DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response/communication filed 6/23/2026.
No claims have been added.
Claim(s) 16, 17, 20, 22 and 25-38 has/have been cancelled.
Claims(s) 1-15, 18-19, 21, 23 and 24 is/are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8 of the remarks, in regard to claims 1, 7 and 23, the Applicant disagrees with the rejection 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. US 20200288506 in view of Christoffersson et al. US 20220408478.
Specifically, the Applicant remarks:
Issue #1a:
Lei, Christoffersson, Axnas, Zhang and Rastegardoost fail to disclose the technical features ''relocating at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions to the at least one target time slot'' in original independent claim I for at least the following reasons.
…
Therefore, Christoffersson discloses that in the case that overlapping ROs can be used by both the 2-step RA and the 4-step RA, a PRACH mask is used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA. In other words, the resource location (e.g., slot) of the overlapping ROs has not changed; what has changed is the RA type for which the overlapping ROs are allowed to be used.
In contrast, in original independent claim I of present application, a wireless terminal device receives PRACH configuration information from a base station or wireless access node, the PRACH configuration information indicates a PRACH time slot and intra-time-slot symbol positions of a plurality of PRACH occasions within the PRACH time slot for transmitting a random-access preamble; after identifying at least one target time slot, the at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions is relocated to the at least one target time slot. For example, the above at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions is at least one overflowing PRACH occasion as a result of time gap insertion in the configured PRACH time slot. In such a case, the at least one overflowing PRACH occasion is relocated from the configured PRACH time slot to the identified at least one target time slot, thereby maintaining a smooth random-access operation.
In other words, the resource location (i.e., slot) of the at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions has changed from the configured PRACH time slot to the at least one target time slot.
Issue #7a:
Therefore, Christoffersson intends to emphasize that the plurality of ROs and POs have the same subcarrier spacing, which is unrelated to define a range for identifying at least one target slot of the ROs.
In contrast, in current claim 7 of the present application, by defining that the at least one target time slot includes at least one uplink time slot within a reference time duration determined by a reference subcarrier spacing, the range for identifying the target time slot is limited to the uplink time slots within the reference time duration determined by the reference subcarrier spacing, which provides a robust and explicit candidate slot range for identifying the target time slot, thereby enabling fast relocation operations to maintain a smooth random-access operation.
Because Christoffersson fails to define a range for identifying at least one target slot of the ROs, Christoffersson fails to disclose the subject matter of current claim 7, nor do they achieve the beneficial effect achieved by current claim 7.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner notes with regards to issue #1a above:
Claim 1 one does not teach, “the resource location (i.e., slot) of the at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions has changed from the configured PRACH time slot to the at least one target time slot” and “the resource location ( e.g., slot) of the overlapping ROs has not changed”, as argued by the Applicant.
The claim merely teaches a “PRACH occasions within the PRACH time slot” and “relocating at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions to the at least one target time slot”, the claim does NOT teach that the “PRACH time slot” and the “target time slot” are different time slots.
Furthermore, with respect to “relocating”, and the claim leaves open the possibility of the “PRACH occasions” being relocated within the same time slot.
Christoffersson et al. teaches “The PRACH occasions (ROs)” (0138), where the “ROs” are considered as teaching “PRACH occasions” as claimed.
Christoffersson et al. further teaches “…the colliding 2-step RO may be invalidated…” (0164) and “…only the last RO in a slot can be used, e.g. used as a 2-step RO.” (0168) where “invalidated” associated with “only in the last RO in a slot can be used” is considered as teaching a “2-step RO” which is not in the last RO slot has been invalidated due to overlapping with a 4-step RO, and the RO which was to be communicated in the invalidated RO is now communicated in at least the last RO of the slot and possibly in a different slot, since “dropping”, “discarding”, etc. is not taught with regards to the invalidated RO, which is considered as teaching “relocating”, as claimed (also see FIG. 9).
The Examiner notes with regards to issue #7a above:
Claim 7 does NOT teach “range for identifying at least one target slot of the ROs”, there is no teaching of “range” with regards to claim 7, as argued by the Applicant.
Claim 7 merely notes a “target time slot” which has an “uplink time slot within a reference time duration”, where the “uplink time slot” is “determined by a reference subcarrier spacing”.
Where Christoffersson et al. teaches a “target time slot”, as illustrated in FIG. 14, “Slot n”, the notations of “RO” and “PO” as noted in FIG. 14 teaches “uplink”, “Slot n”/”Slot n+1”/FIG. 14 teaches “reference time duration”, where “the slot is comprised of a number of OFDM symbols that does not vary with the subcarrier spacing for a given cyclic prefix length” (0158), teaches “determined by a reference subcarrier spacing”, as the “subcarrier spacing” does not vary within the “slot”.
On page 9 of the remarks, in regard to the dependent claims, the Applicant states that the claims are allowable at least due to the deficiencies of the ground of rejection applied to the independent claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner kindly refers the Applicant to the reasoning pertaining to the independent claims, detailed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. US 20200288506 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 3/23/2026) in view of Christoffersson et al. US 20220408478 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 3/23/2026).
As to claim 1:
Lei et al. discloses:
A method performed by a wireless access network node, comprising:
transmitting a physical random-access channel (PRACH) configuration information to a wireless terminal device, the PRACH configuration information indicating a PRACH time-slot and intra-time-slot symbol positions of a plurality of RACH occasions within the PRACH time slot for transmitting a random-access preamble;
(“…The one or more parameters or configuration, including SLIV-based indication for msgA PUSCH transmission, may be signaled by system information (e.g., SIB), RRC messages, or combinations thereof. A PO may be a PUSCH transmission opportunity for a UE performing random access and may comprise at least one of time, frequency, or space resource for transmitting PUSCH. For example, when a UE transmits msgA, it needs to select a RO and a PO for msgA preamble and msgA payload, respectively. On a msgA transmission occasion, the following rules may be specified for RO and PO selected by a UE: RO and PO are associated with the same SSB beam; RO and PO are always time division multiplexed; RO and PO cannot be mapped to the same slot, and a minimum gap (e.g., Tg) may be lower bounded by N symbols (N may be hard coded in a standards specification). PUSCH transmission in msgA may span multiple slots or multiple symbols in time domain…”; Lei et al.; 0154)
(“…For example, RRC parameters for msgA PUSCH configuration may include configurable guard bands up to, for example, 1 PRB (physical resource block). For example, the RRC parameters for msgA PUSCH configuration may include configurable guard periods in the units of OFDM symbols. For example, a configurable guard period between hops may be supported, if intra-slot frequency hopping per PO for msgA is configured. The value of guard period between POs may be reused if configured; otherwise, no guard period is used, for example. Such guard band configuration and/or guard time configuration may be specified in a standard, or sent in system information, e.g., via SIB or MIB (e.g., to address dynamic changes in the network). FIG. 17 provides an illustration of example guard band and guard time configurations for msgA of 2-step RACH. The top and bottom guard bands shown in FIG. 17 for the preamble and/or the payload may comprise the same bandwidth (e.g., if preamble and/or payload is located away from band edge) or different bandwidth (e.g., if preamble and/or payload is located at band edge), based on location of the preamble and/or payload.”; Lei et al.; 0155)
(where
“Such guard band configuration and/or guard time configuration may be specified in a standard, or sent in system information, e.g., via SIB or MIB (e.g., to address dynamic changes in the network). FIG. 17 provides an illustration of example guard band and guard time configurations for msgA of 2-step RACH”/” one or more parameters or configuration, including SLIV-based indication for msgA PUSCH transmission, may be signaled by system information (e.g., SIB), RRC messages, or combinations thereof. A PO may be a PUSCH transmission opportunity for a UE performing random access and may comprise at least one of time, frequency, or space resource for transmitting PUSCH. For example, when a UE transmits msgA, it needs to select a RO and a PO for msgA preamble and msgA payload” maps to “transmitting a physical random-access channel (PRACH) configuration information to a wireless terminal device”, “configuration…via SIB or MIB…2-step RACH”/”configuration…SIB…RRC…UE transmits msgA, it needs to select a RO…msgA preamble”/FIG. 17 maps to “transmitting a physical random-access channel (PRACH) configuration information to a wireless terminal device”, where “SIB”/”MIB”/”RRC” maps to “transmitting”, “configuration”/”parameters” maps to “configuration information”, “UE” maps to “to a wireless terminal device”
“configurable guard period between hops may be supported, if intra-slot frequency hopping per PO for msgA is configured”/”FIG. 17 provides an illustration of example guard band and guard time configurations for msgA of 2-step RACH”/FIG. 12/FIG. 16 maps to “intra-time-slot symbol positions of a plurality of RACH occasions”
FIG. 12 illustrates “a plurality of RACH occasions within the PRACH time slot”
FIGs. 15 and FIG. 17 illustrates “for transmitting a random-access preamble”
FIG. 15 illustrates “the PRACH configuration information indicating a PRACH time-slot”
…
Lei et al. teaches configuration of 2-step RACH ROs for performing instr-slot PRACH
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
identifying at least one target time slot;
relocating at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions to the at least one target time slot.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a high load capability which includes:
identifying at least one target time slot;
(“FIG. 11 shows one embodiment, wherein the network has configured separate PRACH resources for 2-step and 4-step RA. PUSCH transmissions (shown in cross, diagonal, and vertical hatched pattern) follow the RACH occasions in time. The cross and diagonal hatched resources are closer to the RACH occasions and therefore more suitable to minimize LBT operations than the vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions. The vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions can be used for 4-step RACH operations, which have less stringent latency requirements. Note that in FIG. 11, 2-step ROs 1, 3, and 5 are overlapping between 2-step and 4-step RA. In another case (e.g., in licensed spectrum), the PRACH load on resources 1 and 5 from 2-step RA UEs could be high, since they may be used for UEs requiring larger msgA PUSCH sizes. In this example, it would be prudent to lower the PRACH load on these resources by not allowing 4-step UEs on these. A PRACH mask can be used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0171)
(“FIG. 13 depicts an example. In one PRACH slot, 3 ROs and one PUSCH occasion (PO) are allocated with same numerology, where each RO occupies 3 OFDM symbols, while the PO occupies 5 symbols.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0180_
(where
“the PRACH load on resources 1 and 5 from 2-step RA UEs could be high”/FIG. 11 maps to “identifying an overflow condition of PRACH occasions”, where “load…high” maps to “overflow condition”, “2-step RA” maps to “PRACH occasions”
relocating at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions to the at least one target time slot.
(where
“it would be prudent to lower the PRACH load on these resources by not allowing 4-step UEs on these. A PRACH mask can be used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA”/”In one PRACH slot, 3 ROs and one PUSCH occasion (PO) are allocated with same numerology, where each RO occupies 3 OFDM symbols, while the PO occupies 5 symbols” where “lower the PRACH load” maps to “relocating at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions to the at least one target time slot.
Christoffersson et al. teaches a mask for preventing overloading of PRACH occasions between 2-step RACH and 4-step RACH.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the high load capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the high load capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 2:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the at least one target time slot is identified according to a location of the PRACH time slot or is configured.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a PRACH mask capability which includes:
wherein the at least one target time slot is identified according to a location of the PRACH time slot or is configured.
(“FIG. 11 shows one embodiment, wherein the network has configured separate PRACH resources for 2-step and 4-step RA. PUSCH transmissions (shown in cross, diagonal, and vertical hatched pattern) follow the RACH occasions in time. The cross and diagonal hatched resources are closer to the RACH occasions and therefore more suitable to minimize LBT operations than the vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions. The vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions can be used for 4-step RACH operations, which have less stringent latency requirements. Note that in FIG. 11, 2-step ROs 1, 3, and 5 are overlapping between 2-step and 4-step RA. In another case (e.g., in licensed spectrum), the PRACH load on resources 1 and 5 from 2-step RA UEs could be high, since they may be used for UEs requiring larger msgA PUSCH sizes. In this example, it would be prudent to lower the PRACH load on these resources by not allowing 4-step UEs on these. A PRACH mask can be used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0171)
(“FIG. 13 depicts an example. In one PRACH slot, 3 ROs and one PUSCH occasion (PO) are allocated with same numerology, where each RO occupies 3 OFDM symbols, while the PO occupies 5 symbols.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0180_
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PRACH mask capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the PRACH mask capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 3:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the at least one target time slot is identified according to tk1\JJ location of the PRACH time slot by selecting a nearest uplink time slot following the PRACH time slot as the at least one target time slot.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a minimize the gap capability which includes:
wherein the at least one target time slot is identified according to tk1\JJ location of the PRACH time slot by selecting a nearest uplink time slot following the PRACH time slot as the at least one target time slot.
(“The PRACH occasions (ROs) defined in NR Rel-15 are mainly close to each other in one PRACH slot and some of the formats have some gap in the end of the slot, so if the msgA PUSCH time frequency resource allocated/reserved is within the PRACH slot, it would be mainly in the end of the PRACH slot, thus only a last RO(s) of the slot is preferred to be used for transmission of the preamble, to minimize the gap between msgA preamble and msgA PUSCH.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0138)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the minimize the gap capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the minimize the gap capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 4:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the at least one target time slot is identified according to tk1\JJ location of the PRACH time slot by selecting a nearest uplink time slot following the PRACH time slot as the at least one target time slot.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a minimize the gap/earlier capability which includes:
wherein the at least one target time slot is identified according to tk1\JJ location of the PRACH time slot by selecting a nearest uplink time slot following the PRACH time slot as the at least one target time slot.
(“The PRACH occasions (ROs) defined in NR Rel-15 are mainly close to each other in one PRACH slot and some of the formats have some gap in the end of the slot, so if the msgA PUSCH time frequency resource allocated/reserved is within the PRACH slot, it would be mainly in the end of the PRACH slot, thus only a last RO(s) of the slot is preferred to be used for transmission of the preamble, to minimize the gap between msgA preamble and msgA PUSCH.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0138)
(“In another embodiment, in which the UE additionally uses earlier RACH occasions for 4-step than for 2-step, wherein 4-step UE receives a single-shot grant to transmit PUSCH, the method further includes: [0150] selecting a different random access occasion not in the subset of random access occasions; [0151] Transmitting a different random access preamble in the different random access occasion; [0152] Receiving signaling identifying a single instance of resources in which to transmit the PUSCH [0153] Transmitting the PUSCH in the single instance of resources”; Christoffersson et al.; 0149)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the minimize the gap/earlier capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the minimize the gap/earlier capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 5:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the at least one target time slot is identified according to tk1\JJ location of the PRACH time slot by selecting a nearest uplink time slot relative the PRACH time slot as the at least one target time slot.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a minimize the gap capability which includes:
wherein the at least one target time slot is identified according to tk1\JJ location of the PRACH time slot by selecting a nearest uplink time slot relative the PRACH time slot as the at least one target time slot.
(“The PRACH occasions (ROs) defined in NR Rel-15 are mainly close to each other in one PRACH slot and some of the formats have some gap in the end of the slot, so if the msgA PUSCH time frequency resource allocated/reserved is within the PRACH slot, it would be mainly in the end of the PRACH slot, thus only a last RO(s) of the slot is preferred to be used for transmission of the preamble, to minimize the gap between msgA preamble and msgA PUSCH.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0138)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the minimize the gap capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the minimize the gap capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 6:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein a location of the at least one target time slot is configured by a separate configuration information or…
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a PRACH mask capability which includes:
wherein a location of the at least one target time slot is configured by a separate configuration information or…
(“FIG. 11 shows one embodiment, wherein the network has configured separate PRACH resources for 2-step and 4-step RA. PUSCH transmissions (shown in cross, diagonal, and vertical hatched pattern) follow the RACH occasions in time. The cross and diagonal hatched resources are closer to the RACH occasions and therefore more suitable to minimize LBT operations than the vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions. The vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions can be used for 4-step RACH operations, which have less stringent latency requirements. Note that in FIG. 11, 2-step ROs 1, 3, and 5 are overlapping between 2-step and 4-step RA. In another case (e.g., in licensed spectrum), the PRACH load on resources 1 and 5 from 2-step RA UEs could be high, since they may be used for UEs requiring larger msgA PUSCH sizes. In this example, it would be prudent to lower the PRACH load on these resources by not allowing 4-step UEs on these. A PRACH mask can be used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0171)
(“FIG. 13 depicts an example. In one PRACH slot, 3 ROs and one PUSCH occasion (PO) are allocated with same numerology, where each RO occupies 3 OFDM symbols, while the PO occupies 5 symbols.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0180_
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PRACH mask capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the PRACH mask capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 7:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
The at least one target time slot comprises at least one uplink time slot within a reference time duration determined by a reference subcarrier spacing.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a subcarrier spacing/slot capability which includes:
The at least one target time slot comprises at least one uplink time slot within a reference time duration determined by a reference subcarrier spacing.
(“[0359] …52. The method of embodiment 1, wherein the ROs and POs are within a slot, wherein the plurality of ROs and the PUSCH together are contained within a slot and having a same subcarrier spacing, where the slot is comprised of a number of OFDM symbols that does not vary with the subcarrier spacing for a given cyclic prefix length.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0359)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the subcarrier spacing/slot capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the subcarrier spacing/slot capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 8:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
the reference time duration encompasses the PRACH time slot.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a slot capability which includes:
the reference time duration encompasses the PRACH time slot.
(“[0359] …52. The method of embodiment 1, wherein the ROs and POs are within a slot, wherein the plurality of ROs and the PUSCH together are contained within a slot and having a same subcarrier spacing, where the slot is comprised of a number of OFDM symbols that does not vary with the subcarrier spacing for a given cyclic prefix length.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0359)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the slot capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the slot capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 9:
Lei et al. discloses:
wherein the reference time duration comprises a reference time slot …and is a multiple of the PRACH time slot.
(see FIG. 12 and FIG. 15)
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
corresponding to the reference subcarrier spacing
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a slot capability which includes:
corresponding to the reference subcarrier spacing
(“[0359] …52. The method of embodiment 1, wherein the ROs and POs are within a slot, wherein the plurality of ROs and the PUSCH together are contained within a slot and having a same subcarrier spacing, where the slot is comprised of a number of OFDM symbols that does not vary with the subcarrier spacing for a given cyclic prefix length.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0359)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the slot capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the slot capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 11:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein identifying the at least one target time slot comprises identifying N target time slots among multiple time slots within the reference time duration, wherein N is an integer equal to or greater than 1.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a PRACH mask capability which includes:
wherein identifying the at least one target time slot comprises identifying N target time slots among multiple time slots within the reference time duration, wherein N is an integer equal to or greater than 1.
(“FIG. 11 shows one embodiment, wherein the network has configured separate PRACH resources for 2-step and 4-step RA. PUSCH transmissions (shown in cross, diagonal, and vertical hatched pattern) follow the RACH occasions in time. The cross and diagonal hatched resources are closer to the RACH occasions and therefore more suitable to minimize LBT operations than the vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions. The vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions can be used for 4-step RACH operations, which have less stringent latency requirements. Note that in FIG. 11, 2-step ROs 1, 3, and 5 are overlapping between 2-step and 4-step RA. In another case (e.g., in licensed spectrum), the PRACH load on resources 1 and 5 from 2-step RA UEs could be high, since they may be used for UEs requiring larger msgA PUSCH sizes. In this example, it would be prudent to lower the PRACH load on these resources by not allowing 4-step UEs on these. A PRACH mask can be used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0171)
(see FIGs. 11-12)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PRACH mask capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the PRACH mask capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 12:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein N is greater than 1 and each of the at least one target time slot is associated with a priority for PRACH occasion relocation; and
PRACH occasions are relocated to a lower priority target time slot only after other higher priority target time slots among the at least one target time slot are used up for PRACH occasion relocation.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a PRACH mask/prioritized capability which includes:
wherein N is greater than 1 and each of the at least one target time slot is associated with a priority for PRACH occasion relocation; and
PRACH occasions are relocated to a lower priority target time slot only after other higher priority target time slots among the at least one target time slot are used up for PRACH occasion relocation.
(“FIG. 11 shows one embodiment, wherein the network has configured separate PRACH resources for 2-step and 4-step RA. PUSCH transmissions (shown in cross, diagonal, and vertical hatched pattern) follow the RACH occasions in time. The cross and diagonal hatched resources are closer to the RACH occasions and therefore more suitable to minimize LBT operations than the vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions. The vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions can be used for 4-step RACH operations, which have less stringent latency requirements. Note that in FIG. 11, 2-step ROs 1, 3, and 5 are overlapping between 2-step and 4-step RA. In another case (e.g., in licensed spectrum), the PRACH load on resources 1 and 5 from 2-step RA UEs could be high, since they may be used for UEs requiring larger msgA PUSCH sizes. In this example, it would be prudent to lower the PRACH load on these resources by not allowing 4-step UEs on these. A PRACH mask can be used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0171)
(“For RAs with higher priority levels or more critical latency requirements, a mask is applied that allows the UE to select ROs that give smaller gaps.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0174)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PRACH mask/prioritized capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the PRACH mask/prioritized capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 13:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein a value of N and locations of the N target time slots within the reference time duration are … or configured using a separate configuration message or signaling information.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a PRACH mask capability which includes:
wherein a value of N and locations of the N target time slots within the reference time duration are … or configured using a separate configuration message or signaling information.
(“FIG. 11 shows one embodiment, wherein the network has configured separate PRACH resources for 2-step and 4-step RA. PUSCH transmissions (shown in cross, diagonal, and vertical hatched pattern) follow the RACH occasions in time. The cross and diagonal hatched resources are closer to the RACH occasions and therefore more suitable to minimize LBT operations than the vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions. The vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions can be used for 4-step RACH operations, which have less stringent latency requirements. Note that in FIG. 11, 2-step ROs 1, 3, and 5 are overlapping between 2-step and 4-step RA. In another case (e.g., in licensed spectrum), the PRACH load on resources 1 and 5 from 2-step RA UEs could be high, since they may be used for UEs requiring larger msgA PUSCH sizes. In this example, it would be prudent to lower the PRACH load on these resources by not allowing 4-step UEs on these. A PRACH mask can be used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0171)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PRACH mask capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the PRACH mask capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 23:
Lei et al. discloses:
A method performed by a wireless access network node, comprising:
transmitting a physical random-access channel (PRACH) configuration information to a wireless terminal device, the PRACH configuration information indicating a PRACH time-slot and intra-time-slot symbol positions of a plurality of RACH occasions within the PRACH time slot for transmitting a random-access preamble;
(“…The one or more parameters or configuration, including SLIV-based indication for msgA PUSCH transmission, may be signaled by system information (e.g., SIB), RRC messages, or combinations thereof. A PO may be a PUSCH transmission opportunity for a UE performing random access and may comprise at least one of time, frequency, or space resource for transmitting PUSCH. For example, when a UE transmits msgA, it needs to select a RO and a PO for msgA preamble and msgA payload, respectively. On a msgA transmission occasion, the following rules may be specified for RO and PO selected by a UE: RO and PO are associated with the same SSB beam; RO and PO are always time division multiplexed; RO and PO cannot be mapped to the same slot, and a minimum gap (e.g., Tg) may be lower bounded by N symbols (N may be hard coded in a standards specification). PUSCH transmission in msgA may span multiple slots or multiple symbols in time domain…”; Lei et al.; 0154)
(“…For example, RRC parameters for msgA PUSCH configuration may include configurable guard bands up to, for example, 1 PRB (physical resource block). For example, the RRC parameters for msgA PUSCH configuration may include configurable guard periods in the units of OFDM symbols. For example, a configurable guard period between hops may be supported, if intra-slot frequency hopping per PO for msgA is configured. The value of guard period between POs may be reused if configured; otherwise, no guard period is used, for example. Such guard band configuration and/or guard time configuration may be specified in a standard, or sent in system information, e.g., via SIB or MIB (e.g., to address dynamic changes in the network). FIG. 17 provides an illustration of example guard band and guard time configurations for msgA of 2-step RACH. The top and bottom guard bands shown in FIG. 17 for the preamble and/or the payload may comprise the same bandwidth (e.g., if preamble and/or payload is located away from band edge) or different bandwidth (e.g., if preamble and/or payload is located at band edge), based on location of the preamble and/or payload.”; Lei et al.; 0155)
(where
“Such guard band configuration and/or guard time configuration may be specified in a standard, or sent in system information, e.g., via SIB or MIB (e.g., to address dynamic changes in the network). FIG. 17 provides an illustration of example guard band and guard time configurations for msgA of 2-step RACH”/” one or more parameters or configuration, including SLIV-based indication for msgA PUSCH transmission, may be signaled by system information (e.g., SIB), RRC messages, or combinations thereof. A PO may be a PUSCH transmission opportunity for a UE performing random access and may comprise at least one of time, frequency, or space resource for transmitting PUSCH. For example, when a UE transmits msgA, it needs to select a RO and a PO for msgA preamble and msgA payload” maps to “transmitting a physical random-access channel (PRACH) configuration information to a wireless terminal device”, “configuration…via SIB or MIB…2-step RACH”/”configuration…SIB…RRC…UE transmits msgA, it needs to select a RO…msgA preamble”/FIG. 17 maps to “transmitting a physical random-access channel (PRACH) configuration information to a wireless terminal device”, where “SIB”/”MIB”/”RRC” maps to “transmitting”, “configuration”/”parameters” maps to “configuration information”, “UE” maps to “to a wireless terminal device”
“configurable guard period between hops may be supported, if intra-slot frequency hopping per PO for msgA is configured”/”FIG. 17 provides an illustration of example guard band and guard time configurations for msgA of 2-step RACH”/FIG. 12/FIG. 16 maps to “intra-time-slot symbol positions of a plurality of RACH occasions”
FIG. 12 illustrates “a plurality of RACH occasions within the PRACH time slot”
FIGs. 15 and FIG. 17 illustrates “for transmitting a random-access preamble”
FIG. 15 illustrates “the PRACH configuration information indicating a PRACH time-slot”
…
Lei et al. teaches configuration of 2-step RACH ROs for performing instr-slot PRACH
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
identifying an overflow condition of PRACH occasions;
for a relocation of overflow PRACH occasions:
identifying at least one target time slot; and
identifying a target symbol position within the at least one target time slot; and
receiving a PRACH preamble from the wireless terminal device over the target symbol position in the at least one target time slot under the overflow condition.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a high load capability which includes:
identifying an overflow condition of PRACH occasions;
(“FIG. 11 shows one embodiment, wherein the network has configured separate PRACH resources for 2-step and 4-step RA. PUSCH transmissions (shown in cross, diagonal, and vertical hatched pattern) follow the RACH occasions in time. The cross and diagonal hatched resources are closer to the RACH occasions and therefore more suitable to minimize LBT operations than the vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions. The vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions can be used for 4-step RACH operations, which have less stringent latency requirements. Note that in FIG. 11, 2-step ROs 1, 3, and 5 are overlapping between 2-step and 4-step RA. In another case (e.g., in licensed spectrum), the PRACH load on resources 1 and 5 from 2-step RA UEs could be high, since they may be used for UEs requiring larger msgA PUSCH sizes. In this example, it would be prudent to lower the PRACH load on these resources by not allowing 4-step UEs on these. A PRACH mask can be used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0171)
(“FIG. 13 depicts an example. In one PRACH slot, 3 ROs and one PUSCH occasion (PO) are allocated with same numerology, where each RO occupies 3 OFDM symbols, while the PO occupies 5 symbols.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0180_
(where
“the PRACH load on resources 1 and 5 from 2-step RA UEs could be high”/FIG. 11 maps to “identifying an overflow condition of PRACH occasions”, where “load…high” maps to “overflow condition”, “2-step RA” maps to “PRACH occasions”
for a relocation of overflow PRACH occasions:
identifying at least one target time slot; and
(where
“it would be prudent to lower the PRACH load on these resources by not allowing 4-step UEs on these. A PRACH mask can be used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA”/”In one PRACH slot, 3 ROs and one PUSCH occasion (PO) are allocated with same numerology, where each RO occupies 3 OFDM symbols, while the PO occupies 5 symbols” where “lower the PRACH load” maps to “for a relocation of overflow PRACH occasions”, FIG. 11/” In one PRACH slot” maps to “identifying at least one target time slot”
identifying a target symbol position within the at least one target time slot; and
(where
“In one PRACH slot, 3 ROs and one PUSCH occasion (PO) are allocated with same numerology, where each RO occupies 3 OFDM symbols, while the PO occupies 5 symbols” maps to “identifying a target symbol position within the at least one target time slot”
receiving a PRACH preamble from the wireless terminal device over the target symbol position in the at least one target time slot under the overflow condition.
(“FIG. 12 shows another embodiment, in which the 2-step and 4-step RAs use the same PRACH configuration. However, the only ROs suitable for 2-step are those which have PUSCH resources immediately after the ROs, to minimize the gap for LBT. A PRACH mask can also be used in this case to indicate that the 2-step RA may only use odd ROs.
[0173] Furthermore, in any of these embodiments, the network may configure multiple masks to indicate multiple subsets of ROs for 2-step RAs. Each mask setting is associated with a gap range between PRACH preamble and MsgA PUSCH payload.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0172-0173)
(where
“the network may configure multiple masks to indicate multiple subsets of ROs for 2-step RAs. Each mask setting is associated with a gap range between PRACH preamble and MsgA PUSCH payload”/”the only ROs suitable for 2-step are those which have PUSCH resources immediately after the ROs”/“In one PRACH slot, 3 ROs and one PUSCH occasion (PO) are allocated with same numerology, where each RO occupies 3 OFDM symbols, while the PO occupies 5 symbols” maps to “receiving a PRACH preamble from the wireless terminal device over the target symbol position in the at least one target time slot under the overflow condition.”, where FIG. 12 illustrates “receiving…from the wireless terminal”, “PRACH preamble” maps to “PRACH preamble”, “In one PRACH slot, 3 ROs and one PUSCH occasion (PO) are allocated with same numerology, where each RO occupies 3 OFDM symbols, while the PO occupies 5 symbols” maps to “over the target symbol position in the at least one target time slot”, “the only ROs suitable for 2-step” maps to “under the overflow condition”
Christoffersson et al. teaches a mask for preventing overloading of PRACH occasions between 2-step RACH and 4-step RACH.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the high load capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the high load capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
Claim(s) 10 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. US 20200288506 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 3/23/2026) in view of Christoffersson et al. US 20220408478 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 3/23/2026) and in further view of Axnas et al. US 20240080900 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 3/23/2026).
As to claim 10:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein:
the reference subcarrier spacing is 60 kHz; and
the reference time duration comprises either a first set of time slots { 0}, { 1}, { 2}, { 3}, { 4}, { 5}, { 6}, and {7} for 480 kHz PRACH sub carrier spacing or a second set of time slots { 0},{l}, [21._{3}, {4}, {5}, {6}, {7}, {8}, {9}, {10}, {11}, {12}, {13}, {14} and {15} for 960 kHz PRACH subcarrier spacing.
However, Axnas et al. further teaches a SCS/slots capability which includes:
the reference subcarrier spacing is 60 kHz; and
the reference time duration comprises either a first set of time slots { 0}, { 1}, { 2}, { 3}, { 4}, { 5}, { 6}, and {7} for 480 kHz PRACH sub carrier spacing or a second set of time slots { 0},{l}, [21._{3}, {4}, {5}, {6}, {7}, {8}, {9}, {10}, {11}, {12}, {13}, {14} and {15} for 960 kHz PRACH subcarrier spacing.
(“By extending the subcarrier spacings to 480 kHz and 960 kHz, the slot duration shrinks. Hence, within the duration of one 60 kHz slot (reference SCS for PRACH configuration) there are eight 480 kHz slots and sixteen 960 kHz slots. The slot duration as a function of subcarrier spacing is illustrated in FIG. 6.”; Axnas et al.; 0040)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SCS/slots capability of Axnas et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the SCS/slots capability as taught by the processing/communications of Axnas et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with improved services (Axnas et al.; 0124) are achieved.
As to claim 24:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein:
identifying the at least one target time slot comprises selecting at least on uplink time slot within a reference time duration determined by a reference subcarrier spacing,
the reference time duration comprises either a first set of time slots { 0}, { 1}, { 2}, { 3}, { 4}, { 5}, { 6}, and {7} for 480 kHz PRACH sub carrier spacing or a second set of time slots { 0},{l}, [21._{3}, {4}, {5}, {6}, {7}, {8}, {9}, {10}, {11}, {12}, {13}, {14} and {15} for 960 kHz PRACH subcarrier spacing,
identifying the at least one target time slot comprises identifying N target time slots among multiple time slots withing the reference time duration, where N is an integer equal to or greater than 1; and a value of N and locations of N target time slots withing the reference time duration are predefined by default,
N is greater than 1 and each of the at least one target time slot is associated with a priority for PRACH occasion relocation; and PRACH occasions are relocated to a lower priority target time slot only after other higher priority target time slots among the at least one target time slot are used up for PRACH occasion relocation.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a high load capability which includes:
identifying the at least one target time slot comprises identifying N target time slots among multiple time slots withing the reference time duration, where N is an integer equal to or greater than 1; and a value of N and locations of N target time slots withing the reference time duration are predefined by default,
N is greater than 1 and each of the at least one target time slot is associated with a priority for PRACH occasion relocation; and PRACH occasions are relocated to a lower priority target time slot only after other higher priority target time slots among the at least one target time slot are used up for PRACH occasion relocation.
(“FIG. 11 shows one embodiment, wherein the network has configured separate PRACH resources for 2-step and 4-step RA. PUSCH transmissions (shown in cross, diagonal, and vertical hatched pattern) follow the RACH occasions in time. The cross and diagonal hatched resources are closer to the RACH occasions and therefore more suitable to minimize LBT operations than the vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions. The vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions can be used for 4-step RACH operations, which have less stringent latency requirements. Note that in FIG. 11, 2-step ROs 1, 3, and 5 are overlapping between 2-step and 4-step RA. In another case (e.g., in licensed spectrum), the PRACH load on resources 1 and 5 from 2-step RA UEs could be high, since they may be used for UEs requiring larger msgA PUSCH sizes. In this example, it would be prudent to lower the PRACH load on these resources by not allowing 4-step UEs on these. A PRACH mask can be used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0171)
(“FIG. 13 depicts an example. In one PRACH slot, 3 ROs and one PUSCH occasion (PO) are allocated with same numerology, where each RO occupies 3 OFDM symbols, while the PO occupies 5 symbols.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0180)
(see FIG. 11 and FIG. 12)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the high load capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the high load capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
However, Axnas et al. further teaches a SCS/slots capability which includes:
the reference subcarrier spacing is 60 kHz; and
the reference time duration comprises either a first set of time slots { 0}, { 1}, { 2}, { 3}, { 4}, { 5}, { 6}, and {7} for 480 kHz PRACH sub carrier spacing or a second set of time slots { 0},{l}, [21._{3}, {4}, {5}, {6}, {7}, {8}, {9}, {10}, {11}, {12}, {13}, {14} and {15} for 960 kHz PRACH subcarrier spacing.
(“By extending the subcarrier spacings to 480 kHz and 960 kHz, the slot duration shrinks. Hence, within the duration of one 60 kHz slot (reference SCS for PRACH configuration) there are eight 480 kHz slots and sixteen 960 kHz slots. The slot duration as a function of subcarrier spacing is illustrated in FIG. 6.”; Axnas et al.; 0040)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SCS/slots capability of Axnas et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the SCS/slots capability as taught by the processing/communications of Axnas et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with improved services (Axnas et al.; 0124) are achieved.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. US 20200288506 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 3/23/2026) in view of Christoffersson et al. US 20220408478 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 3/23/2026) and in further view of Zhang et al. US 20190327766 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 3/23/2026).
As to claim 14:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the PRACH configuration information comprises a PRACH configuration index pre-mapped to a set of PRACH configuration parameters.
However, Axnas et al. further teaches a PRACH configuration parameters/index/map capability which includes:
wherein the PRACH configuration information comprises a PRACH configuration index pre-mapped to a set of PRACH configuration parameters.
(“At 710, the base station 105-b may transmit the PRACH configuration parameters to the UE 115-b. In some cases, some or all of the PRACH configuration parameters may be provided in RMSI that is received at the UE 115-b. In some examples, the PRACH configuration parameters may be transmitted via an SSB including one or more reference signals or synchronization signals, such as a primary synchronization signal (PSS) or a secondary synchronization signal (SSS). In some cases, the PRACH configuration parameters may be indicated in a table or via index values that are mapped to various PRACH configurations.”; Zhang et al.; 0107)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the PRACH configuration parameters/index/map capability of Zhang et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the PRACH configuration parameters/index/map capability as taught by the processing/communications of Zhang et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with improved efficiency (Zhang et al.; 0005) are achieved.
Claim(s) 15, 18, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. US 20200288506 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 3/23/2026) in view of Christoffersson et al. US 20220408478 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 3/23/2026) and in further view of Zhang et al. US 20190327766 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 3/23/2026) and Rastegardoost et al. US 20200267764 (cited in Non-Final Rejection dated 3/23/2026).
As to claim 15:
Lei et al discloses:
the PRACH occasions are separate by at least one predefined gap symbol in time domain,
(“As illustrated, the UE 404 may insert a gap 424 in time when sending the msgA 414. The time duration of the gap 424 is configurable, which can be zero, a fraction of an OFDM symbol, or several OFDM symbols.”; Lei et al.; 0094)
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the set of PRACH configuration parameters comprises:
a time slot position for the PRACH time slot;
a starting symbol position for the plurality of PRACH occasions within the PRACH time
a number of PRACH occasions to be configured within the PRACH time slot; and
a duration of each of the plurality of PRACH occasions, and
…
the at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions related to the at least one target time slot represents an overflow of PRACH occasions from the PRACH time slot.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a high load capability which includes:
the at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions related to the at least one target time slot represents an overflow of PRACH occasions from the PRACH time slot.
(“FIG. 11 shows one embodiment, wherein the network has configured separate PRACH resources for 2-step and 4-step RA. PUSCH transmissions (shown in cross, diagonal, and vertical hatched pattern) follow the RACH occasions in time. The cross and diagonal hatched resources are closer to the RACH occasions and therefore more suitable to minimize LBT operations than the vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions. The vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions can be used for 4-step RACH operations, which have less stringent latency requirements. Note that in FIG. 11, 2-step ROs 1, 3, and 5 are overlapping between 2-step and 4-step RA. In another case (e.g., in licensed spectrum), the PRACH load on resources 1 and 5 from 2-step RA UEs could be high, since they may be used for UEs requiring larger msgA PUSCH sizes. In this example, it would be prudent to lower the PRACH load on these resources by not allowing 4-step UEs on these. A PRACH mask can be used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0171)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the high load capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the high load capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
However, Rastegardoost et al. further teaches a parameters capability which includes:
wherein the set of PRACH configuration parameters comprises:
a time slot position for the PRACH time slot;
(“In an example embodiment as shown in FIG. 21, the wireless device may receive RRC messages comprising second resource configuration parameters of a downlink control signal (e.g., a DCI or a DMRS). The downlink control signal may be a DCI. The second configuration parameters may indicate a search space set of a downlink control channel (e.g., a PDCCH) indicating the DCI. The second configuration parameters may indicate a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) associated with a reception of the DCI (e.g., SFI-RNTI, a pre-defined RNTI, or a fixed RNTI). The second configuration parameters may indicate a payload size of the DCI. The wireless device may receive the downlink control signal based on the second configuration parameters. The downlink control signal may indicate COT information (e.g., COT length, end of COT, DL/UL switching points, format of symbols and slots in the COT, etc.) and/or dynamically schedule PRACH occasions in the COT. The second configuration parameters may indicate one or more slot format indexes of one or more slot formats. The second configuration parameters may indicate one or more slot format combination identifiers of one or more slot format combinations, where each of the one or more slot format combinations comprises of at least one slot format index of the one or more slot format indexes. The downlink control signal may use the one or more slot formats to indicate COT information and/or the PRACH occasions.” Rastegardooset et al.; 0396)
a starting symbol position for the plurality of PRACH occasions within the PRACH time
(“According to various embodiments, the one or more configuration parameters may indicate one or more second ROs, wherein the one or more second ROs may be semi-statically repeated based on a period. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of preamble indexes of a plurality of preambles. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate first time domain resources of the one or more ROs. The first time domain resources of the one or more ROs may comprise a first number of time domain ROs per slot and/or a second number of symbols for a duration of each of the time-domain ROs. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate one or more frequency domain resources of the one or more ROs. The one or more frequency domain resources of the one or more ROs may indicate a frequency offset of a first RO of the one or more ROs with respect to a first resource block and/or a third number of ROs multiplexed in frequency domain per time instance. The wireless device may determine the radio resources of the one or more ROs by determining the slot as a physical RACH (PRACH) slot in response to the SFI indicating the at least one random access symbol in the slot and/or mapping the first time domain resources of the one or more ROs to the slot, and the one or more frequency resources of the one or more ROs to one or more resource blocks. The wireless device may determine a first symbol, of a plurality of symbols comprising the at least one random access symbol of the slot, as a starting symbol for the mapping the first time domain resources in the slot. The one or more ROs may be mapped consecutively from the starting symbol. The one or more ROs may be mapped to at least one uplink symbol or flexible symbol indicated by the SFI for the slot. The one or more ROs may be mapped to the at least one random access symbol indicated by the SFI for the slot.”; Rastegardoost et al.; 0407)
a number of PRACH occasions to be configured within the PRACH time slot; and
(see para. 0407 above)
a duration of each of the plurality of PRACH occasions, and
(see para. 0407 above)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the parameters capability of Rastegardoost et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the parameters capability as taught by the processing/communications of Rastegardoost et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with improved coexistence (Rastegardoost et al.; 0363) are achieved.
As to claim 18:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
where relocating the at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions to the at least one target time slot comprises:
relocating the at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions to the at least one target time slot at configured or … symbol positions within the at least one target time slot.
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a high load capability which includes:
where relocating the at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions to the at least one target time slot comprises:
relocating the at least one of the plurality of PRACH occasions to the at least one target time slot at configured or …symbol positions within the at least one target time slot.
(“FIG. 11 shows one embodiment, wherein the network has configured separate PRACH resources for 2-step and 4-step RA. PUSCH transmissions (shown in cross, diagonal, and vertical hatched pattern) follow the RACH occasions in time. The cross and diagonal hatched resources are closer to the RACH occasions and therefore more suitable to minimize LBT operations than the vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions. The vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions can be used for 4-step RACH operations, which have less stringent latency requirements. Note that in FIG. 11, 2-step ROs 1, 3, and 5 are overlapping between 2-step and 4-step RA. In another case (e.g., in licensed spectrum), the PRACH load on resources 1 and 5 from 2-step RA UEs could be high, since they may be used for UEs requiring larger msgA PUSCH sizes. In this example, it would be prudent to lower the PRACH load on these resources by not allowing 4-step UEs on these. A PRACH mask can be used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0171)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the high load capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the high load capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
As to claim 19:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the configured or …symbol positions in each of the at least one target time slot begin with the starting symbol position for the plurality of PRACH occasions as specified in the set of PRACH configuration parameters:. or…
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches a high load capability which includes:
wherein the configured or …symbol positions in each of the at least one target time slot begin with the … position for the plurality of PRACH occasions as specified in the set of PRACH configuration parameters:. or…
(“FIG. 11 shows one embodiment, wherein the network has configured separate PRACH resources for 2-step and 4-step RA. PUSCH transmissions (shown in cross, diagonal, and vertical hatched pattern) follow the RACH occasions in time. The cross and diagonal hatched resources are closer to the RACH occasions and therefore more suitable to minimize LBT operations than the vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions. The vertical hatched PUSCH transmissions can be used for 4-step RACH operations, which have less stringent latency requirements. Note that in FIG. 11, 2-step ROs 1, 3, and 5 are overlapping between 2-step and 4-step RA. In another case (e.g., in licensed spectrum), the PRACH load on resources 1 and 5 from 2-step RA UEs could be high, since they may be used for UEs requiring larger msgA PUSCH sizes. In this example, it would be prudent to lower the PRACH load on these resources by not allowing 4-step UEs on these. A PRACH mask can be used to indicate which of the overlapping ROs can be used only by 2-step RA.”; Christoffersson et al.; 0171)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the high load capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the high load capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
However, Rastegardoost et al. further teaches a parameters capability which includes:
starting symbol
(“According to various embodiments, the one or more configuration parameters may indicate one or more second ROs, wherein the one or more second ROs may be semi-statically repeated based on a period. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate a plurality of preamble indexes of a plurality of preambles. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate first time domain resources of the one or more ROs. The first time domain resources of the one or more ROs may comprise a first number of time domain ROs per slot and/or a second number of symbols for a duration of each of the time-domain ROs. The one or more configuration parameters may indicate one or more frequency domain resources of the one or more ROs. The one or more frequency domain resources of the one or more ROs may indicate a frequency offset of a first RO of the one or more ROs with respect to a first resource block and/or a third number of ROs multiplexed in frequency domain per time instance. The wireless device may determine the radio resources of the one or more ROs by determining the slot as a physical RACH (PRACH) slot in response to the SFI indicating the at least one random access symbol in the slot and/or mapping the first time domain resources of the one or more ROs to the slot, and the one or more frequency resources of the one or more ROs to one or more resource blocks. The wireless device may determine a first symbol, of a plurality of symbols comprising the at least one random access symbol of the slot, as a starting symbol for the mapping the first time domain resources in the slot. The one or more ROs may be mapped consecutively from the starting symbol. The one or more ROs may be mapped to at least one uplink symbol or flexible symbol indicated by the SFI for the slot. The one or more ROs may be mapped to the at least one random access symbol indicated by the SFI for the slot.”; Rastegardoost et al.; 0407)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the parameters capability of Rastegardoost et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the parameters capability as taught by the processing/communications of Rastegardoost et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with improved coexistence (Rastegardoost et al.; 0363) are achieved.
As to claim 21:
Lei et al. as described above does not explicitly teach:
wherein the overflow PRACH occasions relocated to the at least one target time slot retain their PRACH occasion indices, or
the overflow PRACH occasions relocated to the at least one target time slot are assigned with PRACH indices afresh
However, Christoffersson et al. further teaches an index capability which includes:
wherein the overflow PRACH occasions relocated to the at least one target time slot retain their PRACH occasion indices, or
the overflow PRACH occasions relocated to the at least one target time slot are assigned with PRACH indices afresh
(see FIG. 10)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the index capability of Christoffersson et al. into Lei et al. By modifying the processing/communications of Lei et al. to include the index capability as taught by the processing/communications of Christoffersson et al., the benefits of improved co-existence (Lei et al.; 0147) with reduced latency (Christoffersson et al.; 0012) are achieved.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ricky Ngo can be reached on 571-272-3139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
MICHAEL K. PHILLIPS
Examiner
Art Unit 2464
/MICHAEL K PHILLIPS/Examiner, Art Unit 2464