DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,4-5,9,13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brickl et al. (US 2015/0265108).
Claim 1, Brickl discloses a hand towel (hand towels are stack of sheet products) dispenser comprising: an opening (figs.1-2) for accessing hand towels stored in the dispenser; an inner surface extending from the opening, wherein the inner surface defines an internal cavity within the dispenser for storing hand towels (fig.2), and wherein each inner dimension of the opening is at least as large as a corresponding adjacent inner dimension of the cavity such that the cavity comprises substantially no ligature points; and a plurality of flexible tabs (15; figs.2-4c; para.0092) located at the opening, the tabs arranged to retain hand towels within the cavity.
Claim 4, Brickl discloses wherein the plurality of flexible tabs (15; figs.2-4c; para.0092) comprises at least two tabs which are located at opposite sides of the opening from one another.
Claim 5, Brickl discloses wherein the opening is substantially rectangular in shape (fig.2).
Claim 9, Brickl discloses a planar surface (under surface of 8 which rests on the wall of a counter top) for attachment to a wall.
Claim 13, Brickl discloses wherein the cavity is substantially rectangular in cross-section (see figures).
Claim 14, Brickl discloses wherein the inner surface comprises four planar side surfaces (see figures), and a planar end surface at a distal end of the internal cavity from the opening, and wherein each planar side surface extends from a respective edge of the opening (see figures).
Claim 15, Brickl discloses wherein an upper outer surface (fig.1; outer top portion by 6 on the far left & right) of the dispenser that is at an opposite side of the dispenser from the opening (7), is sloped.
Claim 16, Brickl discloses wherein an upper outer surface (fig.1; outer top portion by 6 on the far left & right) of the dispenser that is at an opposite side of the dispenser from the opening (7) is sloped downwards (fig;1) from the planar surface (see figures).
Claims 1,4-8,11,17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baer et al. (US 2011/0011878).
Claim 1, Baer discloses a hand towel dispenser comprising: an opening (figs.1-2) for accessing hand towels stored in the dispenser; an inner surface extending from the opening, wherein the inner surface defines an internal cavity within the dispenser for storing hand towels (fig.2), and wherein each inner dimension of the opening is at least as large as a corresponding adjacent inner dimension of the cavity such that the cavity comprises substantially no ligature points; and a plurality of flexible tabs (33,37) located at the opening, the tabs arranged to retain hand towels within the cavity.
Claim 4, Baer discloses wherein the plurality of flexible tabs (33,37) comprises at least two tabs which are located at opposite sides of the opening from one another.
Claim 5, Baer discloses wherein the opening is substantially rectangular in shape (fig.3).
Claim 6, Baer discloses wherein the plurality of tabs comprises two tabs (49,51) located along a first long edge of the opening, and two tabs (83,84) located along an opposing second long edge of the opening.
Claim 7, Baer discloses wherein the two tabs (49,51) located along the first long edge are separated from one another by a first distance, and wherein the two tabs (83,84) located along the second long edge are separated from one another by a second distance that is shorter than the first distance (fig.2).
Claim 8, Baer discloses wherein the two tabs (49,51) located along the first long edge are equally spaced from a midpoint thereof; and wherein the two tabs (83,84) located along the second long edge are equally spaced from a midpoint thereof.
Claim 11, Baer discloses wherein the dispenser is of hollow construction (see figures).
Claim 17, Baer discloses wherein each of the plurality of tabs is tapered (33,37; fig.2).
Claim 18, Baer discloses wherein each of the plurality of tabs is rounded (33,37; fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer et al. (US 2011/0011878) in view of Reedy et al. (US 2009/0314793).
Claim 2, Baer discloses wherein the inner surface comprises an end surface defining a distal end of the cavity from the opening (fig.2).
Baer does not disclose wherein the inner surface is arranged such that an inner dimension of the cavity is largest at the opening and tapers towards the end surface.
Reedy discloses wherein the inner surface is arranged such that an inner dimension of the cavity is largest at the opening and tapers towards the end surface (fig.1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Baer with wherein the inner surface is arranged such that an inner dimension of the cavity is largest at the opening and tapers towards the end surface because tapering the sidewall of a sheet dispenser is very well-known in the art and does not impart any novelty on the claim limitation.
Claim 3, Baer does not disclose wherein the inner surface is arranged such that each inner dimension of the cavity is largest at the opening and tapers towards the end surface.
Reedy discloses wherein the inner surface is arranged such that each inner dimension of the cavity is largest at the opening and tapers towards the end surface (fig.1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Baer with wherein the inner surface is arranged such that each inner dimension of the cavity is largest at the opening and tapers towards the end surface because tapering the sidewall of a sheet dispenser is very well-known in the art and does not impart any novelty on the claim limitation.
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer et al. (US 2011/0011878) in view of Knudsen (US 2011/0192862).
Claim 10, Baer does not disclose a planar surface for attachment to a wall, wherein the long edges of the opening are oriented substantially perpendicular to the planar surface.
Knudsen discloses a planar surface (28) for attachment to a wall, wherein the long edges of the opening are oriented substantially perpendicular to the planar surface (fig.3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Baer with wherein the long edges of the opening are oriented substantially perpendicular to the planar surface simply to enable a wall mount configuration.
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baer et al. (US 2011/0011878) in view of Maissami (US 7,604,146).
Claim 12, Baer does not disclose formed by rotational moulding.
Maissami discloses formed by rotational moulding (C5:L10-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the device of Baer with formed by rotational moulding because it is very well-known in the art to employ rotational moulding in the manufacturing process.
Conclusion
/AYODEJI T OJOFEITIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651