DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8+ of Remarks, filed 09/17/2025, with respect to Claims 1, 7, 10, 12-13, 15-29 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of Claims 1, 7, 10, 12-13, 15-29 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 10, 12-13, 15-20 and 22-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Athsani et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0148124) in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0006864) and Oh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0164019).
Regarding claim 1, Athsani et al. discloses a method for presenting information, comprising:
in response to receiving request to record information associated with live event, presenting a recording interface (see paragraphs 0008-0012, 0019; receiving requests for recording live events and presenting interfaces for consuming users. Paragraphs 0008-0012 further describes personalized recording request and interfaces for consuming users. Figures 11-13 shows map-based and channel-based interfaces presenting multiple users and streams).
However, Athsani et al. is silent as to presents a plurality of account identifiers indicating a plurality of live-streaming accounts and information associated with completed live-streams; in response to receiving a selection of an account identifier of the plurality of account identifiers, presenting a plurality of room identifiers indicating a plurality of live-streaming rooms associated with a live-streaming account corresponding to the selected account identifier and presenting time information, wherein the time information indicates a time period of a completed live-stream.
Xu et al. discloses presents a plurality of account identifiers indicating a plurality of live-streaming accounts (see paragraphs 0029-0033, 0045-0049, fig. 1b; user interface presents multiple live-broadcast rooms under classification labels, where each room is associated with “Streamer A, Streamer B, etc.” identifiers);
in response to receiving a selection of an account identifier of the plurality of account identifiers, presenting a plurality of room identifiers indicating a plurality of live-streaming rooms associated with a live-streaming account corresponding to the selected account identifier (see paragraphs 0030-0036; presenting multiple live broadcast rooms associated with a streamer account. Fig. 1b (rooms under “Dance” classification, each tired to a streamer));
in response to receiving a selection of a room identifier of the plurality of rooms identifiers, presenting information associated with a live-streaming room corresponding to the selected room identifier (see paragraphs 0045-0052; arranging and displaying live broadcast rooms with identifiers).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Athsani et al. with the teaching of Xu et al., the motivation being improve usability, i.e., to allow users to navigate recording requests by selecting accounts and rooms, rather than only event/topic identifiers.
However, Athsani et al. and Xu et al. are silent as to providing information associated with completed live-streams and presenting time information, wherein the time information indicates a time period of a completed live-stream.
Oh et al. discloses providing information associated with completed live-streams (see paragraphs 0003-0008; discloses time machine playback of completed live streams. Fig. 5; shows past time segments of completed streams); and
presenting time information, wherein the time information indicates a time period of a completed live-stream (see paragraphs 0003-0008, 0014, fig. 5 (showing past time segment: “5 minutes, 4 minutes, 1 minute, 0”). Fig. 11 shows preview images tied to time segments.
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Athsani et al. and Xu et al. with the teaching of Oh et al., the motivation being to improve user experience i.e., time information allows users to quickly locate portions on interest in completed recordings.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is rejected for the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Athsani et al. discloses receiving a recording activation (see paragraphs 0008-0012, fig. 20 (2004); activating recording of events once a request is received). Oh et al. discloses switching the time segments into active playback states (see paragraphs 0014, 0018, fig. 5 (shift values showing past time segments becoming active when selected). Fig. 8 shows switching from pause to resume (activated state)).
Regarding claim 10, Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Athsani et al. discloses receiving a switching operation on the recording interface (see paragraphs 0009-0011; interfaces where consuming users can switch between multiple live streams or channels. Figs. 12-13 (“Watch Live”, “Watch Recorded”, “Remix &Edit”, “Channels”, “Search”). Xu et al. discloses switching at least one live-streaming room account currently presented in the recording interface (see paragraphs 0030-0036, fig. 1b; switching between streamer accounts and their associated rooms. Fig. 1b (user can select “Streamer A”, “Streamer B, etc., and switch to their rooms).
Regarding claims 15 and 24, Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 12). Athsani et al. discloses wherein the plurality of live- streaming accounts are corresponding to an object provider (see paragraphs 0009-0012, fig. 6; accounts tied to sponsors/providers).
Regarding claims 16 and 25, Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 1 and 12). Oh et al. discloses receiving an information input operation for the time period (see paragraph 0018, fig. 7-8), and
presenting live-streaming information corresponding to the information input operation (see paragraph 0014, figs. 5, 11 (preview images tied to time segment)).
Regarding claims 17 and 26, Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 16 and 25). Xu et al. discloses in response to receiving an addition operation for adding live streamer information corresponding to the identifier (see paragraphs 0045-0049, fig. 1B (adding “Dancing” identifier to rooms when performance is detected). Oh et al. discloses presenting the live streamer information corresponding to the time period (see paragraph 0014, figs. 5, 11).
Regarding claims 18 and 27, Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 17 and 26). Athsani et al. discloses presenting the live streamer information corresponding to the time period comprises:
receiving a recording operation for recording the live streamer information corresponding to the time period (see paragraphs 0008-0012, fig. 20 (2002); receiving a request for recording a live event).
Xu et al. discloses presenting at least one live streamer identifier associated with the live-streaming account (see paragraphs 0030-0036, fig. 1b (showing “Streamer A,” “Streamer B,”);
receiving a selection of a target live streamer identifier of the at least one live streamer (see paragraphs 0045-0052, fig. 1b; user clicks on streamer identifiers to access rooms); and
presenting the live streamer information corresponding to the target live streamer (see paragraphs 0045-0052, fig. 1b).
Regarding claims 19 and 28, Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 18 and 27). Athsani et al. discloses in response to receiving a creating operation on the recording interface, presenting a live- streaming information inputting interface (see paragraphs 0008-0012, fig. 12-13 (“Remix & Edit,” “Invite,” “Rate it,” “Share”). These are creating operations that present an interface for inputting new information. Also see fig. 15);
receiving live streamer information input through the live streamer information inputting interface and a specified target live-streaming account (see fig. 15 (users such as “Ed,” “Sue45,” “Tonyf”) inputting comments tied to remixers); and
associating the input live streamer information with the specified live-streaming account (see figs. 12-15 (remixers’ names tied to streams, feedback tied to accounts).
Regarding claims 20 and 29, Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claims 17 and 27). Athsani et al. discloses
receiving a time recording operation for recording an online live-streaming tied to user requests (see paragraphs 0008-0012, fig. 12-13, 20).
Xu et al. discloses streamer identifiers and presenting live broadcast information (see paragraphs 0045-0052, fig. 1b).
Oh discloses time-based operations and presenting playback segments shorter than or equal to the overall time period (see paragraph 0014, figs. 5, 7-8, 11).
Regarding claim 22, Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Athsani et al. discloses in response to no live-streaming/to the live-streaming information having been recorded, presenting time period in a first presenting state (see paragraphs 0006-0008, figs. 11-13, 20; presenting time/event interfaces with or without recorded streams). Oh et al. discloses time-based playback states (see paragraph 0014, figs. 5, 11; empty vs. recorded segments).
Regarding claim 23, Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Athsani et al. discloses receiving a time selection operation indicating a first time period on the recording interface (see paragraphs 0006-0008; describes situations where users may want to capture specific events or time periods. Fig 20 (2002)); and
presenting a second time period live-streamed by the live-streaming account, the second time period being within the first time period indicated by the time selection operation (see figs. 12-13 (interfaces presenting live feeds, remix feeds, and event stat). Fig. 20 (step 2004)).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Park et al. (U.S Pub. No. 2021/0014541).
Regarding claim 21, Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 20). Oh et al. discloses wherein presenting the online live- streaming time period corresponding to the live streamer information comprises: presenting the online live-streaming time period corresponding to the live streamer information(see paragraph 0014, fig. 5; shift values showing past time segments, fig. 11 (preview frames tied to time)).
However, Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. are silent as to presenting information in a form of a Gantt Chart.
Park et al. discloses presenting information in a form of a Gantt Chart (see paragraph 0521 and fig. 45).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Athsani et al., Xu et al. and Oh et al. with the teaching of Park et al., the motivation being to provide resource management within media production and broadcasting.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NNENNA NGOZI EKPO whose telephone number is (571)270-1663. The examiner can normally be reached M-W 10:00am - 6:30pm, TH-F 8:00am - 4:30pm.
NNENNA EKPO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2425
/NNENNA N EKPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425 December 3, 2025.