DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants’ communication filed on June 23, 2026. Claims 6-10 are amended. Claims 6-10 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments/remarks made in an amendment filed June 23, 2026, have been fully considered. In view of the amended claims 6-10 and upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references as presented in this Office action. Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 6-10 are therefore moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CMCC: Discussion on paging early indication design, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #106-e, R1-2107414, e-Meeting, August 16th–27th, 2021 (hereinafter CMCC) in view of US 20230224862 A1 (Hwang et al.) (hereinafter Hwang) and in further view of US 20220394664 A1 (XIE et al.) (hereinafter XIE).
In re claims 6 and 7, CMCC discloses a user Equipment (UE) comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions, and a method of paging early indication (PEI) detection in PEI downlink control information (DCI) performed by a user equipment (UE) (Page 1, section 1: Introduction, line 28, “For paging indication to the subgroups in a PO, For PDCCH-based PEI, subgroups in a PO are indicated by one PEI”. Page 2, section 2.1: Down selection of PEI candidates, lines 4-7, “PDCCH-based PEI has higher subgrouping indication capacity. Compared with TRS/CSI-RS or SSS based PEI, enough DCI bits, i.e., minimum 12bits can easily carrying subgrouping indication, and also can carrying TRS/CSI-RS availability information, ETWS, etc.”), the method comprising:
receiving, in a radio resource control (RRC) IDLE state or an RRC INACTIVE state, paging early indication (PEI) downlink control information (DCI);
determining an index i by calculating an equation, i = ((UE_ID mod N) *Ns + i_s) mod D, the index i being used to determine, from the PEI DCI (section 2.3: UE-ID based subgrouping method, page 4, lines 37-45, page 5; lines 1-6, “Proposal 5. For UE-ID based subgrouping, the subgroup index for one UE can be calculated as floor [UE_ID/(N*Ns)] mod M, where M is the number of subgroups in one PO”), a PEI associated with a paging occasion (PO), wherein: the PEI is one of a plurality of PEIs included in the PEI DCI, the PO is one of a plurality of POs associated with one PEI occasion, and each of the plurality of POs is mapped to one or more of the plurality of PEIs (Page 3, section 2.2 PDCCH-based PEI design, “Case C: One to many mapping between PEI and POs which PEI has the same periodicity as PF”); determining the PEI according to the index i (Page 4, section 2.2.2, lines 27-32, “Proposal 4: If UE subgrouping is configured, define M is the number of subgroups in one PO and the UE subgroup index m is 0, 1, … M-1, If one PEI associates with Ns POs in one PF, the [i_s*M+m]th bit in PEI is used to indicate wake up information of UE with subgroup index m in i_sth PO”); and determining whether to monitor the PO according to the PEI, wherein: the UE ID is a parameter acquired according to a temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (TMSI) of the UE, the Ns is a number of POs associated with a paging frame (PF), the N is a number of total PFs in one paging cycle, the i_s is an index of the PO, and the D is a number of the plurality of POs associated with the one PEI occasion (discloses one to many mapping in order to achieve the largest UE power saving gain; here, multiple POs which have an association with one PEI belong to different UEs, UE numbers in each subgroup should be the same in the current paging design, a UE ID is used to calculate a PF and a PO to divide UEs into different POs, according to the formula in TS 38.304)).
CMCC does not explicitly disclose a User Equipment (UE) comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions, wherein the processor is configured by the instructions in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE states, receiving the PEI DCI, wherein the UE ID is a parameter acquired according to a Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (TMSI) of the UE.
Hwang discloses a User Equipment (UE) comprising ([0253], “Referring to FIG. 18, a first wireless device 100”): a processor (Fig. 18:102); and a memory (Fig. 18:104) storing instructions, wherein the processor is configured by the instructions ([0254], “The first wireless device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and additionally further include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108. The processor (s) 102 may control the memory(s) 104 and/or the transceiver(s) 106 and may be configured to implement the descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operational flowcharts”), in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE states ([0269], “The UE performs DRX to receive a paging signal discontinuously in the RRC_IDLE state and the RRC_INACTIVE state”. [0019], “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, because a user equipment (UE) group and a UE sub-group which should monitor paging are provided in advance by a paging early indication (PEI), the power reduction effect of a radio resource control (RRC) idle/inactive UE may be enhanced”. [0138], “To reduce power consumption, the UE may use DRX in the RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states”. [0156], “…although a DCI-based method has been introduced in the current NR to reduce unnecessary monitoring of a connected-mode UE and thus obtain a power saving effect, the same (or similar) method is yet to be defined for an idle-mode/inactive-mode UE. To this end, the introduction of a PEI indicating whether a UE needs to wake up in a PO for the purpose of power saving of the UE is under discussion in Rel-17 NR”), receiving the PEI DCI (Fig. 10 : FC202), determining whether to monitor the PO according to the PEI indication (Fig. 15: A15, [0152], “In a communication system such as NR, it may be indicated by a paging early indication (PEI) (e.g., a PEI based on a sequence or DCI) whether the UE should monitor paging DCI in a PO or whether paging DCI is provided. When the UE succeeds in detecting the PEI, the UE monitors the paging DCI (and/or a PDSCH carrying a corresponding paging message). When failing in detecting the PEI, the UE may skip monitoring of the paging DCI in the PO”. [0006], “determining whether to perform or skip monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a specific PO related to the UE among the plurality of POs, based on the detected PEI, and receiving at least one of paging downlink control information (DCI) carried by the PDCCH or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the paging DCI, in a state in which the UE determines to perform monitoring of the PDCCH. The ‘M’ POs may be associated with ‘M’ UE groups, respectively, and each UE group may include ‘N’ UE sub-groups. The specific PO related to the UE may be a PO associated with a specific UE group to which the UE belongs, and the specific UE group may be determined based on a UE_ID allocated to the UE”), wherein the UE ID is a parameter acquired according to a Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (TMSI) of the UE ([0149], “UE_ID: 5G-S-TMSI mod 1024”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CMCC with Hwang to provide a method of receiving a paging early indication (PEI) related information and attempting to detect a PEI associated with a specific UE group to which the UE belongs, and the specific UE group may be determined based on a UE_ID allocated to the UE. The method enables avoiding unnecessary paging message monitoring/reception, so that the UE can be explicitly indicated by the network to wake up only at POs at which a network can send paging messages intended for the UE to avoid unnecessary power consumption during the idle/inactive mode.
CMCC and Hwang do not explicitly disclose determining an index i by calculating an equation, i = ((UE_ID mod N) *Ns + i_s) mod D, the index i being used to determine, from the PEI DCI, a PEI associated with a paging occasion (PO).
XIE discloses determining an index i by calculating an equation, i = ((UE_ID mod N) *Ns + i_s) mod D, the index i being used to determine, from the PEI DCI, a PEI associated with a paging occasion (PO) ([0094], “In an NR system, a base station may send a paging message to a terminal device in an RRC idle state, a dormant state, or an RRC inactive mode, to initiate paging and transmit data to the terminal device. Generally, when the base station needs to page the terminal device, the base station sends paging DC on one or more POs, to indicate a resource carrying the paging message. The paging DCI is carried on a physical downlink control channel (PDSCH) scrambled by using a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI). The PO includes a periodic paging search space and a periodic control resource set (CORESET). The paging DCI is in a DCI format 1_0”. [0095], “The terminal device receives/detects/monitors the paging DCI on one or more POs in one paging cycle...A PO on which the terminal device needs to perform detection is determined through calculation based on an ID of the terminal device according to a predefined rule”. [0096], “For example, a system frame number (SFN) of a paging frame (PF) including a PO on which the terminal device performs detection in a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle is located, an index of the PO in the PF corresponding to the SFN, and the like may be determined by using the following formula”. [0097], “The SFN of the PF satisfies the following formula: (SFN+PF_offset) mod T = (T/N) *(UE_IDmodN) (Formula1). [0098], “An index is of the PO in the SFN satisfies the following formula: is = floor (UE_ID/N) modNs (Formula2)”. [0099], “In the foregoing formulas, SFN represents the system frame number of the paging frame, PF_offset represents an offset of the PF, T represents the DRX cycle. N represents a total quantity of PFs included in one DRX cycle, Ns represents a quantity of POs included in one PF, mod represents a modulo operation, UE_ID represents a value obtained based on the ID of the terminal device, and floor(x) represents rounding x down to the nearest integer. PF_offset, T, N, Ns are all configured by the base station, and UE_ID is determined based on the ID of the terminal device. For example, UE_ID may be the last 10 bits of a 5G short-temporary mobile subscriber identity (5G-S-TMSI) of the terminal device. One PF may include one or more PO’s”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CMCC with Hwang and XIE to provide a method of receiving a paging early indication (PEI) related information and attempting to detect a PEI associated with a specific UE group to which the UE belongs, and the specific UE group may be determined based on a UE_ID allocated to the UE. The method enables avoiding unnecessary paging message monitoring/reception, so that the UE can be explicitly indicated by the network to wake up only at POs at which a network can send paging messages intended for the UE to avoid unnecessary power consumption during the idle/inactive mode.
In re claim 8, the combination discloses the UE according to claim 7, wherein CMCC discloses wherein the PEI is a 1-bit indication which is a part of a plurality of bits associated with the PO, the plurality of bits indicates the plurality of PEIs and is associated with respective UE groups, and the PEI is associated with a UE group in which the UE is located (Page 1, section 1: Introduction, lines 27-28, “For paging indication to the subgroups in a PO, For PDCCH-based PEI, subgroups in a PO are indicated by one PEI…One bit in the DCI payload indicating one UE subgroup is supported”). Hwang also discloses (Fig. 14, [0197], “The UE sub-group indication field may be in the form of a bitmap of a variable size, as one bit field included in the PEI”).
In re claim 9, CMCC discloses a base station comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions, wherein the processor is configured by the instructions to: configure paging early indication (PEI) downlink control information (DCI); and transmit, to a user equipment (UE) that is in a RRC_IDLE or an RRC_INACTIVE state, the PEI DCI, wherein the PEI DCI causes the UE to: determine an index i by calculating an equation, i = ((UE_ID mod N) *Ns+is) mod D, the index i being used to determine, from the PEI DCI (Section 2.3: UE-ID based subgrouping method, page 4, lines 37-45, page 5; lines 1-6, “Proposal 5. For UE-ID based subgrouping, the subgroup index for one UE can be calculated as floor [UE_ID/(N*Ns)] mod M, where M is the number of subgroups in one PO”), a PEI associated with a paging occasion (PO), wherein: the PEI is one of a plurality of PEIs included in the PEI DCI, the PO is one of a plurality of POs associated with one PEI occasion, and each of the plurality of POs is mapped to one or more of the plurality of PEIs (Page 3, section 2.2 PDCCH-based PEI design, “Case C: One to many mapping between PEI and POs which PEI has the same periodicity as PF”; determine the PEI according to the index i (Page 4, section 2.2.2, lines 27-32, “Proposal 4: If UE subgrouping is configured, define M is the number of subgroups in one PO and the UE subgroup index m is 0, 1, … M-1, If one PEI associates with Ns POs in one PF, the [i_s*M+m]th bit in PEI is used to indicate wake up information of UE with subgroup index m in i_sth PO”); and causes the UE to determine whether to monitor the PO according to the PEI, wherein the UE ID is a parameter acquired according to a temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (TMSI) of the UE, the Ns is a number of POs associated with a paging frame (PF), the N is a number of total PFs in one paging cycle, the i_s is an index of the PO, and the D is a number of the plurality of POs associated with the one PEI occasion (discloses one to many mapping in order to achieve the largest UE power saving gain; here, multiple POs which have an association with one PEI belong to different UEs, UE numbers in each subgroup should be the same in the current paging design, a UE ID is used to calculate a PF and a PO to divide UEs into different POs, according to the formula in TS 38.304)).
CMCC does not explicitly disclose a base station comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions, wherein the processor is configured by the instructions to: configure paging early indication (PEI) downlink control information (DCI) and transmit, to a user equipment (UE) in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE states, the PEI DCI and causes the UE to determine whether to monitor the PO according to the PEI indication, wherein the UE ID is a parameter acquired according to a Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (TMSI) of the UE.
Hwang discloses a base station (Fig. 17:200, [0069], “In a wireless communication system, a user equipment (UE) receives information through downlink (DL) from a base station (BS) and transmit information to the BS through uplink (UL)”) comprising: a processor (Fig. 18:202); and a memory (Fig. 18:204) storing instructions (Fig. 9, [0249], “Referring to FIG. 17, a communication system 1 applied to the present disclosure includes wireless devices, Base Stations (BSs), and a network. [0255], “For example, the processor(s) 202 may process information within the memory(s) 204 to generate third information/signals and then transmit radio signals including the third information/signals through the transceiver(s) 206”), wherein the processor is configured by the instructions to: configure paging early indication (PEI) downlink control information (DCI) ([0186], “The size (number of bits) of a field included in PEI DCI may be configured by the BS. The BS may transmit one or more parameters for determining the field size in at least one higher-layer signal such as an SIB. The size (e.g., variable field size) of at least one field included in the PEI DCI may be determined based on higher-layer parameters provided by the BS. In addition, the BS may provide information about the payload size of the PEI DCI in addition to the information about the size of the individual field to the UE by higher-layer signaling”) and transmit, to a user equipment (UE) in RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE states ([0269], “The UE performs DRX to receive a paging signal discontinuously in the RRC_IDLE state and the RRC_INACTIVE state”. [0019], “According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, because a user equipment (UE) group and a UE sub-group which should monitor paging are provided in advance by a paging early indication (PEI), the power reduction effect of a radio resource control (RRC) idle/inactive UE may be enhanced”. [0138], “To reduce power consumption, the UE may use DRX in the RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE states”. [0156], “…although a DCI-based method has been introduced in the current NR to reduce unnecessary monitoring of a connected-mode UE and thus obtain a power saving effect, the same (or similar) method is yet to be defined for an idle-mode/inactive-mode UE. To this end, the introduction of a PEI indicating whether a UE needs to wake up in a PO for the purpose of power saving of the UE is under discussion in Rel-17 NR”), the PEI DCI (Fig. 9: FC102, [0212], “In a paging procedure supporting a PEI, the BS may skip a PEI transmission, and although the BS transmits a PEI, the UE may fail in receiving the PEI. As examples of these situations, (1) a case in which a default operation for a UE is configured as monitoring an associated PO, when the UE fails in receiving a PEI, (2) a case in which a UE has knowledge of a condition under which a BS does not transmit a PEI at a specific position, and the UE is allowed to monitor a PO for this condition, or (3) a case in which a UE autonomously performs paging PDCCH monitoring directly without monitoring a PEI may be considered”. [0150], “When the BS wants to transmit paging in a PO at a specific position, the BS may transmit a WUS at WUS transmission position(s) associated with the PO. The UE monitors the WUS transmission positions associated with the PO at the specific position. Upon detection of the WUS at the WUS transmission position(s), the UE may expect that paging will be transmitted in the PO, whereas when failing to detect the WUS at the WUS transmission position(s), the UE may not expect paging in the PO. The gain of power saving may be achieved by this operation. The UE-group WUS may advantageously reduce an unnecessary wakeup probability of a UE by using a WUS transmission position and sequence determined based on the UE-group ID of the UE”) and causes the UE to determine whether to monitor the PO according to the PEI indication (Fig. 15: A15, [0152], “In a communication system such as NR, it may be indicated by a paging early indication (PEI) (e.g., a PEI based on a sequence or DCI) whether the UE should monitor paging DCI in a PO or whether paging DCI is provided. When the UE succeeds in detecting the PEI, the UE monitors the paging DCI (and/or a PDSCH carrying a corresponding paging message). When failing in detecting the PEI, the UE may skip monitoring of the paging DCI in the PO”. [0006], “determining whether to perform or skip monitoring of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a specific PO related to the UE among the plurality of POs, based on the detected PEI, and receiving at least one of paging downlink control information (DCI) carried by the PDCCH or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the paging DCI, in a state in which the UE determines to perform monitoring of the PDCCH. The ‘M’ POs may be associated with ‘M’ UE groups, respectively, and each UE group may include ‘N’ UE sub-groups. The specific PO related to the UE may be a PO associated with a specific UE group to which the UE belongs, and the specific UE group may be determined based on a UE_ID allocated to the UE”), wherein the UE ID is a parameter acquired according to a Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (TMSI) of the UE ([0149], “UE_ID: 5G-S-TMSI mod 1024”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CMCC with Hwang to provide a method of receiving a paging early indication (PEI) related information and attempting to detect a PEI associated with a specific UE group to which the UE belongs, and the specific UE group may be determined based on a UE_ID allocated to the UE. The method enables avoiding unnecessary paging message monitoring/reception, so that the UE can be explicitly indicated by the network to wake up only at POs at which a network can send paging messages intended for the UE to avoid unnecessary power consumption during the idle/inactive mode.
CMCC and Hwang do not explicitly disclose determining an index i by calculating an equation, i = ((UE_ID mod N) *Ns + i_s) mod D, the index i being used to determine, from the PEI DCI, a PEI associated with a paging occasion (PO).
XIE discloses determining an index i by calculating an equation, i = ((UE_ID mod N) *Ns + i_s) mod D, the index i being used to determine, from the PEI DCI, a PEI associated with a paging occasion (PO) ([0094], “In an NR system, a base station may send a paging message to a terminal device in an RRC idle state, a dormant state, or an RRC inactive mode, to initiate paging and transmit data to the terminal device. Generally, when the base station needs to page the terminal device, the base station sends paging DC on one or more POs, to indicate a resource carrying the paging message. The paging DCI is carried on a physical downlink control channel (PDSCH) scrambled by using a paging radio network temporary identifier (P-RNTI). The PO includes a periodic paging search space and a periodic control resource set (CORESET). The paging DCI is in a DCI format 1_0”. [0095], “The terminal device receives/detects/monitors the paging DCI on one or more POs in one paging cycle...A PO on which the terminal device needs to perform detection is determined through calculation based on an ID of the terminal device according to a predefined rule”. [0096], “For example, a system frame number (SFN) of a paging frame (PF) including a PO on which the terminal device performs detection in a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle is located, an index of the PO in the PF corresponding to the SFN, and the like may be determined by using the following formula”. [0097], “The SFN of the PF satisfies the following formula: (SFN+PF_offset) mod T = (T/N) *(UE_IDmodN) (Formula1). [0098], “An index is of the PO in the SFN satisfies the following formula: is = floor (UE_ID/N) modNs (Formula2)”. [0099], “In the foregoing formulas, SFN represents the system frame number of the paging frame, PF_offset represents an offset of the PF, T represents the DRX cycle. N represents a total quantity of PFs included in one DRX cycle, Ns represents a quantity of POs included in one PF, mod represents a modulo operation, UE_ID represents a value obtained based on the ID of the terminal device, and floor(x) represents rounding x down to the nearest integer. PF_offset, T, N, Ns are all configured by the base station, and UE_ID is determined based on the ID of the terminal device. For example, UE_ID may be the last 10 bits of a 5G short-temporary mobile subscriber identity (5G-S-TMSI) of the terminal device. One PF may include one or more PO’s”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of CMCC with Hwang and XIE to provide a method of receiving a paging early indication (PEI) related information and attempting to detect a PEI associated with a specific UE group to which the UE belongs, and the specific UE group may be determined based on a UE_ID allocated to the UE. The method enables avoiding unnecessary paging message monitoring/reception, so that the UE can be explicitly indicated by the network to wake up only at POs at which a network can send paging messages intended for the UE to avoid unnecessary power consumption during the idle/inactive mode.
In re claim 10, the combination discloses the base station according to claim 9, wherein CMCC discloses wherein the PEI is a 1-bit indication which is a part of a plurality of bits associated with the PO, the plurality of bits indicates the plurality of PEIs and is associated with respective UE groups, and the PEI is associated with a UE group in which the UE is located (Page 1, section 1: Introduction, lines 27-28, “For paging indication to the subgroups in a PO, For PDCCH-based PEI, subgroups in a PO are indicated by one PEI…One bit in the DCI payload indicating one UE subgroup is supported”). Hwang also discloses (Fig. 14, [0197], “The UE sub-group indication field may be in the form of a bitmap of a variable size, as one bit field included in the PEI”).
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649