Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otomo et al (JP2009282471A) in view of Yoshikata et al (US2006/0166023A1). Otomo is read from an English machine translation which has been placed in the application file.
With regards to claim 1, Otomo discloses a graphics structure for the interior of a vehicle (i.e., decorative film for a vehicle interior), comprising a transparent film formed of polyethylene terephthalate (PET) and an acrylic white pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (i.e., a colored adhesive layer), the acrylic white pressure-sensitive adhesive layer comprising an amino group-containing (meth)acrylic polymer, a carboxy group-containing (meth)acrylic polymer, and white pigment (i.e., a colorant) (Otomo - Translation: abstract; page 2, “The graphics structure of the invention can provide an image…”; page 4, “As the transparent film, for example…”). The graphics structure of Otomo is further disclosed as having a total calorific value for 20 minutes after the start of heating measured in accordance with ISO 5660-1 cone calorie meter heat resistance test of 8 MJ/m2 or less (Otomo: page 5, “In this aspect, it is preferable that…”).
Otomo does not appear to disclose its polyethylene terephthalate film layer as biaxially stretched.
Yoshikata is directed to a protective sheet comprising a decorating agent and a biaxially stretched polyethylene terephthalate film (i.e., a decorative sheet comprising a biaxially stretched polyethylene terephthalate film) (Yoshitaka: para. [0162], [0246], and [0256]). As best understood, Yoshikata uses biaxial stretching to aid in incorporation of ultraviolet absorbers and photostabilizers, and to allow for the formation of a heat-resistant film (Yoshikata: para. [0165]). Further, it is clear from Yoshikata that biaxial stretching is a well-known post-processing method within the art (Yoshikata: para. [0165]). Otomo and Yoshikata are analogous art in that they are related to the same field of endeavor of decorative materials comprising polyethylene terephthalate. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have biaxially stretched the polyethylene terephthalate of Otomo, since biaxially stretching is known in the art, and since such a process results in improved incorporation of additives and heat resistance (see above discussion).
Regarding the claimed pencil hardness, tensile strength, and elongation properties, it is noted that Otomo and Yoshikata teach a product which is substantially identical in composition to that of the claimed invention (see above discussion). In further support, the adhesive composition of Otomo is found to select a carboxyl group-containing polymer comprising butyl acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, acrylonitrile, and acrylic acid at a 58:36:2:4 mass ratio and an amino group-containing polymer comprising methyl methacrylate, butyl methacrylate, and dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate at a 60:34:6 mass ratio – these materials are identical to the combination of (meth) acrylic polymer 1 and tacky polymer 1 disclosed in Applicant’s specification (i.e., the polymers of Otomo are identical to that of the present specification) (Otomo: page 5, “Preparation of carboxyl group-containing monomer” and “Preparation of amino group-containing monomer”). It has been held that a composition’s properties are inseparable from its properties, per MPEP 2112. Therefore, the product of Otomo and Yoshikata is expected to possess the claimed pencil hardness, tensile strength, and elongation properties (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 2, the biaxially stretched polyethylene terephthalate film of Otomo Yoshikata includes an ultraviolet absorber in order to enhance ultraviolet resistance (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 3, Otomo and Yoshikata do not mention an inclusion of a flame retardant (i.e., the film is substantially free of a flame retardant).
With regards to claim 4, the decorative film consists of the biaxially stretched polyethylene terephthalate film layer and the colored adhesive layer (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 5, Otomo and Yoshikata teach a film which is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, and therefore, the film of Otomo is and Yoshikata is expected to exhibit the claimed total light transmittance (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 6, the film of Otomo and Yoshikata has a thickness of 130 microns or less, which overlaps the claimed range of 270 microns or less, thereby establishing a prima facie case of obviousness, per MPEP 2144.05 (Otomo: claim 11).
With regards to claim 7, Otomo discloses a graphics structure for the interior of a vehicle (i.e., the film is an anti-scatter film, as it is capable of transmitting an image through a transparent layer), comprising a transparent film formed of polyethylene terephthalate (PET) and an acrylic white pressure-sensitive adhesive layer (i.e., a colored adhesive layer), the acrylic white pressure-sensitive adhesive layer comprising an amino group-containing (meth)acrylic polymer, a carboxy group-containing (meth)acrylic polymer, and white pigment (i.e., a colorant) (Otomo - Translation: abstract; page 2, “The graphics structure of the invention can provide an image…”; page 4, “As the transparent film, for example…”). The graphics structure of Otomo is further disclosed as having a total calorific value for 20 minutes after the start of heating measured in accordance with ISO 5660-1 cone calorie meter heat resistance test of 8 MJ/m2 or less (Otomo: page 5, “In this aspect, it is preferable that…”).
Otomo does not appear to disclose its polyethylene terephthalate film layer as biaxially stretched.
Yoshikata is directed to a protective sheet comprising a decorating agent and a biaxially stretched polyethylene terephthalate film (i.e., a decorative sheet comprising a biaxially stretched polyethylene terephthalate film) (Yoshitaka: para. [0162], [0246], and [0256]). As best understood, Yoshikata uses biaxial stretching to aid in incorporation of ultraviolet absorbers and photostabilizers, and to allow for the formation of a heat-resistant film (Yoshikata: para. [0165]). Further, it is clear from Yoshikata that biaxial stretching is a well-known post-processing method within the art (Yoshikata: para. [0165]). Otomo and Yoshikata are analogous art in that they are related to the same field of endeavor of decorative materials comprising polyethylene terephthalate. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have biaxially stretched the polyethylene terephthalate of Otomo, since biaxially stretching is known in the art, and since such a process results in improved incorporation of additives and heat resistance (see above discussion).
Regarding the claimed pencil hardness, tensile strength, and elongation properties, it is noted that Otomo and Yoshikata teach a product which is substantially identical in composition to that of the claimed invention (see above discussion). In further support, the adhesive composition of Otomo is found to select a carboxyl group-containing polymer comprising butyl acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl acrylate, acrylonitrile, and acrylic acid at a 58:36:2:4 mass ratio and an amino group-containing polymer comprising methyl methacrylate, butyl methacrylate, and dimethylaminoethyl methacrylate at a 60:34:6 mass ratio – these materials are identical to the combination of (meth) acrylic polymer 1 and tacky polymer 1 disclosed in Applicant’s specification (i.e., the polymers of Otomo are identical to that of the present specification) (Otomo: page 5, “Preparation of carboxyl group-containing monomer” and “Preparation of amino group-containing monomer”). It has been held that a composition’s properties are inseparable from its properties, per MPEP 2112. Therefore, the product of Otomo and Yoshikata is expected to possess the claimed pencil hardness, tensile strength, and elongation properties (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 8, the biaxially stretched polyethylene terephthalate film of Otomo Yoshikata includes an ultraviolet absorber in order to enhance ultraviolet resistance (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 9, Otomo and Yoshikata do not mention an inclusion of a flame retardant (i.e., the film is substantially free of a flame retardant).
With regards to claim 10, the decorative film consists of the biaxially stretched polyethylene terephthalate film layer and the colored adhesive layer (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 11, Otomo and Yoshikata teach a film which is substantially identical to that of the claimed invention, and therefore, the film of Otomo is and Yoshikata is expected to exhibit the claimed total light transmittance (see above discussion).
With regards to claim 12, the film of Otomo and Yoshikata has a thickness of 130 microns or less, which overlaps the claimed range of 270 microns or less, thereby establishing a prima facie case of obviousness, per MPEP 2144.05 (Otomo: claim 11).
Conclusion
/E.W./
Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783