DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18696462 filed 03/28/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2022/111767, International Filing Date: 08/11/2022 claims foreign priority to 202111165894.6, filed 09/30/2021.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 01/10/2025 and 01/29/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 19 is directed to non-statutory subject matter because it recited merely a computer program product comprises a computer program (none of the claims, specification or record disclose that the claimed “computer program product comprises a computer program” is a non-transitory medium. The Examiner asserts that the claimed “computer program product comprises a computer program” can be a transitory signal, which is non-statutory. Applicant define computer program product comprises a computer program in the specification at page 35, however, the definition does not specifically exclude a signal as a possible type of compute readable medium. “computer program product comprises a computer program” are not necessarily considered to limit a media claim to non-transitory embodiments because content may be considered to be stored on a signal during propagation and because many disclosures conflate storage media and signals. For example, US Patent 6,286,104 discloses: “the methods described herein may be implemented by a series of computer-executable instructions residing on a storage medium such as a carrier wave”. See the Board decision in ex parte Mewherter (10/685,192) where the Board affirmed 101 rejection of a “machine readable storage medium”. The Examiner suggests that Applicant replaces “computer program product comprises a computer program” with “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” or clarify that the “computer program product comprises a computer program” is non-transitory either in the specification or on the records).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia (US 2020/0351746) in view of White et al (US 2015/0237552).
Regarding claim 1, Jia discloses method for adjusting interface balance, wherein the method is applied to an electronic device and comprises (handset (electronic device) includes a processor 902 for controlling and processing all onboard operations and functions. A memory 904 interfaces to the processor 902 for storage of data and one or more applications 906 (e.g., a video player software, user feedback component software, etc.). User input component 934 can also facilitate the generation, editing and sharing of video quotes, [0074], lines 1-3, [0079], lines 5-6):
in response to an operation of enabling a first data service by a user, detecting, by the electronic device, a current network (Wi-Fi transceiver 913 of the handset 900 (electronic device) detects the beacon of the access point connected to a network (current network) in response to software trigger component 938 provided that facilitates triggering of the hysteresis component 936, [0080], lines 2-3);
if the current network is a first network (handset 900 (electronic device) detects the beacon of the access point connected to a network (current network is a first network), [0080], lines 2-3):
obtaining, by the electronic device, a first service latency of running the first data service in the first network by the electronic device (Devices (e.g., the UEs 102 and the network device 104) of system 100 are configured to communicate wireless signals using one or more multi carrier modulation schemes, wherein data symbols can be transmitted simultaneously over multiple frequency subcarriers (e.g., OFDM, CP-OFDM, DFT-spread OFMD, UFMC, FMBC, etc.). System 100 can be configured to provide and employ 5G wireless networking features and functionalities. 5G wireless communication networks are expected to fulfill the demand of exponentially increasing data traffic (first data service in the first network) and to allow people and machines, eg; phones, smart phones, tablets, etc. (electronic device) to enjoy gigabit data rates with virtually zero latency (first service latency), [0045], lines 11-13); and
continuously monitoring, by the electronic device, a first temperature of the electronic device (Because performance of radio frequency (RF) components can degrade with excessive heat, UE devices can shut down if the temperature rises above maximum safe operation temperatures. The UE device can be usable again once the temperature cools down to a safe operating range; thus is seen as when UE determines that its temperature rises above an unsafe range, it will shut itself down, [0031], lines 5-7);
if the first temperature is greater than a first preset temperature (UE devices can shut down if the temperature rises above maximum safe operation temperatures, [0031], line 6):
triggering, by the electronic device, handover from the first network to a second network (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9); and
Jia does not specifically disclose concept of obtaining, by the electronic device, a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the electronic device, wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network; and
determining, by the electronic device, a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency.
However, White et al specifically teaches concept of obtaining, by the electronic device, a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the electronic device (first user communication device (electronic device) receives communication link parameter latency (second service latency of running the first data service) or jitter consists of different packets with different delay or parameter latencies from IP access point (second network) [0075], lines 1-3), wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network (Sometimes, however, the hybrid mobile device 124 may experience a loss of service with or degradation to the WiFi connection. This commonly occurs if the hybrid mobile device 124 moves out of range of the IP access point 120 (second network) or the quality of the connection with the IP access point 120 (second network) otherwise degrades. In such a scenario, it is necessary to handoff or hand over the call over to the mobile carrier network 110 (first network) to avoid terminating the communication session; thus is seen as quality of the connection (performance) of mobile carrier network 110 (first network) is higher than of the IP access point 120 (second network), [0043], lines 2-5); and
determining, by the electronic device, a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency (first user communication device (electronic device) receives communication link parameter latency (second service latency of running the first data service) or jitter ie. different packets with different delay or parameter latencies (first service latency and the second service latency) from IP access point (second network). According to the International Telecommunication Union--Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T) recommendations, one-way latency (e.g; delay) follows the following constraints: under 150 ms is acceptable; 150 to 400 ms is acceptable with limitations; and over 400 ms is unacceptable. When a user indicates that the quality of a communication link has degraded, the one or more communication link parameters latency (e.g; delay) (first service latency and the second service latency) may be recorded and associated with a loss of quality of a communication link. A handoff profile may be established based on the user tolerance levels for various communication link parameters, [0075], lines 1-3, [0076], lines 2-4, [0080], lines 2-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Jia with concept of obtaining, by the electronic device, a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the electronic device, wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network; and determining, by the electronic device, a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency of White et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve techniques for establishing and executing a handoff profile for a dual network communication device operable on multiple telecommunications networks, (White et al, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 2, Jia discloses method, wherein the network handover policy comprises a network priority mechanism, and the method further comprises: triggering, by the electronic device, handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9); and
adjusting, by the electronic device, a fluency parameter (handset (electronic device) includes a processor 902 for controlling and processing all onboard operations and functions. A memory 904 interfaces to the processor 902 for storage of data and one or more applications 906 (e.g., a video player software, user feedback component software, etc.). User input component 934 can also facilitate the generation, editing and sharing of video quotes, [0074], lines 1-3, [0079], lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 3, Jia discloses method, wherein the triggering, by the electronic device, handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism comprises (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9):
Jia does not specifically disclose concept of if the first service latency belongs to a first level latency and the second service latency belongs to a second level latency or a third level latency, triggering, by the electronic device, the handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism; or
if the first service latency belongs to the second level latency and the second service latency belongs to the third level latency, triggering, by the electronic device, the handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism.
However, White et al specifically teaches concept of if the first service latency belongs to a first level latency and the second service latency belongs to a second level latency or a third level latency, triggering, by the electronic device, the handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism (Sometimes, however, the hybrid mobile device 124 may experience a loss of service with or degradation to the WiFi connection. This commonly occurs if the hybrid mobile device 124 moves out of range of the IP access point 120 (second network) or the quality of the connection with the IP access point 120 (second network) otherwise degrades. In such a scenario, it is necessary to handoff or hand over the call over to the mobile carrier network 110 (first network) to avoid terminating the communication session; thus is seen as quality of the connection (performance) of mobile carrier network 110 (first network) is higher than of the IP access point 120 (second network), [0043], lines 2-5); or
if the first service latency belongs to the second level latency and the second service latency belongs to the third level latency, triggering, by the electronic device, the handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism (first user communication device (electronic device) receives communication link parameter latency (second service latency of running the first data service) or jitter ie. different packets with different delay or parameter latencies (first service latency and the second service latency) from IP access point (second network). According to the International Telecommunication Union--Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T) recommendations, one-way latency (e.g; delay) follows the following constraints: under 150 ms is acceptable; 150 to 400 ms is acceptable with limitations; and over 400 ms is unacceptable. When a user indicates that the quality of a communication link has degraded, the one or more communication link parameters latency (e.g; delay) (first service latency and the second service latency) may be recorded and associated with a loss of quality of a communication link. A handoff profile may be established based on the user tolerance levels for various communication link parameters, [0075], lines 1-3, [0076], lines 2-4, [0080], lines 2-4)..
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Jia with concept of if the first service latency belongs to a first level latency and the second service latency belongs to a second level latency or a third level latency, triggering, by the electronic device, the handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism; or if the first service latency belongs to the second level latency and the second service latency belongs to the third level latency, triggering, by the electronic device, the handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism of White et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve techniques for establishing and executing a handoff profile for a dual network communication device operable on multiple telecommunications networks, (White et al, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 4, Jia discloses method (FIG. 6 illustrates an example flow diagram for a method for mitigating user equipment device overheating for a 5G network according to one or more embodiments, [0010], lines 1-2),
Jia does not specifically disclose concept of wherein a plurality of latency levels preset by the electronic device comprise at least one of the first level latency, the second level latency, or the third level latency, wherein a maximum latency value of the first level latency is less than a minimum latency value of the second level latency, and wherein a maximum latency value of the second level latency is less than a minimum latency value of the third level latency.
However, White et al specifically teaches concept of wherein a plurality of latency levels preset by the electronic device comprise at least one of the first level latency, the second level latency, or the third level latency, wherein a maximum latency value of the first level latency is less than a minimum latency value of the second level latency, and wherein a maximum latency value of the second level latency is less than a minimum latency value of the third level latency (Sometimes, however, the hybrid mobile device 124 may experience a loss of service with or degradation to the WiFi connection. This commonly occurs if the hybrid mobile device 124 moves out of range of the IP access point 120 (second network) or the quality of the connection with the IP access point 120 (second network) otherwise degrades. In such a scenario, it is necessary to handoff or hand over the call over to the mobile carrier network 110 (first network) to avoid terminating the communication session; thus is seen as quality of the connection (performance) of mobile carrier network 110 (first network) is higher than of the IP access point 120 (second network), [0043], lines 2-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Jia with concept of wherein a plurality of latency levels preset by the electronic device comprise at least one of the first level latency, the second level latency, or the third level latency, wherein a maximum latency value of the first level latency is less than a minimum latency value of the second level latency, and wherein a maximum latency value of the second level latency is less than a minimum latency value of the third level latency of White et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve techniques for establishing and executing a handoff profile for a dual network communication device operable on multiple telecommunications networks, (White et al, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 5, Jia discloses method, wherein the triggering, by the electronic device, handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism comprises (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9):
Jia does not specifically disclose concept of if the first service latency is less than the second service latency and a difference between the second service latency and the first service latency is greater than or equal to a first threshold, triggering, by the electronic device, the handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism.
However, White et al specifically teaches concept of if the first service latency is less than the second service latency and a difference between the second service latency and the first service latency is greater than or equal to a first threshold, triggering, by the electronic device, the handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism (Sometimes, however, the hybrid mobile device 124 may experience a loss of service with or degradation to the WiFi connection. This commonly occurs if the hybrid mobile device 124 moves out of range of the IP access point 120 (second network) or the quality of the connection with the IP access point 120 (second network) otherwise degrades. In such a scenario, it is necessary to handoff or hand over the call over to the mobile carrier network 110 (first network) to avoid terminating the communication session; thus is seen as quality of the connection (performance) of mobile carrier network 110 (first network) is higher than of the IP access point 120 (second network), [0043], lines 2-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Jia with concept of if the first service latency is less than the second service latency and a difference between the second service latency and the first service latency is greater than or equal to a first threshold, triggering, by the electronic device, the handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism of White et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve techniques for establishing and executing a handoff profile for a dual network communication device operable on multiple telecommunications networks, (White et al, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Jia discloses method, wherein the method further comprises (FIG. 6 illustrates an example flow diagram for a method for mitigating user equipment device overheating for a 5G network according to one or more embodiments, [0010], lines 1-2):
after the triggering, by the electronic device, handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism, continuously monitoring, by the electronic device, a second temperature of the electronic device (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9); and
if the second temperature is greater than a second preset temperature, adjusting, by the electronic device, the fluency parameter (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9).
Regarding claim 7, Jia discloses method, wherein the method further comprises (FIG. 6 illustrates an example flow diagram for a method for mitigating user equipment device overheating for a 5G network according to one or more embodiments, [0010], lines 1-2):
after the triggering, by the electronic device, handover from the second network to the first network based on the network priority mechanism, continuously monitoring, by the electronic device, a second temperature of the electronic device (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9); and
if the second temperature is greater than a second preset temperature and is less than a third preset temperature, adjusting, by the electronic device, the fluency parameter (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9); or
if the second temperature is greater than or equal to the third preset temperature (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9):
triggering, by the electronic device, handover from the first network to the second network (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9); or
triggering, by the electronic device, handover from the first network to the second network, and, by the electronic device, adjusting the fluency parameter (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9).
Regarding claim 8, Jia discloses method, wherein the network handover policy further comprises a fluency priority mechanism, and the method further comprises (handset (electronic device) includes a processor 902 for controlling and processing all onboard operations and functions. A memory 904 interfaces to the processor 902 for storage of data and one or more applications 906 (e.g., a video player software, user feedback component software, etc.). User input component 934 can also facilitate the generation, editing and sharing of video quotes, [0074], lines 1-3, [0079], lines 5-6):
Jia does not specifically disclose concept of running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism.
However, White et al specifically teaches concept of running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism (first user communication device (electronic device) receives communication link parameter latency (second service latency of running the first data service) or jitter ie. different packets with different delay or parameter latencies (first service latency and the second service latency) from IP access point (second network). According to the International Telecommunication Union--Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T) recommendations, one-way latency (e.g; delay) follows the following constraints: under 150 ms is acceptable; 150 to 400 ms is acceptable with limitations; and over 400 ms is unacceptable. When a user indicates that the quality of a communication link has degraded, the one or more communication link parameters latency (e.g; delay) (first service latency and the second service latency) may be recorded and associated with a loss of quality of a communication link. A handoff profile may be established based on the user tolerance levels for various communication link parameters, [0075], lines 1-3, [0076], lines 2-4, [0080], lines 2-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Jia with concept of running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism of White et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve techniques for establishing and executing a handoff profile for a dual network communication device operable on multiple telecommunications networks, (White et al, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 9, Jia discloses method, wherein the running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism comprises (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9):
Jia does not specifically disclose concept of if the second service latency belongs to a first level latency and the first service latency belongs to a second level latency or a third level latency, running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism; or
if the second service latency belongs to the second level latency and the first service latency belongs to the third level latency, running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism.
However, White et al specifically teaches concept of if the second service latency belongs to a first level latency and the first service latency belongs to a second level latency or a third level latency, running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism (Sometimes, however, the hybrid mobile device 124 may experience a loss of service with or degradation to the WiFi connection. This commonly occurs if the hybrid mobile device 124 moves out of range of the IP access point 120 (second network) or the quality of the connection with the IP access point 120 (second network) otherwise degrades. In such a scenario, it is necessary to handoff or hand over the call over to the mobile carrier network 110 (first network) to avoid terminating the communication session; thus is seen as quality of the connection (performance) of mobile carrier network 110 (first network) is higher than of the IP access point 120 (second network), [0043], lines 2-5); or
if the second service latency belongs to the second level latency and the first service latency belongs to the third level latency, running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism (first user communication device (electronic device) receives communication link parameter latency (second service latency of running the first data service) or jitter ie. different packets with different delay or parameter latencies (first service latency and the second service latency) from IP access point (second network). According to the International Telecommunication Union--Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T) recommendations, one-way latency (e.g; delay) follows the following constraints: under 150 ms is acceptable; 150 to 400 ms is acceptable with limitations; and over 400 ms is unacceptable. When a user indicates that the quality of a communication link has degraded, the one or more communication link parameters latency (e.g; delay) (first service latency and the second service latency) may be recorded and associated with a loss of quality of a communication link. A handoff profile may be established based on the user tolerance levels for various communication link parameters, [0075], lines 1-3, [0076], lines 2-4, [0080], lines 2-4)...
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Jia with concept of if the second service latency belongs to a first level latency and the first service latency belongs to a second level latency or a third level latency, running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism; or if the second service latency belongs to the second level latency and the first service latency belongs to the third level latency, running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism of White et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve techniques for establishing and executing a handoff profile for a dual network communication device operable on multiple telecommunications networks, (White et al, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 10, Jia discloses method (FIG. 6 illustrates an example flow diagram for a method for mitigating user equipment device overheating for a 5G network according to one or more embodiments, [0010], lines 1-2),
Jia does not specifically disclose concept of wherein a plurality of latency levels preset by the electronic device comprise at least one of the first level latency, the second level latency, or the third level latency, wherein a maximum latency value of the first level latency is less than a minimum latency value of the second level latency, and wherein a maximum latency value of the second level latency is less than a minimum latency value of the third level latency.
However, White et al specifically teaches concept of wherein a plurality of latency levels preset by the electronic device comprise at least one of the first level latency, the second level latency, or the third level latency, wherein a maximum latency value of the first level latency is less than a minimum latency value of the second level latency, and wherein a maximum latency value of the second level latency is less than a minimum latency value of the third level latency (Sometimes, however, the hybrid mobile device 124 may experience a loss of service with or degradation to the WiFi connection. This commonly occurs if the hybrid mobile device 124 moves out of range of the IP access point 120 (second network) or the quality of the connection with the IP access point 120 (second network) otherwise degrades. In such a scenario, it is necessary to handoff or hand over the call over to the mobile carrier network 110 (first network) to avoid terminating the communication session; thus is seen as quality of the connection (performance) of mobile carrier network 110 (first network) is higher than of the IP access point 120 (second network), [0043], lines 2-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Jia with concept of wherein a plurality of latency levels preset by the electronic device comprise at least one of the first level latency, the second level latency, or the third level latency, wherein a maximum latency value of the first level latency is less than a minimum latency value of the second level latency, and wherein a maximum latency value of the second level latency is less than a minimum latency value of the third level latency of White et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve techniques for establishing and executing a handoff profile for a dual network communication device operable on multiple telecommunications networks, (White et al, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 11, Jia discloses method, wherein the running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism comprises (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9):
Jia does not specifically disclose concept of if the first service latency is greater than the second service latency and a difference between the first service latency and the second service latency is greater than or equal to a first threshold, running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism.
However, White et al specifically teaches concept of if the first service latency is greater than the second service latency and a difference between the first service latency and the second service latency is greater than or equal to a first threshold, running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism (Sometimes, however, the hybrid mobile device 124 may experience a loss of service with or degradation to the WiFi connection. This commonly occurs if the hybrid mobile device 124 moves out of range of the IP access point 120 (second network) or the quality of the connection with the IP access point 120 (second network) otherwise degrades. In such a scenario, it is necessary to handoff or hand over the call over to the mobile carrier network 110 (first network) to avoid terminating the communication session; thus is seen as quality of the connection (performance) of mobile carrier network 110 (first network) is higher than of the IP access point 120 (second network), [0043], lines 2-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Jia with concept of if the first service latency is greater than the second service latency and a difference between the first service latency and the second service latency is greater than or equal to a first threshold, running, by the electronic device, the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism of White et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve techniques for establishing and executing a handoff profile for a dual network communication device operable on multiple telecommunications networks, (White et al, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Jia discloses method, wherein the method further comprises (FIG. 6 illustrates an example flow diagram for a method for mitigating user equipment device overheating for a 5G network according to one or more embodiments, [0010], lines 1-2):
if the electronic device runs the first data service in the second network based on the fluency priority mechanism, continuously monitoring, by the electronic device, a third temperature of the electronic device (Devices (e.g., the UEs 102 and the network device 104) of system 100 are configured to communicate wireless signals using one or more multi carrier modulation schemes, wherein data symbols can be transmitted simultaneously over multiple frequency subcarriers (e.g., OFDM, CP-OFDM, DFT-spread OFMD, UFMC, FMBC, etc.). System 100 can be configured to provide and employ 5G wireless networking features and functionalities. 5G wireless communication networks are expected to fulfill the demand of exponentially increasing data traffic (first data service in the first network) and to allow people and machines, eg; phones, smart phones, tablets, etc. (electronic device) to enjoy gigabit data rates with virtually zero latency (first service latency), [0045], lines 11-13); and
if the third temperature is greater than a fourth preset temperature, adjusting, by the electronic device, a fluency parameter (Because performance of radio frequency (RF) components can degrade with excessive heat, UE devices can shut down if the temperature rises above maximum safe operation temperatures. The UE device can be usable again once the temperature cools down to a safe operating range; thus is seen as when UE determines that its temperature rises above an unsafe range, it will shut itself down, [0031], lines 5-7).
Regarding claim 13, Jia discloses method, wherein the adjusting, by the electronic device, a fluency parameter comprises reducing, by the electronic device, a value of the fluency parameter (handset (electronic device) includes a processor 902 for controlling and processing all onboard operations and functions. A memory 904 interfaces to the processor 902 for storage of data and one or more applications 906 (e.g., a video player software, user feedback component software, etc.). User input component 934 can also facilitate the generation, editing and sharing of video quotes, [0074], lines 1-3, [0079], lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 14, Jia discloses method, wherein the network handover policy comprises a network priority mechanism or a fluency priority mechanism, and the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a pop-up box to prompt the user to select the network priority mechanism or the fluency priority mechanism (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9).
Regarding claim 15, Jia discloses method, wherein the network handover policy comprises a network priority mechanism or a fluency priority mechanism, and the method further comprises: displaying, by the electronic device, a pop-up box to prompt the user to select the network priority mechanism or the fluency priority mechanism (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9).
Regarding claim 16, Jia discloses electronic device, comprising at least one processor, at least one memory, and a display, wherein the at least one memory and the display are coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one memory storing computer instructions, for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations comprising (methods described hereafter are capable of being stored on an article of manufacture (e.g., a machine-readable storage medium) to facilitate transporting and transferring such methodologies to computers. The term article of manufacture, as used herein, is intended to encompass a computer program accessible from any computer-readable device, carrier, or media, including a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, [0024], lines 7-10):
in response to an operation of enabling a first data service by a user, detecting a current network (Wi-Fi transceiver 913 of the handset 900 (electronic device) detects the beacon of the access point connected to a network (current network) in response to software trigger component 938 provided that facilitates triggering of the hysteresis component 936, [0080], lines 2-3);
if the current network is a first network (handset 900 (electronic device) detects the beacon of the access point connected to a network (current network is a first network), [0080], lines 2-3):
obtaining a first service latency of running the first data service in the first network by the electronic device (Devices (e.g., the UEs 102 and the network device 104) of system 100 are configured to communicate wireless signals using one or more multi carrier modulation schemes, wherein data symbols can be transmitted simultaneously over multiple frequency subcarriers (e.g., OFDM, CP-OFDM, DFT-spread OFMD, UFMC, FMBC, etc.). System 100 can be configured to provide and employ 5G wireless networking features and functionalities. 5G wireless communication networks are expected to fulfill the demand of exponentially increasing data traffic (first data service in the first network) and to allow people and machines, eg; phones, smart phones, tablets, etc. (electronic device) to enjoy gigabit data rates with virtually zero latency (first service latency), [0045], lines 11-13); and
continuously monitoring a first temperature of the electronic device (Because performance of radio frequency (RF) components can degrade with excessive heat, UE devices can shut down if the temperature rises above maximum safe operation temperatures. The UE device can be usable again once the temperature cools down to a safe operating range; thus is seen as when UE determines that its temperature rises above an unsafe range, it will shut itself down, [0031], lines 5-7);
if the first temperature is greater than a first preset temperature (UE devices can shut down if the temperature rises above maximum safe operation temperatures, [0031], line 6):
triggering handover from the first network to a second network (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9); and
Jia does not specifically disclose concept of obtaining a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the electronic device, wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network; and
determining a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency.
However, White et al specifically teaches concept of obtaining a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the electronic device (first user communication device (electronic device) receives communication link parameter latency (second service latency of running the first data service) or jitter consists of different packets with different delay or parameter latencies from IP access point (second network) [0075], lines 1-3), wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network (Sometimes, however, the hybrid mobile device 124 may experience a loss of service with or degradation to the WiFi connection. This commonly occurs if the hybrid mobile device 124 moves out of range of the IP access point 120 (second network) or the quality of the connection with the IP access point 120 (second network) otherwise degrades. In such a scenario, it is necessary to handoff or hand over the call over to the mobile carrier network 110 (first network) to avoid terminating the communication session; thus is seen as quality of the connection (performance) of mobile carrier network 110 (first network) is higher than of the IP access point 120 (second network), [0043], lines 2-5); and
determining a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency (first user communication device (electronic device) receives communication link parameter latency (second service latency of running the first data service) or jitter ie. different packets with different delay or parameter latencies (first service latency and the second service latency) from IP access point (second network). According to the International Telecommunication Union--Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T) recommendations, one-way latency (e.g; delay) follows the following constraints: under 150 ms is acceptable; 150 to 400 ms is acceptable with limitations; and over 400 ms is unacceptable. When a user indicates that the quality of a communication link has degraded, the one or more communication link parameters latency (e.g; delay) (first service latency and the second service latency) may be recorded and associated with a loss of quality of a communication link. A handoff profile may be established based on the user tolerance levels for various communication link parameters, [0075], lines 1-3, [0076], lines 2-4, [0080], lines 2-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Jia with concept of obtaining a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the electronic device, wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network; and determining a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency of White et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve techniques for establishing and executing a handoff profile for a dual network communication device operable on multiple telecommunications networks, (White et al, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 17, Jia discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program or instructions, and when the computer program or the instructions are run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform operations comprising (methods described hereafter are capable of being stored on an article of manufacture (e.g., a machine-readable storage medium) to facilitate transporting and transferring such methodologies to computers. The term article of manufacture, as used herein, is intended to encompass a computer program accessible from any computer-readable device, carrier, or media, including a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, [0024], lines 7-10):
in response to an operation of enabling a first data service by a user, detecting a current network (Wi-Fi transceiver 913 of the handset 900 (electronic device) detects the beacon of the access point connected to a network (current network) in response to software trigger component 938 provided that facilitates triggering of the hysteresis component 936, [0080], lines 2-3);
if the current network is a first network (handset 900 (electronic device) detects the beacon of the access point connected to a network (current network is a first network), [0080], lines 2-3):
obtaining a first service latency of running the first data service in the first network by the computer (Devices (e.g., the UEs 102 and the network device 104) of system 100 are configured to communicate wireless signals using one or more multi carrier modulation schemes, wherein data symbols can be transmitted simultaneously over multiple frequency subcarriers (e.g., OFDM, CP-OFDM, DFT-spread OFMD, UFMC, FMBC, etc.). System 100 can be configured to provide and employ 5G wireless networking features and functionalities. 5G wireless communication networks are expected to fulfill the demand of exponentially increasing data traffic (first data service in the first network) and to allow people and machines, eg; phones, smart phones, tablets, etc. (electronic device) to enjoy gigabit data rates with virtually zero latency (first service latency), [0045], lines 11-13); and
continuously monitoring a first temperature of the computer (Because performance of radio frequency (RF) components can degrade with excessive heat, UE devices can shut down if the temperature rises above maximum safe operation temperatures. The UE device can be usable again once the temperature cools down to a safe operating range; thus is seen as when UE determines that its temperature rises above an unsafe range, it will shut itself down, [0031], lines 5-7);
if the first temperature is greater than a first preset temperature (UE devices can shut down if the temperature rises above maximum safe operation temperatures, [0031], line 6):
triggering handover from the first network to a second network (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9); and
Jia does not specifically disclose concept of obtaining a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the computer, wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network; and
determining a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency.
However, White et al specifically teaches concept of obtaining a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the computer (first user communication device (electronic device) receives communication link parameter latency (second service latency of running the first data service) or jitter consists of different packets with different delay or parameter latencies from IP access point (second network) [0075], lines 1-3), wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network (Sometimes, however, the hybrid mobile device 124 may experience a loss of service with or degradation to the WiFi connection. This commonly occurs if the hybrid mobile device 124 moves out of range of the IP access point 120 (second network) or the quality of the connection with the IP access point 120 (second network) otherwise degrades. In such a scenario, it is necessary to handoff or hand over the call over to the mobile carrier network 110 (first network) to avoid terminating the communication session; thus is seen as quality of the connection (performance) of mobile carrier network 110 (first network) is higher than of the IP access point 120 (second network), [0043], lines 2-5); and
determining a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency (first user communication device (electronic device) receives communication link parameter latency (second service latency of running the first data service) or jitter ie. different packets with different delay or parameter latencies (first service latency and the second service latency) from IP access point (second network). According to the International Telecommunication Union--Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T) recommendations, one-way latency (e.g; delay) follows the following constraints: under 150 ms is acceptable; 150 to 400 ms is acceptable with limitations; and over 400 ms is unacceptable. When a user indicates that the quality of a communication link has degraded, the one or more communication link parameters latency (e.g; delay) (first service latency and the second service latency) may be recorded and associated with a loss of quality of a communication link. A handoff profile may be established based on the user tolerance levels for various communication link parameters, [0075], lines 1-3, [0076], lines 2-4, [0080], lines 2-4)..
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Jia with concept of obtaining a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the computer, wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network; and determining a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency of White et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve techniques for establishing and executing a handoff profile for a dual network communication device operable on multiple telecommunications networks, (White et al, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 18, Jia discloses chip system, wherein the chip system comprises a processing circuit and a storage medium, the storage medium stores computer program code, and when the computer program code is executed by the processing circuit, the chip system is enabled to perform operations comprising (methods described hereafter are capable of being stored on an article of manufacture (e.g., a machine-readable storage medium) to facilitate transporting and transferring such methodologies to computers. The term article of manufacture, as used herein, is intended to encompass a computer program accessible from any computer-readable device, carrier, or media, including a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, [0024], lines 7-10):
in response to an operation of enabling a first data service by a user, detecting a current network (Wi-Fi transceiver 913 of the handset 900 (electronic device) detects the beacon of the access point connected to a network (current network) in response to software trigger component 938 provided that facilitates triggering of the hysteresis component 936, [0080], lines 2-3);
if the current network is a first network (handset 900 (electronic device) detects the beacon of the access point connected to a network (current network is a first network), [0080], lines 2-3):
obtaining a first service latency of running the first data service in the first network by the chip system (Devices (e.g., the UEs 102 and the network device 104) of system 100 are configured to communicate wireless signals using one or more multi carrier modulation schemes, wherein data symbols can be transmitted simultaneously over multiple frequency subcarriers (e.g., OFDM, CP-OFDM, DFT-spread OFMD, UFMC, FMBC, etc.). System 100 can be configured to provide and employ 5G wireless networking features and functionalities. 5G wireless communication networks are expected to fulfill the demand of exponentially increasing data traffic (first data service in the first network) and to allow people and machines, eg; phones, smart phones, tablets, etc. (electronic device) to enjoy gigabit data rates with virtually zero latency (first service latency), [0045], lines 11-13); and
continuously monitoring a first temperature of the chip system (Because performance of radio frequency (RF) components can degrade with excessive heat, UE devices can shut down if the temperature rises above maximum safe operation temperatures. The UE device can be usable again once the temperature cools down to a safe operating range; thus is seen as when UE determines that its temperature rises above an unsafe range, it will shut itself down, [0031], lines 5-7);
if the first temperature is greater than a first preset temperature (UE devices can shut down if the temperature rises above maximum safe operation temperatures, [0031], line 6):
triggering handover from the first network to a second network (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9); and
Jia does not specifically disclose concept of obtaining a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the chip system, wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network; and
determining a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency.
However, White et al specifically teaches concept of obtaining a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the chip system (first user communication device (electronic device) receives communication link parameter latency (second service latency of running the first data service) or jitter consists of different packets with different delay or parameter latencies from IP access point (second network) [0075], lines 1-3), wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network (Sometimes, however, the hybrid mobile device 124 may experience a loss of service with or degradation to the WiFi connection. This commonly occurs if the hybrid mobile device 124 moves out of range of the IP access point 120 (second network) or the quality of the connection with the IP access point 120 (second network) otherwise degrades. In such a scenario, it is necessary to handoff or hand over the call over to the mobile carrier network 110 (first network) to avoid terminating the communication session; thus is seen as quality of the connection (performance) of mobile carrier network 110 (first network) is higher than of the IP access point 120 (second network), [0043], lines 2-5); and
determining a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency (first user communication device (electronic device) receives communication link parameter latency (second service latency of running the first data service) or jitter ie. different packets with different delay or parameter latencies (first service latency and the second service latency) from IP access point (second network). According to the International Telecommunication Union--Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T) recommendations, one-way latency (e.g; delay) follows the following constraints: under 150 ms is acceptable; 150 to 400 ms is acceptable with limitations; and over 400 ms is unacceptable. When a user indicates that the quality of a communication link has degraded, the one or more communication link parameters latency (e.g; delay) (first service latency and the second service latency) may be recorded and associated with a loss of quality of a communication link. A handoff profile may be established based on the user tolerance levels for various communication link parameters, [0075], lines 1-3, [0076], lines 2-4, [0080], lines 2-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Jia with concept of obtaining a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the chip system, wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network; and determining a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency of White et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve techniques for establishing and executing a handoff profile for a dual network communication device operable on multiple telecommunications networks, (White et al, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 19, Jia discloses computer program product, wherein the computer program product comprises a computer program or instructions, and when the computer program or the instructions are run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform operations comprising (methods described hereafter are capable of being stored on an article of manufacture (e.g., a machine-readable storage medium) to facilitate transporting and transferring such methodologies to computers. The term article of manufacture, as used herein, is intended to encompass a computer program accessible from any computer-readable device, carrier, or media, including a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium, [0024], lines 7-10):
in response to an operation of enabling a first data service by a user, detecting a current network (Wi-Fi transceiver 913 of the handset 900 (electronic device) detects the beacon of the access point connected to a network (current network) in response to software trigger component 938 provided that facilitates triggering of the hysteresis component 936, [0080], lines 2-3);
if the current network is a first network (handset 900 (electronic device) detects the beacon of the access point connected to a network (current network is a first network), [0080], lines 2-3):
obtaining a first service latency of running the first data service in the first network by the computer (Devices (e.g., the UEs 102 and the network device 104) of system 100 are configured to communicate wireless signals using one or more multi carrier modulation schemes, wherein data symbols can be transmitted simultaneously over multiple frequency subcarriers (e.g., OFDM, CP-OFDM, DFT-spread OFMD, UFMC, FMBC, etc.). System 100 can be configured to provide and employ 5G wireless networking features and functionalities. 5G wireless communication networks are expected to fulfill the demand of exponentially increasing data traffic (first data service in the first network) and to allow people and machines, eg; phones, smart phones, tablets, etc. (electronic device) to enjoy gigabit data rates with virtually zero latency (first service latency), [0045], lines 11-13); and
continuously monitoring a first temperature of the computer (Because performance of radio frequency (RF) components can degrade with excessive heat, UE devices can shut down if the temperature rises above maximum safe operation temperatures. The UE device can be usable again once the temperature cools down to a safe operating range; thus is seen as when UE determines that its temperature rises above an unsafe range, it will shut itself down, [0031], lines 5-7);
if the first temperature is greater than a first preset temperature (UE devices can shut down if the temperature rises above maximum safe operation temperatures, [0031], line 6):
triggering handover from the first network to a second network (3GPP has a UEAssistance Information IE that can be used to indicate to the network to reduce capabilities to address the overheating issue. The first solution can comprise the IE being passed from a source cell to a target cell in handover message; thus is seen as when the when UE is overheated, it will handover from a source cell of a first network to a target cell of another network, [0033], lines 4-5 and 9); and
Jia does not specifically disclose concept of obtaining a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the computer, wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network; and
determining a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency.
However, White et al specifically teaches concept of obtaining a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the computer (first user communication device (electronic device) receives communication link parameter latency (second service latency of running the first data service) or jitter consists of different packets with different delay or parameter latencies from IP access point (second network) [0075], lines 1-3), wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network (Sometimes, however, the hybrid mobile device 124 may experience a loss of service with or degradation to the WiFi connection. This commonly occurs if the hybrid mobile device 124 moves out of range of the IP access point 120 (second network) or the quality of the connection with the IP access point 120 (second network) otherwise degrades. In such a scenario, it is necessary to handoff or hand over the call over to the mobile carrier network 110 (first network) to avoid terminating the communication session; thus is seen as quality of the connection (performance) of mobile carrier network 110 (first network) is higher than of the IP access point 120 (second network), [0043], lines 2-5); and
determining a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency (first user communication device (electronic device) receives communication link parameter latency (second service latency of running the first data service) or jitter ie. different packets with different delay or parameter latencies (first service latency and the second service latency) from IP access point (second network). According to the International Telecommunication Union--Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T) recommendations, one-way latency (e.g; delay) follows the following constraints: under 150 ms is acceptable; 150 to 400 ms is acceptable with limitations; and over 400 ms is unacceptable. When a user indicates that the quality of a communication link has degraded, the one or more communication link parameters latency (e.g; delay) (first service latency and the second service latency) may be recorded and associated with a loss of quality of a communication link. A handoff profile may be established based on the user tolerance levels for various communication link parameters, [0075], lines 1-3, [0076], lines 2-4, [0080], lines 2-4).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Jia with concept of obtaining a second service latency of running the first data service in the second network by the computer, wherein network performance of the first network is higher than network performance of the second network; and determining a network handover policy based on the first service latency and the second service latency of White et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve techniques for establishing and executing a handoff profile for a dual network communication device operable on multiple telecommunications networks, (White et al, [0002], lines 1-2).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681