Detailed Action
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1: glycerin as in claims 1-15 and 18-20; 2. Species 2: avobenzone as in claims 1-6, 8-15, and 18-20; 3. Species 3: propylene glycol as in claims 1-12 and 18-20; and 4. Species 5: sodium polyacrylate as in claims 1-15 and 18-20, in the reply filed on 08/05/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 7 and13-14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/05/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, indefiniteness
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites a limitation “primary emulsifier” which is a relative term and makes the claim indefinite. The term “primary” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “primary” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Applicant suggests reciting claim 4 in a Markush format as “selected from the group consisting of”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Mintel GNPD Record ID 9025652 "Anti Stains Caring Roll-On SPF 50+", Sep 2021, XP93008357, presented in IDS).
Mintel shows a composition comprising a sunscreen filter (homosalate, butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane, ethylhexylsalicylate, bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, ethylhexyl triazone), water as major component, and glycerin as the component present in the third highest amount, in a roll-on applicator. Mintel teaches propylene glycol in ingredients. Thus, the art teaches use of a sunscreen composition/formulations comprising a sunscreen filter, water, glycerin. This combination is not in a single embodiment. However, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results of making a sunscreen composition in a personal care product, see MPEP 2143 part (I)(A). Amount of the component is a result effective variable and one of ordinary skill would have manipulated the amounts in order to obtain optimum sunscreen filter composition.
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delaune et al. (WO 2019/121442A1, presented in IDS)
Delaune et al. discloses in Table 1 an O/W emulsion comprising sunscreen filter (octocrylene, BMDM, ethylhexyl salicylate, MBBT), 40-90% water (ca.59%), a dispensing agent including a polyol (glycerin), and a co- emulsifier (cetyl alcohol). No primary emulsifier is used. Propylene glycol is taught on pages 10 and 13. Thus, the art teaches use of a sunscreen composition/formulations comprising a sunscreen filter, water, glycerin. This combination is not in a single embodiment. However, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results of making a sunscreen composition in a personal care product, see MPEP 2143 part (I)(A). Amount of the component is a result effective variable and one of ordinary skill would have manipulated the amounts in order to obtain optimum sunscreen filter composition.
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siefken et al. (US PG 2021/145722 A1).
Siefken et al. discloses in formulations 5 to 7 sunscreen compositions which do not comprise the "primary emulsifiers", which comprise "co-emulsifiers", as well as polyol. For example, formulation 6 comprises sunscreen filter (octocrylene, titanium dioxide), 40-90% water (ca.69%), a dispensing agent including a polyol (glycerin), and a co-emulsifier (2.0% cetyl alcohol, 0.4% sodium polyacrylate). No primary emulsifier is used. Propylene glycol is listed in Table 17. Thus, the art teaches use of a sunscreen composition/formulations comprising a sunscreen filter, water, glycerin. This combination is not in a single embodiment. However, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results of making a sunscreen composition in a personal care product, see MPEP 2143 part (I)(A). Amount of the component is a result effective variable and one of ordinary skill would have manipulated the amounts in order to obtain optimum sunscreen filter composition.
Correspondence
/SNIGDHA MAEWALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612