DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants' communication filed on 3/27/2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-11 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 8, 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: because the “LBT” used without define clear description. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“control circuitry…” in claims 1, 5 and “communication circuitry…” in claims 1, 2, 4-9.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitations. The specification provides detailed structural support for the claimed functions. For example, Figs. 1A–1C, 3, and 4, and the corresponding text (see, e.g., [0010], [0012], [0187]–[0208]) describe the arrangement and operation of processors, antennas, multipliers, and their interconnections, clearly linking these structures to the recited functions of beamforming, associating broadcast frames, performing LBT, and transmitting signals. The written description explains how the control circuitry forms beams and how the communication circuitry transmits broadcast frames in association with the beams, including the implementation of LBT per beam direction. These are not generic black-box recitations; rather, the figures and narrative provide concrete examples and sufficient detail for a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand and implement the claimed invention.
Per MPEP §§ 2181 and 2182, the corresponding structure requirement for §112(f) is met when the specification discloses physical components or algorithms that perform the claimed function, and links them to the claim language. Here, the disclosure is commensurate with the scope of the claims and provides enough information to enable and distinctly claim the invention.
Accordingly, the current application contains sufficient structural disclosure to support the means-plus-function limitations, and the claims are not indefinite or unsupported under §112.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20190261296 (hereinafter referred to as Li) in view of US Patent Application Publication 20200022185 (hereinafter referred to as Luo).
Consider claim 1, Li discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
control circuitry, which, in operation, forms a plurality of beams (see at least ¶ [0075], “…OFDM symbols are sent using different beams, and in downlink beams of the plurality of OFDM symbols that carry the synchronization signals, each transmit beam of the base station…”); and
communication circuitry, which, in operation, associates a plurality of broadcast frames with the plurality of beams respectively and transmits the plurality of broadcast frames (see at least ¶ [0074], “…sending, by a base station, one or more radio frames, where the one or more radio frames include a plurality of OFDM symbols … that carries a synchronization signal is sent using one or more downlink beams of the base station…” and see at least ¶ [0081], “…the base station may send the N different beams using N antenna ports, and the terminal device may distinguish between different beams … The base station continuously sends the radio frame, to perform downlink synchronization with different terminal devices…” and see at least ¶ [0087], “…the base station sends a radio frame ... Because OFDM symbols that carry synchronization signals in the radio frame are sent using beams in different directions, in all the OFDM symbols that carry the synchronization signals, each transmit beam of the base station may be traversed, so that terminal devices in different locations may receive the synchronization signals…” and see at least ¶ [0089], “…the base station sends system information in a corresponding beam to the terminal device based on the beam ID reported by the terminal device, where the system information may be sent through a physical broadcast channel (PBCH)…”), wherein,
the communication circuitry transmits the plurality of broadcast frames based on a result of listen before talk (LBT) in a direction of each of the plurality of beams (see at least ¶ [0088], “…transmit beams in different directions of the base station may be traversed, to ensure that the terminal devices in different locations may receive the synchronization signals. When detecting a synchronization signal, a specific terminal device reports, to the base station, a beam ID of a beam to which the synchronization signal belongs…” and see at least ¶ [0089], “…the base station sends system information in a corresponding beam to the terminal device based on the beam ID reported by the terminal device, where the system information may be sent through a physical broadcast channel (PBCH)…” and see at least ¶ [0009], “…a base station, one or more radio frames; and sending, by the base station, the one or more radio frames, where the one or more radio frames…”).
Li disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Li does not particularly disclose listen before talk (LBT) in a direction of each of the plurality of beams. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Luo, which teaches listen before talk (LBT) in a direction of each of the plurality of beams (see Luo, at least ¶ [0069], “…the synchronization signal block further includes a physical broadcast channel (Physical Broadcast Channel, PBCH). The PBCH may include … in the synchronization frame …” and see at least ¶ [0089], “…the network device performs LBT in the downlink beam direction 1, and if LBT succeeds, the network device sends an SSB in the synchronization frame 2 in the downlink beam direction 1, or if LBT …, the network device performs LBT in the downlink beam direction 2, and if LBT succeeds, the network device sends an SSB in the synchronization frame 2 in the downlink beam direction 2…” and see at least ¶ [0093], “…the network device performs LBT in each synchronization frame in different downlink beam directions, and the synchronization signal block is sent in the plurality of downlink beam directions in each synchronization frame…”, and see at least ¶ [0135], “…the PBCH includes: time indication information, and/or information about a quantity of synchronization signal blocks included in a synchronization frame…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Li disclosed invention, and have listen before talk (LBT) in a direction of each of the plurality of beams, as taught by Luo, thereby, to provide a signal transmission method, including: performing, by a network device, idle carrier sense in a downlink beam direction when a predefined sending time of each synchronization frame in a synchronization frame set arrives, where the synchronization frame set includes N synchronization frames, N is a positive integer, and each synchronization frame includes at least one synchronization signal block, as discussed by Luo, (see at least ¶ [0005]).
Consider claim 10, Li discloses a communication method, comprising:
forming a plurality of beams (see at least ¶ [0075], “…OFDM symbols are sent using different beams, and in downlink beams of the plurality of OFDM symbols that carry the synchronization signals, each transmit beam of the base station…”);
associating a plurality of broadcast frames with the plurality of beams respectively and transmitting the plurality of broadcast frames (see at least ¶ [0074], “…sending, by a base station, one or more radio frames, where the one or more radio frames include a plurality of OFDM symbols … that carries a synchronization signal is sent using one or more downlink beams of the base station…” and see at least ¶ [0081], “…the base station may send the N different beams using N antenna ports, and the terminal device may distinguish between different beams … The base station continuously sends the radio frame, to perform downlink synchronization with different terminal devices…” and see at least ¶ [0087], “…the base station sends a radio frame ... Because OFDM symbols that carry synchronization signals in the radio frame are sent using beams in different directions, in all the OFDM symbols that carry the synchronization signals, each transmit beam of the base station may be traversed, so that terminal devices in different locations may receive the synchronization signals…” and see at least ¶ [0089], “…the base station sends system information in a corresponding beam to the terminal device based on the beam ID reported by the terminal device, where the system information may be sent through a physical broadcast channel (PBCH)…”); and
transmitting the plurality of broadcast frames based on a result of LBT in a direction of each of the plurality of beams (see at least ¶ [0088], “…transmit beams in different directions of the base station may be traversed, to ensure that the terminal devices in different locations may receive the synchronization signals. When detecting a synchronization signal, a specific terminal device reports, to the base station, a beam ID of a beam to which the synchronization signal belongs…” and see at least ¶ [0089], “…the base station sends system information in a corresponding beam to the terminal device based on the beam ID reported by the terminal device, where the system information may be sent through a physical broadcast channel (PBCH)…” and see at least ¶ [0009], “…a base station, one or more radio frames; and sending, by the base station, the one or more radio frames, where the one or more radio frames…”).
Li disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Li does not particularly disclose LBT in a direction of each of the plurality of beams. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Luo, which teaches LBT in a direction of each of the plurality of beams (see Luo, at least ¶ [0069], “…the synchronization signal block further includes a physical broadcast channel (Physical Broadcast Channel, PBCH). The PBCH may include … in the synchronization frame …” and see at least ¶ [0089], “…the network device performs LBT in the downlink beam direction 1, and if LBT succeeds, the network device sends an SSB in the synchronization frame 2 in the downlink beam direction 1, or if LBT …, the network device performs LBT in the downlink beam direction 2, and if LBT succeeds, the network device sends an SSB in the synchronization frame 2 in the downlink beam direction 2…” and see at least ¶ [0093], “…the network device performs LBT in each synchronization frame in different downlink beam directions, and the synchronization signal block is sent in the plurality of downlink beam directions in each synchronization frame…”, and see at least ¶ [0135], “…the PBCH includes: time indication information, and/or information about a quantity of synchronization signal blocks included in a synchronization frame…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Li disclosed invention, and have LBT in a direction of each of the plurality of beams, as taught by Luo, thereby, to provide a signal transmission method, including: performing, by a network device, idle carrier sense in a downlink beam direction when a predefined sending time of each synchronization frame in a synchronization frame set arrives, where the synchronization frame set includes N synchronization frames, N is a positive integer, and each synchronization frame includes at least one synchronization signal block, as discussed by Luo, (see at least ¶ [0005]).
Consider claim 2 (depends on at least claim 1), Li in view of Luo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Li teaches wherein the communication circuitry transmits each of the plurality of broadcast frames using at least one or more of time division multiplexing, frequency division multiplexing, and spatial division multiplexing (see at least ¶ [0005], “…one or more radio frames include a plurality of OFDM (orthogonal frequency division multiplexing)…” and see at least ¶ [0147], “…the PDSCH and the synchronization signal are arranged in a frequency division or time division manner…”).
Consider claim 3 (depends on at least claim 1), Li in view of Luo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Li teaches wherein data to be transmitted using the plurality of broadcast frames are identical in all of the plurality of broadcast frames or in some of the plurality of broadcast frames (see at least ¶ [0005], “…one or more radio frames include a plurality of OFDM (orthogonal frequency division multiplexing)…” and see at least ¶ [0147], “…the PDSCH and the synchronization signal are arranged in a frequency division or time division…”).
Consider claim 4 (depends on at least claim 1), Li in view of Luo discloses the limitations of claim 1 as applied to claim rejection 1 above and further discloses:
Li teaches wherein the communication circuitry transmits the plurality of broadcast frames using a single channel or a plurality of channels (see at least ¶ [0003], “…this poses a challenge to the design of channels, such as a broadcast channel, …the foregoing channels are sent and received using an omnidirectional antenna. A terminal in any location may receive information on the foregoing channels sent by the base station …” and see at least ¶ [0089], “…the base station sends system information in a corresponding beam to the terminal device based on the beam ID reported by the terminal device, where the system information may be sent through a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) …” and see at least ¶ [0090], “…RE resources in the OFDM symbol that carries the synchronization signal are set as a PBCH, to transmit the system information…”).
Claims 5, 6, 9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20190261296 (hereinafter referred to as Li) in view of US Patent Application Publication 20180279134 (hereinafter referred to as Malik).
Consider claim 5, Li discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
control circuitry, which, in operation, includes broadcast data in each of a plurality of reference signals for sector sweeping (see at least ¶ [0076], “…at least two OFDM symbols carry different reference signal sequences that are used to indicate beam numbers, or the at least two OFDM symbols carry different reference signal resource numbers that are used to indicate beam numbers…” and see at least ¶ [0089], “…the base station sends system information in a corresponding beam to the terminal device based on the beam ID reported by the terminal device, where the system information may be sent through a physical broadcast channel (PBCH)…” and see at least ¶ [0138], “…The at least two blocks carry different beam numbers, or the at least two blocks carry different reference signal sequences that are used to indicate beam numbers, or the at least two blocks carry different reference signal resource numbers that are used to indicate beam numbers…”); and
communication circuitry, which, in operation, transmits the plurality of reference signals (see at least ¶ [0075], “…least two OFDM symbols are sent using different beams, and in downlink beams of the plurality of OFDM symbols that carry the synchronization signals, each transmit beam of the base station may be traversed…” and see at least ¶ [0076], “…at least two OFDM symbols carry different reference signal sequences that are used to indicate beam numbers, or the at least two OFDM symbols carry different reference signal resource numbers that are used to indicate beam numbers…”).
Li disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Li does not particularly disclose plurality of reference signals for sector sweeping. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Malik, which teaches plurality of reference signals for sector sweeping (see Malik, at least ¶ [0023], “…the combined signal may be associated with one or more synchronization signals or one or more reference signals of the sector sweep phase…” and see at least ¶ [0183], “…one or more reference signals of the sector sweep phase. …a first OFDM symbol, and the second signal is in a second OFDM symbol, where the combined signal includes a set of tone beams each corresponding to one of the one or more directions. …one or more reference signals of the sector sweep phase…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Li disclosed invention, and have plurality of reference signals for sector sweeping, as taught by Malik, thereby, to provide A wireless multiple-access communications system include a number of base stations or access network nodes, each simultaneously supporting communication for multiple communication devices, as discussed by Malik, (see at least ¶ [0003]).
Consider claim 11, Li discloses a communication method, comprising:
including broadcast data in each of a plurality of reference signals for sector sweeping (see at least ¶ [0076], “…at least two OFDM symbols carry different reference signal sequences that are used to indicate beam numbers, or the at least two OFDM symbols carry different reference signal resource numbers that are used to indicate beam numbers…” and see at least ¶ [0089], “…the base station sends system information in a corresponding beam to the terminal device based on the beam ID reported by the terminal device, where the system information may be sent through a physical broadcast channel (PBCH)…” and see at least ¶ [0138], “…The at least two blocks carry different beam numbers, or the at least two blocks carry different reference signal sequences that are used to indicate beam numbers, or the at least two blocks carry different reference signal resource numbers that are used to indicate beam numbers…”); and
transmitting the plurality of reference signals (see at least ¶ [0075], “…least two OFDM symbols are sent using different beams, and in downlink beams of the plurality of OFDM symbols that carry the synchronization signals, each transmit beam of the base station may be traversed…” and see at least ¶ [0076], “…at least two OFDM symbols carry different reference signal sequences that are used to indicate beam numbers, or the at least two OFDM symbols carry different reference signal resource numbers that are used to indicate beam numbers…”).
Li disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Li does not particularly disclose plurality of reference signals for sector sweeping. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Malik, which teaches plurality of reference signals for sector sweeping (see Malik, at least ¶ [0023], “…the combined signal may be associated with one or more synchronization signals or one or more reference signals of the sector sweep phase…” and see at least ¶ [0183], “…one or more reference signals of the sector sweep phase. …a first OFDM symbol, and the second signal is in a second OFDM symbol, where the combined signal includes a set of tone beams each corresponding to one of the one or more directions. …one or more reference signals of the sector sweep phase…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Li disclosed invention, and have plurality of reference signals for sector sweeping, as taught by Malik, thereby, to provide A wireless multiple-access communications system include a number of base stations or access network nodes, each simultaneously supporting communication for multiple communication devices, as discussed by Malik, (see at least ¶ [0003]).
Consider claim 6 (depends on at least claim 5), Li in view of Malik discloses the limitations of claim 5 as applied to claim rejection 5 above and further discloses:
Li teaches wherein the communication circuitry transmits each of the plurality of reference signals using at least one or more of time division multiplexing and frequency division multiplexing (see at least ¶ [0005], “…one or more radio frames include a plurality of OFDM (orthogonal frequency division multiplexing)…” and see at least ¶ [0147], “…the PDSCH and the synchronization signal are arranged in a frequency division or time division manner…”).
Consider claim 9 (depends on at least claim 5), Li in view of Malik discloses the limitations of claim 5 as applied to claim rejection 5 above and further discloses:
Li teaches wherein the communication circuitry transmits the plurality of broadcast data using a single channel or a plurality of channels (see at least ¶ [0003], “…this poses a challenge to the design of channels, such as a broadcast channel, …the foregoing channels are sent and received using an omnidirectional antenna. A terminal in any location may receive information on the foregoing channels sent by the base station …” and see at least ¶ [0089], “…the base station sends system information in a corresponding beam to the terminal device based on the beam ID reported by the terminal device, where the system information may be sent through a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) …” and see at least ¶ [0090], “…RE resources in the OFDM symbol that carries the synchronization signal are set as a PBCH, to transmit the system information…”).
Claims 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20190261296 (hereinafter referred to as Li) in view of US Patent Application Publication 20180279134 (hereinafter referred to as Malik) and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 20200022185 (hereinafter referred to as Luo).
Consider claim 7 (depends on at least claim 5), Li in view of Malik discloses the limitations of claim 5 as applied to claim rejection 5 above and further discloses:
Li teaches wherein the communication circuitry transmits the broadcast data based on a result of LBT in a communication direction of each of the plurality of reference signals (see at least ¶ [0088], “…transmit beams in different directions of the base station may be traversed, to ensure that the terminal devices in different locations may receive the synchronization signals. When detecting a synchronization signal, a specific terminal device reports, to the base station, a beam ID of a beam to which the synchronization signal belongs…” and see at least ¶ [0089], “…the base station sends system information in a corresponding beam to the terminal device based on the beam ID reported by the terminal device, where the system information may be sent through a physical broadcast channel (PBCH)…” and see at least ¶ [0009], “…a base station, one or more radio frames; and sending, by the base station, the one or more radio frames, where the one or more radio frames…”).
Li disclose all the subject matters of the claimed invention concept. However, Li does not particularly disclose LBT in a communication direction of each of the plurality of reference signals. In an analogous field of endeavor, attention is directed to Luo, which teaches LBT in a communication direction of each of the plurality of reference signals (see Luo, at least ¶ [0069], “…the synchronization signal block further includes a physical broadcast channel (Physical Broadcast Channel, PBCH). The PBCH may include … in the synchronization frame …” and see at least ¶ [0089], “…the network device performs LBT in the downlink beam direction 1, and if LBT succeeds, the network device sends an SSB in the synchronization frame 2 in the downlink beam direction 1, or if LBT …, the network device performs LBT in the downlink beam direction 2, and if LBT succeeds, the network device sends an SSB in the synchronization frame 2 in the downlink beam direction 2…” and see at least ¶ [0093], “…the network device performs LBT in each synchronization frame in different downlink beam directions, and the synchronization signal block is sent in the plurality of downlink beam directions in each synchronization frame…”, and see at least ¶ [0135], “…the PBCH includes: time indication information, and/or information about a quantity of synchronization signal blocks included in a synchronization frame…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have combined the elements as claimed by the know method, and that in combination. Each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; Li disclosed invention, and have LBT in a communication direction of each of the plurality of reference signals, as taught by Luo, thereby, to provide a signal transmission method, including: performing, by a network device, idle carrier sense in a downlink beam direction when a predefined sending time of each synchronization frame in a synchronization frame set arrives, where the synchronization frame set includes N synchronization frames, N is a positive integer, and each synchronization frame includes at least one synchronization signal block, as discussed by Luo, (see at least ¶ [0005]).
Consider claim 8 (depends on at least claim 7), Li in view of Malik discloses the limitations of claim 7 as applied to claim rejection 7 above and further discloses:
Malik teaches wherein the communication circuitry transmits the broadcast data without performing the LBT when a transmission time of each of the plurality of reference signals is shorter than a predetermined time (see at least ¶ [0081] “…the subframe may be the smallest scheduling unit, also known as a TTI. In other cases, a TTI may be shorter than a subframe or may be dynamically selected (e.g., in short TTI bursts or in selected component carriers using short TTIs)…”).
Conclusion
/CHUONG A NGO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645