Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi et al. (US 2021/082650) and Ryota Minowa et al. (WO 2018020917).
Regarding claim 1, Kawaguchi discloses a device comprising:
a first fixed terminal (22);
a first fixed contact (14) connected to the first fixed terminal (22);
a second fixed terminal (24) disposed apart from the first fixed terminal (22) in a first direction;
a second fixed contact (15) connected to the second fixed terminal (24);
a movable contact piece (13) including a through-hole (see the drawing below) positioned centrally in the first direction;
a first movable contact (16) connected to the movable contact piece (13),
the first movable contact (16) facing the first fixed contact (14) in a second direction,
the second direction including a contact direction in which the first movable contact (16) approaches the first fixed contact (14) and a separation direction in which the first movable contact (16) moves away from the first fixed contact (14);
a second movable contact (17) connected to the movable contact piece (13),
the second movable contact (17) facing the second fixed contact (15) in the second direction;
a contact spring (27) configured to urge the movable contact piece (13) in the contact direction; and
a moving member (19) movable in the second direction,
the moving member (19) passing through the through-hole (see the drawing below),
the moving member (19) coupled to the movable contact piece (13) at the center of the movable contact piece (13) in the first direction so as to be movable relative to the movable contact piece (13),
[AltContent: textbox (Through hole & clearance)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 1, Kawaguchi discloses:
the moving member (19) has a clearance (see the drawing above) relative to the through-hole of the movable contact piece (13).
Kawaguchi teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the moving member has a clearance relative to the through-hole of the movable contact piece so that when at least one of the second fixed contact and the second movable contact is lost, the clearance allows the movable contact piece to be tilted with respect to the moving member by urging force of the contact spring so as to directly or indirectly contact the second fixed terminal.
Minowa discloses a device comprising
the moving member (35) has a clearance (see the drawing below) relative to the through-hole (see the drawing below) of the movable contact piece (32) so that when at least one of the second fixed contact (311) and the second movable contact (134b) is lost, the clearance (see the drawing below) allows the movable contact piece (32) to be tilted with respect to the moving member (35) by urging force of the contact spring (36) so as to directly or indirectly contact the second fixed terminal (31b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the clearance allows the movable contact piece to be tilted with respect to the moving member by urging force of the contact spring so as to directly or indirectly contact the second fixed terminal as taught by Minowa with Kawaguchi’s device for the purpose of preventing uneven wear and ensure a solid circuit connection.
[AltContent: textbox (Clearance & through hole)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Minowa discloses:
the clearance (see the drawing above) around the moving member (35) is defined such that the through-hole (see the drawing above) of the movable contact piece (32) and the moving member (35) do not interfere with each other when at least one of the second fixed contact (311) and the second movable contact (134b) is lost and the movable contact piece (32), which is tilted with respect to the moving member (35), directly or indirectly contacts the second fixed terminal (31b).
Since the structure of Minowa is similar with the structure of the applicant’s invention, it would design the same structure.
Regarding claim 3, Minowa discloses:
the clearance (see the drawing above) around the moving member (35) is defined such that the moving member (35) is maintained parallel to the second direction when at least one of the second fixed contact (311) and the second movable contact (134b) is lost and the movable contact piece (32), which is tilted with respect to the moving member (35), directly or indirectly contacts the second fixed terminal (31b).
Since the structure of Minowa is similar with the structure of the applicant’s invention, it would design the same structure.
Regarding claim 4, Minowa discloses:
part of the clearance (see the drawing below) around the moving member (35) is configured by a groove formed on an outer peripheral surface of the moving member (35).
Regarding claim 5, Minowa discloses the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the through-hole of the movable contact piece has a tapered shape so that the clearance relative to the moving member increases as the through-hole extends in the contact direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the through-hole of the movable contact piece has a tapered shape so that the clearance relative to the moving member increases as the through-hole extends in the contact direction for the purpose of suitability of the design choice, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
[AltContent: textbox (2nd edge of the through hole)][AltContent: textbox (1st edge of the through hole)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 6, Minowa discloses:
the through-hole of the movable contact piece (32) includes a first edge in the contact direction.
Minowa discloses claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the through-hole of the movable contact piece (32) includes the first edge has an R-chamfered shape or C-chamfered shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the through-hole of the movable contact piece includes the first edge has an R-chamfered shape or C-chamfered shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the through-hole of the movable contact piece includes the first edge has an R-chamfered shape or C-chamfered shape for the purpose of suitability of the design choice, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 7, Minowa discloses:
the through-hole (see the drawing above) of the movable contact piece (32) includes a second edge (see the drawing above) in the separation direction.
Minowa discloses the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the second edge has an R-chamfered shape or a C-chamfered shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the second edge has an R-chamfered shape or a C-chamfered shape for the purpose of suitability of the design choice, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claims 8 and 9 Minowa discloses the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the through-hole of the movable contact piece has an elliptical shape that is elongated in the first direction when viewed from the second direction, and the through-hole of the movable contact piece has a rectangular shape that is long in the first direction when viewed from the second direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the through-hole of the movable contact piece (32) as taught by Minowa has an elliptical shape that is elongated in the first direction when viewed from the second direction, and the through-hole of the movable contact piece has a rectangular shape that is long in the first direction when viewed from the second direction for the purpose of suitability of the design choice, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 10, Kawaguchi discloses:
the first fixed terminal (22) includes a first contact support section ((see the drawing below) configured to support the first fixed contact (16),
the second fixed terminal (24) includes a second contact support section (see the drawing below) configured to support the second fixed contact (17), and
the first contact support section (see the drawing below) and the second contact support section (see the drawing below) extend parallel to the movable contact piece (13).
Conclusion
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
June 5, 2026
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837