Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 6 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3.) Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) (a2) as being anticipated by Kashima (US Pub No.: 2011/0026901A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Kashima discloses a control device (Image editing apparatus, Abstract; Paragraphs 0043-0044, 0175; Figures 1-3 and 13); comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions (Memory storing program used by the CPU, Paragraphs 0078-0082; Figures 1-3); and
at least one processor (CPU 201, Paragraphs 0078-0082; Figures 1-3) configured to execute the instructions to:
display multiple state icons (20a-20C) associated with multiple different states of a control target (scene to be viewed) (The scene selection area 2 is an area that displays a plurality of candidate scenes 20A to 20C, which are the candidates for a scene n-th from the beginning of the edited work, and that are used by a user to manually select one candidate scene from the plurality of candidate scenes 20A to 20C, Paragraphs 0048-0049; Figure 1);
control the control target to transition among the multiple different states (The cursor buttons 22A-23B are used to transition among multiple different states, Paragraphs 0051-0052);
display in a second display area (roll film area 5), based on a selection of one of the multiple state icons, a list of thumbnail images for multiple control targets in a state indicated by a selected state icon of the multiple state icons (The roll film area 5 is an area for displaying, in a roll film format, thumbnail images 50A to 50E of the first to the m-th scenes making up the edited work that is automatically edited. The roll film format is a format of chronologically displaying side by side the thumbnail image (still image) of each section of a moving image (selected scene of a control target). When a user moves the cursor 21 in the scene selection area 2 and changes the selection of the candidate scene 20, the thumbnail 50 of the later candidate scene in the roll film area 5 is also dynamically changed according to the changed selection of the candidate scene 20., Paragraphs 0068-0071; Figure 1); and
display in a first display area (preview area 4), based on a selection of one of the thumbnail images (selection made in 20a-20c changes the selection of the thumbnail images), an image relating to a control target (playback moving image 41 displayed in preview area 4) corresponding to a selected thumbnail image among the multiple control targets in the state indicated by the selected state icon (The preview area 4 is an area for previewing a connecting part of the candidate scene that is selected in the scene selection area 2 (n-th scene of the edited work) and the candidate scenes before and after the selected scene (including at least the n-1-th and n+1-th scenes). More specifically, the preview area 4 displays a playback moving image 41 of the connecting part of the candidate scene 20B (n-th scene) that is selected in the scene selection area 2, the candidate scene (not shown) for the preceding scene (n-1-th, n-2-th, . . . ), and the candidate scene 30E for the following scene (n+1-th, n+2-th, . . . ).The roll film area 5 is an area for displaying, in a roll film format, thumbnail images 50A to 50E of the first to the m-th scenes making up the edited work that is automatically edited. The roll film format is a format of chronologically displaying side by side the thumbnail image (still image) of each section of a moving image (selected scene of a control target). When a user moves the cursor 21 in the scene selection area 2 and changes the selection of the candidate scene 20, the thumbnail 50 of the later candidate scene in the roll film area 5 is also dynamically changed according to the changed selection of the candidate scene 20., Paragraphs 0063-0071; Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Kashima discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
transmit a state request signal to the multiple control targets, and receive state identifiers (icons 24), each representing the state (icons show a state of a control target such as a large number of people or a laughing voice etc.), from the multiple control targets (The candidate scene 20B here that is selected in the scene selection area 2 is the candidate scene that is currently selected by the user (that is, the candidate scene specified by the cursor 21) among the plurality of candidate scenes 20A to 20C that are displayed in the scene selection area 2. an icon 24 is displayed near each candidate scene 20 in the scene selection area 2 as information indicating the feature of the candidate scene 20. Here, the information indicating the feature of the candidate scene 20 is information indicating the reason why the candidate scene 20 is recommended. A picture according to the feature of each candidate scene 20 is shown in the icon 24. As described, the icon 24 indicating the feature (recommendation reason) of the candidate scene 20 is displayed in the scene selection area 2 in association with the candidate scene 20. This enables a user to easily grasp the feature and the recommendation reason of a candidate scene 20 by referring not only to the image of the candidate scene 20 but also to the icon 24, Paragraphs 0053-0071; Figure 1); and
display in the second display area (roll film area 5), based on the received state identifiers of the multiple control targets, the list of thumbnail images for the multiple control targets in the state indicated by the selected state icon, in response to the selection of one of the multiple state icons (When a user moves the cursor 21 in the scene selection area 2 and changes the selection of the candidate scene 20, the thumbnail 50 of the later candidate scene in the roll film area 5 is also dynamically changed according to the changed selection of the candidate scene 20. That is, when the candidate scene 20 for the n-th scene that is selected in the scene selection area 2 (i.e. that is specified by the cursor 21) is changed from 20B to 20A, the recommended candidate scenes for the n+1-th and later scenes (n+1-th to m-th scenes) are also changed. Accordingly, in case there is a selection change for the candidate scene 20 in the scene selection area 2, the thumbnails 50C to 50E of the n-th and later scenes (n-th to m-th scenes) are dynamically changed, among the thumbnail images 50A to 50E displayed in the roll film area 5. In this case, the thumbnail images 50C to 50E are dynamically changed to the thumbnail image of the candidate scene 20A for the n-th scene after the selection change and the thumbnail images of the candidate scenes 30B of the n+1-th and later scenes corresponding to the candidate scene 20A, Paragraphs 0071-0075; Figure 1).
In regard to Claim 3, Kashima discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
transmit a control signal for controlling the state control the control target to the control target, based on a thumbnail image selected by an operation for selecting one of the thumbnail images in the list and a state icon selected by an operation for selecting one of information among the multiple state icons, so that the control target relating to the thumbnail image that is selected is put in the state represented by the state icon that is selected (By such preview area 4, the relationship (continuity) between the scene that a user is paying attention to and the preceding and following scenes can be presented by displaying the playback moving image 41, which is the scene that is currently selected and an image over a specific range (for example, several minutes) before and after the scene that are played back at high speed. As mentioned above, when a user moves the cursor 21 in the scene selection area 2 and changes the selection of the candidate scene 20, the thumbnail 50 of the later candidate scene in the roll film area 5 is also dynamically changed according to the changed selection of the candidate scene 20. That is, when the candidate scene 20 for the n-th scene that is selected in the scene selection area 2 (i.e. that is specified by the cursor 21) is changed from 20B to 20A, the recommended candidate scenes for the n+1-th and later scenes (n+1-th to m-th scenes) are also changed. Accordingly, in case there is a selection change for the candidate scene 20 in the scene selection area 2, the thumbnails 50C to 50E of the n-th and later scenes (n-th to m-th scenes) are dynamically changed, among the thumbnail images 50A to 50E displayed in the roll film area 5. In this case, the thumbnail images 50C to 50E are dynamically changed to the thumbnail image of the candidate scene 20A for the n-th scene after the selection change and the thumbnail images of the candidate scenes 30B of the n+1-th and later scenes corresponding to the candidate scene 20A, Paragraphs 0065-0067, 0071-0075; Figure 1).
With regard to Claim 4, Kashima discloses the control device according to claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
display the multiple state icons corresponding to the states indicated by the state identifier (An icon 24 is displayed near each candidate scene 20 in the scene selection area 2 as information indicating the feature of the candidate scene 20. Here, the information indicating the feature of the candidate scene 20 is information indicating the reason why the candidate scene 20 is recommended. A picture according to the feature of each candidate scene 20 is shown in the icon 24, Paragraphs 0053-0056; Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Kashima discloses the control device according to claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
count, based on the state identifiers of the multiple control targets received from the multiple control targets, a number of control targets for each of the state identifiers (An icon 24A indicates that the candidate scene 20A is a scene with a "large number of people," while icons 24C indicate that the candidate scenes 20B and 20C are scenes with "small number of people", Paragraphs 0053-0056; Figure 1);
display in overlay, on each of the multiple state icons (displayed near each candidate scene), the number of control targets in the state indicated by the state identifiers corresponding to the state icon (An icon 24 is displayed near each candidate scene 20 in the scene selection area 2 as information indicating the feature of the candidate scene 20. Here, the information indicating the feature of the candidate scene 20 is information indicating the reason why the candidate scene 20 is recommended. A picture according to the feature of each candidate scene 20 is shown in the icon 24. An icon 24A indicates that the candidate scene 20A is a scene with a "large number of people," while icons 24C indicate that the candidate scenes 20B and 20C are scenes with "small number of people", Paragraphs 0053-0056; Figure 1).
In regard to method Claim 6 and computer program storing Claim 7, the claims correspond to device claim 1 and are rejected as indicated in the above rejection to device claim 1 (Also see Paragraphs 0012 and Claim 16).
With regard to Claim 8, Kashima discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
in response to a selection of one of the multiple state icons (selection of 20a-20c in scene selection area 2) in a state in which the image relating to the control target corresponding to the selected thumbnail image from the list is displayed in the first display area, transmit a control signal for controlling the state of the control target to the control target so that the control target of the selected thumbnail image is put in the state represented by the selected state icon (The preview area 4 is an area for previewing a connecting part of the candidate scene that is selected in the scene selection area 2 (n-th scene of the edited work) and the candidate scenes before and after the selected scene (including at least the n-1-th and n+1-th scenes). More specifically, the preview area 4 displays a playback moving image 41 of the connecting part of the candidate scene 20B (n-th scene) that is selected in the scene selection area 2, the candidate scene (not shown) for the preceding scene (n-1-th, n-2-th, . . . ), and the candidate scene 30E for the following scene (n+1-th, n+2-th, . . . ).The roll film area 5 is an area for displaying, in a roll film format, thumbnail images 50A to 50E of the first to the m-th scenes making up the edited work that is automatically edited. The roll film format is a format of chronologically displaying side by side the thumbnail image (still image) of each section of a moving image (selected scene of a control target). When a user moves the cursor 21 in the scene selection area 2 and changes the selection of the candidate scene 20, the thumbnail 50 of the later candidate scene in the roll film area 5 is also dynamically changed according to the changed selection of the candidate scene 20., Paragraphs 0063-0071; Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Kashima discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to:
in response to a selection of another state icon in a state in which the image relating to the control target corresponding to the one of the thumbnail images in the state indicated by the selected state icon is displayed, transmit a control signal for controlling the state of the control target to the control target so that the control target of the selected thumbnail image is put in the state represented by the another state icon (The preview area 4 is an area for previewing a connecting part of the candidate scene that is selected in the scene selection area 2 (n-th scene of the edited work) and the candidate scenes before and after the selected scene (including at least the n-1-th and n+1-th scenes). More specifically, the preview area 4 displays a playback moving image 41 of the connecting part of the candidate scene 20B (n-th scene) that is selected in the scene selection area 2, the candidate scene (not shown) for the preceding scene (n-1-th, n-2-th, . . . ), and the candidate scene 30E for the following scene (n+1-th, n+2-th, . . . ).The roll film area 5 is an area for displaying, in a roll film format, thumbnail images 50A to 50E of the first to the m-th scenes making up the edited work that is automatically edited. The roll film format is a format of chronologically displaying side by side the thumbnail image (still image) of each section of a moving image (selected scene of a control target). When a user moves the cursor 21 in the scene selection area 2 and changes the selection of the candidate scene 20, the thumbnail 50 of the later candidate scene in the roll film area 5 is also dynamically changed according to the changed selection of the candidate scene 20., Paragraphs 0063-0071; Figure 1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Pritham David Prabhakher
Patent Examiner
Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov
/PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638