DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter recited in claims 1, 11 lines 6-11, 17-19 in both claims. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Applicant’s specification dated 7/13/2017 fails to provide any description related to “a first signal quality threshold associated with the primary cell of the first base station; a second signal quality threshold associated with the one or more candidate primary secondary cells; responsive to the detection information and based on a first signal quality of the primary cell of the first base station and the first signal quality threshold; send, to the first base station using resources of the second base station, second information comprising an indication of the radio link failure on the primary cell of the first base station”
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 11, 12, 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein the second information further comprises any of:”. For clarity it’s suggested to amend this limitation to recite “wherein the second information further comprises one of:”
Claim 3 recites the limitation “wherein any of the first signal quality threshold and the second signal quality threshold comprise any of...”. For clarity it’s suggested to amend this limitation to recite “wherein one of the first signal quality threshold and the second signal quality threshold comprise one of...”
Claim 11 recites the limitation “A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising a processor and a transmitter/receiver unit configured to:”. For clarity it’s suggested to add “:” after comprising.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “wherein the second information further comprises any of:”. For clarity it’s suggested to amend this limitation to recite “wherein the second information further comprises one of:”
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein any of the first signal quality threshold and the second signal quality threshold comprise any of...”. For clarity it’s suggested to amend this limitation to recite “wherein one of the first signal quality threshold and the second signal quality threshold comprise one of...”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al (WO2021067236A1), provided by Applicant’s IDS, in view of Hu et al (USPN 20220394620) and Rugeland et al (USPN 20190289510).
Regarding claim 11, Deenoo discloses
a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising a processor and a transmitter/receiver unit configured to: (WTRU, FIG. 1B #102, comprising processor, FIG. 1B #118, and transceiver, FIG. 1B #120, operable to [0028-0029], FIGs. 2-6
receive, from a first base station, configuration information indicating one or more candidate primary secondary cells of a second base station (receive from base station/MN associated with MCG information including candidate PScells/SN [0188, 0003, 0069, 0087], FIGs. 2-6
detection information indicating a detection of a radio link failure (configured with conditions/triggers for measuring RSRP, RSRQ, SINR and timer expiration information for MCG [0087, 0115, 0117]
a second signal quality threshold associated with the one or more candidate primary secondary cells (receive configuration information including RSRP, RSRQ, SINR thresholds [0094, 0107, 0115, 0137]
responsive to the detection information and based on a first signal quality of the primary cell of the first base station and the first signal quality threshold (measurement event related to signal quality of MCG/MN indicating beam failure [0117, 0115]
perform a primary secondary cell addition of a primary secondary cell of the one or more candidate primary secondary cells based on a second signal quality of the primary secondary cell and the second signal quality threshold (perform PScell addition when measured when RSRP, RSRQ, SINR meet thresholds [0107, 0115, 0003, 0094, 0135, 0084, 0137]
send, to the second base station, first information comprising an indication of a completion of the primary secondary cell addition of the primary secondary cell of the one or more candidate primary cells (transmits to SCG/SN indication of conditional PSCell addition and/or change (CPAC) when the WTRU completes CPAC [0173, 0073].
Deenoo discloses detecting RLF in MCG/MN [0100, 0102]. However Deenoo does not expressly disclose radio link failure on a primary cell of a primary cell; a first signal quality threshold associated with the primary cell of the first base station.
Hu discloses radio link failure on a primary cell of a primary cell (radio link failure on Pcell [0145]
a first signal quality threshold associated with the primary cell of the first base station (signal quality, RSRP/SINR, of Pcell in MCG below threshold [0144, 0146]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “radio link failure on a primary cell of a primary cell; a first signal quality threshold associated with the primary cell of the first base station” as taught by Hu into Deenoo’s system with the motivation to detection RLF on Pcell using signal threshold (Hu, paragraph [0144, 0146]).
Combined system of Deenoo and Hu does not expressly disclose send, to the first base station using resources of the second base station, second information comprising an indication of the radio link failure on the primary cell of the first base station.
Rugeland discloses send, to the first base station using resources of the second base station, second information comprising an indication of the radio link failure on the primary cell of the first base station (wireless device, e.g. FIG. 3 #10, transmits MCG failure information message regarding MeNB to the MeNB through second node/SeNB, FIG. 3 #13 [0047-0049, 0190], FIGs. 2, 3, 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “send, to the first base station using resources of the second base station, second information comprising an indication of the radio link failure on the primary cell of the first base station” as taught by Rugeland into combined system of Deenoo and Hu with the motivation to enable a quick response to RLF with reduced service interruption (Rugeland, paragraph [0021, 0047-0049, 0190], FIGs. 2, 3).
Claim 1 is rejected based on similar ground(s) based on rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claims 2, 12, combined system of Deenoo and Hu does not expressly disclose “wherein the second information further comprises any of (2) the second signal quality of the primary secondary cell” failure report contains signal strength/signal quality of SeNB [0050, 0051]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the second information further comprises any of (2) the second signal quality of the primary secondary cell” as taught by Rugeland into combined system of Deenoo and Hu with the motivation to enable a quick response to RLF with reduced service interruption (Rugeland, paragraph [0021, 0047-0049, 0190], FIGs. 2, 3).
Regarding claims 3, 13, Deenoo discloses “wherein any of the first signal quality threshold and the second signal quality threshold comprises any of: a reference signal received power threshold, a reference signal received quality threshold, and signal to interference and noise threshold” RSRP, RSRQ, SINR meet thresholds [0107, 0115, 0003, 0094, 0135].
Regarding claims 4, 14, Deenoo discloses “performing bearer type change” WTRU changes bearer type from MCG and SCG [0189], FIGs. 4-5.
Regarding claims 5, 15, Hu discloses “wherein the WTRU is initially operating in a connected mode in single connectivity” Deenoo discloses WTRU only connected to MCG [0189], FIG. 4.
Regarding claims 6, 16, Deenoo discloses “selecting the primary secondary cell from among a subset of the one or more candidate primary secondary cells, wherein each candidate primary secondary cell of the subset of the one or more candidate primary secondary cells has a signal quality above the second signal quality threshold” WTRU considers from a set of PSCell candidates for selection if the candidates signal quality is above threshold and select a PSCell with the best measurement [0107, 0115, 0003, 0094, 0135, 0084, 0137].
Regarding claims 7, 17, Deenoo discloses “wherein selecting the primary secondary cell is based on the signal quality of each primary secondary cell of the subset of the one or more candidate primary secondary cells” select a PSCell with the best measurement [0107, 0115, 0003, 0094, 0135, 0084, 0137].
Regarding claims 8, 18, Deenoo discloses “wherein the first base station is associated with a master cell group” base station/MN associated with MCG [0188, 0003, 0069, 0087], FIGs. 2-6
Combined system of Deenoo and Hu does not expressly disclose “receiving, from the second base station, third information indicating a master cell group reconfiguration”
Rugeland discloses “and the method further comprising: receiving, from the second base station, third information indicating a master cell group reconfiguration” wireless device receives RRC connection reconfiguration message from second network node indicating reconfiguration of MCG [0075, 0008], FIG. 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “receiving, from the second base station, third information indicating a master cell group reconfiguration” as taught by Rugeland into combined system of Deenoo and Hu with the motivation to enable a quick response to RLF with reduced service interruption (Rugeland, paragraph [0021, 0047-0049, 0190], FIGs. 2, 3).
Regarding claims 9, 19, combined system of Deenoo and Hu does not expressly disclose “applying the a master cell group reconfiguration”.
Rugeland discloses “applying the a master cell group reconfiguration” wireless device receives RRC connection reconfiguration message from second network node indicating reconfiguration of MCG and apply the change by performing random access to new MeNB, FIG. 5 #14, [0075-0078, 0008], FIG. 5
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “applying the a master cell group reconfiguration” as taught by Rugeland into combined system of Deenoo and Hu with the motivation to enable a quick response to RLF with reduced service interruption (Rugeland, paragraph [0021, 0047-0049, 0190], FIGs. 2, 3).
Regarding claims 10, 20, combined system of Deenoo and Hu does not expressly disclose “wherein the second information is included in a master cell group failure information report”
Rugeland discloses wireless device transmits failure report comprising MCG failure information [0049, 0050, 0068-0070], FIGs. 3, 5
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement “wherein the second information is included in a master cell group failure information report” as taught by Rugeland into combined system of Deenoo and Hu with the motivation to enable a quick response to RLF with reduced service interruption (Rugeland, paragraph [0021, 0047-0049, 0190], FIGs. 2, 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eklof et al (USPN 20240381216) FIG. 7
/THAI NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469