Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 06/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-12 are currently pending in this application.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 5-6, filed 06/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103 and the new claims 8-12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states "…The cited portions of Takeda relied upon for the reflective layer do not appear to discuss a metal oxide film formed on a side surface of the reflective layer... Applicant respectfully submits that the cited portions of Takeda and Sugawara, whether considered alone or in combination, do not account for a metal oxide film formed on a side surface of the reflective layer, as presently recited in claims 1 and 6". Examiner respectfully disagrees. The paragraph of [0062] of Takeda (US 2019/0094436) explicitly states that the material forming the first dielectric layer 14 can be metal oxides such as Al2O3, beryllium oxide, bismuth oxide, or tantalum oxide; and the Fig. 2 of Takeda clearly shows that the first dielectric layer 14 is formed on a bottom side surface of the reflective layer 15A. Therefore as stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 6 below, Takeda teaches that a metal oxide film (14 in Fig. 2, [0062], the material forming the first dielectric layer 14 can be metal oxides such as Al2O3, beryllium oxide, bismuth oxide, or tantalum oxide) is formed on a side surface of the reflective layer (the bottom surface of 15A contacting 14 in Fig. 2).
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6, filed 06/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot. Regarding limitations of the instant case in view of the amended Claims and upon further considerations, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references and/or new prior art as presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (US 2019/0094436) in view of Sugawara (US 2020/0081287).
Regarding claim 1, Takeda (US 2019/0094436) teaches a polarizing plate (Fig. 2, [0002, 0039, 0087-0089, 0040-0085, 0107-0121]) having a wire grid structure (Fig. 2), the polarizing plate comprising:
a transparent substrate (10 in Fig. 2, [0039, 0040, 0048]);
a plurality of projections (the projections above 12 in Fig. 2, [0087]) disposed on the transparent substrate (10 in Fig. 2, [0039, 0040, 0048]) and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 2) and periodically arranged in a first direction (the direction X in Fig. 2, [0039]) at a pitch shorter than a bandwidth to be used ([0039, 0076]); and
a protective layer ([0022, 0074, 0081]) that covers a surface on a side of the projections ([0022, 0074, 0081]), wherein
each projection of the plurality of projections (the projections above 12 in Fig. 2, [0087]) has a first absorption layer (13 in fig. 2, [0111]), a reflective layer (15A in fig. 2, [0113]), and a second absorption layer (17A in fig. 2, [0115]) in order from a side close to the transparent substrate (Fig. 2),
a width of a first surface of the reflective layer (the width in the direction X of the bottom surface of 15A contacting 14 in fig. 2) on a side close to the transparent substrate (Fig. 2) in the first direction (the direction X in Fig. 2, [0039]) is wider (Fig. 2) than a width of a second surface of the reflective layer (the width in the direction X of the top surface of 15A contacting 16A in fig. 2) opposite to the first surface (the bottom surface of 15A contacting 14 in fig. 2) in the first direction (the direction X in Fig. 2, [0039]); and
a metal oxide film (14 in Fig. 2, [0062], the material forming the first dielectric layer 14 can be metal oxides such as Al2O3, beryllium oxide, bismuth oxide, or tantalum oxide) is formed on a side surface of the reflective layer (the bottom surface of 15A contacting 14 in Fig. 2).
Takeda (US 2019/0094436) does not explicitly point out that the protective layer covers both the plurality of projections and the transparent substrate.
Sugawara teaches that (Fig. 1, [0081-0082]) a protective layer (20 in Fig. 1, [0081]) covers both the plurality of projections and the transparent substrate (Fig. 1, [0081]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Sugawara for the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436) such that in the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436), the protective layer that covers both the plurality of projections and the transparent substrate. The motivation is to suppress advancement of an oxidation reaction beyond the extent required (Sugawara, [0081]).
Regarding claims 2-5 and 10, Takeda (US 2019/0094436) also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 2) a first dielectric layer (14 in Fig. 2) between the first absorption layer (13 in fig. 2, [0111]) and the reflective layer (15A in fig. 2, [0113]).
(Claim 3) a second dielectric layer (16A in Fig. 2) between the second absorption layer (17A in fig. 2, [0115]) and the reflective layer (15A in fig. 2, [0113]).
(Claim 4) a base layer (the layer of 18 and 12 in Fig. 2) between the transparent substrate (10 in Fig. 2, [0039, 0040, 0048]) and the plurality of projections (the projections above 12 in Fig. 2, [0087]), wherein the base layer (the layer of 18 and 12 in Fig. 2) has a plurality of pedestals (12 in Fig. 2) that protrude toward (Fig. 2) the plurality of projections (the projections above 12 in Fig. 2, [0087]) and serve as pedestals (12 in Fig. 2) for the plurality of projections (the projections above 12 in Fig. 2, [0087]).
(Claim 5) the transparent substrate (10 in Fig. 2, [0039, 0040, 0048]) is sapphire ([0048, 0018]).
(Claim 10) a width of the reflective layer (15A in fig. 2, [0113]) in the first direction (the direction X in Fig. 2, [0039]) increases (Fig. 2, since the upper portions of 15A has an increased width from the top surface of 15A toward the bottom surface of 15A, the width of 15A increases from the top surface of 15A toward the bottom surface of 15A) from the second surface (the top surface of 15A contacting 16A in fig. 2) toward the first surface (the bottom surface of 15A contacting 14 in fig. 2)
Regarding claim 6, Takeda (US 2019/0094436) teaches An optical device ([0002, 0028]) comprising:
a polarizing plate (Fig. 2, [0002, 0039, 0087-0089, 0040-0085, 0107-0121]) comprising:
a transparent substrate (10 in Fig. 2, [0039, 0040, 0048]);
a plurality of projections (the projections above 12 in Fig. 2, [0087]) disposed on the transparent substrate (10 in Fig. 2, [0039, 0040, 0048]) and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 2) and periodically arranged in a first direction (the direction X in Fig. 2, [0039]) at a pitch shorter than a bandwidth to be used ([0039, 0076]); and
a protective layer ([0022, 0074, 0081]) that covers a surface on a side of the projections ([0022, 0074, 0081]), wherein
each projection of the plurality of projections (the projections above 12 in Fig. 2, [0087]) has a first absorption layer (13 in fig. 2, [0111]), a reflective layer (15A in fig. 2, [0113]), and a second absorption layer (17A in fig. 2, [0115]) in order from a side close to the transparent substrate (Fig. 2),
a width of a first surface of the reflective layer (the width in the direction X of the bottom surface of 15A contacting 14 in fig. 2) on a side close to the transparent substrate (Fig. 2) in the first direction (the direction X in Fig. 2, [0039]) is wider (Fig. 2) than a width of a second surface of the reflective layer (the width in the direction X of the top surface of 15A contacting 16A in fig. 2) opposite to the first surface (the bottom surface of 15A contacting 14 in fig. 2) in the first direction (the direction X in Fig. 2, [0039]); and
a metal oxide film (14 in Fig. 2, [0062], the material forming the first dielectric layer 14 can be metal oxides such as Al2O3, beryllium oxide, bismuth oxide, or tantalum oxide) is formed on a side surface of the reflective layer (the bottom surface of 15A contacting 14 in Fig. 2).
Takeda (US 2019/0094436) does not explicitly point out that the protective layer covers both the plurality of projections and the transparent substrate.
Sugawara teaches that (Fig. 1, [0081-0082]) a protective layer (20 in Fig. 1, [0081]) covers both the plurality of projections and the transparent substrate (Fig. 1, [0081]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Sugawara for the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436) such that in the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436), the protective layer that covers both the plurality of projections and the transparent substrate. The motivation is to suppress advancement of an oxidation reaction beyond the extent required (Sugawara, [0081]).
Regarding claims 11-12, Takeda (US 2019/0094436) does not teach the following elements.
Sugawara teaches the following elements (Fig. 1, [0042, 0096, 0114-0115, 0140]):
(Claim 11) an antireflection layer (12 in Fig. 1, [0042, 0114, 0140]) on the transparent substrate (11 in Fig. 1).
(Claim 12) the antireflection layer (12 in Fig. 1, [0042, 0114, 0140]) comprises a stack in which high refractive index layers and low refractive index layers are alternately laminated ([0140, 0114]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Sugawara for the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436) in view of Sugawara such that in the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436) in view of Sugawara,
(Claim 11) an antireflection layer on the transparent substrate.
(Claim 12) the antireflection layer comprises a stack in which high refractive index layers and low refractive index layers are alternately laminated.
The motivation is to provide an antireflection action/function in a desired working wavelength bandwidth (Sugawara, [0114]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (US 2019/0094436) in view of Takeda (US 2018/0180785).
Regarding claim 7, Takeda (US 2019/0094436) teaches a method for manufacturing a polarizing plate (Fig. 1, [0076-0081, 0040]), the method comprising the steps of:
laminating ([0078]) at least a first absorption layer, a reflective layer and a second absorption layer on a transparent substrate in order to form a laminated body ([0078]),
forming ([0079-0080]) a plurality of projections (the projections corresponding to 11 in Fig. 1, [0040], each grid-shaped convex portion 11 includes a base 12 formed as necessary, a first absorption layer 13, a first dielectric layer 14, a reflection layer 15, a second dielectric layer 16, and a second absorption layer 17 in order from the side of the transparent substrate 10) spaced apart from each other (Fig. 1) and periodically arranged in a first direction (the direction X in Fig. 1) at a pitch shorter than a bandwidth ([0079, 0076, 0039]) to be used i) by forming a mask on an upper surface of the laminated body ([0079]) and ii) by etching through the mask ([0079-0080]), and
forming ([0081, 0074]) a protective layer ([0081, 0074]) on the plurality of projections (the projections corresponding to 11 in Fig. 1, [0040]) formed by etching ([0079-0080]),
Takeda (US 2019/0094436) teaches that the etching to form the plurality of projections includes an etching to form a base having a trapezoidal shape (12 in Fig. 1-2, [0080]). Takeda (US 2019/0094436) does not teach that a condition of etching is changed during the etching to form the plurality of projections.
Takeda (US 2018/0180785) teaches that a condition of etching is changed during an etching to form a base (12 in Fig. 1-2 and 4, [0069]) having a trapezoidal shape (Fig. 1-2 and 4, [0069]) and included in each of a plurality of projections (Fig. 1-2 and 4).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Takeda (US 2018/0180785) for the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436) such that in the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436), a condition of etching is changed during the etching to form the base having the trapezoidal shape; therefore, a condition of etching is changed during the etching to form the plurality of projections. The motivation is that reflection of light can be prevented, and high transmittance characteristics can be obtained (Takeda (US 2018/0180785), [0069]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (US 2019/0094436) in view of Sugawara as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakakibara (US 2021/0302639).
Regarding claim 8, Takeda (US 2019/0094436) does not teach the following elements.
Sakakibara teaches the following elements (Fig. 1, 4 and 7, [0054-0058, 0082-0083]):
(Claim 8) a surface of a protective layer ([0054-0055], The protective film is provided on the surface of the grid-shaped protrusions and the surface of the groove between the grid-shaped protrusions by forming a film of a dielectric portion and/or a water-repellent portion, among other portions) is coated with a water-repellent film ([0054-0058, 0082-0083]), and wherein the water-repellent film contains tridecafluorooctyltrichlorosilane ([0058]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Sakakibara for the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436) in view of Sugawara such that in the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436) in view of Sugawara,
(Claim 8) an upper surface of the protective layer is coated with a water-repellent film, and wherein the water-repellent film contains tridecafluorooctyltrichlorosilane.
The motivation is to provide a moisture-resistant effect or a water-repellent effect, thereby improving reliability (Sakakibara, [0055]).
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda (US 2019/0094436) in view of Takahashi (US 2013/0286358).
Regarding claim 1, Takeda (US 2019/0094436) teaches a polarizing plate (Fig. 2, [0002, 0039, 0087-0089, 0040-0085, 0107-0121]) having a wire grid structure (Fig. 2), the polarizing plate comprising:
a transparent substrate (10 in Fig. 2, [0039, 0040, 0048]);
a plurality of projections (the projections above 12 in Fig. 2, [0087]) disposed on the transparent substrate (10 in Fig. 2, [0039, 0040, 0048]) and spaced apart from each other (Fig. 2) and periodically arranged in a first direction (the direction X in Fig. 2, [0039]) at a pitch shorter than a bandwidth to be used ([0039, 0076]); and
a protective layer ([0022, 0074, 0081]) that covers a surface on a side of the projections ([0022, 0074, 0081]), wherein
each projection of the plurality of projections (the projections above 12 in Fig. 2, [0087]) has a first absorption layer (13 in fig. 2, [0111]), a reflective layer (15A in fig. 2, [0113]), and a second absorption layer (17A in fig. 2, [0115]) in order from a side close to the transparent substrate (Fig. 2),
a width of a first surface of the reflective layer (the width in the direction X of the bottom surface of 15A contacting 14 in fig. 2) on a side close to the transparent substrate (Fig. 2) in the first direction (the direction X in Fig. 2, [0039]) is wider (Fig. 2) than a width of a second surface of the reflective layer (the width in the direction X of the top surface of 15A contacting 16A in fig. 2) opposite to the first surface (the bottom surface of 15A contacting 14 in fig. 2) in the first direction (the direction X in Fig. 2, [0039]); and
a metal oxide film (14 in Fig. 2, [0062], the material forming the first dielectric layer 14 can be metal oxides such as Al2O3, beryllium oxide, bismuth oxide, or tantalum oxide) is formed on a side surface of the reflective layer (the bottom surface of 15A contacting 14 in Fig. 2).
Takeda (US 2019/0094436) does not explicitly point out that the protective layer covers both the plurality of projections and the transparent substrate.
Takahashi teaches that (Fig. 31, [0121-0122, 0062]) a protective layer (Fig. 31, [0121]) covers both a plurality of projections (Fig. 31) and the transparent substrate (Fig. 31, [0062]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Takahashi for the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436) such that in the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436), the protective layer that covers both the plurality of projections and the transparent substrate. The motivation is to improve reliability such as moisture resistance (Takahashi, [0121]).
Regarding claims 9, Takeda (US 2019/0094436) does not teach the following elements.
Takahashi teaches the following elements (Fig. 31, [0121-0122, 0062]):
(Claim 9) a thickness of the protective layer is 1 nm or more and 10 nm or less ([0121]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Takahashi for the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436) in view of Takahashi such that in the system of Takeda (US 2019/0094436) in view of Takahashi,
(Claim 9) a thickness of the protective layer is 1 nm or more and 10 nm or less.
The motivation is to improve reliability such as moisture resistance (Takahashi, [0121]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871