DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a nanogenerator unit” in claims 1 and 6-9. For examination purposes, “a nanogenerator unit” will be interpreted as a piezoelectric nanogenerator, a triboelectric nanogenerator, or a pyroelectric nanogenerator as supported by page 3, lines 26-28.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 recites, “The sensory restoration device according to claim 1, comprising…”. Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite “The sensory restoration device according to claim 1, further comprising…”. Appropriate correction is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 14, 16, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the group" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims inherit the same deficiencies. For examination purposes, Examiner will be interpreting “the group” as “a group”.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "the sensitivity" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, Examiner will be interpreting “the sensitivity” as “a sensitivity”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 11, 20, 22, 26, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Webster et al (US 2019/0009083) hereinafter Webster.
Regarding claim 1, Webster discloses an implantable device for at least partially restoring tactile sensation to a subject in need thereof (Fig. 1), the device comprising:
at least one nanogenerator unit (implanted nanogenerator device 20) configured to be positioned subcutaneously and to produce an electric signal upon exertion of an external stimulus [0022]; and
at least one electrode (implanted electrodes 40) configured to be connected to at least one functional sensory nerve of the subject [0021];
such that the electric signal produced by the at least one nanogenerator unit in response to the external stimulus is conveyed to the at least one functional sensory nerve of the subject, via the at least one electrode ([0021] implanted nanogenerator device 20, which is connected via implanted electrical leads 45 to implanted electrodes 40; [0029] increasing nerve regeneration),
wherein said nanogenerator is further coated with a heat sensitive material ([0022] top layer includes or consists of a conductive metal such as gold, silver, copper, aluminum, or chromium), thereby at least partially restoring the tactile sensation to the subject ([0029] increasing nerve regeneration).
Regarding claim 2, Webster discloses wherein the electric signal is proportional to the magnitude of the external stimulus ([0022] collect electrical charges separated in the piezoelectric material by applied mechanical stress and conduct a direct current to one of the electrodes).
Regarding claim 3, Webster discloses wherein the external stimulus comprises: pressure, friction, traction, shear force and/or temperature change ([0021] External signal generator 30 is worn at the waist on belt 35, and overlays the implanted nanogenerator, to which it imparts mechanical force).
Regarding claim 6, Webster discloses wherein said nanogenerator unit is adapted to be connected to a single nerve ([0022] configuration, position, and surface area of the electrodes as well as the shape, size, and configuration of the nanogenerator housing will determine the distribution of the generated electric field and current flow, and can be freely selected according to the needs of the application; [0029] increasing nerve regeneration).
Regarding claim 11, Webster discloses wherein the nanogenerator unit is selected from the group consisting of a piezoelectric nanogenerator, a triboelectric nanogenerator, and a pyroelectric nanogenerator ([0020] an implanted piezoelectric nanogenerator). Examiner notes the current claim language requires only one of a piezoelectric nanogenerator, a triboelectric nanogenerator, and a pyroelectric nanogenerator. As discussed above, Webster discloses a piezoelectric nanogenerator and satisfies the claim language as currently written since the triboelectric nanogenerator and pyroelectric nanogenerator are claimed in the alternative.
Regarding claim 20, Webster discloses wherein said nanogenerator is self-powered ([0004] The internal part of the system includes a self-powered nanogenerator device).
Regarding claim 22, Webster discloses a method for at least partially restoring tactile sensation to a subject in need thereof, comprising the steps of: providing the sensory restoration device of claim 1 to said subject ([0020] the use of an implanted piezoelectric nanogenerator to provide the DC signal, which stimulates healing of a tissue), thereby at least partially restoring tactile sensation to a subject in need thereof ([0029] increasing nerve regeneration).
Regarding claim 26, Webster discloses wherein the electrical signal is proportional to the magnitude of the external stimulus ([0022] collect electrical charges separated in the piezoelectric material by applied mechanical stress and conduct a direct current to one of the electrodes).
Regarding claim 28, Webster discloses a system (Fig. 1: system 10) comprising the device of claim 1 and an external controller (external signal generator 30) configured to control one or more operating parameters of the device ([0021] imparts mechanical force according to a program or user settings).
Regarding claim 29, Webster discloses wherein the controller is wirelessly associated with the device ([0021] External signal generator 30 is worn at the waist on belt 35, and overlays the implanted nanogenerator; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 30, Webster discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the sensitivity of the sensory restoration device ([0021] External signal generator 30 is worn at the waist on belt 35, and overlays the implanted nanogenerator, to which it imparts mechanical force according to a program or user settings; Examiner notes if the belt is too loose, too tight, or off center with the nanogenerator, it would affect the device’s sensitivity to the imparted force).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 9, 23-24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster (US 2019/0009083) in view of Karr et al (US 10,369,362) hereinafter Karr.
Regarding claim 7, Webster discloses the device of claim 1 as discussed above, but fails to disclose a plurality of nanogenerator units adapted to be connected to a single nerve. However, Karr discloses a plurality of nanogenerator units adapted to be connected to a single nerve (Col. 4, ln 26-28: One or more bionic implants 120 are placed in locations where sensor information is desirable). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Webster with a plurality of nanogenerator units adapted to be connected to a single nerve as taught by Karr. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the brain to receive sensory information from more than one location and interpret it as touch or feel (Karr, Col. 4, ln 28-34).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Webster discloses the device of claim 7 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein the plurality of nanogenerator units are connected in an array. However, Karr discloses wherein the plurality of nanogenerator units are connected in an array (Col. 4, ln 26-28: One or more bionic implants 120 are placed in locations where sensor information is desirable; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the device as taught by Webster with the plurality of nanogenerator units are connected in an array as taught by Karr. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the brain to receive sensory information from more than one location and interpret it as touch or feel (Karr, Col. 4, ln 28-34).
Regarding claim 23, Webster discloses wherein the sensory restoration device is subcutaneously implanted ([0021] implanted nanogenerator 20), and discloses using the device for nerve regeneration [0029], but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sensory restoration device is electrically connected to the functional nerve of the subject via the electrode. However, Karr discloses wherein the sensory restoration device is electrically connected to the functional nerve of the subject via the electrode (Col. 4, ln 54-57: In this example, communication circuit 122 corresponds to a signal conditioner that is configured to couple electrical signals (e.g., via one or more electrodes) to the nerve).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Webster with wherein the sensory restoration device is electrically connected to the functional nerve of the subject via the electrode as taught by Karr. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the brain to receive sensory information and interpret it as touch or feel (Karr, Col. 4, ln 28-34).
Regarding claim 24, Webster discloses the method of claim 22 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein the subject has an impaired tactile sensation caused by nerve damage. However, Karr discloses wherein the subject has an impaired tactile sensation caused by nerve damage (Col. 4, ln 51-54: the patient has damaged a nerve ending in a finger such that touch sensitivity is impaired). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Webster with the subject having an impaired tactile sensation caused by nerve damage as taught by Karr. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the brain to receive sensory information from the damaged nerve and interpret it as touch or feel (Karr, Col. 4, ln 28-34).
Regarding claim 27, Webster discloses a step of implanting the device such that the nanogenerator is placed subcutaneously ([0021] implanted nanogenerator device 20 which is connected via implanted electrical leads 45 to implanted electrodes 40), but fails to explicitly disclose the electrode is in physical contact with a corresponding functional nerve. However, Karr discloses the electrode is in physical contact with a corresponding functional nerve (Col. 4, ln 54-57: In this example, communication circuit 122 corresponds to a signal conditioner that is configured to couple electrical signals (e.g., via one or more electrodes) to the nerve). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Webster with the electrode is in physical contact with a corresponding functional nerve as taught by Karr. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of allowing the brain to receive sensory information from the damaged nerve and interpret it as touch or feel (Karr, Col. 4, ln 28-34).
Claim(s) 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster (US 2019/0009083) in view of Cantin et al (US 2006/0129210) hereinafter Cantin.
Regarding claim 11, Webster discloses wherein the nanogenerator unit is a piezoelectric nanogenerator [0020], but fails to disclose wherein the nanogenerator is a pyroelectric nanogenerator. However, Cantin discloses wherein the nanogenerator is a pyroelectric nanogenerator ([0074] pyroelectric material, such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) may be preferable). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Webster with wherein the nanogenerator is a pyroelectric nanogenerator as taught by Cantin. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of easy deposition using wet coating techniques and a thickness of a few tens of micrometers (Cantin, [0074]).
Regarding claim 13, Webster discloses the device of claim 11 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein a response time and reset time of the pyroelectric nanogenerator is more than 0.001s. However, Cantin discloses wherein a response time and reset time of the pyroelectric nanogenerator is more than 0.001s ([0074] If signal response times of over a few milliseconds are required, a pyroelectric material, such as polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), may be preferable). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Webster with a response time and reset time of the pyroelectric nanogenerator is more than 0.001s as taught by Cantin. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of easy deposition using wet coating techniques and a thickness of a few tens of micrometers (Cantin, [0074]).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster (US 2019/0009083) in view of DiUbaldi et al (US 2010/0249677) hereinafter DiUbaldi.
Regarding claim 14, Webster discloses wherein the piezoelectric is a pressure sensor ([0022] collect electrical charges separated in the piezoelectric material by applied mechanical stress and conduct a direct current to one of the electrodes), but fails to disclose said nanogenerator has a wurtzite structure or a perovskite structure. However, DiUbaldi discloses a nanogenerator having a wurtzite structure ([0024] piezoelectric materials include ceramics with perovskite or tungsten-bronze structures). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Webster with a nanogenerator having a wurtzite structure as taught by DiUbaldi. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of piezoelectric stimulation of a nerve (DiUbaldi, [0003]).
Claim(s) 11, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webster (US 2019/0009083) in view of Wang et al (US 2019/0381324) hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 11, Webster discloses wherein the nanogenerator unit is a piezoelectric nanogenerator [0020], but fails to disclose wherein the nanogenerator is a triboelectric nanogenerator. However, Wang discloses wherein the nanogenerator is a triboelectric nanogenerator ([0042] generator 24 may be a triboelectric generator). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Webster with a triboelectric nanogenerator as taught by Wang. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of sending signals to the user’s brain using nerve stimulation (Wang, Abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Webster discloses the system of claim 11 as discussed above, but fails to disclose wherein the triboelectric nanogenerator (TENG) is configured to convert pressure, friction and/or traction force applied to said TENG into an electric signal that is supplied to said at least one sensory nerve. However, Wang discloses wherein the triboelectric nanogenerator (TENG) is configured to convert pressure, friction and/or traction force applied to said TENG into an electric signal that is supplied to said at least one sensory nerve ([0042] generator 24 may be any type of power generator that uses the movements of the stomach 16 during peristalsis to convert the mechanical or kinetic energy into electrical energy delivered to the vagus nerves 12 as an electrical charge).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Webster with wherein the triboelectric nanogenerator (TENG) is configured to convert pressure, friction and/or traction force applied to said TENG into an electric signal that is supplied to said at least one sensory nerve as taught by Wang. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of sending signals to the user’s brain using nerve stimulation (Wang, Abstract).
Regarding claim 18, the modified Wang discloses the system of claim 16 as discussed above, but fails to disclose a circuitry which is configured to change the electrical features of an electric pulse generated by the TENG. However, Wang discloses a circuitry which is configured to change the electrical features of an electric pulse generated by the TENG ([0077] on-off circuitry may be incorporated to disable and/or enable the flow of current through the electrode wires). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Webster with a circuitry which is configured to change the electrical features of an electric pulse generated by the TENG as taught by Wang. Such a modification would provide the predictable results of controlling when to send signals to the user’s brain using nerve stimulation (Wang, Abstract).
Conclusion
/WILLOW GRACE WELCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792