DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 15, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-12 and 16 in the reply filed on September 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
The examiner agrees with the applicants reply filed to the original Restriction Requirement given Easwaran (WO2017180998A2) did not specifically disclose “at least one A” selected from the claimed group of tetrahydropyrenes (THP). The examiner apologizes for the oversight in the original restriction requirement. However, as cited in the rejection of claim 1 below, the technical feature as recited is rendered obvious in the art and thus the restriction requirement is maintained. The examiner reminds the applicant of the potential of rejoinder of withdrawn claims if the linking technical feature is found to be allowable over the art.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites identities of R1 and R2 wherein both include:
. However, the R7 group is not defined as currently presented. Thus, claim 1 is indefinite as it is unclear as to what satisfies the R7 group. Considering the other substituents claimed, R7 is likely R3 or R4 and thus will be interpreted as such. Claims 2-12 and 16 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 1.
Claim 4 presents three sets of formulas: VIa-b, VIIa-b, and VIIIa-b. However, the individual pairings do not appear to have patentable weight from each other. The formulas between each pairing appear to be identical, thus it is unclear as to what distinguishes between VIa and VIB, VIIa, and VIIb, and VIIIa and VIIIb. VIa and VIb are provided for reference:
. The formulas appear identical.
Claim 5 recites limitations of formulaic structures for a water-soluble fluorescent copolymer wherein structures for “A” have subscripts “g”. The subscript “g” is undefined as claimed, thus it is unclear to what amount “g” can be included in such formulae to satisfy the invention as claimed. Thus, claim 5 is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the subscript “g” will be interpreted as subscript “a” considering the co-polymeric block is assumed under unit “A” as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easwaran et al (WO201780998A2, hereinafter Easwaran Doc#1) in view of Kawano et al (US PGPub 20140357898) and Easwaran et al (US PGPub 20200190253, hereinafter Easwaran Doc#2) as evidenced by El-Ballouli et al (NPL: “Diarylpyrenes vs diaryltetrahydropyrenes…”).
Regarding claim 1, Easwaran et al (Doc#1) teach a water soluble fluorescent polymer which is encompassed by the shared technical feature of the instant application. Easwaran teaches the following structure (see paragraph [0008] spanning pgs 2-5:
wherein the first compound (dihydrophenanthrene DHP unit) is a potential “A” group as claimed (aryl or heteroaryl) except does not include the limitation “wherein at least one A is selected from the group consisting of…”, the double bond is identical as claimed, the “M” group is identical as claimed, and the “L” group is identical as claimed. Easwaran et al do not encompass an additional “M’” group that is optionally included. Further, “a”, “b”, “c”, “d”, and “m” are identical to as claimed. Pgs 2-10 of Doc#1 further define G1, G2, M, L, R1, R2, X, and Y which are identical or strongly overlap to the disclosed identities of those claimed as well. Substituting portions of the aryl unit with R, X, and Y groups as disclosed along with inclusion of disclosed linker L molecules enables energy transfer for acceptor based dyes in fluorescence based applications:
(pg 23 of Doc#1). Doc#1 does not disclose “A” such that a tetrahydropyrene (THP) molecule or unit is included which are the molecules recited in claim 1:
.
Kawano teaches fluorescent polymers which include substituted THP monomer units flanked by optional aryl units (paragraph [0008])
. R5 and R6 substituents can be optionally included as disclosed by Kawano, along with the flanking aryl units considering m, n1, and n2 can all be 0 as shown in formula Ia (paragraph [0025]):
which serve to improve solubility and improve film-forming properties. Kawano does not disclose that such THP groups are fluorescent.
El-Ballouli characterizes such groups in their embodiments and teaches they can be strongly fluorescent and utilized in such applications (Scheme 1 and Fig. 5).
Easwaran in Doc#2 teaches, similarly to Kawano, that aryl/aromatic monomeric units can be combined together for a fluorescent polymer which is water-soluble, analogous to the embodiment of Easwaran Doc#1 (paragraph [0084]):
. Additionally, the “B” group of Doc#2 satisfies the optionally included M’ as claimed considering B is randomly or “non-randomly” (reads on “evenly”) distributed and modifies the polymer through adjusting the bandgap (paragraph [0090]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to include a “B” group distributed along the polymer in Doc#1 in order to modify the bandgap of the polymer and arrive at the optional limitation as claimed. Thus, in Doc#2, Easwaran teaches combination of Kawano’s THP-based unit into a multi-aryl polymer which can be applied into the aryl/heteroaryl dihydrophenanthrene polymer of Easwaran in Doc#1. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to further provide another fluorescent aryl group such as the THP monomer of Kawano into the DHP-based water-soluble fluorescent polymer of Easwaran (Doc#1), as informed by Easwaran (Doc#2), and substitute at known substitution positions disclosed in Doc#1 with known X, Y, R1, and R2 of Doc#1 as known suitable substituents capable of imparting water-solubility and maintaining fluorescence and as a known combination of fluorescent aryl groups for use in conjugated water soluble fluorescent polymers and arrive at the invention as claimed. Thus, Easwaran and Kawano teach the claimed “
”
Regarding claim 2, Easwaran and Kawano teach the water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1. As described in the rejection of claim 1 above, Kawano teaches a THP molecule for use in polymers (fluorescent monomer as evidenced by El-Ballouli and thus fluorescent polymers of Easwaran). Kawano further teaches the molecule can include substituents at the X and Y positions as claimed and thus analogous to Easwaran locations in the top/middle ring of DHP molecules. Easwaran in Doc#2 teaches combination of aryl monomers in such polymers of Doc#1. Easwaran in both docs teaches suitable R1 and R2 type groups that overlap and/or are identical with those as claimed. In Doc#1, Easwaran teaches the matching substituent(s) of claimed formulas IIa-c, IIIa-c, and IVa-c:
. In Doc#2, the substituent of formulas Ia-c are disclosed (paragraphs [0004-20]):
wherein W, the Ls, and E overlap with the W, Ls, and R4 as claimed, respectively. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to select for any of the substituting groups as disclosed by Easwaran in either document as known substituents proper for water soluble polymers when combined with the THP monomers of Kawano and arrive at the invention as claimed. Thus, Easwaran and Kawano teach the claimed “
”.
Regarding claim 3, Easwaran and Kawano teach the water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1. In Doc#1, Easwaran teaches the molecule as claimed for DHP which, when substituted for THP group substituted identically of Kawano, matches the formulas as claimed for Va-Vc:
. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to swap the DHP molecule of Easwaran, while maintaining the top substituents and optionally substituting the bottom ring, for a THP molecule of Kawano or further include the THP molecule, as informed by Easwaran in Doc#2, as a known alternative fluorescent molecule capable of use in fluorescent water soluble polymers and arrive at the invention as claimed. Thus, Easwaran and Kawano teach the claimed “
”.
Regarding claim 4, Easwaran and Kawano teach the water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1. Easwaran in Doc#1 teaches the substituents matching those of formulas VI, VII, and VIII:
. Although Easwaran does not teach substituting a THP molecule, Kawano teaches THP can be substituted on the bottom middle ring at the same locations of X and Y as claimed. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to include the THP monomer of Kawano as a known suitable fluorescent monomer for use in fluorescent polymers and substitute with any of the overlapping substitutents as known suitable substitutents for water soluble fluorescent polymers and further substitute on the lower ring as a known suitable substitution site for such monomers and arrive at the invention as claimed. Thus, Easwaran and Kawano teach the claimed “
”.
Regarding claim 5, Easwaran and Kawano teach the water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1. Easwaran Doc#1 teaches the substituents of formulas XIV-XVII:
wherein Z can be “O” (line 5 pg 3) and Q can be NH (lines 6-7, pg3). Easwaran Doc#1 also teaches the additional heteroaryl group with the 5-membered ring:
wherein X has the same identity as previously disclosed (independently selected from the group consisting of a C and Si). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to include the THP monomer of Kawano as a known suitable fluorescent monomer for use in fluorescent polymers and substitute with any of the overlapping substituents as known suitable substituents for water soluble fluorescent polymers and further substitute on the lower ring as a known suitable substitution site for such monomers and arrive at the invention as claimed. Thus Easwaran and Kawano teach the claimed “
”.
Regarding claim 6, Easwaran and Kawano teach the water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1. Easwaran Doc#1 discloses M as:
and thus overlaps with optionally substituted arylene or optionally substituted heteroarylene but Doc#1 does not disclose an M’ group. Doc#2 discloses a “B” group which can serve the function of an M or M’ group considering it modifies the band gap as well
. Thus, “B” as a band gap modifier could also be an optionally substituted arylene or heteroarylene of M in Doc#1 and read upon M’ as an additional unit to include. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to include an M group and further include a B group (as the M’ group) whereby both groups are chosen from the overlapping optionally substituted arylene or heteroarylene groups of Easwaran as known groups capable of modifying the bandgap of the fluorescent water soluble polymer and arrive at the invention as claimed. Thus Easwaran and Kawano teach the claimed “The water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1, wherein each M and M’ is independently an optionally substituted arylene or optionally substituted heteroarylene.”
Regarding claim 7, Easwaran and Kawano teach the water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 6. As described in the rejection of claim 6 above, Doc#1 discloses identities of M which overlap with M as claimed. Doc#2 discloses inclusion of a B group which can serve the same function as M and M’ wherein the B group modifies the polymer via modifying the band gap. Thus, any M group as disclsoed in Doc#1 would be an obvious group to pick as the B group. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to include an M group and further include a B group (as the M’ group) whereby both groups are chosen from the overlapping optionally substituted arylene or heteroarylene groups of Easwaran as known groups capable of modifying the bandgap of the fluorescent water soluble polymer and arrive at the invention as claimed. Thus Easwaran and Kawano teach the claimed “
”.
Regarding claim 8, Easwaran and Kawano teach the water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1. In Doc#1 (pg 4), Easwaran defines an optional linker L as
. In providing capping units, Easwara Doc#1 uses the molecules interchangeably with linkers (paragraph [0087]) wherein an example capping agent or linker can be:
which overlaps with the first molecule claimed:
wherein R6 is a (CH2)COOH group and n = 4. In Doc#2, Easwaran does not include linker moieties in the main chain but includes linkers in the substituents. Linkers are known to be used interchangeably and thus the overlapping identities of linkers in Doc#2 to that of Doc#1 could be reasonably implemented into the main chain of the embodiment in Doc#1 with reasonable success considering they serve the same “linker” function. In Doc#2, linkers are defined as:
. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to use the capping agent disclosed in Doc#1 as a known suitable linking agent in the embodiment of Doc#1 or choose from any of the overlapping disclosed identities of linkers across each document suitable for use in fluorescent polymers and arrive at the invention as claimed. Thus, Easwaran and Kawano teach the claimed “
”.
Regarding claim 9, Easwaran and Kawano teach the water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1. In Doc#1, Easwaran defines G1 and G2 (pg 4) as:
, thus matching with those defined in limitation (a) such as a substituted DHP, aryl and/or heteroaryl substituted with one or more pendant chains terminated with a functional group. As described in rejection of claim 8 above, Doc#1 also discloses a specific capping agent (which can also serve as linker)
which overlaps with the first molecule of limitation (b) claimed:
wherein R6 is a (CH2)COOH group and n = 4. Furthermore, Doc#1 (as seen in screenshot of pg4 above) discloses the capping agents are to be conjugated to a substrate or binding agent. In Doc#2, Easwaran also discloses a specific capping agent on pg14
which overlaps with the claimed molecule in limitation (b) of
wherein n=1. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to select from any of the overlapping disclosed capping agents in either document of Easwaran as known capping agents suitable for use in fluorescent water-soluble polymers and arrive at the invention as claimed. Thus, Easwaran and Kawano teach the claimed “
”.
Regarding claim 10, Easwaran and Kawano teach the water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1. In paragraph [0030] of Doc#1, Easwaran teaches the entire complex of their embodiment comprises the fluorescent polymer conjugated to a binding agent (thus polymer is linked to binding agent). In paragraph [0022], Easwaran discloses the binding agent is a protein, peptide, affinity ligand, antibody, antibody fragment, sugar (thus carbohydrate), lipid, nucleic acid, or an aptamer which is identical to that of the binding agent as claimed. Thus, Easwaran and Kawano teach the claimed “The water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1, further comprising a binding agent linked to said polymer, optionally wherein the binding agent is selected from the group consisting of an antibody, antibody fragment, protein, peptide, affinity ligand, carbohydrate, lipid, nucleic acid, and an aptamer.”.
Regarding claim 11, Easwaran and Kawano teach the water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1. In paragraph [0071] of Doc#1, Easwaran teaches the polymer has acceptor dyes attached to the backbone and depicts it linked to the linker L of the polymer on pg23
. Thus, Easwaran and Kawano teach the claimed “The water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1, further comprising an acceptor dye or chromophore linked to said polymer, optionally wherein the acceptor dye is linked to monomer A or linker L of said polymer.”.
Regarding claim 12, Easwaran and Kawano teach the water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1. In Fig. 5 of Doc#1, Easwaran shows excitation and emission of tandem polymers wherein excitation was carried out at polymer maxima and emissions observed from the various acceptor dyes attached to the backbone (paragraph [0029]). As described in rejections of claims 10 and 11, Easwaran teaches the entire complex of their embodiment comprises the fluorescent polymer conjugated to a binding agent (thus polymer is linked to binding agent). In paragraph [0022], Easwaran discloses the binding agent is a protein, peptide, affinity ligand, antibody, antibody fragment, sugar (thus carbohydrate), lipid, nucleic acid, or an aptamer which is identical to that of the binding agent as claimed. In paragraph [0071] of Doc#1, Easwaran teaches the polymer has acceptor dyes attached to the backbone and depicts it linked to the linker L of the polymer on pg23
. Thus, Easwaran and Kawano teach the claimed “A tandem polymer dye comprising the water-soluble fluorescent polymer of claim 1; and an acceptor dye or chromophore linked to said polymer, optionally further comprising a binding agent linked to said polymer, optionally wherein the binding agent is selected from the group consisting of an antibody, antibody fragment, protein, peptide, affinity ligand, carbohydrate, lipid, nucleic acid, and an aptamer”.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Easwaran et al (WO201780998A2, hereinafter Easwaran Doc#1) in view of Kawano et al (US PGPub 20140357898) and Easwaran et al (US PGPub 20200190253, hereinafter Easwaran Doc#2) as evidenced by El-Ballouli et al (NPL: “Diarylpyrenes vs diaryltetrahydropyrenes…”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Beechem et al (US PGPub 20100255487).
Regarding claim 16, Easwaran and Kawano teach the fluorescent polymer of claim 1. Easwaran, in each document, teaches that water soluble fluorescent polymers can be used in a variety of biological applications by generating signals which can be monitored in real time and provide simple methods for detection of biological targets and events (paragraph [0003] Doc#1). Easwaran Doc#1 teaches that previously reported polymeric dyes utilized for such applications are highly hydrophobic and typically useful for LEDs, solar cells etc while hydrophilic or water soluble dyes are necessary to expand arsenal for use in biological applications such as in use of detecting analytes (paragraph [0005]). Beechem teaches a specific biological application requiring use of fluorescent polymers for FRET-type reactions (paragraphs [0099-0100]) which is a direct application taught by Easwaran in Doc#2 (paragraphs [0002-3]). Beechem teaches such polymers are provided in compositions, methods, systems, and kits (paragraphs [0049-51]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to provide the water-soluble fluorescent polymer in a kit, as informed by Beechem, as a known suitable application for such fluorescent polymers in detecting analytes or real time biological events which require such hydrophilic substances, a well-known requirement for biocompatibility, and arrive at the invention as claimed. Thus, Easwaran, Kawano, and Beechem teach the claimed “A kit comprising a water soluble fluorescent polymer according to claim 1.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dose et al (WO2022013198A1) teach relevant fluorescent dyes comprising pi-conjugated based polymers and linking units.
/NWFG/Examiner, Art Unit 1759
/MELVIN C. MAYES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1759