DETAILED ACTIONStatus of Application
Claims 13, and 25-49 are cancelled.
Claims 1-11, 13-24 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20210259976A1) hereinafter Wang in view of Wang et al. (US20160250387A1) hereinafter Wang2.
Regarding claims 1-24, Wang is drawn to polymer-encapsulated drug particles and a drug-releasing coating including the same, as well as drug-coated balloon catheters for treating, preventing, or reducing the recurrence of strictures in body lumens and methods of using the same. A drug-coated balloon catheter for delivering a therapeutic agent to a target site of a body lumen stricture includes an elongated balloon. The balloon catheter includes a coating layer overlying an exterior surface of the balloon. The coating layer includes the polymer-encapsulated drug particles; or a drug-releasing coating including the polymer-encapsulated drug particles; or a therapeutic agent and a first and/or second additive; or a combination thereof (abstract; claims 1-27).
Wang discloses the present invention provides a method for preparing a coated balloon catheter. The method includes providing a crystalline therapeutic agent, wherein the therapeutic agent is chosen from paclitaxel, rapamycin, sirolimus, zotarolimus, everolimus, tacrolimus, umirolimus, an analogue thereof, and combinations thereof. The method includes processing the therapeutic agent so that a majority of the therapeutic agent crystals have a particle size of 0.2 microns to 5.0 microns. The method includes providing a fluid in which the therapeutic agent is substantially insoluble. The method includes mixing the fluid with the therapeutic agent, a first water-insoluble additive, and a second water-soluble additive wherein the first additive encapsulates the therapeutic agent crystals and the first additive has a particle size of 0.3 microns to 10 microns. The method includes applying the mixture to the external surface of a balloon catheter [0037]. Wang discloses a method for coating a balloon catheter. The method includes preparing an aqueous suspension coating solution. Preparing the aqueous suspension includes mixing water, water-miscible solvent, therapeutic agent, and a water-soluble additive to form a premix. Preparing the suspension includes processing the premix to reduce the particle size of the therapeutic agent. Preparing the suspension includes mixing insoluble water additive, the water-soluble additive, water, and water-miscible solvent to form a second premix. Preparing the suspension includes mixing the second premix with the first processed premix to form a coating solution. The therapeutic agent can be an mTOR inhibitor (e.g., rapamycin, sirolimus, zotarolimus, everolimus, tacrolimus, umirolimus, or a combination thereof) or an analogue or derivative thereof. The therapeutic agent is crystalline, partial crystalline, amorphous, partially amorphous, or a combination thereof. The coating solution is an aqueous suspension of the therapeutic agent. The particle size of the therapeutic agent is in the range of 0.2 micron to 5 micron. The first additive, the second additive, or a combination thereof encapsulates the therapeutic agent, the additive-encapsulated therapeutic agent has a larger particle size than the therapeutic agent itself, and the particle size of the additive-encapsulated therapeutic agent in the coating is in the range of 0.3 micron to 10 micron [0039].
Wang discloses an example of a disclosure relating to a balloon catheter with a balloon onto which particles of a polymer encapsulated limus drug are coated in a release matrix comprising a zwitterionic surfactant (D1: cl.5, 11, 12 and 13). Methods of manufacturing are also disclosed (D1: [0037]-[0039]). Other surfactants are also in the scope of D1 (D1: [0215]). The coating can comprise additional compounds.
Wang does not explicitly disclose the presence of sodium docusate.
However, Wang2 is drawn to medical device for delivering a therapeutic agent to a tissue. The medical device has a layer overlying the exterior surface of the medical device. The layer contains a therapeutic agent, an antioxidant, and an additive. In certain embodiments, the additive has a hydrophilic part and a drug affinity part (abstract).
Wang2 discloses zwitterionic or amphoteric surfactants include dodecyl betaine, cocamidopropyl betaine, cocoamphoglycinate, among others; sodium docusate [0173-0174]. Wang2 discloses 30-90 mg rapamycin, 1-2% (by weight of rapamycin) of butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT), 15-90 mg Tween 80, 30-90 mg sodium docusate (dioctyl sodium sulfosuccinate) [0279-0282].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Wang, to incorporate sodium docusate, as previously disclosed by Wang2, and arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because both Wang and Wang2 are in the field of coated balloon catheters, and Wang2 discloses coated medical devices, and particularly to coated balloon catheters, and their use for rapidly delivering a therapeutic agent to particular tissue or body lumen [0002], thus combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615