectangular cross sectional shape. Tenyama further teaches the reinforcing member is positioned between and spaced apart from a pair of adjacent electrical flanges 22 attached to the fining vessel (1st-2nd passages on page 6, figures 4-5).
Regarding claim 14, Tenyama teaches the reinforcing member extends circumferentially around the fining vessel (see at least figures 2-3 and 10-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 102211850 machine translation provided) in view of Itazu et al. (2020/0354251) and Lineman et al. (2014/0123710). Zhao teaches a glass forming apparatus, comprising a conduit comprising an interior passage configured to carry a flow of molten glass therethrough ([0001]), and at least one reinforcing member attached to and extending around at least a portion of an external periphery of the conduit ([0018]-[0020], figures). Zhao teaches flowing molten glass through the conduit, but fails to specify electrical flanges. Itazu also teaches a conduit comprising an interior passage configured to carry a flow of molten glass therethrough ([0032]), and at least one reinforcing member 20 attached to and extending around at least a portion of an external periphery of the conduit ([0033]). Itazu further teaches the reinforcing member is positioned between and spaced apart from a pair of adjacent electrical flanges (electrodes on flanges [0043]), wherein the electrodes provide for preheating of the conduit as well as increased heating for conveying molten glass there within ([0044], [0046]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have similarly adopted a pair of electrical flanges to provide heating to the conduit for the conveyance of the molten glass, as taught by Itazu.
Zhao teaches the reinforcing member comprises a hollow interior, but fails to specify one having a cross sectional shape that is rectangular or circular. Lineman discloses a fining vessel comprising a conduit 106 comprising an interior passage configured to carry a flow of molten glass therethrough, and at least one reinforcing member 106a attached to an external periphery of the conduit ([0006]). In figure 2, Lineman depicts the reinforcing member 106a is in the shape of a rib. Lineman appears to further suggests the rib can also serve as a heat sink if welded continuously to the external periphery of the conduit ([0025]). Lineman teaches the member can be configured to have various shapes ([0025], figures 4-8). Like Zhao (figure 2 of Zhao), Lineman teaches one such shape is an inverted V (see figure 8). Other shapes also taught include a member having a hollow interior and having a cross sectional shape that is circular (see figures 5 and 7). Lineman teaches the circular cross section providing a hollow interior provides for further cooling to the conduit ([0026]-[0027]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided for alternative shapes, such as a hollow cylinder, for the reinforcing member of Zhao, as it can also serve to provide cooling for the conduit.
Regarding claims 2-3, Zhao teaches the reinforcing member extends circumferentially around an upper portion of the conduit (2 in figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao teaches the reinforcing member is internally connected to the atmosphere (claim 5) and figure 2 suggests the ends of reinforcing member are openings for connecting to the atmosphere, which suggests a pressure equalizing orifices that provides fluid communication between the reinforcing member hollow interior and an atmosphere external to the reinforcing member. In modifying the shape of the reinforcing member to having a cylindrical shape, it would be expected for the ends to similarly be open.
Regarding claim 7, Zhao teaches the conduit comprises platinum ([0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao teaches the conduit is a fining vessel
Regarding claim 10, Lineman teaches an embodiment in figure 5 wherein the member 522 is connected to the conduit by plate 520.
Claims 7-8 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tenyama et al. (WO 2019045099 machine translation provided) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Itazu et al. (2020/0354251). Tenyama teaches the conduit that makes up the fining vessel comprises platinum (2nd-3rd passages on page 3), and the reinforcing member comprises a refractory material, but doesn’t suggest a platinum reinforcing member. Like Tenyama, Itazu also teaches a conduit comprising an interior passage configured to carry a flow of molten glass therethrough ([0032]), and at least one reinforcing member 20 attached to and extending around at least a portion of an external periphery of the conduit ([0033]), the reinforcing member positioned between and spaced apart from a pair of adjacent electrical flanges (electrodes on flanges [0043]). Also like Tenyama, the reinforcing member extends circumferentially around the conduit ([0033]). Itazu further teaches the reinforcing member comprises the same material as the conduit, platinum ([0036]-[0037]). Itazu teaches platinum can withstand high temperatures with high creep strength ([0036]), much like refractory materials which provides for resistance to high temperature and high strength. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have provided for the alternative material, such as platinum for the reinforcing member, as it is a well known material for handling the high temperature environment of molten glass, while having creep strength.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 27, 2026 have been fully considered. In light of the amendment, the 102 rejection of claim 1 under Itazu has been withdrawn. However, the arguments with respect to the 102 rejection of claims 1 and 13 under Tenyama were not persuasive. Applicant argue Tenyama fails to teach a reinforcing member that comprises a hollow interior, as the bricks 8a and 8b are not hollow. In response, bricks 8a and 8b combined form the reinforcing member, and together form a hollow interior in which conduit 11 resides (see at least figure 3). Thus, the bricks individually are not hollow, but the bricks 8a and 8b together form a hollow interior. Thus, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUEENIE S DEHGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741