DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/14/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5, 9-10, 12-13, 15, 18-19, 21-22, 24, and 27 are pending in the application. In response to Applicant's amendments, Examiner withdraws the previous objections; the previous rejections under 112(b); and maintains the previous rejections of claims 1-3, 5, 9, 15, 18-19, 21-22, 24, and 27 under 103. Examiner notes that all previous objections and rejections pertaining to canceled claims 4, 6-8, 11, 14, 16-17, 20, 23, and 25-26 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/14/2026 regarding claim 1 and its dependent claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that the cited references, either individually or in combination, do not disclose or render obvious every element of amended claim 1 because Miki and Khudair do not teach “a pressure sensor, controller and electric motor that are configured such that the electric motor, in contrast to a control valve, is controlled by the controller based on a pressure input signal when a hydraulic brake releases hold of an object to be driven from a braked position” (Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 16).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Miki discloses “a controller that receives input signals and outputs command signals to said electric motor to control actuation of said object to be driven relative to said body portion of said mobile machine” (See controller 39 that controls each electric motor 45 and also motor generator 54 (see [0044] and [0078]) to operate boom 3, stick 4, and bucket 5 (see Fig. 2)). Miki further discloses a hydraulic brake that is configured to hold the object in a braked position (see [0050-0054] and the rejection of claim 1 below).
Khudair discloses “a pressure sensor configured to sense a braking pressure of said hydraulic piston assembly when said object to be driven is held in said braked position within said range of motion by said hydraulic brake and to provide a pressure input signal to said controller” (See pressure detection device 45 and a “detected pressure may be used as an input to the control unit so as to control the third control valve 39” [0039]. The detected pressure is a braking pressure when first control valve 19 and second control valve 21 are closed [Fig. 3]). Khudair further discloses that the third control valve 39 controls the flow of hydraulic fluid through hydraulic motor 27, which produces torque to run first pump 13 [0040]. The electric motor 15 is used to “provide the remainder of the needed power to the first pump 13, wherein said remainder of provided energy will be lower than if the electric motor 15 would be the only device providing the energy needed for the operation of the hydraulic auxiliary device 11” (Khudair, [0040]). Therefore, Khudair teaches “wherein said electric motor is controlled by said controller based on said pressure input signal when said hydraulic brake releases said hold of said object to be driven from said braked position” (whether and how much electric motor 15 is operated is based on how much torque is produced by the hydraulic motor 27, which is based on the control unit’s signal to control valve 39, which in turn is based on the detected pressure input signal from pressure detection device 45). Khudair further discloses the control unit controls the electric motor 15 [0034]. Khudair’s control unit thus controls electric motor 15 based on the pressure detected by pressure detection device 45, not just control valve 39.
Therefore, the combination of Miki and Khudair as a whole teaches the limitations of amended claim 1, and the rejections of claims 1-3, 5, 9, 15, 18-19, 21, 24, and 27 under 103 are maintained. For similar reasons, the rejection of claim 22 is also maintained.
Applicant states that the cited references, either individually or in combination, do not disclose or render obvious every element of amended claim 10 because Miki and Khudair do not teach “two separate bidirectional pumps” (Applicant’s Remarks, pg. 17).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 10, 12, and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 10, 12-13, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
For consistency of language, each instance of “said pump” in claims 1, 2, and 3 should read “said hydraulic pump”.
Claim 10 recites the limitations “wherein actuation within said first range of motion is controllable” and “wherein said first range of motion comprises rotational motion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations. A first range of motion is not previously recited. In claim 10, “said hydraulic piston assembly configured to actuate within a range of motion” should read “said hydraulic piston assembly configured to actuate within a first range of motion”.
In claim 10, “a second electric motor… to operatively provide a torque on a second output shaft” should read “a second electric motor… to operatively provide a second torque on a second output shaft” as “a torque” on a (first) output shaft is previously recited.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “said body portion”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. A body portion is not previously recited in claim 12 nor in claim 10. In claim 12, “said body portion” should read “a body portion”.
For consistency of language, in claim 13, each instance of “said hydraulic pump” should read “said bidirectional hydraulic pump” and each instance of “said second hydraulic pump” should read “said second bidirectional hydraulic pump” to match the language of claim 10.
In claim 19, “a pressure sensor” is recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation because a pressure sensor has been previously recited in claim 1. It is not clear if the pressure sensor recited in claim 19 is the same pressure sensor recited in claim 1 or a different pressure sensor. For the purpose of examination, the pressure sensor recited in claim 19 is assumed to be the same pressure sensor recited in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The following is interpreted as a definition of a closed hydraulic system: “The electrohydraulic system is a closed hydraulic system in that fluid is not supplied to the system from an external source in operation, nor is fluid permitted to drain to an external sump in operation” [0041].
In accordance with the Specification ([0024] and [0042-0043]) and Drawings (Fig. 3), “a regenerative power stage” is a motor controller/drive electronics. An electric motor operating in “a regenerative mode” is an electric motor generating power [0043].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “wherein said first range of motion comprises rotational motion” does not have support in the disclosure of application 18696053 as originally filed on 03/27/2024, nor in the US provisional application 63249669 filed 09/29/2021 or in the PCT application PCT/US2022/045054 filed 09/28/2022. The amendments to claim 10 change the recited (first) range of motion from a range of the object to be driven (bucket) to a range of the piston/actuating rod in the hydraulic piston assembly. The closest support in the instant application 18696053 is “The range of motion may comprise rotational motion about a tilt axis” [0007], again referring to the range of motion of the object to be driven, not the range of motion of the hydraulic piston assembly. The Specification does not provide sufficient support for the particular limitation “wherein said first range of motion comprises rotational motion” where the range of motion is the range of motion of the hydraulic piston assembly, as claimed. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected for depending upon the rejected claim 10.
Claims 10, 12-13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation “wherein said first range of motion comprises rotational motion” conflicts with “a hydraulic piston assembly… comprising… an actuating rod connected to said piston and configured to move linearly with said piston relative to said housing” where “said hydraulic piston assembly configured to actuate within a [first] range of motion”. The amendments to claim 10 change the recited (first) range of motion from a range of the object to be driven (bucket) to a range of the piston/actuating rod in the hydraulic piston assembly. It is not clear how the range of motion of the hydraulic piston assembly comprises both linear and rotational motion. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected as being indefinite.
In the prior art rejection below, explanations are provided in which the prior art teaches linear motion of the hydraulic piston assembly and rotational motion of an object connected to the hydraulic piston assembly.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected for depending upon the rejected claim 10.
Claim 15 recites the limitations “said second hydraulic pump”, “said second hydraulic piston assembly”, and “wherein said hydraulic pump, said second hydraulic pump, said hydraulic piston assembly, said second hydraulic piston assembly, and said reservoir are connected in a closed hydraulic system.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. No second hydraulic pump nor second hydraulic piston assembly are previously recited in claim 15 or claim 1, rendering these limitations indefinite. Examiner further notes that if claim 15 were amended to depend on claim 10, which does recite a second hydraulic pump and second hydraulic piston assembly, and if claim 10 were found to be allowable, claim 15 would be objected to for being a substantial duplicate of claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 15, 18-19, 21, 24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki and Matoba (EP 1571352 A1; hereafter “Miki”) in view of Khudair (EP 3689814A1).
Regarding claim 1, Miki discloses
A mobile machine (See hydraulic excavator in Fig. 9. See also [0022].) comprising:
an object configured to be driven relative to a body portion of said mobile machine (See bucket 5 to be driven relative to upper structure 2 in Fig. 9. See “In order to drive the bucket cylinder 5a, the driving circuit 43 is adapted to be operated by means of oil hydraulics” [0034].);
an electric storage (See “power storage means 33 is provided with a capacitor 34 for instantaneous charge or discharge of electricity and a battery 35 for charge or discharge of electricity over a relatively extensive period of time” [0029].);
an electric motor connected to said electric storage and configured to be supplied with a current… (One of electric motors 45 or motor generator 54. See “The electric motor 45 is a motor means to be operated by electric power [a current] supplied from either one of or both the power generator 32 and the power [electric] storage means 33” [0035]. See “The motor function of the motor generator 54 serves to drive the pump motor 52 and is adapted to be operated by electric power [a current] supplied from either one of or both the power generator 32 and the power storage means 33” [0036].);
a hydraulic pump driven by… said electric motor (One of pumps 46 or pump motor 52. See “a pump 46 to be driven by the electric motor 45… Each valve unit 47 is adapted to control the direction of the hydraulic oil discharged from the pump 46” [0035]. See “The pump motor 52… functions as both a pump for supplying hydraulic oil… The motor function of the motor generator 54 serves to drive the pump motor 52” [0036].);
a hydraulic piston assembly hydraulically connected to said hydraulic pump (Hydraulic piston assembly: one of boom cylinders 3a, stick cylinder 4a, or bucket cylinder 5a. Hydraulically connected: see “Each valve unit 47 is adapted to control the direction of the hydraulic oil discharged from the pump 46 so as to feed the hydraulic oil to the corresponding cylinder, i.e. the stick cylinder 4a or the bucket cylinder 5a” [0035] and “The driving [hydraulic] circuit 41 for the boom cylinders 3a includes a closed circuit 51, a bi-directional pump motor 52 and a motor generator 54. The pump motor 52 is provided in the closed circuit 51 and functions as both a pump for supplying hydraulic oil” [0036]. See also Fig. 2.) and
comprising a housing having a first chamber and a second chamber, and a piston separating said first and second chambers of said housing (See the annotations to stick cylinder 4a of Fig. 2 below. Stick cylinder 4a is an example; each of the boom cylinders 3a and the bucket cylinder 5a also have a piston separating two chambers in a housing. See also Fig. 3.);
Figure A: magnified portion of Fig. 2 of Miki showing parts of stick cylinder 4a (a hydraulic piston assembly)
an actuating rod connected to said piston and configured to move linearly with said piston relative to said housing (See the annotations to stick cylinder 4a above as an example; each of the boom cylinders 3a and the bucket cylinder 5a also have an actuating rod. See also [0037] and the cylinders in Fig. 9. The actuating rods clearly move linearly with the piston relative to the housing. See also Fig. 3.);
one of said housing or said actuating rod connected to said mobile machine and the other of said housing or said actuating rod connected to said object to be driven (See Fig. 9: each cylinder 3a, 4a, and 5a have the housing directly or indirectly connected to the mobile machine (excavator) and the actuating rod directly or indirectly connected to the object (bucket 5).);
said hydraulic piston assembly configured to actuate said object to be driven relative to said mobile machine within a range of motion (A cylinder is a hydraulic piston assembly. See “the boom 3 can be swung by means of boom cylinders 3a… the stick 4 can be swung by means of a stick cylinder 4a… the bucket 5… is adapted to be driven by a bucket cylinder 5a” [0003]. Since the bucket 5 is directly or indirectly connected to the boom 3 and stick 4, driving the boom 3 or stick 4 also drives the bucket through some range of motion. See also Fig. 9 and [0022].);
a hydraulic brake between said pump and said hydraulic piston assembly operatively configured to hold said object to be driven relative to said mobile machine in a braked position within said range of motion (See control valves 76 and load hold check valve 77 between pump 46 and (hydraulic piston assemblies) stick cylinder 4a and bucket cylinder 5a. See “Upon receiving an ON/OFF signal from the controller 39, the solenoid of the directional control valve 76 switches the valve from a neutral position to a fully open position at one side or a fully open position at the other side” [0051]. See control valves 81, 82 between pump motor 52 and boom cylinders 3a in Fig. 2; “Upon receiving an ON signal from the controller 39, the solenoid of the control valve 81,82 switches the valve from a fully closed position to a fully open position” [0053]. The boom 3 is held in a braked position when both control valves 81 and 82 are closed. A braked position of an object is always within the range of motion of the object and can occur between raising and lowering a load. See also [0050]-[0054].);
a controller that receives input signals and outputs command signals to said electric motor to control actuation of said object to be driven relative to said body portion of said mobile machine (See “an operating signal input from each operating device 67,68 to the controller 39 undergoes calculation processing by the controller 39 and that the control signal resulting from the processing is output from the controller 39 to the inverters 44,53, the valve units 47,55, the supporting valves 62,64,66, and/or any other relevant components” [0044]. In turn, the inverters 44 and 53 control “the rotation speed of each electric motor 45 or the motor generator 54” [0078]. The speed of the electric motors controls the output of the hydraulic pumps, which, in coordination with valve units 47 and 55, control actuation of bucket 5 through cylinders 3a, 4a, and 5a; see [0078] and [0035]-[0036].); and
wherein actuation of said object to be driven relative to said body portion of said mobile machine within said range of motion is controllable by said electric motor and powered via said electric storage (See [0032]-[0036]: the piston assemblies (cylinders) driving the object to be driven (bucket 5) are themselves driven by respective electric motors 45 and motor generator 54, which are powered by the electric power storage means 33.).
However, Miki does not explicitly teach “an electric motor… configured to… operatively provide a torque on an output shaft;” “a hydraulic pump driven by said output shaft of said electric motor;” “a pressure sensor configured to sense a braking pressure of said hydraulic piston assembly when said object to be driven is held in said braked position within said range of motion by said hydraulic brake and to provide a pressure input signal to said controller;” and “wherein said electric motor is controlled by said controller based on said pressure input signal when said hydraulic brake releases said hold of said object to be driven from said braked position.”
Khudair, in the same field of endeavor (electrohydraulic systems), teaches
an electric motor… configured to… operatively provide a torque on an output shaft; a hydraulic pump driven by said output shaft of said electric motor (Output shaft: rotatable axle 29. See “the rotatable axle is further coupled to the at least one electric motor, …preferably said axle is connected to said electric motor by a clutch… controlled such that a predetermined amount of torque can be transferred” [0020] and “the electric motor can in turn either transfer the torque further to the hydraulic pump 13 in full or partly by means of control of the clutch 51” [0045]. See also [0041] and Figs. 3 and 5 where pump 13 is coupled to the rotatable axis 29.);
a pressure sensor configured to sense a braking pressure of said hydraulic piston assembly when said object to be driven is held in said braked position within said range of motion by said hydraulic brake and to provide a pressure input signal to said controller (See Fig. 3: “pressure detection device 45 may detect the pressure of both the feed line 5 and at least part of the return line 7 (depending on the state of the second control valve 21)” of lifting device 9 (both the hydraulic piston assembly and object to be driven). Pressure input signal: “Said detected pressure may be used as an input to the control unit so as to control the third control valve 39” [0039]. The detected pressure is a braking pressure when first control valve 19 and second control valve 21 are closed (see Fig. 3). A braked position of an object is always within the range of motion of the object.);
wherein said electric motor is controlled by said controller based on said pressure input signal when said hydraulic brake releases said hold of said object to be driven from said braked position (When the hydraulic brake for lifting device 9 releases (i.e., control valve 21 opens), the control unit uses the pressure input signal from pressure detection device 45 to control the third control valve 39 [0039] and direct the hydraulic fluid through the hydraulic motor 27 through line 7b or to the tank 17 through line 7a [0040]. See “If the torque transferred from the hydraulic motor 27 to the first pump 13 is enough to provide the hydraulic auxiliary device 11 with enough pressure to perform its operation, energy consumption will be lowered by a large margin as the electric motor 15 does not need to be operated at all. If the torque provided is not enough to fully provide the hydraulic auxiliary device 11 with its needed pressure, energy consumption may still be lowered to some extent as the electric motor 15 may provide the remainder of the needed power to the first pump 13, wherein said remainder of provided energy will be lower than if the electric motor 15 would be the only device providing the energy needed for the operation of the hydraulic auxiliary device 11” [0040]. Khudair further discloses the control unit controls the electric motor 15 [0034]. Therefore, whether and how much electric motor 15 is operated is based on how much torque is produced by the hydraulic motor 27, which is based on the control unit’s signal to control valve 39, which in turn is based on the detected pressure input signal from pressure detection device 45.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the hydraulic work machine of Miki with the driveshaft and pressure control of Khudair. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because “the axle may in an efficient manner connect said devices 13, 15, 27 to interact with each other” resulting in lower energy consumption (Khudair, [0040-0041]).
Regarding claim 2, Miki/Khudair disclose the limitations of claim 1 addressed above, and Miki additionally discloses
a hydraulic release between said pump and said hydraulic piston assembly operatively configured to release hydraulic fluid from said first chamber or said second chamber when a pressure in said first chamber or said second chamber exceeds a threshold value (In Fig. 2, relief valves 78 and 79 (hydraulic release) are between hydraulic pump 46 and the chambers of stick cylinder 4a and the bucket cylinder 5a (hydraulic piston assemblies). See “The relief valve 78 [leading to first chambers of stick cylinder 4a and bucket cylinder 5a] is used for setting pump discharge pressure. The relief valve 79 [one leading to the first chambers, the other leading to the second chambers] is provided at the hydraulic oil output side of the directional control valve 76 and used for setting circuit pressure” [0050]. A set pressure is a pressure at a threshold value. Also in Fig. 2, relief valve 84 is between hydraulic pump motor 52 and the chambers of the boom cylinders 3a. See “The relief valve 84 serves to release into a tank channel 83 excessive pressure that is in the head-side channel 51a [leading to first chambers of the boom cylinders 3a] or the rod-side channel 51b [leading to second chambers] and exceeds a set level [threshold value]” [0052]. See also check valves and control valves in [0050]-[0054].).
Regarding claim 3, Miki/Khudair disclose the limitations of claim 2 addressed above, and Miki additionally discloses
wherein said hydraulic release comprises a first release valve between said first chamber and said pump (See Fig. 2: half of relief valve (first release valve) 84 is between the first chamber of boom cylinder 3a and motor pump 52 on line 51a.),
a second release valve between said second chamber and said pump (See Fig. 2: the other half of relief valve (second release valve) 84 is between the second chamber of boom cylinder 3a and motor pump 52 on line 51b.),
a first check valve between said first chamber and said second release valve (See Fig. 2: check valve 85 between the first chamber of boom cylinder 3a on line 51a and the half of relief valve (second release valve) 84 on line 51b.), and
a second check valve between said second chamber and said first release valve (See Fig. 2: check valve 85 between the second chamber of boom cylinder 3a on line 51b and the half of relief valve (second release valve) 84 on line 51a.).
Regarding claim 5, Miki/Khudair disclose the limitations of claim 1 addressed above, and Miki additionally discloses
wherein said hydraulic brake comprises a solenoid valve between said first chamber and said second chamber (See Fig. 2. See “Upon receiving an ON/OFF signal from the controller 39, the solenoid of the directional control valve 76 switches the valve from a neutral position to a fully open position at one side or a fully open position at the other side” [0051]. Control valves 76 are between pump 46 and (hydraulic piston assemblies) stick cylinder 4a and bucket cylinder 5a. See “Upon receiving an ON signal from the controller 39, the solenoid of the control valve 81,82 switches the valve from a fully closed position to a fully open position. However, should the pressure at the support target, to which the hydraulic oil is to be fed, be high when the supporting valve 62 is performing its supporting function, each control valve 81,82 is narrowed by means of a linear signal so as to generate pressure higher than the pressure at the support target” [0053]. Control valves 81, 82 between pump motor 52 and boom cylinders 3a in Fig. 2. See also [0050]-[0054].).
Regarding claim 9, Miki/Khudair disclose the limitations of claim 1 addressed above, and Miki additionally discloses
a second hydraulic piston assembly hydraulically connected to said hydraulic pump (Hydraulic piston assembly: a different one of boom cylinders 3a, stick cylinder 4a, or bucket cylinder 5a from claim 1. Hydraulically connected: see “Each valve unit 47 is adapted to control the direction of the hydraulic oil discharged from the pump 46 so as to feed the hydraulic oil to the corresponding cylinder, i.e. the stick cylinder 4a or the bucket cylinder 5a” [0035] and “The driving [hydraulic] circuit 41 for the boom cylinders 3a includes a closed circuit 51, a bi-directional pump motor 52 and a motor generator 54. The pump motor 52 is provided in the closed circuit 51 and functions as both a pump for supplying hydraulic oil” [0036]. See also Fig. 2.) and
comprising a second housing having a first chamber and a second chamber, and a second piston separating said first and second chambers of said second housing (See the annotations to stick cylinder 4a of Fig. 2 in the rejection of claim 1 above. Stick cylinder 4a is an example; each of the boom cylinders 3a and the bucket cylinder 5a have a piston separating two chambers in a housing.);
a second actuating rod connected to said second piston and configured to move linearly with said second piston relative to said second housing (See the annotations to stick cylinder 4a of Fig. 2 in the rejection of claim 1 above as an example; each of the boom cylinders 3a and the bucket cylinder 5a have an actuating rod. See also [0037] and the cylinders in Fig. 9. The actuating rods move linearly with the piston relative to the housing.);
one of said second housing or said second actuating rod connected to said mobile machine and the other of said second housing or said second actuating rod connected to said object to be driven (See Fig. 9: each cylinder 3a, 4a, and 5a have the housing directly or indirectly connected to the mobile machine (excavator) and the actuating rod directly or indirectly connected to the object (bucket 5).);
said second hydraulic piston assembly configured to actuate said object to be driven relative to said body portion of said mobile machine within said range of motion (A cylinder is a hydraulic piston assembly. See “the boom 3 can be swung by means of boom cylinders 3a… the stick 4 can be swung by means of a stick cylinder 4a… the bucket 5… is adapted to be driven by a bucket cylinder 5a” [0003]. Since the bucket 5 is directly or indirectly connected to the boom 3 and stick 4, driving the boom 3 or stick 4 also drives the bucket through some range of motion. See also Fig. 9 and [0022].); and
wherein actuation of said object to be driven relative to said body portion of said mobile machine within said second range of motion is controllable by said electric motor and powered via said electric storage (See [0032]-[0036]: the piston assemblies (cylinders) driving the object to be driven (bucket 5), are themselves driven by respective electric motors 45 and motor generator 54, which are powered by the electric power storage means 33.).
Regarding claim 15, Miki/Khudair disclose the limitations of claim 1 addressed above, and Miki additionally discloses
a fluid reservoir connected to said hydraulic pump, said second hydraulic pump, said hydraulic piston assembly, and said second hydraulic piston assembly (See Fig. 2: each of tanks (fluid reservoir) 48 and 56 are hydraulically connected to each cylinder (hydraulic piston assembly) 3a, 4a, and 5a and each hydraulic pump 46 and pump motor 52. See also [0043].); and
wherein said hydraulic pump, said second hydraulic pump, said hydraulic piston assembly, said second hydraulic piston assembly, and said reservoir are connected in a closed hydraulic system (Hydraulic pumps 46, pump motor 52, boom cylinders 3a, stick cylinder 4a, bucket cylinder 5a, and tanks 48 and 56 are hydraulically connected (see Fig. 2). This hydraulic system is a closed hydraulic system because Miki does not disclose that hydraulic fluid is supplied from an external source or drained to an external sump in operation.).
Regarding claim 18, Miki/Khudair disclose the limitations of claim 1 addressed above, and Miki additionally discloses
a regenerative power stage to said electric motor (See “When the boom cylinders 3a are operated by an external load, such as the weight of the working unit 6 itself, 20 the boom cylinders 3a function as a pump so that hydraulic pressure is generated in the closed circuit 51 and operates the pump motor 52 as a hydraulic motor. As a result, the motor generator 54, which is driven by the pump motor 52, functions as a power generating means so as to generate electric power” [0080]. The regenerative power stage of electric motor generator 54 is inverter 53.) and
wherein said electric motor is controlled by said controller to operate in a regeneration mode (See “the controller 39 controls the rotation speed of… the motor generator 54” through inverter 53 “thereby enabling the control of the flow rate of hydraulic oil discharge from… the pump motor 52” [0078]. When that flow rate is negative (the pump motor 52, acting as a hydraulic motor, drives motor generator 54), the electric motor generator 54 is generating power and therefore operating in a regeneration mode [0080]. See also Table 1 and [0070].).
Regarding claim 19, Miki/Khudair disclose the limitations of claim 1 addressed above, and Khudair additionally discloses
at least one of a position sensor configured to sense a position of said first piston and to provide an input signal to said controller and a pressure sensor configured to sense pressure in said first chamber and/or said second chamber and to provide an input signal to said controller (See Fig. 3: pressure detecting device 45 on feedline 5 senses the pressure in a first chamber of lifting device 9 (hydraulic piston assembly) and “Said detected pressure may be used as an input to the control unit” [0039].).
Regarding claim 21, Miki/Khudair disclose the limitations of claim 1 addressed above, and Miki additionally discloses
wherein said electric motor is a variable speed bidirectional electric motor… (See “the motor generator 54 serves to drive the pump motor 52 and is adapted to be operated by electric power… with the direction and speed of its rotation controlled by an inverter 53. The power generation function of the motor generator 54 is adapted to be driven by the [bi-directional] pump motor 52” [0036]. Therefore, motor generator 54 is a variable-speed, bidirectional electric motor.),
said hydraulic pump is a reversible… hydraulic pump (See “bi-directional pump motor 52” [0036]. See also [0079].), and
actuation of said object to be driven relative to said body portion of said mobile machine within said range of motion is controllable by adjusting said variable speed and/or direction of said variable speed, bidirectional electric motor (See “the hydraulic oil discharge rate of the bi-directional pump motor 52 is controlled by means of the rotation speed of the motor of the motor generator 54. The direction of pump discharge from the pump motor 52 is controlled by means of the rotation direction of the motor of the motor generator 54” [0048]. See “the direction of action of the boom cylinders 3a can be controlled by selecting the discharge direction from the pump motor 52, which is of a bi-directional type” [0079]. Therefore, the movement of boom 3 by boom cylinders 3a is controllable by adjusting the direction of motor generator 54. Boom cylinders 3a move bucket 5 within a range of motion relative to upper structure 2 of the excavator in Fig. 9.).
Khudair additionally discloses
wherein said electric motor is… adapted to operatively provide said torque on said output shaft at a variable speed and in a variable direction (Output shaft: rotatable axle 29. See “the rotatable axle is further coupled to the at least one electric motor, …preferably said axle is connected to said electric motor by a clutch… controlled such that a predetermined amount of torque can be transferred” [0020] and “the electric motor can in turn either transfer the torque further to the hydraulic pump 13 in full or partly by means of control of the clutch 51” [0045]. In Figs. 3 and 5 where pump 13 and electric motor 15 are coupled to the rotatable axis 29, electric motor 15 is depicted with a symbol for a variable-speed motor. Therefore, electric motor 15 provides a torque on rotatable axis 29 at varying speeds. See also [0023] and [0041].),
said hydraulic pump is a… variable speed hydraulic pump (Since variable-speed electric motor 15 drives hydraulic pump 13 via couplings to rotatable axle 29 [0041], pump 13 must be a variable-speed hydraulic pump.).
Since Miki teaches a variable-speed, bidirectional electric motor and Khudair teaches a variable-speed electric motor that provides a torque on an output shaft at varying speeds, the combination of Miki and Khudair teaches that the bidirectional electric motor provides a torque on the output shaft in two directions.
Miki teaches that the hydraulic pump is reversible. Khudair teaches that the hydraulic pump operates at a variable speed. Together, the combination of Miki and Khudair teaches that the hydraulic pump is a reversible, variable-speed hydraulic pump.
Thus, the combination as a whole teaches the claim.
Regarding claim 24, Miki/Khudair disclose the limitations of claim 1 addressed above, and Miki additionally discloses
wherein said piston comprises a first surface area exposed to said first chamber of said housing and a second surface area exposed to said second chamber of said housing (This limitation is the standard construction of hydraulic actuators. See the annotated Fig. 3 below and the annotated Fig. 2 in the rejection of claim 1 above.);
said housing comprises a cylinder having a first end wall (See “Fig. 3 shows an example of an actuator driving unit that integrates the stick cylinder 4a with the driving circuit 42” [0057]. Therefore, the housing is a cylinder. An end wall is typical in the standard construction of hydraulic actuators. See the annotated Fig. 3 below and the annotated Fig. 2 in the rejection of claim 1 above.),
wherein said piston is disposed in said cylinder for sealed sliding movement therealong, and wherein said actuator rod is connected to said piston for movement therewith and comprises a portion sealingly penetrating said first end wall (This is the typical function and construction of a piston and actuator rod in a hydraulic actuator; see the annotated Fig. 3 below. The chambers are sealed by the piston and housing (including the first end wall) because hydraulic fluid must be pumped to or drained from either side to control actuation; see “When the boom is lowered, the flow 50 rate of the return oil discharged from the head-side exceeds that of the hydraulic oil fed into the rod-side of each boom cylinder 3a, necessitating discharge of the excess oil from the closed circuit 51” [0037]. See also [0052]-[0055].); and
Figure B: annotated Fig. 3 of Miki
said housing is connected to said body portion of said mobile machine and said actuating rod is connected to said object to be driven (See Fig. 9: each cylinder 3a, 4a, and 5a have the housing directly or indirectly connected to the mobile machine (excavator) and the actuating rod directly or indirectly connected to the object (bucket 5).).
Regarding claim 27, Miki/Khudair disclose the limitations of claim 1 addressed above, and Miki additionally discloses
a fluid reservoir connected to said hydraulic pump and said hydraulic piston assembly (See Fig. 2: each of tanks (fluid reservoir) 48 and 56 are hydraulically connected to each cylinder (hydraulic piston assembly) 3a, 4a, and 5a and each hydraulic pump 46 and pump motor 52. See also [0043].), and
wherein said hydraulic pump, said hydraulic piston assembly and said reservoir are connected in a closed hydraulic system (Hydraulic pumps 46, pump motor 52, boom cylinders 3a, stick cylinder 4a, bucket cylinder 5a, and tanks 48 and 56 are hydraulically connected (see Fig. 2). This hydraulic system is a closed hydraulic system because Miki does not disclose that hydraulic fluid is supplied from an external source or drained to an external sump in operation.).
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki in view of Khudair and Cho et al. (WO 2014157902 A1; hereafter “Cho”). Citations of Cho refer to the page number of the translated Description.
Regarding claim 10, Miki discloses
A mobile machine (See hydraulic excavator in Fig. 9. See also [0022].) comprising:
an electric storage (See “power storage means 33 is provided with a capacitor 34 for instantaneous charge or discharge of electricity and a battery 35 for charge or discharge of electricity over a relatively extensive period of time” [0029].);
an electric motor connected to said electric storage and configured to be supplied with a current… (See “The motor function of the motor generator 54 serves to drive the pump motor 52 and is adapted to be operated by electric power [a current] supplied from either one of or both the power generator 32 and the [electric] power storage means 33” [0036].);
a bidirectional hydraulic pump driven by… said electric motor (See “a bi-directional pump motor 52” and “The pump motor 52… functions as both a pump for supplying hydraulic oil… The motor function of the [electric] motor generator 54 serves to drive the pump motor 52” [0036].);
a hydraulic piston assembly hydraulically connected to said hydraulic pump (Hydraulic piston assembly: one of boom cylinders 3a. See “The driving [hydraulic] circuit 41 for the boom cylinders 3a includes a closed circuit 51, a bi-directional pump motor 52 and a motor generator 54. The pump motor 52 is provided in the closed circuit 51 and functions as both a pump for supplying hydraulic oil” [0036]. See also Fig. 2.) and
comprising a housing having a first chamber and a second chamber, and a piston separating said first and second chambers of said housing (See the annotations to stick cylinder 4a of Fig. 2 in the rejection of claim 1 above. Stick cylinder 4a is an example having a first chamber, a second chamber, and a piston separating the chambers; each of the boom cylinders 3a and the bucket cylinder 5a also have a piston separating two chambers in a housing. See also Fig. 3.);
an actuating rod connected to said piston and configured to move linearly with said piston relative to said housing (See the annotations to stick cylinder 4a above as an example; each of the boom cylinders 3a and the bucket cylinder 5a also have an actuating rod. See also [0037] and the cylinders in Fig. 9. The actuating rods clearly move linearly with the piston relative to the housing. See also Fig. 3.);
one of said housing or said actuating rod connected to said mobile machine (See Fig. 9: each cylinder 3a has its housing directly or indirectly connected to the mobile machine (excavator) and the actuating rod directly or indirectly connected to bucket 5.);
said hydraulic piston assembly configured to actuate within a [first] range of motion (Boom cylinder 3a has a range of motion defined by the ends of the housing of the hydraulic piston assembly; see Figs. 2 and 3. See also “the boom 3 can be swung by means of boom cylinders 3a” [0003]. Since the bucket 5 is directly or indirectly connected to the boom 3, driving the boom 3 also drives the bucket 5 through a range of motion.);
wherein actuation within said first range of motion is controllable by said electric motor and powered via said electric storage (See [0032] and [0036]: the piston assemblies (boom cylinders 3a) driving bucket 5 are themselves driven by (electric) motor generator 54, which is powered by the electric power storage means 33. See also Fig. 2.);
a second electric motor connected to said electric storage and adapted to be supplied with a current and to operatively provide a torque on a second output shaft (One of electric motors 45. See “The electric motor 45 is a motor means to be operated by electric power [a current] supplied from either one of or both the power generator 32 and the [electric] power storage means 33” [0035].);
a second… hydraulic pump driven by said second output shaft of said second electric motor (One of pumps 46. See “a pump 46 to be driven by the electric motor 45… Each valve unit 47 is adapted to control the direction of the hydraulic oil discharged from the pump 46” [0035].);
a second hydraulic piston assembly hydraulically connected to said second… hydraulic pump (Hydraulic piston assembly: stick cylinder 4a or bucket cylinder 5a. Hydraulically connected: see “Each valve unit 47 is adapted to control the direction of the hydraulic oil discharged from the pump 46 so as to feed the hydraulic oil to the corresponding cylinder, i.e. the stick cylinder 4a or the bucket cylinder 5a” [0035]. See also Fig. 2.) and
comprising a second housing having a first chamber and a second chamber, and a second piston separating said first and second chambers of said second housing (See the annotations to stick cylinder 4a of Fig. 2 in the rejection of claim 1 above. Stick cylinder 4a is an example; bucket cylinder 5a also has a piston separating two chambers in a housing.);
a second actuating rod connected to said second piston and configured to move linearly with said second piston relative to said second housing (See the annotations to stick cylinder 4a of Fig. 2 in the rejection of claim 1 above as an example; bucket cylinder 5a also has an actuating rod. See also [0037] and the cylinders in Fig. 9. The actuating rods move linearly with the piston relative to the housing.);
one of said second housing or said second actuating rod connected to said mobile machine (See Fig. 9: stick cylinder 4a and bucket cylinder 5a have the housing directly or indirectly connected to the mobile machine (excavator) and the actuating rod directly or indirectly connected to bucket 5.);
said second hydraulic piston assembly configured to actuate within a second range of motion (Stick cylinder 4a and bucket cylinder 5a each have a range of motion defined by the ends of the housing of the cylinder (hydraulic piston assembly); see Figs. 2 and 3. See “the stick 4 can be swung by means of a stick cylinder 4a… [and] the bucket 5… is adapted to be driven by a bucket cylinder 5a” [0003]. Since the bucket 5 is connected to the stick 4, driving the stick 4 also drives the bucket through a second range of motion. See also Fig. 9 and [0022].);
wherein actuation within said second range of motion is controllable by said second electric motor and powered via said electric storage (See [0033]-[0035]: stick cylinder 4a and bucket cylinder 5a driving bucket 5 are themselves driven by respective electric motors 45, which are powered by the electric power storage means 33.); and
wherein said first range of motion comprises rotational motion and said second range of motion comprises translational motion (First range of motion: from Fig. 9, boom cylinders 3a appear to rotate the distal end of boom 3 (where boom 3 connects to stick 4) through a first range of motion defined by the range of motion of the pistons in boom cylinders 3a. Second range of motion: in stick cylinder 4a and bucket cylinder 5a, the actuating rod moves linearly relative to the housing of the cylinder; this comprises translational motion. See Fig. 3 and the annotated Fig. 2 above.).
However, Miki does not explicitly teach “an electric motor… configured to… operatively provide a torque on an output shaft;” “a bidirectional hydraulic pump driven by said output shaft of said electric motor;” and “a second electric motor… adapted to… operatively provide a torque on a second output shaft; a second bidirectional hydraulic pump driven by said second output shaft of said second electric motor; a second hydraulic piston assembly hydraulically connected to said second bidirectional hydraulic pump.”
Khudair, in the same field of endeavor (electrohydraulic systems), teaches
an electric motor… configured to… operatively provide a torque on an output shaft; a… hydraulic pump driven by said output shaft of said electric motor (Output shaft: rotatable axle 29. See “the rotatable axle is further coupled to the at least one electric motor, …preferably said axle is connected to said electric motor by a clutch… controlled such that a predetermined amount of torque can be transferred” [0020] and “the electric motor can in turn either transfer the torque further to the hydraulic pump 13 in full or partly by means of control of the clutch 51” [0045]. See also [0041] and Figs. 3 and 5 where pump 13 is coupled to the rotatable axis 29.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the hydraulic work machine of Miki with the driveshaft and pressure control of Khudair. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because “the axle may in an efficient manner connect said devices 13, 15, 27 to interact with each other” resulting in lower energy consumption (Khudair, [0040-0041]).
Khudair teaches a first electric motor 15 configured to operatively provide a torque on a first output shaft 29 and a first hydraulic pump driven by the first output shaft 29 that actuates a second hydraulic piston assembly (hydraulic auxiliary device 11); see above and paragraph [0034].
Combined with the second driving circuit (a second electric motor that drives a second hydraulic pump to actuate a second hydraulic piston assembly) as disclosed by Miki (see above), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the same construction of an electric motor driving an output shaft to drive a hydraulic pump to actuate a hydraulic piston assembly could be used for the second driving circuit, with each element performing the same function as in the first driving circuit of claim 10. This combination would have predictably resulted in the second electric motor driving a second output shaft, which in turn would drive the second hydraulic pump to actuate the second hydraulic piston assembly.
Thus, the combination of Miki/Khudair teaches “a second electric motor… adapted to… operatively provide a torque on a second output shaft” and “a second… hydraulic pump driven by said second output shaft of said second electric motor.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second driving circuit of Miki/Khudair to include a second output shaft to transfer torque between a second electric motor and second hydraulic pump as taught by Khudair.
However, Miki/Khudair does not explicitly teach “a second bidirectional hydraulic pump;” and “a second hydraulic piston assembly hydraulically connected to said second bidirectional hydraulic pump.”
Cho, in the same field of endeavor (hydraulic systems of mobile machines), teaches
a second bidirectional hydraulic pump (See “a plurality of pumps/motors (40) that combine the action of a hydraulic pump driven by the engine and the action of a hydraulic motor that generates rotational force to add rotational force to the engine (10)” [Description, pg. 6] connected to at least one actuator 70 [Description, pg. 25]. In Fig. 1, three pumps/motors 40 are used with two hydraulic piston actuators 70. See also pages 9, 16-17, and 26 of the translated Description.).
Since Miki/Khudair teaches “a second hydraulic piston assembly hydraulically connected to said second… hydraulic pump” (see above) and Cho teaches “a second bidirectional hydraulic pump,” the combination of Miki/Khudair and Cho teaches “a second hydraulic piston assembly hydraulically connected to said second bidirectional hydraulic pump.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the hydraulic work machine of Miki/Khudair to have a second bidirectional hydraulic pump as taught by Cho. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to further reduce engine load by operating the second pump/motor 40 as a hydraulic motor using the “potential energy/inertia energy generated by the actuator (70)” (Cho, pg. 17).
Regarding claim 13, Miki/Khudair/Cho disclose the limitations of claim 10 addressed above, and Miki additionally discloses
a fluid reservoir connected to said hydraulic pump, said second hydraulic pump, said hydraulic piston assembly, and said second hydraulic piston assembly (See Fig. 2: each of tanks (fluid reservoir) 48 and 56 are hydraulically connected to each cylinder (hydraulic piston assembly) 3a, 4a, and 5a and each hydraulic pump 46 and pump motor 52. See also [0043].); and
wherein said hydraulic pump, said second hydraulic pump, said hydraulic piston assembly, said second hydraulic piston assembly, and said reservoir are connected in a closed hydraulic system (Hydraulic pumps 46, pump motor 52, boom cylinders 3a, stick cylinder 4a, bucket cylinder 5a, and tanks 48 and 56 are hydraulically connected (see Fig. 2). This hydraulic system is a closed hydraulic system because Miki does not disclose that hydraulic fluid is supplied from an external source or drained to an external sump in operation.).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki in view of Khudair and Cho, and further in view of Shimada et al. (EP 2011925 A1; hereafter “Shimada”).
Regarding claim 12, Miki/Khudair/Cho disclose the limitations of claim 10 addressed above, and Miki additionally discloses
…a bucket configured to be lifted and tilted relative to said body portion of said mobile machine (See bucket 5 configured to be lifted and tilted relative to upper structure 2 of the excavator in Fig. 9. See also Table 1 (raise and dump) on page 8.).
However, Miki/Khudair/Cho do not explicitly disclose “wherein said mobile machine comprises a skid steer loader.”
Shimada, in the same field of endeavor (hydraulic work machines), discloses
wherein said mobile machine comprises a skid steer loader (See Fig. 1B. Shovel loader 1 is a battery-powered skid-steer loader with an electric motor 71 driving hydraulic pump 72, which provides hydraulic pressure to arm cylinder 23 and bucket cylinder 24, which can lift and rotate bucket 29 relative to the body of shovel loader 1; see [0023] and [0026].)
having a bucket configured to be lifted and tilted relative to said body portion of said mobile machine (Lifting: see “a bucket 29 vertically swingably attached to the front ends of the pair of arms 21, and a raising and lowering cylinder 23 for raising and lowering each of the arms 21” [0017]. Tilting: see “when the bucket cylinder 24 is contracted, the bucket 29 pivots upwards and excavation work is performed, and when the bucket cylinder 24 is extended, the bucket 29 pivots downwards and soil discharge work is performed” [0018].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the hydraulic system of Miki/Khudair/Cho to operate a skid steer loader as taught by Shimada. The excavator of Miki uses an engine 31 (see Fig. 2). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because “the industrial vehicle according to the present invention does not use an engine as the power source, so no exhaust gas is emitted as the industrial vehicle travels, and the noise generated is low compared with a vehicle with an engine as drive power source, so it is possible to minimize the adverse impact on the surrounding environment” (Shimada, [0010]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki in view of Khudair, and further in view of Wu et al. (CN 106382265 A; hereafter “Wu”). Citations of Wu refer to the paragraph numbers of the English translation.
Regarding claim 22, Miki/Khudair disclose the limitations of claim 1 addressed above, and Miki additionally discloses
wherein said electric motor comprises a… DC …motor (See “the electric motors 45 for the stick and bucket systems, and the motor generator 54 for the boom system may be… a DC motor” [0038].).
However, Miki/Khudair does not explicitly teach “wherein said electric motor comprises a brushless DC servo-motor and said hydraulic pump is selected from a group consisting of a fixed displacement pump, a variable displacement pump, a two-port pump, and a three-port pump.”
Wu, in the same field of endeavor (electrohydraulic systems), teaches
wherein said electric motor comprises a brushless DC servo-motor (See “The servo motor 1 is an AC servo motor or a DC brushless servo motor” [0029].) and
said hydraulic pump is selected from a group consisting of a fixed displacement pump, a variable displacement pump, a two-port pump, and a three-port pump (Two-port pump: two-way quantitative oil pump 2. See “the two oil ports of the two-way quantitative oil pump are connected in series with the corresponding two-way hydraulic locks, one of which is connected to the rod chamber of the hydraulic cylinder, and the other is connected to the rodless chamber of the hydraulic cylinder” [0008].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the hydraulic work machine of Miki/Khudair with the electric motor and hydraulic pump of Wu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of “high reliability” and “high transmission efficiency” (Wu, [0017]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOYA LY/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
3/27/26