Drawings
The replacement drawings filed June 12, 2026 are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: P.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 3 recites, “an elastic material is provided in the first and/or second recesses [with play].” There is no description of such a combination of features in the application as originally filed. In the specification as originally filed (see page 7, lines 16-17) such play is eliminated when elastic material is provided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 & 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Schonstedt, US 2,724,250.
Claims 1 & 2. Figs. 1-6 show a shaft coupling device comprising:
a first shaft hub (26) of a first shaft (11), the first shaft hub having a plurality of first
receiving units/recesses (30);
a second shaft hub (38) of a second shaft (13), the second shaft hub having a plurality of second receiving units/recesses (44);
a plurality of connection elements (45) for connecting the first and second shaft hubs to each other; and wherein the plurality of first receiving units are arranged at a distance (see Fig. 4) from each other along the circumference of the first shaft hub, and the plurality of second receiving units are arranged at a distance (see Fig. 5) from each other along the circumference of the second shaft hub, and
the plurality of first receiving units (30) are configured such that the
plurality of connection elements (45) can be releasably fitted into the plurality of first receiving units with play (see also col. 2, lines 69-72).
Claim 3. At col. 4, line 27, Schonstedt discloses the connection elements (45) are flexible, i.e. made of elastic material. As such Figs. 1-6 show elastic material (45) is provided in the first and second recesses (30 & 44).
Claim 4. Figs 1-6 show the plurality of first and second receiving units (30 & 44) are configured such that the plurality of connection elements (45) can be releasably fitted in an exclusively radial direction of movement and can be released from the first and second shaft hubs (26 & 38) exclusively in a radial direction of movement.
Claim 5. Figs. 1-6 show the plurality of connection elements (45) can be fitted into both one of the plurality of first receiving units (30) and one of the plurality of second receiving units (44).
Claim 6. Figs. 1-6 show the first shaft hub (26) and the second shaft hub (38) are rotationally symmetrical.
Claim 8. Figs. 1-3 & 5-6 show fastening means (47) configured to secure the plurality of connection elements (45) in the plurality of second receiving units (44).
Claim 9. Figs. 1-3 & 5-6 show the fastening means (47) comprises screws (col. 2, line 63).
In the reply filed June 12, 2026, applicant argues that Schonstedt doesn’t disclose play. However, Schonstedt discloses that there can be play. Namely, there would play if the fingers 45 weren’t bent as disclosed at col. 2, lines 69-72, and thus there “can be” play as recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schonstedt. Schonstedt discloses a plurality of connection elements (45), but does not expressly disclose they are cuboidal in shape. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the plurality of connection elements (45) cuboidal in shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of the connection elements. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morton, US 3,342,425 in view of Schonstedt. At Figs. 1-3, Morton shows a multi-shaft comminuting device comprising:
a material receiving space (15);
a first shaft, in particular a drive shaft (47);
a second shaft, in particular a rotor shaft (44, 45) arranged in the material receiving space; and
a shaft coupling device (48) for connecting the drive shaft to the rotor shaft.
Morton does not expressly disclose the shaft coupling device (48) comprises all the features of instant claim 1. At col. 1, lines 48-53, Schonstedt teaches a making a shaft coupling device comprising all the features of instant claim 1 in order to provide a coupling where bending or flexing of the coupled shafts is avoided and in which slight axial misalignment of the coupled shafts is compensated for. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the comminuting device of Morton by making its shaft coupling device with all the features of instant claim 1 in order to provide a coupling where bending or flexing of the coupled shafts is avoided and in which slight axial misalignment of the coupled shafts is compensated for as taught by Schonstedt.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Greg Binda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679