DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 6-7 depend from claim 5 above and therefore inherit the deficiencies thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Petzold et al. (US 20040119597 A1).
Claim 1, Petzold discloses a thick matter pump for conveying thick matter (FIG 1; [0021]),
a thick matter distributor boom (14) for distributing the thick matter to be conveyed, wherein the thick matter distributor boom has a boom arrangement comprising at least two boom arms (FIG 1),
a substructure (15) on which the thick matter distributor boom and the thick matter pump are arranged, wherein the substructure comprises a supporting structure (20, 22, 24, 26) for supporting the substructure with at least one horizontally or vertically movable supporting leg, wherein the supporting structure has a stability range with resecuring threshold ([0011]) and with an upper limit defined by a maximum stability parameter, and wherein the at least one supporting leg (26) is able to be resecured,
a receiving unit (30, 32, 34) for receiving at least one item of operating information,
a processing unit (54, 62) for determining a stability parameter of the thick matter conveying system depending on the at least one item of operating information received, and
a control unit (54, 62) outputting a first control signal if the determined stability parameter of the thick matter conveying system lies above the resecuring threshold, wherein the outputting of the first control signal suppresses resecuring of the at least one supporting leg.
Claim 2, Petzold discloses wherein the control unit outputs a second control signal if the determined stability parameter is below the resecuring threshold, wherein the output of the second control signal enables the re-securing of the at least one supporting leg ([0010] - [0011], [0024] - [0028]; claims 4-6).
Claim 3, Petzold discloses wherein the control unit outputs a third control signal if the determined stability parameter is above a switch-off threshold, wherein the output of the third control signal causes a setting of the correct operation of the thick matter distributor boom ([0010] - [0011], [0024] - [0028]; claims 4-6).
Claim 5, wherein the at least one supporting leg is able to be resecured repeatedly ([0022]).
Claim 6, wherein the receiving unit receives operating information indicative of an angle of inclination of the substructure, wherein the processing unit determines a maximum permitted number of resecuring processes as a function of the received operating information indicative of the angle of inclination of the substructure, and wherein the control unit outputs the first control signal if a number of resecuring processes carried out corresponds to the maximum permitted number ([0010] - [0011], [0022] - [0028]; claims 4-6).
Claim 8, Petzold discloses wherein the receiving unit receives operating information which is indicative of one of the following properties:
a horizontal leg force of the at least one supporting leg, and
a vertical leg force of the at least one supporting leg ([0010] - [0011], [0024] - [0028]; claims 4-6).
Claim 9, wherein the receiving unit further comprising:
a sensor unit for detecting operating information (30, 32, 34; [0010] - [0011], [0024] - [0028]; claims 4-6), or
a communication interface (40, 42) for detecting operating information,
Claim 10, Petzold discloses wherein the substructure is arranged on a vehicle (FIG 1).
Claim 11, Petzold discloses a thick matter pump for conveying a thick matter (FIG 1, [0021]),
a thick matter distributor boom (14) for distributing the thick matter to be conveyed, wherein the thick matter distributor boom has a boom arrangement comprising at least two boom arms (FIG 1),
a substructure (15) on which the thick matter distributor boom (18) and the thick matter pump are arranged, wherein the substructure comprises a supporting structure (20, 22, 24, 26)for supporting the substructure with at least one horizontally or vertically movable supporting leg, wherein the supporting structure has a stability range with a resecuring threshold ([0011]) and with an upper limit defined by a maximum stability parameter, and wherein the at least one supporting leg 926) can be resecured, and comprising
a receiving unit (30, 32, 34),
a processing unit (54, 62) and
a control unit (54, 62),
wherein the method comprises the following steps:
receiving, by the receiving unit, at least one item of operating information;
determining, by the processing unit, a stability parameter of the thick matter conveying system as a function of the at least one item of operating information received; and
outputting, by the control unit, a first control signal for suppressing resecuring of the at least one supporting leg if the determined stability parameter of the thick matter conveying system is above the resecuring threshold ([0010] - [0011], [0024] - [0028]; claims 4-6).
Claim 12, Petzold discloses the step: outputting, by the control unit, a second control signal if the determined stability parameter is below the resecuring threshold, wherein the outputting of the second control signal enables the resecuring of the at least one supporting leg ([0010] - [0011], [0024] - [0028]; claims 4-6).
Claim 13, the step: outputting, by the control unit, a third control signal if the determined stability parameter is above a switch-off threshold, wherein the output of the third control signal causes a setting of the correct operation of the thick matter boom ([0010] - [0011], [0024] - [0028]; claims 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petzold as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lutzeyer et al. (US 20210009388 A1).
Claim 4, Petzold substantially discloses the apparatus as claimed above but is silent on wherein the receiving unit receives operating information indicative of a horizontal and/or vertical position of the at least one supporting leg, and wherein the processing unit determines the resecuring threshold and/or the switch-off threshold as a function of the operating information indicative of the horizontal and/or vertical position of the at least one supporting leg.
Lutzeyer teaches wherein the receiving unit receives operating information ([0035]) indicative of a horizontal or vertical position of the at least one supporting leg, and wherein the processing unit determines the resecuring threshold or the switch-off threshold as a function of the operating information indicative of the horizontal or vertical position of the at least one supporting leg.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Petzold with leg placement as taught by Lutzeyer in order to detect bearing capacity failure of a mobile work machine to prevent injuries and death.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
JEREMY W. CARROLL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/Jeremy Carroll/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754