Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 and 12-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/695,935 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a monomer for an optical component represented by the same formula, cured resins, and spectacle lens used said monomer.
The copending claims do not require the pH of the monomer.
However, all elected claims of the pending application are recited in the product-by-process format by use of the language. Case law holds that: Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
To the extent that the process limitations in a product-by-process claim do not carry weight absent a showing of criticality, the reference discloses the claimed product in the sense that the prior art product structure is seen to be no different from that indicated by the claims.
Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the same monomer would contain have the same pH using the method claims and therefore, the monomers and cured products from the monomers are not patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 claims a pH of an aqueous phase containing a sample, toluene, and water. However, the claims are claiming a compound represented by formula (1). It is unclear how the pH relates to the monomer for an optical component.
In claim 1, it is unclear from the claims what 80 grams of sample is referencing in the measurement method.
Claim 8 claims a pH of an aqueous phase containing a sample, toluene, and water. However, the claims are claiming a compound represented by formula (1). It is unclear how the pH relates to the monomer for an optical component.
In claim 8, it is unclear from the claims what 80 grams of sample is referencing in the measurement method.
Claims 10-11, refer to “the monomer” however, the claims depend from method claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,807,975 to Amagai et al.
It is noted that claims 1-7 and 12-20 claim a monomer, all elected claims are recited in the product-by-process format by use of the language, “wherein a pH obtained through a pH measurement method…” Case law holds that: Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
To the extent that the process limitations in a product-by-process claim do not carry weight absent a showing of criticality, the reference discloses the claimed product in the sense that the prior art product structure is seen to be no different from that indicated by the claims.
Amagai discloses a monomer represented by the following formula:
(Example 4), wherein the monomer is washed with water and extracted with toluene. Amagai disclosed cured spectacle lens prepared the monomer (Abstract). Amagai does not expressly disclose the pH of the monomer. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the same monomer would have the same pH using the method claims and therefore, the monomers and cured products from the monomers are the same.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO-2013/095016 to Jang et al.
As to claims 1-7 and 12-20, Jang discloses a monomer for a cured optical component including spectacle lens comprising bis(2,3-epithiopropyl)sulfide that has a pH of 5.0 or 7.0 (Synthesis examples 4-5).
As to claims 8-11, Jang discloses a monomer for a cured optical component including spectacle lens comprising bis(2,3-epithiopropyl)sulfide that has a pH of 5.0 or 7.0 (Synthesis examples 4-5) wherein the monomer’s pH is adjusted by the addition of toluene and water to the monomer followed by removing to aqueous phase and determining the pH (See Synthesis examples).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763