Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 20200007326 A, provided by applicant’s IDS filed 03/27/2024 and a translated copy has been included in the file wrapper) as evidenced by Saha et al., (2000) "Structural and optical properties of paraelectric SrTiO3", J. Phys.: Condens. Matter 12. PPS. 3325-3336 (Provided in applicant’s IDS filed 03/27/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a positive electrode active material for an all-solid-state battery (Kim 0001) where the positive electrode active material comprises a core portion comprising a lithium metal oxide and a coating portion on the surface of the core portion comprising a dielectric (Kim 0014). Kim does teach that the dielectric can be the composition SrTiO3 (Kim 0019) but is silent to the specific crystal structure of the dielectric.
When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02.
While the prior art does not explicitly teach that SrTiO₃ is cubic, these properties are considered inherent in the prior art barring any differences shown by objective evidence between the dielectric disclosed in the prior art and the applicant. As SrTiO₃ taught by the prior art and the applicant are identical within the scope of claim 1, Kim inherently teaches that the dielectric is cubic at any temperature a lithium-ion battery operates. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) MPEP 2112.01.
As evidence of inherency, Saha evaluates the structural properties of SrTiO3 and teaches that SrTiO3 has a cubic structure at room temperature. (Saha introduction, paragraph 2, “While it has the simple cubic perovskite structure at high temperature, SrTiO3 goes through an AFD transition at 105 K…”, meaning its cubic at any temperature greater than 105 K or -168.15 oC).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches claim 1 as described above but is silent to whether or not SrTiO3 is paraelectric.
When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02.
While the prior art does not explicitly teach that SrTiO₃ is paraelectric, these properties are considered inherent in the prior art barring any differences shown by objective evidence between the dielectric disclosed in the prior art and the applicant. As SrTiO₃ taught by the prior art and the applicant are identical within the scope of claim 1, Kim inherently teaches that the dielectric is paraelectric at any temperature a lithium-ion battery operates. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) MPEP 2112.01.
As evidence of inherency, Saha evaluates the structural properties of SrTiO3 and further teaches that the paraelectric phase of SrTiO3 has the ideal cubic Pm3m perovskite structure above 105K or -168.15oC (Saha bottom of page 3).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Kim teaches claim 2 as described above and further teaches SrTiO3 as the dielectric present in the coating portion which meets the criteria of both claims (Kim 0019).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches claim 1 as described above but is silent to the dielectric constant of SrTiO3. It is known in the art, however, that the dielectric constant of SrTiO3 is 300 at room temperature which is a value with the claimed range of 100-400 and therefore anticipates it.
When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02.
While the prior art does not explicitly teach the dielectric constant of SrTiO3, these properties are considered inherent in the prior art barring any differences shown by objective evidence between the dielectric disclosed in the prior art and the applicant. As SrTiO₃ taught by the prior art and the applicant are identical within the scope of claim 1, Kim inherently teaches that the dielectric constant is 300 at standard room temperature. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches the diameter of the dielectric is 3nm-25nm (0068) which is a range fully within the range claimed and therefore anticipates it.
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the dielectric is distributed in an island formation with predetermined space from each other (0067).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches that the appropriate amount of dielectric coating is between 0.5-5 wt% which is the same as the claimed range and therefore anticipates it (0069).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches LiCoO2 as the lithium metal oxide which meets all criteria of the claim (0107).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches claim 1 as described above and further teaches a positive electrode further has a sulfide based solid electrolyte and a conductive material (0076 0080).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches claim 10 as described above and further teaches that the solid electrolyte is between the positive and negative electrodes (0116).
Conclusion
/SEAN R. BROWN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743