DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 18, 19, 24 and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kurosawa (JP 2015-071382) (machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 16, Kurosawa discloses a method for operating a brake system including a primary brake actuator (16) and a secondary brake actuator (18), the method comprising the following steps: adjusting a brake pressure using the primary brake actuator based on a first braking specification (see machine translation, ¶ 0047); reading in, using a control unit (31) of the secondary brake actuator or an additional control unit, the brake pressure adjusted using the primary brake actuator (see ¶ 0058); and performing a first plausibility check of the read-in brake pressure (see ¶ 0125), using the control unit of the secondary brake actuator or the additional control unit, with a second braking specification (see ¶ 0125, “the amount of braking operation”) which was supplied to the control unit of the secondary brake actuator or to the additional control unit (see ¶ 0125).
Regarding claim 18, Kurosawa discloses that the first braking specification and the second braking specification are identical (see e.g. ¶¶ 0047, 0125), and wherein the first braking specification and the second braking specification have an identical source (see e.g. ¶¶ 0047, 0125).
Regarding claim 19, Kurosawa discloses that the first braking specification and the second braking specification are driver-dependent or driver-independent braking specifications (see ¶¶ 0047, 0125).
Regarding claim 24, Kurosawa discloses that the first plausibility check takes place based on a first type of characteristic curves and/or characteristic maps, which define a relationship between the brake pressure and the second braking specification (see ¶ 0125).
Regarding claim 26, Kurosawa discloses that a check takes place for an existing error signal set by the primary brake actuator (see ¶ 0112).
Regarding claim 27, Kurosawa discloses that the additional control unit is an onboard additional control unit or an off-board additional control unit (see FIGS. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 28, Kurosawa discloses that at least the brake pressure (Ph), a deceleration signal (153), and the first or second braking specification (see ¶¶ 0084, 0125), are: (i) supplied via an off- board or onboard communication arrangement, to the additional control unit for evaluation (see ¶¶ 0084, 0125), or (ii) already available to the additional control unit.
Regarding claim 29, Kurosawa discloses a brake system for a vehicle (see FIGS. 1, 2), comprising: a primary brake actuator (16); and a secondary brake actuator (18); wherein: a brake pressure can be adjusted using the primary brake actuator on the basis of a first braking specification (see ¶ 0047), the brake pressure adjusted using the primary brake actuator can be read in using a control unit (31) of the secondary brake actuator or an additional control unit (see ¶ 0058), and using the control unit of the secondary brake actuator or the additional control unit, a first plausibility check of the ascertained brake pressure can be carried out with a second braking specification (see ¶ 0125, “the amount of braking operation”), which was supplied to the control unit of the secondary brake actuator or to the additional control unit (see ¶ 0125).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurosawa (JP 2015-071382), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Lee (KR 2014-00838060 (machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 17, Kurosawa does not disclose that in the case of a negative first plausibility check, a second plausibility check takes place using the control unit of the secondary brake actuator or the additional control unit, using the second braking specification and a deceleration signal.
Lee teaches a method for operating a brake system (see machine translation, ¶ 0001) wherein plausibility check takes place using a control unit using a second braking specification and a deceleration signal (see ¶ 0013).
It would have been obvious to combine the second plausibility check of Lee with the method of Kurosawa to provide a control method that detects mechanical failure even while braking pressure is being generated normally (see e.g. machine translation, ¶ 0006).
Regarding claim 25, Lee discloses that the second plausibility check takes place based on a second type of characteristic curves and/or characteristic maps, which define a relationship between a vehicle deceleration and the second braking specification (see ¶ 0013, “monitoring whether vehicle deceleration corresponding to the calculated target braking pressure and the target deceleration occurs”).
Regarding claim 30, Kurosawa does not disclose that in the case of a negative first plausibility check, a second plausibility check takes place using the control unit of the secondary brake actuator or the additional control unit, using the second braking specification and a deceleration signal.
Lee teaches a method for operating a brake system (see machine translation, ¶ 0001) wherein plausibility check takes place using a control unit using a second braking specification and a deceleration signal (see ¶ 0013).
It would have been obvious to combine the second plausibility check of Lee with the method of Kurosawa to provide a control method that detects mechanical failure even while braking pressure is being generated normally (see e.g. machine translation, ¶ 0006).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
July 29, 2026