DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-22, 24-26, 28, 33-34 and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telefus et al (US Publication No. 20220399174) in view of Shimomura et al (US Publication No. 20180131178).
Regarding claim 20, Telefus discloses a circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown below, para. [0050]- [0052]) for protecting an electric low-voltage circuit (CB), the circuit breaker (CB) comprising: a housing (H) having at least one grid-side (101) connection (103, 104) and at least one load-side (102) connection (103, 104); an electronic interruption unit (301, 302) being associated with said at least one grid- side (101) connection (103, 104); a mechanical isolating contact unit (401, 402) connected in series with said electronic interruption unit (301, 302), said mechanical isolating contact unit (401, 402) being associated with said at least one load-side (102) connection (103, 104); said mechanical isolating contact unit (401, 402) having contacts (i.e., contacts of relays 401 and 402) opening (OFF) to prevent a current (I) flow or closing (ON) to permit a current (I) flow in the low-voltage circuit (CB); said electronic interruption unit (301, 302) having switch elements (301, 302) configured to be switched into a high-ohmic state (OFF) to prevent a current (I) flow or into a low-ohmic (ON) to permit a current (I) flow in the low-voltage circuit (CB); a current sensor unit (201, 202) for determining a current (I) level in the low-voltage circuit (CB); a control unit (206) connected to said current sensor unit (201, 202), to said mechanical isolating contact unit (401, 402) and to said electronic interruption unit (301, 302), for initiating prevention (i.e., switching OFF) of a current (I) flow of the low-voltage circuit (CB) upon exceeding (i.e., such as an overcurrent fault event; see for example para. [0042]) at least one of current or current/time limit values (i.e., such as over-current protection based upon real-time pre-selected current values; see for example para. [0096]); and said electronic interruption unit (301, 302) being switched to a low-ohmic state (OFF).
Telefus does not explicitly disclose wherein the electronic interruption unit has a semiconductor-based switching element nor a first period of time to test functionality of the circuit breaker upon said contacts of said mechanical isolating contact unit being closed and said electronic interruption unit being switched to a high-ohmic state.
Shimomura discloses a power supply control apparatus (i.e., see for example fig. 10 as shown below, para. [0096]- [0099]); wherein the electronic interruption unit (3) has a semiconductor-based switching element (i.e., the switching device 3 is not limited to the MOSFET but may be an IGBT; see para. [0026]); and a first period of time (i.e., such as t1; see for example the timing chart in fig. 4, para. [0042]) to test functionality (i.e., such as the ON/OFF function/operation of relay 4 versus its switching-time coordination with power switch 3; see for example the timing chart in fig. 4, para. [0042]) of the circuit breaker (CB) upon said contacts (i.e., the contacts of relay 4) of said mechanical isolating contact unit (4) being closed (ON) and said electronic interruption unit (3) being switched to a high-ohmic state (OFF).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the semiconductor-switch in Telefus, as taught by Shimomura, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards a fast response time, low on-resistance, and efficient power handling capabilities.
Regarding claim 21, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Telefus further discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]); wherein a voltage level (V) across said electronic interruption unit (301, 302) can be determined (i.e., via 203, 204) for a conductor (i.e., the voltage sensor 203-204 is clamped across the voltage terminals and that is the terminal of the hot/live wire/conductor 103 and the terminal of the cold/neutral wire/conductor 104).
Also, Shimomura furthermore discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]); wherein a voltage level (V) across said electronic interruption unit (3) can be determined (i.e., such as to be determined via voltage sensors 6C and 6B; see for example the timing chart in fig. 4, para. [0042]) for a conductor (i.e., the voltage sensor 6A-6C is clamped across the voltage terminals and that is the terminal of the hot/live wire/conductor P and the terminal of the cold/neutral wire/conductor N; see for example the timing chart in fig. 4, para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 22, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Shimomura further discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]); wherein: the voltage level (V) across said electronic interruption unit (3) is determined (i.e., such as to be determined via voltage sensors 6C and 6B; see for example the timing chart in fig. 4, para. [0042]) upon said electronic interruption unit (3) being switched to the low-ohmic state (OFF) for the first period of time (i.e., such as t1; see for example the timing chart in fig. 4, para. [0042]); and a first fault condition (i.e., such as fault diagnoses, a first fault condition; see for example para. [0055]) is present upon exceeding a first voltage threshold value (i.e., such as fault diagnoses, exceeds a first voltage threshold value; see for example para. [0055]), causing at least one of a further low-ohmic state (OFF) of said electronic interruption unit (3) to be avoided or opening of said contacts (i.e., the contacts of relay 4) to be initiated (i.e., such as to be initiated at t2; see for example the timing chart in fig. 4, para. [0042]).
Regarding claim 24, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Shimomura further discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]); which further comprises a first voltage sensor unit (6A) connected to said control unit (5) for determining (i.e., such as the driving control device 5 performs fault diagnoses of the switching device 3 and the relay 4 for a period from the time t.sub.1 to the time t.sub.c based on the detected values detected by the voltage sensors 6A to 6C or the detected values detected by the current sensors 7A and 7B; see for example para. [0055]) a level (i.e., such as the voltage level value read by 6A; see for example para. [0055]) of a first voltage (i.e., such as the voltage at 6A during t1; see for example the timing chart in fig. 4, para. [0042]) between a grid-side (1) connection point (P, N) and a load-side (2) connection point (P, N) of said electronic interruption unit (3).
Regarding claim 25, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Shimomura further discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]); which further comprises: a second voltage sensor unit (6B) connected to said control unit (5) for determining (i.e., such as the driving control device 5 performs fault diagnoses of the switching device 3 and the relay 4 for a period from the time t.sub.1 to the time t.sub.c based on the detected values detected by the voltage sensors 6A to 6C or the detected values detected by the current sensors 7A and 7B; see for example para. [0055]) a level (i.e., such as the voltage level value read by 6B; see for example para. [0055]) of a second voltage (i.e., such as the second voltage across 6B; see for example para. [0055]) between a grid-side (1) neutral conductor connection (N) and a grid-side (1) phase conductor connection (P); and a third voltage sensor unit (6C) connected to said control unit (5) for determining (i.e., such as the driving control device 5 performs fault diagnoses of the switching device 3 and the relay 4 for a period from the time t.sub.1 to the time t.sub.c based on the detected values detected by the voltage sensors 6A to 6C or the detected values detected by the current sensors 7A and 7B; see for example para. [0055]) a level (i.e., such as the voltage level value read by 6C; see for example para. [0055]) of a third voltage (i.e., such as the third voltage across 6C; see for example para. [0055]) between the grid-side (1) neutral conductor connection (N) and the load-side (2) connection point (P, N) of said electronic interruption unit (3); and the level (i.e., such as the voltage level value read by 6A; see for example para. [0055]) of the first voltage (i.e., such as the first voltage across 6A; see for example para. [0055]) between the grid-side (1) connection point (P, N) and the load-side (2) connection point (P, N) of said electronic interruption unit (3) being determined (i.e., such as the driving control device 5 performs fault diagnoses of the switching device 3 and the relay 4 for a period from the time t.sub.1 to the time t.sub.c based on the detected values detected by the voltage sensors 6A to 6C or the detected values detected by the current sensors 7A and 7B; see for example para. [0055]) from a difference (i.e., such as the difference voltage threshold amount between sensor 6B and sensor 6C; see for example para. [0055]) between the second (i.e., such as the second voltage across 6B; see for example para. [0055]) and third voltages (i.e., such as the third voltage across 6C; see for example para. [0055]).
Regarding claim 26, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Telefus further discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]); wherein said current sensor unit (201, 202) is provided on a circuit side (i.e., 201 and 202 are deployed in series close to the supply-side of the circuit breaker) between a grid-side (101) phase conductor connection (103) and a load-side (102) phase conductor connection (103).
Also, Shimomura furthermore discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]); wherein said current sensor unit (7A, 7B) is provided on a circuit side (i.e., 7A and 7B are deployed in series close to the supply-side of the circuit breaker) between a grid-side (1) phase conductor connection (P) and a load-side (2) phase conductor connection (P).
Regarding claim 28, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Shimomura further discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]); wherein said control unit (5) is configured (i.e., such as to coordinate the ON/OFF operation of relay 4 versus its switching-time coordination with power switch 3; see for example the timing chart in fig. 4, para. [0042]) to open (OFF) but not to close (ON) said contacts (i.e., the contacts of relay 4) of said mechanical isolating contact unit (4).
Regarding claim 33, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Telefus further discloses a method for operating a circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]), also, Shimomura furthermore discloses a method for operating a circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]). As for the rest of the limitations in claim 33, is rejected for the same reasons as already stated/discussed above in rejected claim 20. {See rejection of claim 20}
Regarding claim 34, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Telefus further discloses the method for operating the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]), also, Shimomura furthermore discloses the method for operating the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]). As for the rest of the limitations in claim 34, is rejected for the same reasons as already stated/discussed above in rejected claim 22. {See rejection of claim 22}
Regarding claim 36, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Telefus further discloses the method for operating the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]); wherein a non-transitory computer program product (i.e., such as a non-transitory computer program product, the microprocessor 206 includes the functionality known in the art to be included with microprocessors such as I/O, memory, a processor and a user interface; see for example para. [0047]) comprising instructions (i.e., such as the microprocessor 206 is further programmed to send alerts out the communication device upon detection of a fault condition, and, to receive operating instructions; see for example para. [0047]) which, upon execution of the program (i.e., such as the operating instructions include programming the microprocessor to both open and close the switches 111A, B, thereby enabling remote actuation of the GFCI. The operating instructions may also include limits used to determine fault conditions; see for example para. [0047]) by a microcontroller (206), cause the microcontroller (206) to support or carry out the method (i.e., such as the microprocessor 206 further includes a communication device 207 to send and receive electronic communication from and to the GFCI; see for example para. [0047]). Also, Shimomura furthermore discloses the method for operating the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]). As for the rest of the limitations in claim 36, is rejected for the same reasons as already stated/discussed above in rejected claim 20. {See rejection of claim 20}
Regarding claim 37, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Telefus further discloses the method for operating the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]); wherein a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (i.e., such as memory; the microprocessor 206 includes the functionality known in the art to be included with microprocessors such as I/O, memory, a processor and a user interface; see for example para. [0047]) on which the computer program product (i.e., such as product/operating instructions; the microprocessor 206 further includes a communication device 207 to send and receive electronic communication from and to the GFCI. The communication may include the status of the GFCI, such as notification of a fault, or that the GFCI is functioning properly. The microprocessor 206 is further programmed to send alerts out the communication device upon detection of a fault condition, and, to receive operating instructions. The operating instructions include programming the microprocessor to both open and close the switches 111A, B, thereby enabling remote actuation of the GFCI. The operating instructions may also include limits used to determine fault conditions; see for example para. [0047]) is stored (i.e., such as stored; the analog sense signals are typically processed by comparators or A/D converters and the digitized signals stored in data storage elements that include random access memory, read only memory and other solid-state memory and non-solid state memory devices as are known in the art. The Microprocessor includes components known in the art and associated with microprocessors including user interfaces to allow actuation and programming of the microprocessor, memory for storage of data and input and output ports for receiving data and sending control signals respectively; see for example para. [0074]).
Regarding claim 38, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Telefus further discloses the method for operating the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]); wherein a data carrier signal (i.e., such a data carrier signal/memory storage; The analog sense signals are typically processed by comparators or A/D converters and the digitized signals stored in data storage elements that include random access memory, read only memory and other solid-state memory and non-solid state memory devices as are known in the art; see for example para. [0074]) transmitting (i.e., such as transmitting/sending; The Microprocessor includes components known in the art and associated with microprocessors including user interfaces to allow actuation and programming of the microprocessor, memory for storage of data and input and output ports for receiving data and sending control signals respectively; see for example para. [0074]) the non-transitory computer program product (i.e., such as product/operating instructions; the microprocessor 206 further includes a communication device 207 to send and receive electronic communication from and to the GFCI. The communication may include the status of the GFCI, such as notification of a fault, or that the GFCI is functioning properly. The microprocessor 206 is further programmed to send alerts out the communication device upon detection of a fault condition, and, to receive operating instructions. The operating instructions include programming the microprocessor to both open and close the switches 111A, B, thereby enabling remote actuation of the GFCI. The operating instructions may also include limits used to determine fault conditions; see for example para. [0047]).
Claims 23 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telefus et al (US Publication No. 20220399174) in view of Shimomura et al (US Publication No. 20180131178) and further in view of Franklin (US Patent No. 4858054).
Regarding claim 23, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Telefus further discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]).
Shimomura furthermore discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]).
Neither Telefus nor Shimomura explicitly discloses wherein said electronic interruption unit is switched to the low-ohmic state upon an instantaneous value of a voltage between a grid-side neutral conductor connection and a grid-side phase conductor connection falling below a second voltage threshold value.
Franklin discloses a circuit breaker (i.e., 18; see for example fig. 1, Col. 7 lines 33+); wherein said electronic interruption unit (i.e., such as three triacs 24; see for example fig. 1, Col. 7 lines 33+) is switched to the low-ohmic state (ON) upon an instantaneous value (i.e., such as an instantaneous value; see for example fig. 1, Col. 7 lines 33+) of a voltage (i.e., such as significant importance in the present instance is that they are triggered in response to the instantaneous voltage value, in contrast to the circuit breaker's response to the root mean square value of current flow; see for example fig. 1, Col. 7 lines 33+) between a grid-side (i.e., 12; see for example fig. 1, Col. 7 lines 33+) neutral conductor connection (i.e., 16; see for example fig. 1, Col. 7 lines 33+) and a grid-side (i.e., 12; see for example fig. 1, Col. 7 lines 33+) phase conductor connection (i.e., 14; see for example fig. 1, Col. 7 lines 33+) falling below (i.e., such as dropping below; see for example fig. 1, Col. 7 lines 33+) a second voltage threshold value (i.e., such as a second voltage threshold value, the three triacs 24 cover three voltage parameters/thresholds to guarantee the instantaneous ON/OFF operation scheme; see for example fig. 1, Col. 7 lines 33+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the characteristics of the instantaneous voltage value in Telefus, as taught by Franklin, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards enabling instantaneous detection of severe short-circuit faults.
Regarding claim 35, Telefus in view of Shimomura and further in view of Franklin and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above. Also, the teachings of Telefus as modified by Franklin have been discussed above as well.
Telefus discloses the method for operating the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]); and, Shimomura further discloses the method for operating the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]), also, Franklin furthermore discloses the method for operating the circuit breaker (i.e., 18; see for example fig. 1, Col. 7 lines 33+). As for the rest of the limitations of claim 35 is rejected for the same reasons as already stated/discussed above in rejected claim 23. {See rejection of claim 23}
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telefus et al (US Publication No. 20220399174) in view of Shimomura et al (US Publication No. 20180131178) and further in view of De Jong (US Patent No. 5488530).
Regarding claim 27, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Telefus further discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]).
Shimomura furthermore discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]).
Neither Telefus nor Shimomura explicitly discloses which further comprises: a plurality of grid-side and load-side phase conductor connections for a low- voltage circuit being a three-phase alternating current circuit; a contact of said mechanical isolating contact unit and electronic interruption units being provided between each of said plurality of grid-side and load-side phase conductor connections; and first voltage sensor units for determining a voltage level across said respective electronic interruption units.
Jong discloses a system and method for protecting relay contacts (i.e., see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+); wherein a plurality (i.e., lines 48, 50, 52; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+) of grid-side (i.e., 46; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+) and load-side (i.e., 20; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+) phase conductor connections (i.e., line-connection 48, 50, 52; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+) for a low- voltage circuit (i.e., 46-to-20 CKT; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+) being a three-phase alternating current circuit (i.e., 3-phace source 46 to feed 3-phase load 20 via lines 48, 50, 52; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+); a contact (i.e., 12, 16; see for example fig. 2, Col. 5 lines 41+) of said mechanical isolating contact unit (i.e., 64; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+) and electronic interruption units (i.e., transistors 60; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+) being provided between each of said plurality (i.e., lines 48, 50, 52; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+) of grid-side (i.e., 46; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+) and load-side (i.e., 20; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+) phase conductor connections (i.e., line-connection 48, 50, 52; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+); and first voltage sensor units (i.e., a phase/voltage sensor 62; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+) for determining a voltage level across (i.e., such as the controller 54 preferably also includes a phase/voltage sensor 62 which is connected to the housekeeping power source 66 and also connected to the power lines 48, 50 and 52. The phase voltage sensor 62 additionally is connected to a three-phase bypass relay 64 which is also connected to housekeeping power source 66 and power lines 48, 50 and 52.; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+) said respective electronic interruption units (i.e., transistors 60; see for example fig. 3, Col. 5 lines 41+).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the three-phase circuit scheme in Telefus, as taught by Jong, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards minimizing power quality issues such as voltage sags and harmonic distortions.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telefus et al (US Publication No. 20220399174) in view of Shimomura et al (US Publication No. 20180131178) and further in view of Larson et al (US Publication No. 20100149711).
Regarding claim 29, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Telefus further discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]).
Shimomura furthermore discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]).
Neither Telefus nor Shimomura explicitly discloses which further comprises a mechanical handle for operating said mechanical isolating contact unit to switch an opening or a closing of said contacts.
Larson discloses a circuit breaker (i.e., 100; see for example fig. 2, para. [0020]- [0031]); wherein a mechanical handle (i.e., 110; see for example fig. 2, para. [0020]- [0031]) for operating said mechanical isolating contact unit (i.e., the armature 208 contacts; see for example fig. 2, para. [0020]- [0031]) to switch an opening (i.e., such as OFF/trip; see for example fig. 2, para. [0020]- [0031]) or a closing (i.e., such as ON; see for example fig. 2, para. [0020]- [0031]) of said contacts (i.e., the armature 208 contacts; see for example fig. 2, para. [0020]- [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the handle-mechanism in Telefus, as taught by Larson, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards indicating whether the breaker is ON or OFF.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telefus et al (US Publication No. 20220399174) in view of Shimomura et al (US Publication No. 20180131178) and further in view of Toth (US Publication No. 20050201030).
Regarding claim 30, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Telefus further discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]); which further comprises a power supply (205) for said control unit (206), said power supply (205) being connected to a grid- side (101) neutral conductor connection (104) and a grid-side (101) phase conductor connection (103).
Shimomura furthermore discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]).
Neither Telefus nor Shimomura explicitly discloses a fuse or a melting fuse provided in a connection to said grid-side neutral conductor connection.
Toth discloses an electrical overvoltage protection circuit (i.e., 10; see for example the only one figure, para. [0018]- [0029]); wherein a fuse or a melting fuse (i.e., 52, 20; see for example the only one figure, para. [0018]- [0029]) provided in a connection (i.e., fuse block 52 is connected to the internal power supply 46 electrically protected via conductor 50 to the ground chassis 12, and fuse block 20 is connected to the external power supply 14 electrically protected via conductor 18 to the ground chassis 12; see for example the only one figure, para. [0018]- [0029]) to said grid-side (i.e., 46, 14; see for example the only one figure, para. [0018]- [0029]) neutral conductor connection (i.e., 12; see for example the only one figure, para. [0018]- [0029]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the fuse device in Telefus, as taught by Toth, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards faster and more reliable protection against severe over currents and short circuits.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telefus et al (US Publication No. 20220399174) in view of Shimomura et al (US Publication No. 20180131178) and further in view of Emerson et al (US Publication No. 20150326001).
Regarding claim 31, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Telefus further discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]).
Shimomura furthermore discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]).
Neither Telefus nor Shimomura explicitly discloses wherein, upon said contacts of said mechanical isolating contact unit being closed and said electronic interruption unit having the low-ohmic state: said electronic interruption unit has the high-ohmic state and said mechanical isolating contact unit remains closed, upon detecting a current exceeding a first current value for a first time limit; said electronic interruption unit has the high-ohmic state and said mechanical isolating contact unit is opened, upon detecting a current exceeding a second current value for a second time limit; and said electronic interruption unit has the high-ohmic state and said mechanical isolating contact unit is opened, upon detecting a current exceeding a third current value.
Emerson discloses a circuit breaker system (i.e., see for example fig. 3 as shown below, para. [0075]- [0194]); wherein, upon said contacts (Cs) of said mechanical isolating contact unit (TC) being closed (ON) and said electronic interruption unit (EIU) having the low-ohmic state (ON): said electronic interruption unit (EIU) has the high-ohmic state (OFF) and said mechanical isolating contact unit (TC) remains closed (ON), upon detecting a current (ampacity-rating Ix) exceeding a first current value (X/20A) for a first time limit (3x time factor per ampacity 20A); said electronic interruption unit (EIU) has the high-ohmic state (OFF) and said mechanical isolating contact unit (TC) is opened (OFF), upon detecting a current (ampacity-rating Iy) exceeding a second current value (Y/80A) for a second time limit (3x time factor per ampacity 80A); and said electronic interruption unit (EIU) has the high-ohmic state (OFF) and said mechanical isolating contact unit (TC) is opened (OFF), upon detecting a current (ampacity-rating Iz) exceeding a third current value (Z/1000A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included multiple current sensors in Telefus, as taught by Emerson, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards monitoring multiple loads with high precision.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telefus et al (US Publication No. 20220399174) in view of Shimomura et al (US Publication No. 20180131178) and further in view of Zhou (US Publication No. 20140078633).
Regarding claim 32, Telefus in view of Shimomura, and the teachings of Telefus as modified by Shimomura have been discussed above.
Telefus further discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 4 as shown above, para. [0050]- [0052]).
Shimomura furthermore discloses the circuit breaker (i.e., CB; see for example fig. 10 as shown above, para. [0096]- [0099]).
Neither Telefus nor Shimomura explicitly discloses wherein said control unit has a microcontroller.
Zhou discloses a circuit breaker (i.e., circuit breaker 2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0034]); wherein said control unit (i.e., electronic trip unit 26; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0034]) has a microcontroller (i.e., microcontroller 28; see for example fig. 1, para. [0026]- [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the microcontroller device in Telefus, as taught by Zhou, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards undertaking other functions such as serial data-circuit stream communications and storage of the circuit breaker historical trips information.
Claims 1-19 are cancelled.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838