DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 03/27/2024 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al; (Experimental 5G New Radio integration with VLC – 2018 attached) in view of Casaccia et al; (US 2014/0153923).
Regarding claim 1, Shi discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, (User equipments (tablet PC, Smart phone VR headset, see figure 1) comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, (the PC handles the signal processing for both transmitter and receiver, see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4) configured to: receive, from a base station and via a radio frequency (RF) link, ;( 5G NR signal is encoded and modulated by PC. It is sent from a local server to USRP via high-speed Ethernet cable, see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4) associated with a downlink communication received via a visible light communications (VLC) link ;(output signal from USRP is merged with a 12V DC source before sending to LED (VLC) and an APD sends the received light signal to USRP Rx-side, see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4) and transmit, via the resources, the uplink communication associated with the downlink communication received via the VLC link; (The user equipment (PC) transmit the 5G NR signal via high-speed Ethernet cable and the output signal from USRP is merged with a 12V DC source
before sending to LED (VLC), see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4).
However, Shi does not explicitly disclose an indication of resources that support transmission, via the RF link, of an uplink communication.
In a related field of endeavor, Casaccia discloses an indication of resources that support transmission, via the RF link, of an uplink communication ;(contention free downlink traffic channel VLC slot corresponds to a contention free wireless radio uplink resource, in accordance with a predetermined mapping, see paragraph 106).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the uplink transmission of Casaccia with Shi to synchronize the VLC downlink transmissions with the uplink channels and the motivation is to provide synchronization between the uplink and downlink channels.
Regarding claim 2, Shi discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, before transmitting the uplink communication, the downlink communication via the VLC link ;(output signal from USRP is merged with a 12V DC source before sending to LED (VLC) and an APD sends the received light signal to USRP Rx-side, see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4)
Regarding claim 3, Shi discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the resources comprise one or more of: semi-statically configured resources dedicated for transmitting uplink communications associated with the VLC downlink communication, semi-statically configured resources shared with additional uplink communications associated with the RF link, dynamically scheduled resources for transmitting the uplink communication associated with the VLC downlink communication,( the resource allocation is flexibly scheduled by the base station with at least 1 RB frequency resource and at least
1 OFDM symbol. Here, 25 RBs for PDSCH are allocated, which occupy less than 10 MHz bandwidth, see page 2, section IIB) resources allocated for selectable transmission of the uplink communication associated with the VLC downlink communication or an additional uplink communication associated with the RF link, resources allocated for transmission of the uplink communication associated with the VLC downlink communication and the uplink communication associated with the RF link, or resources dedicated for transmission of the uplink communication. (Only one of the claim limitation is required ot be considered by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 4, Shi does not explicitly disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the uplink communication comprises one or more of: acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback for the VLC downlink communication, an indication of an access point associated with the VLC link, or an indication of a time parameter associated with the downlink communication.
In a related field of endeavor, Casaccia discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the uplink communication comprises one or more of: acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback for the VLC downlink communication, ( UE device 806 generates and transmits ACK signal 1304 in response to downlink VLC traffic signals 1206, see paragraph 95 and figure 13) an indication of an access point associated with the VLC link, or an indication of a time parameter associated with the downlink communication. (Only one of the claim limitation is required ot be considered by the Examiner).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the acknowledgement signal of Casaccia with Shi to synchronize VLC downlink timing structure to an uplink wireless radio recurring timing structure motivation is to provide synchronization between the uplink and downlink channels.
Regarding claim 5, Shi discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the uplink communication includes an indication that the uplink communication is associated with the VLC link based at least in part on one or more of: a logical channel identification, a radio bearer identification, a VLC cell radio network temporary identifier, a demodulation reference signal sequence, (Only one of the claim limitation is required ot be considered by the Examiner) or a resource identification;( the resource allocation is flexibly scheduled by the base station with at least 1 RB frequency resource and at least
1 OFDM symbol. Here, 25 RBs for PDSCH are allocated, which occupy less than 10 MHz bandwidth, see page 2, section IIB).
Regarding claim 12, Shi discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive from a base station associated with the RF link, an indication that a base station associated with the RF link supports reception of the uplink communication,( the resource allocation is flexibly scheduled by the base station with at least 1 RB frequency resource and at least 1 OFDM symbol. Here, 25 RBs for PDSCH are allocated, which occupy less than 10 MHz bandwidth, see page 2, section IIB) for routing to an access point associated with the VLC link;(output signal from USRP is merged with a 12V DC source before sending to LED (VLC) and an APD sends the received light signal to USRP Rx-side, see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4).
Regarding claim 13, Shi does not explicitly disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to one or more of: receive an indication of access channel resources to register the UE via the RF link or receive an indication of a VLC cell radio network temporary identifier associated with communication of the uplink communication.
In a related field of endeavor, Casaccia discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to one or more of: receive an indication of access channel resources to register the UE via the RF link or receive an indication of a VLC cell radio network temporary identifier associated with communication of the uplink communication; (acknowledgment signals, communicate identification information, in the acknowledgment signal corresponding to both radio downlink traffic channel signals and VLC downlink traffic channels signals being conveyed from UE device 806 to gateway 802 via a wireless radio uplink, see paragraph 95 and figure 13). Motivation same as claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, Shi does not explicitly disclose the UE of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit an indication of an access point associated with the VLC link.
In a related field of endeavor, Casaccia discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit an indication of an access point associated with the VLC link ; (acknowledgment signals, communicate identification information, in the acknowledgment signal corresponding to both radio downlink traffic channel signals and VLC downlink traffic channels signals being conveyed from UE device 806 to gateway 802 via a wireless radio uplink, see paragraph 95 and figure 13). Motivation same as claim 4.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al; (Experimental 5G New Radio integration with VLC – 2018 attached) in view of Casaccia et al; (US 2014/0153923) and further in view of Zhou et al; (US 2022/0116188).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shi and Casaccia does not explicitly disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the uplink communication, are configured to: multiplex the uplink communication with an additional uplink communication associated with the RF link.
In a related field of endeavor, Zhou discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the uplink communication, are configured to: multiplex the uplink communication with an additional uplink communication associated with the RF link; (A base station may transmit a group common signaling (e.g., a DCI with DCI format 2_1 and/or CRC scrambled by INT-RNTI) to a plurality of wireless devices, for example, if multiplexing a first type of data (e.g., a first type of URLLC data) for a first wireless device and a second type of data (e.g., a second type of URLLC data, or eMBB data) for a second wireless device, see paragraph 345).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the plurality of active uplink resources of Zhou with Shi and Casaccia to use multiple uplink resources active in a cell and the motivation is to provide improved transmission quality.
Claims 15-18 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al; (Experimental 5G New Radio integration with VLC – 2018 attached) in view of Casaccia et al; (US 2014/0153923).
Regarding claim 15, Shi discloses a base station for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, (Radio Access Network (RAN) is responsible for data and signal transmission between the Ethernet and UEs. RAN uses a 10G Common Public-Radio Interface (eCPRI) Ethernet ring to access the 5G core network, see page 1, Section II, see figure 1) configured to: transmit to a user equipment (UE) and via a radio frequency (RF) link;( 5G NR signal is encoded and modulated by PC. It is sent from a local server to USRP via high-speed Ethernet cable, see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4) associated with a downlink communication received by the UE via a visible light communications (VLC) link ;(output signal from USRP is merged with a 12V DC source before sending to LED (VLC) and an APD sends the received light signal to USRP Rx-side, see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4) and receive, via the resources, the uplink communication associated with the downlink communication received via the VLC link; (the user equipment (PC) transmit the 5G NR signal via high-speed Ethernet cable and the output signal from USRP is merged with a 12V DC source before sending to LED (VLC), see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4).
However, Shi does not explicitly disclose an indication of resources that support transmission, via the RF link, of an uplink communication.
In a related field of endeavor, Casaccia discloses an indication of resources that support transmission, via the RF link, of an uplink communication ;(contention free downlink traffic channel VLC slot corresponds to a contention free wireless radio uplink resource, in accordance with a predetermined mapping, see paragraph 106).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the uplink transmission of Casaccia with Shi to synchronize the VLC downlink transmissions with the uplink channels and the motivation is to provide synchronization between the uplink and downlink channels.
Regarding claim 16, Shi discloses the base station of claim 15, wherein the resources comprise one or more of: semi-statically configured resources dedicated for transmitting uplink communications associated with the VLC downlink communication, semi-statically configured resources shared with additional uplink communications associated with the RF link, dynamically scheduled resources for transmitting the uplink communication associated with the VLC downlink communication, ,( the resource allocation is flexibly scheduled by the base station with at least 1 RB frequency resource and at least 1 OFDM symbol. Here, 25 RBs for PDSCH are allocated, which occupy less than 10 MHz bandwidth, see page 2, section IIB) resources allocated for selectable transmission of the uplink communication associated with the VLC downlink communication or an additional uplink communication associated with the RF link, resources allocated for transmission of the uplink communication associated with the VLC downlink communication and the uplink communication associated with the RF link, or resources dedicated for transmission of the uplink communication. (Only one of the claim limitation is required ot be considered by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 17, Shi does not explicitly disclose the base station of claim 15, wherein the uplink communication comprises one or more of: acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback for the VLC downlink communication, an indication of an access point associated with the VLC link, or an indication of a time parameter associated with the downlink communication.
In a related field of endeavor, Casaccia discloses the base station of claim 15, wherein the uplink communication comprises one or more of: acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback for the VLC downlink communication, ( UE device 806 generates and transmits ACK signal 1304 in response to downlink VLC traffic signals 1206, see paragraph 95 and figure 13) an indication of an access point associated with the VLC link, or an indication of a time parameter associated with the downlink communication. (Only one of the claim limitation is required ot be considered by the Examiner).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the acknowledgement signal of Casaccia with Shi to synchronize VLC downlink timing structure to an uplink wireless radio recurring timing structure motivation is to provide synchronization between the uplink and downlink channels.
Regarding claim 18, Shi discloses the base station of claim 15, wherein the uplink communication includes an indication that the uplink communication is associated with the VLC link based at least in part on one or more of: a logical channel identification, a radio bearer identification, a VLC cell radio network temporary identifier, a demodulation reference signal sequence,(Only one of the claim limitation is required to be considered by the Examiner) or a resource identification ;(the resource allocation is flexibly scheduled by the base station with at least 1 RB frequency resource and at least 1 OFDM symbol. Here, 25 RBs for PDSCH are allocated, which occupy less than 10 MHz bandwidth, see page 2, section IIB).
Regarding claim 25, Shi discloses the base station of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive from a base station associated with the RF link, an indication that a base station associated with the RF link supports reception of the uplink communication,( the resource allocation is flexibly scheduled by the base station with at least 1 RB frequency resource and at least 1 OFDM symbol. Here, 25 RBs for PDSCH are allocated, which occupy less than 10 MHz bandwidth, see page 2, section IIB) for routing to an access point associated with the VLC link ;(output signal from USRP is merged with a 12V DC source before sending to LED (VLC) and an APD sends the received light signal to USRP Rx-side, see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4).
Regarding claim 26, Shi does not explicitly disclose the base station of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to one or more of: transmit an indication of access channel resources to register the UE via the RF link or transmit an indication of a VLC cell radio network temporary identifier associated with communication of the uplink communication.
In a related field of endeavor, Casaccia discloses the base station of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to one or more of: transmit an indication of access channel resources to register the UE via the RF link or transmit an indication of a VLC cell radio network temporary identifier associated with communication of the uplink communication.; (acknowledgment signals, communicate identification information, in the acknowledgment signal corresponding to both radio downlink traffic channel signals and VLC downlink traffic channels signals being conveyed from UE device 806 to gateway 802 via a wireless radio uplink, see paragraph 95 and figure 13). Motivation same as claim 17.
Regarding claim 27, Shi does not explicitly disclose the base station of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: route the uplink communication to an access point associated with the VLC link.
In a related field of endeavor, Casaccia discloses the base station of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: route the uplink communication to an access point associated with the VLC link ; (acknowledgment signals, communicate identification information, in the acknowledgment signal corresponding to both radio downlink traffic channel signals and VLC downlink traffic channels signals being conveyed from UE device 806 to gateway 802 via a wireless radio uplink, see paragraph 95 and figure 13). Motivation same as claim 17.
Claims 19 and 28 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al; (Experimental 5G New Radio integration with VLC – 2018 attached) in view of Casaccia et al; (US 2014/0153923) and further in view of Zhou et al; (US 2022/0116188).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Shi and Casaccia does not explicitly disclose the base station of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the uplink communication, are configured to: receive the uplink communication multiplexed with an additional uplink communication associated with the RF link.
In a related field of endeavor, Zhou discloses the base station of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the uplink communication, are configured to: receive the uplink communication multiplexed with an additional uplink communication associated with the RF link (A base station may transmit a group common signaling (e.g., a DCI with DCI format 2_1 and/or CRC scrambled by INT-RNTI) to a plurality of wireless devices, for example, if multiplexing a first type of data (e.g., a first type of URLLC data) for a first wireless device and a second type of data (e.g., a second type of URLLC data, or eMBB data) for a second wireless device, see paragraph 345).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the plurality of active uplink resources of Zhou with Shi and Casaccia to use multiple uplink resources active in a cell and the motivation is to provide improved transmission quality.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Shi and Casaccia does not explicitly disclose the base station of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: provide network access to at least one of the UE or an additional UE; and transmit an indication of resources that support transmission, via an additional RF link, of additional uplink communications associated with additional downlink communications received via the additional RF link by the at least one of the UE or the additional UE.
In a related field of endeavor, Zhou discloses the base station of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: provide network access to at least one of the UE or an additional UE; and transmit an indication of resources that support transmission, via an additional RF link, of additional uplink communications associated with additional downlink communications received via the additional RF link by the at least one of the UE or the additional UE; (A base station may transmit a group common signaling (e.g., a DCI with DCI format 2_1 and/or CRC scrambled by INT-RNTI) to a plurality of wireless devices, for example, if multiplexing a first type of data (e.g., a first type of URLLC data) for a first wireless device and a second type of data (e.g., a second type of URLLC data, or eMBB data) for a second wireless device, see paragraph 345). Motivation same as claim 19.
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al; (Experimental 5G New Radio integration with VLC – 2018 attached) in view of Casaccia et al; (US 2014/0153923)
Regarding claim 29, Shi discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), (User equipments (tablet PC, Smart phone VR headset, see figure 1) comprising: receiving from a base station and via a radio frequency (RF) link, ;( 5G NR signal is encoded and modulated by PC. It is sent from a local server to USRP via high-speed Ethernet cable, see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4) associated with a downlink communication received via a visible light communications (VLC) link ;(output signal from USRP is merged with a 12V DC source before sending to LED (VLC) and an APD sends the received light signal to USRP Rx-side, see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4) and transmitting, via the resources, the uplink communication associated with the downlink communication received via the VLC link; (The user equipment (PC) transmit the 5G NR signal via high-speed Ethernet cable and the output signal from USRP is merged with a 12V DC source before sending to LED (VLC), see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4).
However, Shi does not explicitly disclose an indication of resources that support transmission, via the RF link, of an uplink communication.
In a related field of endeavor, Casaccia discloses an indication of resources that support transmission, via the RF link, of an uplink communication ;(contention free downlink traffic channel VLC slot corresponds to a contention free wireless radio uplink resource, in accordance with a predetermined mapping, see paragraph 106).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the uplink transmission of Casaccia with Shi to synchronize the VLC downlink transmissions with the uplink channels and the motivation is to provide synchronization between the uplink and downlink channels.
Regarding claim 30, Shi discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a base station, (Radio Access Network (RAN) is responsible for data and signal transmission between the Ethernet and UEs. RAN uses a 10G Common Public-Radio Interface (eCPRI) Ethernet ring to access the 5G core network, see page 1, Section II, see figure 1) comprising: transmitting to a user equipment (UE) and via a radio frequency (RF) link;( 5G NR signal is encoded and modulated by PC. It is sent from a local server to USRP via high-speed Ethernet cable, see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4) associated with a downlink communication received by the UE via a visible light communications (VLC) link ;(output signal from USRP is merged with a 12V DC source before sending to LED (VLC) and an APD sends the received light signal to USRP Rx-side, see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4) and receiving, via the resources, the uplink communication associated with the downlink communication received via the VLC link; (the user equipment (PC) transmit the 5G NR signal via high-speed Ethernet cable and the output signal from USRP is merged with a 12V DC source before sending to LED (VLC), see page 3, section IIIA and figure 4).
However, Shi does not explicitly disclose an indication of resources that support transmission, via the RF link, of an uplink communication.
In a related field of endeavor, Casaccia discloses an indication of resources that support transmission, via the RF link, of an uplink communication;(contention free downlink traffic channel VLC slot corresponds to a contention free wireless radio uplink resource, in accordance with a predetermined mapping, see paragraph 106).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the uplink transmission of Casaccia with Shi to synchronize the VLC downlink transmissions with the uplink channels and the motivation is to provide synchronization between the uplink and downlink channels.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11, 20-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as reproduced below.
a. Zhang (US 2023/0299849) discloses method for receiving a downlink cellular mobile signal from an outdoor base station; transforming the downlink cellular mobile signal to a downlink WLAN signal and sending the downlink WLAN signal to a UE when the downlink cellular mobile signal is handled by WLAN link, see figure 1.
b. Jovicic et al; (US 2014/0226977) discloses a method for receiving a light signal from a light access point and the access point communicating information to the user equipment (UE), see figure 1.
c. Solanki (EP 3635883B1) discloses an optical wireless communication systems and networks, using Visible Light Communication (VLC) systems and Li-Fi networks, see figure 1.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634