DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 10/5/2026 is acknowledged. The Examiner has reviewed the written description to ensure the claims identified by the Applicant (Claims 1 and 4-16) correspond to elected Species A. Claims 9, 11, and 12 recite limitations only drawn to unelected Species C and/or D (see pg. 23-24 of the instant specification). The limitations recited in Claims 13-15 are not disclosed within the scope of Species A, and also appear to recite features of a substrate-style interconnector of the prior art (see pg. 8, line 26- page 9, line 9). Claims 2, 3, 9, 11-15, and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Regarding the Applicant’s reply filed 10/5/2026, Applicant’s traversal is on the ground(s) that “the Examiner has not provided any indication that the content of the claims interpreted in light of the description was considered in making the assertion of a lack of unity and therefore has not met the burden necessary to support the assertion.” Examiner utilized the written description and instant drawings to define at least one structural characteristic only possessed by each species. The definition of each species includes a description of the corresponding drawing(s) and citations from the written description.
Applicant states unity does exist among the groups because Species A-E “require an interconnector comprising at least two groups of raised elements,” and the mutually exclusive structural characteristics identified by the Examiner are “merely additional secondary features, corresponding to possible embodiments of an interconnector provided with two groups of raised elements having different
dimensions.” Applicant also uses this position as the basis for why a search burden is not present.
The species restriction reflects the Examiner’s recognition that the groups share a common genus (an interconnector comprising raised elements). However, the Examiner disagrees that the mutually exclusive characteristics of Species A-E are “merely additional secondary features” of each species. The instant specification teaches the special technical feature unique to each species results in a different effect on the operation and/or performance of the interconnector. The Requirement for Restriction cites Species C as an example, which has an increased surface area for additional gas flow within a SOEC/SOFC.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, and 16 (Species A) are under examination.
Drawings
Figures 1-5 and 9 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Pages 13-14 of the instant specification state Figs. 1-5 and 9 are representations of an interconnector that are “conventional” and/or “prior art.”
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The instant specification discloses conflicting descriptions of Fig. 11. Page 14, line 23 of the instant specification discloses “FIG. 11 is a cross-sectional view of the design of FIG. 9, after clamping.” However, Fig. 9 is disclosed as prior art
(pg. 14, lines 17-19) and Fig. 9 does not have the second raised elements shown in Fig. 11 (element 10b).
It appears Fig. 11 is a cross-sectional view of the design of FIG. 10, after clamping/compression. This assumption is supported by pg. 21, lines 5-6 of the instant specification: “FIGS. 10 and 11 show, before and after compression, an exemplary embodiment with two types of machining geometry.” Please correct the description of Fig. 11 on page 14, line 23 of the instant specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informality: Claim 1 recites “a width of each tab of at least one hole is comprised between 0.1 mm and 3 mm” on line 14. Please delete “comprised.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informality: Claim 7 recites heights and widths using multiple units (millimeters and micron). Please amend the range “between 0.5 and 5 mm” on line 2 to “between 0.5 mm and 5 mm” to ensure units on both ends of the range are clearly defined.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instant disclosure does not provide support for one interconnector comprising the combination of interconnector features set forth in Claim 1. Claim 1 recites:
“An interconnector for a stack of SOEC/SOFC type solid oxide electrochemical cells
operating at high temperature, configured to be arranged between two adjacent electrochemical cells in the stack, each electrochemical cell comprising a cathode, an anode and an electrolyte interposed between the cathode and the anode, the interconnector comprising:
an assembly of at least three plates extending along a first axis of symmetry and a second axis of symmetry orthogonal to each other, a central plate being interposed between a first end plate and a second end plate, the central plate including a central part and, at its periphery, at least two holes extending over a length substantially corresponding to a length of the central part along the first axis of symmetry and two holes extending over a length substantially corresponding to a length of the central part along the second axis of symmetry, each hole including tabs spaced apart to form a comb and slots defined between an edge of a hole and a tab or between two successive tabs, wherein a width of each tab of at least one hole is comprised between 0.1 mm and 3 mm,
the interconnector includes a metal alloy substrate having two main flat faces, one of the main flat faces comprising a first coating layer forming a first contact layer with an electrochemical cell, the other of the main flat faces comprising a second coating layer forming a second contact layer with an electrochemical cell, and the first coating layer and/or the second coating layer comprises a flat face and raised elements formed thereon.”
Lines 6-14 of Claim 1 (in bold text) describe an interconnector species comprising “an assembly of at least three plates.” This configuration is supported by Fig. 3, which shows an interconnector 5 as an assembly of plates 21, 22, and 23. The limitations on lines 6-14 are also consistent with elected Species A.
Lines 15-20 of Claim 1 (in italicized text) describe a different interconnector comprising a double-
sided “metal alloy substrate.” This configuration is supported by Fig. 2, which shows an interconnector 5
as a single plate (i.e., substrate) having raised elements on flat faces of two opposing sides:
The interconnector structure of Fig. 2 was not identified by the Examiner as an electable species, due to the instant specification disclosing the configuration in Fig. 2 is PRIOR ART. See pg. 13, lines 21-22:
The instant disclosure does not provide support for one interconnector embodiment that comprises the features of a three-plate design and a double-sided substrate of the prior art. For the purpose of this action, in light of Applicant’s election of Species A for examination, Lines 1-14 of Claim 1 will be examined. Lines 15-20 of Claim 1, which recite limitations for a nonelected species, will not be examined. Examiner notes removing these limitations from examination does not necessarily reduce the amount of subject matter being examined in this action. The subject matter of lines 15-20 describes the double-sided “two main flat faces” having “raised elements.” The structure of elected Species A comprises one flat face and two groups of raised elements, which are recited in the dependent claims (see the “flat face,” “first raised elements,” and “second raised elements” of Claim 4).
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, and 16 are also rejected, as they depend upon Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 4-8, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least three plates" on line 6 of the claim. Claim 1 then recites “a central plate being interposed between a first end plate and a second end plate” on lines 7-8 of the claim. The claim appears to set forth six plates on lines 6-8. In light of the instant specification, the Examiner understands the central plate, first end plate, and second end plate correspond to the “at least three plates” on line 6, but the claim does not establish this relationship. Please amend Claim 1 to clarify the “at least three plates” comprises the central plate, the first end plate, and the second end plate.
Claims 4-8, 10, and 16 are also rejected, as they depend upon Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 requires the interconnector comprise a three-plate structure on lines 6-14 of the claim. Claim 1 then recites the following limitations on lines 15-20:
“the interconnector includes a metal alloy substrate having two main flat faces, one of the main flat faces comprising a first coating layer forming a first contact layer with an electrochemical cell, the other of the main flat faces comprising a second coating layer forming a second contact layer with an electrochemical cell, and the first coating layer and/or the second coating layer comprises a flat face and raised elements formed thereon.”
The instant invention is different from what is defined in the Claim 1, because lines 15-20 require
the three-plate interconnector to further comprise a double-sided substrate. There is no support in the instant disclosure for one interconnector configuration of three plates and a double-sided substrate. Please amend Claim 1 to recite a combination of interconnector features supported by the instant disclosure. Examiner recommends deleting lines 15-20 of Claim 1. For the purpose of this action, and in light of Applicant’s election of Species A for examination, Lines 1-14 of Claim 1 will be examined. Lines 15-20, which recite limitations for another species (a double-sided substrate), will not be examined.
Claims 4-8, 10, and 16 are also rejected, as they depend upon Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites “one first group of first identical elements raised in relation to the flat face and one second group of second identical elements raised in relation to the flat face” on lines 2-4 of the claim. The claim then uses the terms “the first raised elements” and “the second raised elements” on lines 5-6 of the claim. Please revise lines 2-4 to ensure the claim clearly communicates the first and second raised elements of lines 5-6 correspond to the elements on lines 2-4. Examiner suggests lines 2-4 read “one first group of identical first raised elements raised in relation to the flat face, and one second group of identical second raised elements raised in relation to the flat face.”
Claims 5-8, 10, and 16 are also rejected, as they depend upon Claim 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites a contact width of each first raised element is “in contact with an electrochemical cell” on lines 12-14 of the claim. Claim 4 then recites a contact width of each second raised element is “in contact with an electrochemical cell.” The claim indicates the contact width of the first raised element is in contact with a different electrochemical cell than the contact width of the second raised element. Examiner cannot find support for this structure. For Species A, the instant disclosure teaches the first and second raised elements protrude from the same side of the flat face, so the contact widths D1 and D2 would be facing the same electrochemical cell (see Fig. 10 annotated by the Examiner).
18/696,160 – Fig. 10 Annotated by Examiner
Please change “an electrochemical cell” on lines 14-15 to “the electrochemical cell” to ensure the correct structure is communicated, and to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Claims 5-8, 10, and 16 are also rejected, as they depend upon Claim 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 also recites limitations that present antecedent basis issues when Claim 1 is considered in its entirety (i.e., including the non-elected embodiment on lines 15-20 of Claim 1). The following antecedent basis issues currently exist but will be resolved upon removal of lines 15-20 from Claim 1:
“a flat face” on line 2 of Claim 4 is an antecedent basis issue due to “two main flat faces” on line 15 of Claim 1.
“elements raised” and “raised elements” on lines 2-6 of Claim 4 are antecedent basis issues due to “raised elements” on lines 19-20 of Claim 1.
“an electrochemical cell” on lines 14-15 of Claim 4 appears is an antecedent basis issue due to “an electrochemical cell” on lines 16-18 of Claim 1.
Claim 10 recites "the raised elements are in a form of teeth or grooves, arranged parallel to one another, the spaces between the raised elements forming gas flow channels.” It is not clear whether “the raised elements” are referring to only “the first raised elements,” only “the second raised elements,” or both “the first raised elements and the second raised elements.”
Further clarification is requested. For the purpose of this action, “the raised elements” will be examined as “the first raised elements and the second raised elements.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 recites “a plurality of electrochemical cells” and “a plurality of interconnectors.” The limitations “an electrochemical cell” and “the interconnector” are recited in Claim 4. Please amend line 2 of Claim 16 to recite “a plurality of the electrochemical cells,” and amend lines 3-4 to recite “a plurality of the interconnectors” to ensure proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reytier et al., US 20170279134 A1, and further in view of Nakagawa et al., US 20110207018 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Reytier discloses an interconnector (interconnector 5 [0083-0094], Figs. 5-24) for a stack of SOEC/SOFC type solid oxide electrochemical cells operating at high temperature, configured to be arranged between two adjacent electrochemical cells in the stack, each electrochemical cell comprising a cathode, an anode and an electrolyte interposed between the cathode and the anode ([0048-0050]), the interconnector (5) comprising:
an assembly of at least three plates extending along a first axis of symmetry (axis X) and a second axis of symmetry (axis Y) orthogonal to each other (The interconnector 5 consists of three metal sheets 6, 7, 8 extended along two axes of symmetry (X, Y) orthogonal to one another [0128], Fig. 6), a central plate being interposed between a first end plate and a second end plate (central metal sheet 7 is inserted between a first end metal sheet 6 and a second end metal sheet 8 [0128]), the central plate including a central part (central metal sheet 7 comprises an embossed central part 70 [0132]) and, at its periphery, at least two holes extending over a length substantially corresponding to a length of the central part along the first axis of symmetry (ports 71, 72, 73, 74 at a periphery of the central part 70 [0132], extending along X axis, see Fig. 6) and two holes extending over a length substantially corresponding to a length of the central part along the second axis of symmetry (ports 75 and 76 at a periphery of the central part 70 [0132], extending along Y axis, see Fig. 6), each hole including tabs spaced apart to form a comb (ports 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76 comprise tongues of metal sheets 710, 720, 730, 740 spaced out from one another with the formation of a comb [0139-0143]) and slots defined between an edge of a hole and a tab or between two successive tabs (slits 711 defined between the edge of a widened port and a tongue or between two consecutive tongues [0140]).
Regarding a portion of the preamble that recites “for a stack of SOEC/SOFC type solid oxide electrochemical cells operating at high temperature,” a preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See in re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Reytier – Fig. 6
Reytier does not disclose a width of each tab of at least one hole is “between 0.1 mm and 3 mm.” However, this limitation is taught by Nakagawa et al.
Nakagawa teaches a fuel cell separator 200 comprising linear ribs 231 and channels 230 for gas flow ([0124-0147], Figs. 1-3). Nakagawa teaches prior to the gas reaching the linear ribs 231, the gas first passes through gas distribution ribs 221 having a width of 1.5mm ([0241]). Nakagawa teaches the gas distribution ribs stabilize the gas flow rate as it passes through the reaction channels ([0245-0250]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a width of 1.5mm for each tab, in the interconnector of Reytier, in order to ensure stable gas flow across the interconnector channels.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Reytier discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Reytier discloses a stack of SOEC/SOFC type solid oxide cells operating at high temperature, including a plurality of electrochemical cells each consisting of a cathode, an anode and an electrolyte interposed between the cathode and the anode, and a plurality of interconnectors arranged between two adjacent ones of the plurality of electrochemical cells (Reytier, interconnector is used in a SOEC stack between electrochemical cells [0070-0072], also used in a SOFC stack between cells [0073-0075]).
Claims 4, 5, 7, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Reytier as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al., JP 2010102904 A.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Reytier discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Reytier
discloses the central part of the central plate includes a flat face on which at least one first group of first identical elements raised in relation to the flat face (Reytier, central metal sheet 7 comprises an embossed central part 70 defining embossed features 700 [0132]; features 700 are embossed channels [0143]). Modified Reytier also teaches the central part of the flat face is configured to be in contact with an electrochemical cell (Reytier, embossed central metal sheet 7, exceeding in height the flat end metal sheet 8, is intended to come into mechanical contact with the plane of an anode 4.1 of an adjacent individual electrolysis cell [0130]). Modified Reytier does not disclose the remaining limitations of Claim 4. However, Takahashi teaches these limitations:
the fuel cell interconnector (fuel cell separator 1, Figs. 1, 2, 5, 6C) comprises one first group of first identical elements raised in relation to the flat face (Annotated Fig. 6C) and one second group of second identical elements raised in relation to the flat face (protrusion between the two second grooves 62c [0047], Annotated Fig. 6C);
the first raised elements have different geometric characteristics from the second raised elements (Fig. 6C);
the first raised elements and the second raised elements are spaced apart from one another by a same distance (separated by second grooves 62c, which may have the same
cross-sectional shape [0047]);
a height of each first raised element, measured as a greatest vertical dimension of the first raised element in relation to the flat face (D1+D2, or DF, see Fig. 5), is different from a height of each second raised element, measured as a greatest vertical dimension of the second raised element (the upper surface of the protrusion between the two second grooves 62c and the first groove 61c are in the same horizontal plane [0047], height of second raised element is D2, see Fig. 5); and
a contact width of each first raised element, measured as a greatest horizontal dimension in relation to the flat face of an outer contact end of each first raised element, opposite an inner end in contact with the flat face and configured to be in contact with an electrochemical cell, is different from a contact width of each second raised element, measured as a greatest horizontal dimension in relation to the flat face of an outer contact end of each second raised element, opposite an inner end in contact with the flat face (Annotated Fig. 6C).
Takahashi – Fig. 5 (L) and Fig. 6C (R)
Takahashi – Annotated Fig. 6C
Takahashi teaches the first and second groups of identical elements help the increase the surface area in the gas passage, and also teaches the deep grooved structure (62c) creates a water discharge path,
which ensures high gas flow speed and diffusivity is maintained throughout the separator ([0024-0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second groups of identical elements of Takahashi be the embossed features (700) of modified Reytier, as Takahashi teaches this interconnector structure increases the surface area in the gas passage, creates a water discharge path, and ensures high gas flow speed and diffusivity is maintained.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Reytier discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Reytier discloses the first raised elements have a contact width larger than the contact width of the second raised elements (see Annotated Takahashi Fig. 6C in Claim 4; measurements in Claim 7).
Regarding the limitation “the first raised elements being located in line with the tabs of at least one hole and the second raised elements being located in line with the slots of the at least one hole,” this structure is achieved by modified Reytier, as the flow path through the interconnector comprises gas traveling from the slots (spaces 711) between each tongue through the channels of the embossed features 700 (Reytier, [0143]). Therefore, the first raised elements of the embossed features would align with the tabs (tongues of the sheet) to direct the flow through this path. Since the channels 700 include the second raised elements (Takahashi, second grooves 62c and center protrusion are in the middle of each gas passage 61c), the second raised elements are also aligned with each slot (space 711).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Reytier discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Reytier discloses: the contact width of each second raised element is between 0.005 mm and 0.5 mm (Takahashi, range of entire width W2 is 0.3 mm to 0.7 mm, see [0025] and Table 2; contact width of the second raised element is approx. 0.1 mm to 0.23 mm since the second raised element is ~1/3 the width of W2), and
the height of each first raised element is between 200 µm and 1000 µm (Takahashi, height DF is D1+D2, a value of 0.5 mm for all embodiments, see [0046] and Table 2; equivalent to 500 µm), and
the height of each second raised element is between 250 µm and 1050 µm (Takahashi, range of height D2 is 0.05 mm to 0.3 mm, Table 2; equivalent to a range of 50 µm to 300 µm).
Regarding the limitation “the contact width of each first raised element is between 0.5 mm and 5 mm,” modified Reytier discloses the contact width of the first raised element appears to be less than width W1, which is 1 mm for all embodiments (Takahashi, Figs. 5, 6C, Table 2). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the contact width of each first raised element, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Reytier discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Reytier discloses a difference between the height of each second raised element and the height of each first raised element is between the claimed range of “5 µm and 500 µm.” See Takahashi Table 2: Height of each first raised element (D1+D2) is a constant 0.5 mm; Height of each second raised element (D2) is between 0.05 mm and 0.3 mm; Difference in heights is in a range between 0.2 mm and 0.45 mm, equivalent to a range between 200 µm and 450 µm.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
Regarding Claim 10, modified Reytier discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Reytier discloses the raised elements are in a form of teeth or grooves, arranged parallel to one another (Takahashi, protrusions and grooves [0047], Fig. 6C), the spaces between the raised elements forming gas flow channels (Takahashi, gas passage 60 [0047], Fig. 6C).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Reytier as applied to Claims 1, 4, and 5 above, and further in view of Kurita et al., US 5998055 A.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Reytier discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Reytier does not disclose the contact width of the first raised elements is equal to the width of the tabs of the at least one hole. However, this limitation is taught by Kurita et al.
Kurita teaches a separator plate comprising gas passages extending between inlet and outlet channels (Figs. 1-5). Kurita teaches inlet channel projections can be aligned vertically and horizontally with the gas passages in order to have the gas flow in a continuous-width path from the inlet to the interior of the separator plate. Kurita teaches the continuous-width passage allows for increased gas contact area and efficiency, as well as lower gas passage resistance (First Preferred Embodiment, Col. 5, lines 15-48).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the contact width of the first raised element be equal to the width of the tab, in the interconnector of modified Reytier, as Kurita teaches a continuous-width transition from an inlet channel to a gas passage increases gas contact area and efficiency, and also lowers resistance through the gas passage.
Conclusion
be directed to BETHANY C GARCIA whose telephone number is (571)272-2475. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri, 0800 - 1730 MT.
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721