DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by JP2021-094750 (English machine translation provided herein).
JP2021-094750 discloses a gas barrier laminated body, comprising:
a base material layer including a thermoplastic resin; a metal oxide layer; and a gas barrier coating layer, in this order (paragraphs [0001-0002], [0007-0009], [0017-0018], [0019-0042], [0044], [0046], [0049] and Table 1).
JP2021-094750 does not specifically disclose the limitation, “wherein on a surface of the gas barrier coating layer, a ratio (Si/C) of silicon atoms and carbon atoms as measured by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy is greater than 0 and less than 0.50.” However, said limitation is inherent in JP2021-094750 since JP2021-094750 discloses the same ratio of PVA containing two carbon to total silicon containing particles and materials (MB+MC)/MA (see Table 1, paragraphs [0040-0041] and Table 1).
Claims 2-7 and 9-12 are disclosed by JP2021-094750 (paragraphs [0001-0002], [0007-0009], [0017-0018], [0019-0042], [0044], [0046], [0049] and Table 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2021-094750 (English machine translation provided herein).
JP2021-094750 discloses a gas barrier laminated body, comprising:
a base material layer including a thermoplastic resin; a metal oxide layer; and a gas barrier coating layer, in this order (paragraphs [0001-0002], [0007-0009], [0017-0018], [0019-0042], [0044], [0046], [0049] and Table 1).
JP2021-094750 does not specifically disclose the limitation, “wherein on a surface of the gas barrier coating layer, a ratio (Si/C) of silicon atoms and carbon atoms as measured by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy is greater than 0 and less than 0.50.” However, said limitation is necessarily present in JP2021-094750 since JP2021-094750 discloses the same ratio of PVA containing two carbon to total silicon containing particles and materials (MB+MC)/MA (see Table 1, paragraphs [0040-0041] and Table 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided applicant’s recited limitation in order to provide improved gas barrier properties and/or mechanical properties.
Claims 2-7 and 9-12 are disclosed by JP2021-094750 (paragraphs [0001-0002], [0007-0009], [0017-0018], [0019-0042], [0044], [0046], [0049] and Table 1).
JP2021-094750 does not specifically disclose wherein the anchor coat layer has a thickness of 30 nm or greater and 300 nm or less. However, discovering the optimum range or value for a result effective variable is obvious and well within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the anchor coat layer has a thickness of 30 nm or greater and 300 nm or less in order to provide improved adhesion.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
May 29, 2026