DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered.
Applicant has amended the independent claims are argues the previous mappings do not meet the newly introduced limitations. Examiner agrees. However, the claims have been remapped to different portions of Papasakellariou which do teach these limitations. Please see the rejections that follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 19, 10, 11, 14, 15, 16, 21, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Papasakellariou (2022/0279454; Provisional 63/244890 dated 16 Sept 2021; and Provisional 63/155030 dated 1 March 2021; citations are to the publication with support in the provisionals).
Regarding claim 1, Papasakellariou discloses a power control parameter determining method, comprising: (See Papasakellariou para. 119; TPC, transmit power control)
obtaining, by a user equipment (UE), related parameters of unicast and related
parameters of multicast; and
determining, by the UE, the power control parameter of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) according to the related parameters of the unicast and the related parameters of the multicast. (See Papasakellariou para. 119, 140; UE determines power (e.g. power control parameter) for PUCCH based upon a first codebook used for unicast and a second codebook used for multicast (e.g. parameters); para. 120 UE is indicated codebook (e.g. it is obtained); see also para. 133; para. 174)
wherein the related parameters of the multicast include at least one of the following:
a downlink assignment index (DAI) parameter of a last downlink control information (DCI) in DCls of the multicast; (See Papasakellariou para. 179-181; DAI parameter of a last multicast DCI format)
the number of DCls of the multicast received by the UE; (See Papasakellariou para. 183; UG-DAI,c total number of multicast DCI formats)
the number of transport blocks of the multicast received by the UE; (See
Papasakellariou para.185;Nm,c received, the number of TB having associated HARQ-ACK info that UE receives in a PDSCH scheduled by a multicast DCI format)
the number of semi-persistently scheduled transport blocks of the multicast received by the UE. (See Papasakellariou para. 186;NSPS,c the number of SPS PDSCH receptions by the UE for which the UE transmits corresponding HARQ-ACK info in the same PUCCH; see also para. 178)
Regarding claim 3, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the UE, a power control parameter of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) according to the related parameters of the unicast and the related parameters of the multicast, includes:
determining a first power control parameter of unicast service according to the related parameters of the unicast; (See Papasakellariou para. 187, 190; first Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to DCI formats or SPS PDSCH associated with first RNTIs; fig. 10, para. 190; UE computes N_HARQ-ACK, TB from equation 23 and transmits using the power that has been calculated)
determining N second power control parameters of N multicast services, according to the related parameters of the multicast; wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; (See Papasakellariou para. 120; UE can be configured with multiple G-RNTIs and can generate HARQ-ACK codebooks for each G-RNTI; para. 187; second type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to DCI formats or SPS PDSCHs associated with second RNTIs, such as G-RNTIs; fig. 10, para. 190; UE computes N_HARQ-ACK,TB,G as Equation (24); each config. G-RNTI/multicast HARQ-ACK codebook corresponds to claimed multicast service)
determining the power control parameter of the PUCCH according to the first power parameter and the N second power parameters. (See Papasakellariou fig. 10, para. 190; UE computes N_HARQ-ACK,TB in EQ 23, computer N_HARQ-ACK,TB,G as in EQ 24, multiplexes the HARQ-ACK info in a PUCCH and transmits the PUCCH using power determined by combining EQ23 and EQ24 as EQ25; EQ25 is N_HARQ-ACK=N_HARQ-ACK,TB +N_HARQ-ACK,TB,G)
Regarding claim 4, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining the power control parameter of the PUCCH according to the first power parameter and the N second power parameters, includes:
obtaining a sum of the first power control parameter and the N second power control parameters to obtain the power control parameter of the PUCCH, which is expressed with the following formula:
wherein nHARQ-ACK,TB represents the power control parameter of the PUCCH; nHARQ-ACK,TB(unicast) represents the first power parameter of the unicast service; nHARQ-ACK,TB(G-RNTI(i)) represents a second power parameter of a multicast service (i); N represents the total number of multicast services. (See Papasakellariou para. 190, fig. 10; n_HARQ-ACK, TB (e.g. unicast) in EQ 23 is summed in EQ 25 with n_HARQ-ACK, TB (e.g. GRNTI(i) mulicast) from EQ 24; see also para. 120 multiple G-RNTI; that is N=1; see also para. 191; one or more second HARQ-ACK codebooks are multicast when N>1; EQ 26)
Regarding claim 5, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the second power control parameter nHARQ-ACK,TB (G-RNTI (i)) is equal to a bit number of HARQ-ACK sub-codebook of the multicast service (i) feed back by the UE corresponding to the multicast service (i) on a PUCCH. (See Papasakellariou para. 178, 190; N_HARQ-ACK, TB, G (e.g. second power control parameter); multicast/G-RNTI Type 2 HARQ bit number in EQ20/EQ24 (e.g. bit number of HARQ-ACK sub codebook); para. 178, 190; codebook/HARQ-ACK is multiplexed in PUCCH (e.g. fed back on PUCCH))
Regarding claim 6, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the second power control parameter is calculated with the following formula:
wherein nHARQ-ACK, TB (G-RNTI (i)) represents the second power control parameter of the multicast service (i); VDAI,m last(i) DL represents a DAI parameter of a last DCI of the multicast service (i); UDAI,c(i) represents the number of DCIs of the multicast service (i) received by the UE; Ncells DL represents the number of cells in which the UE receives scheduling data; TD represents a maximum count value of a counter DAI; NTB,max DL represents first multicast configuration information; Nm,c(i) received represents the number of transport blocks of the multicast service (i) received by the UE; NSPS,c(i) represents the number of semi-persistently scheduled transport blocks of the multicast service (i); M represents the number of the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) detection opportunities. (See Papasakellariou para. 163; EQ 17; per-g multicast type 2 HARQ-ACK term inside EQ 17 with g=I; also per-g multicast summation term in EQ 26 (e.g. nHARQ-ACK,TB(GRNTI(i)); VDAI,m_last, g^DL in EQ 17(e.g. VDAI,m_last(i)^DL) para. 165-167 define the last-DCI DAI value for G-RNTI g; UDAI,c,g in EQ 17(e.g. UDAI,c(i)) para 168 defines total number of DCI formats with HARQ-ACK info bits detect by the UE within Mg PDCCH monitoring occasions; NCells,gDL (e.g. NCells DL); TDg (e.g. Td), para. 169 TD,g=2^{N_C-DAI} for counter field; NTB,max,gDL (e.g. NTB,maxDL) para. 170; Nm,c,g^received (e.g. Nm,c(i)^received), para. 171; NSPS,c,g (e.g. NSPS,c(i), para. 172; Mg (e.g. M), para. 164)
Regarding claim 7, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein a value of NTB,max DL is configured or defaults to 1. (See Papasakellariou para. 184; N_TB,max^{DL,G} =2 under the max two TB/no-spatial-bundling condition, otherwise N_TB,max^{DL,G} =1 (e.g. defaults to))
Regarding claim 8, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining N second power control parameters of N multicast services, according to the related parameters of the multicast, includes:
respectively determining the number of missed transport blocks corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in each multicast service according to the related parameters of the multicast; (See Papasakellariou para. 163, 168, EQ 17; from first plus sign starting at second summation from g=0 to G-1 all the way until the next + sign; this term calculates missed transport blocks by taking the DAI subtracting it from the total number or expected/scheduled to arrive at missed); see also para. 164-171 which explain the equation in great detail)
respectively determining the number of reception transport blocks corresponding to DCIs received by the UE in each multicast service according to the related parameters of the multicast; and (See Papasakellariou para. 163, 171, EQ 17; Nm,c received; see also para. 164-171 which explain the equation in great detail)
determining the N second power control parameters of the N multicast services according to the number of missed transport blocks and the number of reception transport blocks. (See Papasakellariou para. 163; EQ 17, para. 191, EQ26; taking parameters from EQ 17 that are calculated and calculating Power Ppucch,b,f,c for the PUCCH transmission)
Regarding claim 9, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the respectively determining the number of reception transport blocks corresponding to DCIs received by the UE in each multicast service according to the related parameters of the multicast, includes:
obtaining a sum of the number of transport blocks of a target multicast service received by the UE and the number of semi-persistently scheduled transport blocks of the target multicast service, thereby determining the number of reception transport blocks corresponding to DCIs received by the UE in the target multicast service; (See Papasakellariou para. 163, 171, EQ 17; Nm,c received + NSPS,c,g; see also para. 164-171 which explain the equation in great detail; para. 173; EQ18)
wherein the target multicast service is any one of the N multicast services. (See Papasakellariou para. 163, 171, 173; g is number of G-RNTIs (e.g. group/multicast) configured for UE
Regarding claim 19, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein in case that the first multicast configuration information is 1, the power control parameter of the target multicast service is: a bit number of HARQ-ACK sub-codebook of a target multicast service fed back by the UE corresponding to the target multicast service on a PUCCH;
wherein the number of semi-persistently scheduled transport blocks of the target multicast service is included in the bit number of the HARQ-ACK sub-codebook of the target multicast service; (See Papasakellariou para. 191, EQ 26, para. 173, EQ 18, para. 163; NSPS (e.g. semi persistent scheduled transport blocks); g-RNTI (e.g. target multicast service); N_SPS,c,g per-G RNTI HARQ-ACK bit number calc.)
or,
the number of semi-persistently scheduled transport blocks of the target multicast service is included in a bit number of a HARQ-ACK sub-codebook of the unicast service.
Regarding claim 10, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the UE, a power control parameter of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) according to the related parameters of the unicast and the related parameters of the multicast, includes:
determining a total number of missed transport blocks corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in the unicast service and N multicast services according to the related parameters of the unicast and the related parameters of the multicast, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; (See Papasakellariou para. 97, EQ 6; first part of Equation 6 up until + is determining a total number of unicast; para. 163, 168, EQ 17; from first plus sign starting at second summation from g=0 to G-1 all the way until the next + sign; this term calculates missed transport blocks by taking the DAI subtracting it from the total number or expected/scheduled to arrive at missed); see also para. 164-171 which explain the equation in great detail)
determining a total number of reception transport blocks corresponding to DCIs received by the UE in the unicast service and the multicast service according to the related parameters of the unicast and the related parameters of the multicast; and ; (See Papasakellariou para. 97, EQ 6; second part after + sign (unicast part); para. 163, 168, EQ 17; second part after + sign (multicast part))
determining the power control parameters of the PUCCH according to the total number of missed transport blocks and the total number of reception transport blocks. (See Papasakellariou para. 191, EQ 26; with parameters from EQ6 and EQ17.)
Regarding claim 11, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the determining a total number of missed transport blocks corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in the unicast service and N multicast services according to the related parameters of the unicast and the related parameters of the multicast, includes:
determining the number of missed transport blocks of the unicast corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in the unicast service according to the related parameters of the unicast; (See Papasakellariou para. 97, EQ 6;first part before the +)
respectively determining the number of missed transport blocks corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in each multicast service according to the related parameters of the multicast; (See Papasakellariou para. 163, EQ 17;from first + to second +)
determining the total number of missed transport blocks according to the number of missed transport blocks of the unicast and the number of missed transport blocks corresponding to each multicast service. (See Papasakellariou para. 191, EQ 26)
Regarding claim 14, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the determining the total number of missed transport blocks according to the number of missed transport blocks of the unicast and the number of missed transport blocks corresponding to each multicast service, includes:
obtaining a sum of the number of missed transport blocks of the unicast and the number of missed transport blocks of N multicast services to obtain the total number of missed transport blocks. (See Papasakellariou para. 191, EQ 26)
Regarding claim 15, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the determining a total number of missed transport blocks corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in the unicast service and N multicast services according to the related parameters of the unicast and the related parameters of the multicast, includes:
determining the number of missed transport blocks of the unicast corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in the unicast service according to the related parameters of the unicast; (See Papasakellariou para. 97, EQ 6)
determining the number of missed transport blocks of the multicast corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in the N multicast services according to the related parameters of the multicast; wherein the number of the missed transport blocks of the multicast is a total number of transport blocks missed by the UE in the N multicast services; (See Papasakellariou para. 163 , EQ 17)
determining the total number of missed transport blocks according to the number of missed transport blocks of the unicast and the number of missed transport blocks of the multicast. (See Papasakellariou para. 191, EQ 26)
Regarding claim 16, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the determining the number of missed transport blocks of the multicast corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in the N multicast services according to the related parameters of the multicast, includes:
subtracting a sum of DAI parameters of last DCIs corresponding to the N multicast services from a sum of numbers of DCIs of the N multicast services received by the UE, thereby obtaining a total number of DCIs missed by the UE;
performing a modulo operation on the total number of DCIs missed by the UE and a maximum count value of a counter DAI, thereby obtain an operation result, and multiplying the operation result with first multicast configuration information to obtain the number of missed multicast transport blocks corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in the N multicast services;
or,
wherein the determining the number of missed transport blocks of the multicast corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in the N multicast services according to the related parameters of the multicast, includes:
obtaining a product of a cycle number of DAI of a target multicast service and a maximum count value of a counter DAI;
obtaining a sum of the product and the number of DCIs of the target multicast service received by the UE, thereby obtaining a second operation result;
obtaining a sum of second operation results corresponding to the N multicast services, and subtracting the sum of the second operation results from the sum of the DCIs of the N multicast services received by the UE to obtain a third operation result;
multiplying the third operation result with the first multicast configuration information, thereby obtaining the number of missed transport blocks corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in the N multicast service;
or,
wherein the determining the total number of missed transport blocks according to the number of missed transport blocks of the unicast and the number of missed transport blocks of the multicast, includes:
obtaining a sum of the number of missed transport blocks of the unicast and the number of missed transport blocks of the multicast to obtain the total number of missed transport blocks. (See Papasakellariou para. 191, EQ 26; with parameters from EQ6 and EQ17.)
Regarding claim 21, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the determining a total number of missed transport blocks corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in the unicast service and N multicast services according to the related parameters of the unicast and the related parameters of the multicast, includes:
obtaining a sum of a DAI parameter of a last DCI in DCIs of the unicast service and DAI parameters of last DCIs corresponding to the N multicast services, subtracting the sum from a total number of DCIs received by the UE to obtain a total number of DCIs missed by the UE;
performing a modulo operation on the total number of DCIs missed by the UE and a maximum count value of a counter DAI, thereby obtain an operation result, and multiplying the operation result with first multicast configuration information to obtain the total number of missed transport blocks corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in the unicast services and the N multicast services;
or,
wherein the determining a total number of missed transport blocks corresponding to DCIs missed by the UE in the unicast service and N multicast services according to the related parameters of the unicast and the related parameters of the multicast, includes:
calculating the total number of missed transport blocks through the following formula:
wherein nHARQ-ACK,part1 represents the total number of missed transport blocks; VDAI,m last(unicast) represents a DAI parameter of a last DCI in DCIs of the unicast service; VDAI,m last(i) represents a DAI parameter of a last DCI in the DCIs of a multicast service (i); j(unicast) represents a cycle number of DAIs for unicast services; j (i) represents a cycle number of DAIs for multicast services (i); TD represents a maximum count value of counter DAI; UDAI,c represents a total number of DCIs of the unicast service and all multicast services, received by the UE; NTB,max DL represents the first multicast configuration information; Ncell DL represents the number of cells in which the UE receives scheduling data;
or,
wherein the determining a total number of reception transport blocks corresponding to DCIs received by the UE in the unicast service and the multicast service according to the related parameters of the unicast and the related parameters of the multicast, includes: (See Papasakellariou EQ6; para. 104-106)
determining the total number of reception transport blocks, according to a total number of transport blocks of the unicast service and N multicast services received by the UE, and a total number of semi-persistently scheduled transport blocks of the unicast service and the multicast service. (See Papasakellariou para. 106; N_sps,c for unicast; para. 172; N_sps,c,g for multicast; para. 104-105; N_m,c^received; para. 171; N_m,c,g^received)
Regarding claim 24, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the power control parameter of the PUCCH refers to a power control parameter that needs to feed back HARO-ACK, and feedback of the HARO-ACK is based on acknowledgment (ACK)/negative acknowledgment (NACK). (See Papasakellariou para. 82; HARQ ACK/NACK fed back; para. 5 power control)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasakellariou (2022/0279454; Provisional 63/244890 dated 16 Sept 2021; and Provisional 63/155030 dated 1 March 2021; citations are to the publication with support in the provisionals) and further in view of Hu (2024/0204967; Foreign Priority 4 Sept 2021).
Regarding claim 25, Papasakellariou discloses the method according to claim 24, wherein the power control parameters of the PUCCH include:
related DCI and transport blocks for feedback (See Papasakellariou para. 82; HARQ ACK/NACK fed back; para. 5 power control for feedback of TB)
Papasakellariou does not explicitly disclose wherein that convert NACK-only to ACK/NACK. However, Hu does disclose wherein that convert NACK-only to ACK/NACK. (See Hu para. 174) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Papasakellariou to include the teaching of wherein that convert NACK-only to ACK/NACK of Hu with the motivation being to allow for combining of feedback which saves bandwidth and reduces delay and further to allow for combining of different types of feedback into one message.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Papasakellariou (2022/0279454; Provisional 63/244890 dated 16 Sept 2021; and Provisional 63/155030 dated 1 March 2021; citations are to the publication with support in the provisionals).
Regarding claim 26, Papasakellariou discloses a power control parameter determining device, comprising: (See Papasakellariou para. 119; TPC, transmit power control)
a memory, a transceiver, and a processor;
wherein the memory is used to store a computer program; the transceiver is used to transmit and receive data under control of the processor; the processor is used to read the computer program in the memory and perform the following operations: (See Papasakellariou fig. 3; transceiver and processor executing algorithms stored in memory; para. 59, 56)
obtaining, by a user equipment (UE), related parameters of unicast and related
parameters of multicast; and
determining, by the UE, the power control parameter of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) according to the related parameters of the unicast and the related parameters of the multicast. (See Papasakellariou para. 119, 140; UE determines power (e.g. power control parameter) for PUCCH based upon a first codebook used for unicast and a second codebook used for multicast (e.g. parameters); para. 120 UE is indicated codebook (e.g. it is obtained); see also para. 133; para. 174)
wherein the related parameters of the multicast include at least one of the following:
a downlink assignment index (DAI) parameter of a last downlink control information (DCI) in DCls of the multicast; (See Papasakellariou para. 179-181; DAI parameter of a last multicast DCI format)
the number of DCls of the multicast received by the UE; (See Papasakellariou para. 183; UG-DAI,c total number of multicast DCI formats)
the number of transport blocks of the multicast received by the UE; (See
Papasakellariou para.185;Nm,c received, the number of TB having associated HARQ-ACK info that UE receives in a PDSCH scheduled by a multicast DCI format)
the number of semi-persistently scheduled transport blocks of the multicast received by the UE. (See Papasakellariou para. 186;NSPS,c the number of SPS PDSCH receptions by the UE for which the UE transmits corresponding HARQ-ACK info in the same PUCCH; see also para. 178)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461