Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 01/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 9, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burch (US 2,612,403).
As to claim 1, Burch discloses a system comprising:
A first fluid inlet
A second fluid inlet
A fluid outlet
A straw coupled to the first fluid inlet
A removable container coupled to the first inlet
Container can contain fire retardant
The hose can be connected to the second inlet (annotated figure below).
As to claim 2, a first valve (62) in fluid communication with the fluid path between the first inlet and the fluid outlet.
As to claim 3, a second valve (17) in fluid communication with the fluid path between the second fluid inlet and the fluid outlet.
As to claim 4, wherein first valve can control a fire retardant and second valve to control water.
As to claim 5, based on the annotated figure above, the first inlet having a first collar and the second collar having a second collar.
As to claim 6, the annotated figure above shows the neck of the container has plurality of threads.
As to claim 8, the nozzle can discharge the retardant mixture at least 15 feet.
As to claim 9, the container can hold between 8 and 192 fluid ounces.
As to claim 13, the container can hold any mixture ratio of retardant to water.
As to claim 14, an air hole (37) in the nozzle to allow air to enter the container.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burch (US ‘403).
As to claim 7, Burch discloses a straw, but fail to teach wherein the straw has lands and grooves. However, since Burch discloses a straw, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include structural features such as lands and grooves inside the straw in order to change the flowrate of the liquid coming out of the straw depending on the design choice.
As to claim 10, Burch fails to teach a handle on the container. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a handle on the container for controlling and handling purposes.
As to claims 11 and 12, Burch fails to teach a second container and an adapter to swap between first and second container. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have multiple containers that already have the material in place in order to do a quick swap and not waste time for refilling. In addition, having an adapter is an obvious design choice for accommodating differences sizes.
Inquiry
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763