DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "directly adjacent to the surroundings". There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the surroundings” in the claim. For examination purposes, “the surroundings” will be read as “surroundings”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “a light source”, while there is already an instance of “a light source” in claim 1, from which it depends. For examination purposes, “a light source” will be read as “the light source”.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “a laminated pane”, while there is already an instance of “a laminated pane” in claim 1, from which it depends. For examination purposes, “a laminated pane” will be read as “the laminated pane”.
Claims 2-21 depend from claim 1, and therefore inherit at least the same deficiencies.
Claims 14, 15, and 17 depend from claim 16, and therefore inherit at least the same deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 12, and 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sadakane et al. (2022/0334300).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Sadakane discloses a laminated pane (at least Figure 10D) comprising an outer pane (12, glass plate; [0040]) having an outer-side surface (top surface of 12, glass plate) and an interior-side surface (bottom surface of 12, glass plate, adjacent to 13, interlayer film), an inner pane (11, glass plate; [0040]) having an outer-side surface (top surface of 11, glass plate, adjacent to 13, interlayer film) and an interior-side surface (bottom surface of 11, glass plate, adjacent to 16, adhesive), and a thermoplastic intermediate layer (13, interlayer film; [0087]), wherein the interior-side surface of the outer pane and the outer-side surface of the inner pane are connected to one another via the thermoplastic intermediate layer (at least Figure 10D), a reflective layer is arranged in at least a first sub-region of the laminated pane on the interior-side surface of the inner pane directly adjacent to surroundings (15, p-polarized light reflecting film, arranged in R, HUD display region), which reflective layer is configured to reflect p-polarized light of a light source (Figure 1, at least 50, light source; [0033, 0034]), at least one opaque cover layer is arranged at least in a second sub-region of the laminated pane on the outer-side surface of the outer pane, on the interior-side surface of the outer pane, on the outer-side surface of the inner pane, and/or on the interior-side surface of the inner pane (Figure 2A, 14, shielding layer; [0045]), and a projection of the second sub-region into the plane of the first sub-region is at least partially congruent therewith (at least Figure 2A; [0050]), and wherein in this order, starting from the interior-side surface, the reflective layer comprises at least one optically high refractive index layer with a refractive index of greater than or equal to 1.7 ([0133, 0136]) and an optically low refractive index layer with a refractive index of less than or equal to 1.6, arranged flat one above the other ([0133, 0136]).
Regarding claim 2, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 1, wherein the reflective layer reflects at least 5% of the p-polarized light impinging on the reflective layer in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 650 nm (at least [0070]).
Regarding claim 4, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 1, wherein at least one opaque cover layer is arranged at least partially in a circumferential edge region of the laminated pane (Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 5, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 1, wherein at least one opaque cover layer in the form of an opaque cover print is arranged on the interior-side surface of the outer pane and/or the interior-side surface of the inner pane (Figure 2A; Examiner notes that 14, shielding layer, is at least indirectly arranged on the interior-side of 12, glass plate, and/or 11, glass plate).
Regarding claim 6, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 1, wherein the refractive index of the optically high refractive index layer is at least 1.8 (at least [0136]).
Regarding claim 7, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 1, wherein the optically high refractive index layer contains silicon nitride, a silicon-metal mixed nitride, aluminum nitride, tin oxide, niobium oxide, bismuth oxide, titanium oxide, tin-zinc mixed oxide, zirconium oxide, scandium oxide, yttrium oxide, tantalum oxide, lanthanum oxide or cerium oxide (at least [0137-0142]).
Regarding claim 8, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 1, wherein the refractive index of the optically low refractive index layer is at most 1.6 (at least [0136]).
Regarding claim 9, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 1, wherein the optically low refractive index layer contains silicon oxide ([0144]).
Regarding claim 12, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 1, wherein the reflective coating comprises exactly one high refractive index layer and exactly one low refractive index layer (at least [0133]).
Regarding claim 14, Sadakane discloses a method for producing a projection arrangement according to claim 16 (Figure 1, 1, HUD system), comprising: a) providing an outer pane (12, glass plate; [0040]), an inner pane (11, glass plate; [0040]) and a thermoplastic intermediate layer (13, interlayer film; [0087]), b) applying at least one opaque cover layer is applied on at least a second sub-region of the outer-side surface of the outer pane, the interior-side surface of the outer pane, the outer-side surface of the inner pane and/or to the outer-side surface of the inner pane (Figure 2A, 14, shielding layer; [0045, 0048]), c) assembling at least the inner pane, the thermoplastic intermediate layer, and the outer pane in this order to form a layer stack (at least Figure 10D), d) laminating the layer stack consisting of at least inner pane, thermoplastic intermediate layer and outer pane is laminated to form a laminated pane (at least Figure 10D), e) applying a reflective layer is applied on at least a first sub-region of the interior-side surface of the inner pane (15, p-polarized light reflecting film, arranged in R, HUD display region), and f) orienting a light source for p-polarized light relative to the laminated pane such that the p-polarized light of the light source falls onto the reflective layer (at least 50, light source), wherein step e) can take place before, during or after steps a) to d) but, if there is an opaque cover layer on the outer-side surface of the inner pane, step e) takes place after the application of said opaque cover layer (at least Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 15, Sadakane discloses a method comprising providing a projection arrangement according to claim 16 in vehicles for traffic on land, in the air, or on water (at least Abstract, [0029]).
Regarding claim 16, Sadakane discloses a projection arrangement (Figure 1, 1, HUD system) comprising the light source for p-polarized light (at least 50, light source, and 70, image display element) and the laminated pane according to claim 1 (10, laminated glass), wherein the reflective layer is configured to reflect the p-polarized light of the light source ([0036]), and the interior-side surface of the inner pane is the surface of the laminated pane closest to the light source for p-polarized light (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Sadakane discloses the projection arrangement according to claim 16, wherein the light source for p-polarized light is a display (70, image display element).
Regarding claim 18, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 2, wherein the reflective layer reflects at least 10% of the p-polarized light impinging on the reflective layer in a wavelength range of 450 nm to 650 nm (at least [0070]).
Regarding claim 19, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 6, wherein the refractive index of the optically high refractive index layer is at least 2.0 (at least [0136]).
Regarding claim 20, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 7, wherein the optically high refractive index layer contains titanium oxide (at least [0132, 0159, 0163]).
Regarding claim 21, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 8, wherein the refractive index of the optically low refractive index layer is at most 1.4 (at least [0136]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadakane et al. (2022/0334300) in view of Bellman et al. (2016/0324016).
Regarding claim 10, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the optically low refractive index layer is a sol-gel coating in which closed and/or open nanopores are formed. Sadakane and Bellman are related because both teach a laminated pane.
Bellman teaches a laminated pane wherein the optically low refractive index layer is a sol-gel coating in which closed and/or open nanopores are formed (at least Figure 1, 130, crack mitigating layer; [0138]; at least [0009] teaches the refractive index is lower than the refractive index of the film, thus considered a low refractive index layer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Sadakane to incorporate the teachings of Bellman and provide wherein the optically low refractive index layer is a sol-gel coating in which closed and/or open nanopores are formed. Doing so would allow for improved durability to the film without sacrificing the optical characteristics desired.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 10, wherein the low refractive index layer has pores with a size of 1 nm to 500 nm (Bellman: at least [0137]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadakane et al. (2022/0334300) in view of Wu et al. (2024/0184106).
Regarding claim 13, Sadakane discloses the laminated pane according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein an HUD reflective layer is arranged between the interior-side surface of the outer pane and the interior-side surface of the inner pane. Sadakane and Wu are related because both teach a laminated pane.
Wu teaches a laminated pane wherein an HUD reflective layer is arranged between the interior-side surface of the outer pane and the interior-side surface of the inner pane (at least Figures 1 and 3; 52, first reflective polarizer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Sadakane to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide wherein an HUD reflective layer is arranged between the interior-side surface of the outer pane and the interior-side surface of the inner pane. Doing so would allow for improved display light with increased brightness to be projected to the human eye.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Anzai (2022/0221718), Morozov (2021/0364792), Nam (2021/0157136), Larson (9,606,355), Shimatani (2017/0052369), Knoll (5,552,935), and Larson (10,509,224) disclose relevant laminated panes.
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872