DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to application filed on 11-10-25. Claims 18-36 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over US 2021/0126447 Miller (“Miller”) in view of US 2022/0139644 to Niehoff (“Niehoff”).
Regarding claim 18, Miller discloses a circuit breaker device (fig. 1) for protecting an electric low-voltage circuit ([0042]), the circuit breaker device comprising: a housing ([0048] and figs. 5-7) having grid-side connections (i.e. Line-IN 110)(figs.1 and 6) and at least one load-side connection (i.e. Line-OUT 112)(figs.1 and 7); an electronic interruption unit (i.e. FET power module 106)(fig.1) having semiconductor-based switching elements (106), said electronic interruption unit (106) being associated with said grid-side connections; a mechanical isolating contact unit (i.e. air-gap contact switches 114)(fig.1) having contacts, said mechanical isolating contact unit having a series connection (fig.1) to said electronic interruption unit, and said mechanical isolating contact unit being associated with said at least one load-side connection (During normal operating conditions, the three air-gap contact switches 114 in the air gap disconnect unit 108 are closed and the three power FETs 116 in the PET power module 106 are ON); said mechanical isolating contact unit configured to be switched by opening said contacts to prevent a current flow or by closing said contacts to allow a current flow in the low-voltage circuit ([0042]); said electronic interruption unit configured to be switched by said semiconductor-based switching elements into a high-resistance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements to prevent a current flow or into a low resistance state of said semiconductor-based switching elements to allow a current flow in the low-voltage circuit ([0042]); a current sensor unit (current and voltage sensors 154 and 156) and (fig.1)) for determining a current level in the low-voltage circuit ([0040]); a control unit (i.e. sense and drive circuit 104 and MCU 102)(fig.1) connected to said current sensor unit, to said mechanical isolating contact unit and to said electronic interruption unit (fig.1), for initiating prevention of a current flow in the low-voltage circuit upon exceeding at least one of current limits ([0042]) or current-time limits; and provided between conductors of the low-voltage circuit for causing a measurement current to flow (current and voltage sensors 154 and 156) and (fig.1)) through said electronic interruption unit, via said grid-side connections, upon said contacts of said mechanical isolating contact unit being open and said electronic interruption unit being switched to low-resistance (refer to current and voltage sensors 154 and 156)(fig.1)(refer also to figures 8, 9A, 9B, 10A, 10B, 14, 15, and 18).
But, Miller does not disclose a measurement impedance
However, Niehoff disclose a measurement impedance (i.e. resistor 10) and (fig.1),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miller by adding resistor measurement as part of its configuration as taught by Niehoff, in order to control the circuit breaker, provide safety, for example during maintenance and fault condition.
Regarding claim 19, Miller discloses all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claim above.
But, Miller does not disclose said measurement impedance,
However, Niehoff disclose said measurement impedance (i.e. resistor 10) and (fig.1),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miller by adding resistor measurement as part of its configuration as taught by Niehoff, in order to control the circuit breaker, provide safety, for example during maintenance and fault condition.
Regarding claim 20, Miller discloses to a conductor at said grid side connections (current and voltage sensors 154 and 156) and (fig.1) and (refer also to figures 8, 9A, 9B, 10A, 10B, 14, 15, and 18)).
But, Miller does not discloses said measurement impedance has another end connected,
However, Niehoff disclose said measurement impedance (i.e. resistor 10) and (fig.1) has another end connected,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miller by adding resistor measurement as part of its configuration as taught by Niehoff, in order to control the circuit breaker, provide safety, for example during maintenance and fault condition.
Regarding claim 21, Miller discloses all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Miller does not discloses said measurement impedance is at least one of an electrical resistor (10) or a capacitor.
However, Niehoff said measurement impedance (i.e. resistor 10) and (fig.1) is at least one of an electrical resistor (10) or a capacitor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miller by adding resistor measurement as part of its configuration as taught by Niehoff, in order to control the circuit breaker, provide safety, for example during maintenance and fault condition.
Regarding claim 22, Miller discloses all the claim limitation as set forth in the rejection of claims above.
But, Miller does not discloses said measurement impedance is a series circuit of an electrical resistor and capacitor.
However, Niehoff disclose said measurement impedance (i.e. resistor 10) and (fig.1) is a series circuit of an electrical resistor and capacitor (i.e. resistor 10 and capacitor 5) and (fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Miller by adding resistor measurement as part of its configuration as taught by Niehoff, in order to control the circuit breaker, provide safety, for example during maintenance and fault condition.
Regarding claim 23, Miller discloses the claimed invention except for “said measurement impedance has a high resistance or impedance value between 100k ohm and 1M ohm”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular high resistance or impedance used would depend on the desired resistance or impedance of the particular system/components used.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 24, Miller disclose the claimed invention except for “said measurement impedance has a high resistance or impedance value greater than 100k ohm”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular high resistance or impedance used would depend on the desired resistance or impedance of the particular system/components used.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 25, Miller discloses disclose the claimed invention except for “said measurement impedance has a high resistance or impedance value greater than 1M ohm”.
One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date would recognize that the particular high resistance or impedance used would depend on the desired resistance or impedance of the particular system/components used.
Since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 26, Miller discloses said electronic interruption unit is switched to a low-resistance state for a first period of time ((step 902) and (Fig.9A), (refer also to [0053])), causing a measurement current to flow (current and voltage sensors 154 and 156) and (fig.1)) through said measurement impedance with said contacts of said mechanical isolating contact unit open and said electronic interruption unit switched to a high-resistance state, for a functional test (SSCB 100 may detect or determine by performing one of the self-diagnostic or self-maintenance tests or measurements described above that: a short circuit inside the SSCB 100 or an overcurrent in the SSCB's l00's load circuit [0075]) of the circuit breaker device or of said electronic interruption unit.
Regarding claim 27, Miller discloses a voltage level across said electronic interruption unit can be determined for a conductor ((refer to Miller steps 904, 906, and 908) (refer also to Miller [0053])).
Regarding claim 28, Miller discloses the voltage level across said electronic interruption unit, specified by said measurement impedance, is determined with said electronic interruption unit switched to a high-resistance state (implicit) (refer to [0042]); and with said contacts of said mechanical isolating contact unit open; and upon undershooting a first voltage threshold value, a first fault condition ((refer to Miller steps 808 and 814)(refer also to Miller [0051])) is present preventing at least one of a low-resistance state ((step 902) and (Fig.9A), (refer also to [0053])) of said electronic interruption unit or a closure of said contacts.
Regarding claim 29, Miller discloses the voltage level across said electronic interruption unit is determined upon said electronic interruption unit being switched to the low-resistance state for a first time period; and a second fault condition (steps 910, 914, and 920) and (figs.9A and 9B)) being is upon exceeding a second voltage threshold value (steps 910, 914, and 920) and (figs.9A and 9B)), preventing at least one of further switching of said electronic interruption unit to the low-resistance state or closure of said contacts.
Regarding claim 30, Miller discloses in an event of a fault condition ([0051] and figure 8), closing of said contacts of said mechanical isolating contact unit is prevented and no enable signal ([0046]) is output to said mechanical isolating contact unit.
Regarding claim 31, Miller discloses said electronic interruption unit has a grid-side connection point (Line-IN) and a load-side connection point (Line-OUT), and a first voltage sensor unit (154) is connected to said control unit for determining a first voltage level (refer to Miller current and voltage sensors 154 and 156) (fig.1) between said grid-side connection point and said load-side connection point.
Regarding claim 32, Miller discloses said grid-side connections include a grid-side neutral conductor terminal and a grid-side phase conductor terminal; a second voltage sensor unit (current and voltage sensors 154 and 156) (fig.1)) is connected to said control unit for determining a second voltage level between said grid-side neutral conductor terminal and said grid-side phase conductor terminal; a third voltage sensor unit (sense and drive circuit 104) is connected to said control unit for determining a third voltage level between said grid-side neutral conductor terminal and said load side connection point of said electronic interruption unit; and a first voltage level between said grid-side connection point and said load side connection point of said electronic interruption unit is determined by a difference between the second and third voltages.
Regarding claim 33, Miller discloses said grid-side connections include a grid-side phase conductor terminal (three phases are measured at both the Line-IN), said at least one load-side connection includes a load-side phase conductor terminal (three phases are measured at both the Line-OUT), and said current sensor unit is provided on a circuit side (fig. 1) between said grid-side phase conductor terminal and said load-side phase conductor terminal.
Regarding claim 34, Miller discloses comprises a mechanical handle (i.e. air-gap contact switches 114) (fig.1) associated with said mechanical isolating contact unit, closing of said contacts by said mechanical handle only being possible after an enable or enable signal (refer to Miller [0046]).
Regarding claim 36, Miller discloses said control unit has a microcontroller (i.e. Miller MCU 102) (fig.1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 35 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 35 indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 35, especially upon said contacts of said mechanical isolating contact unit being closed and said electronic interruption unit having a low resistance: said electronic interruption unit becomes high resistance and said mechanical isolating contact unit remains closed, for a determined current exceeding a first current value or the first current value being exceeded for a first time limit, said electronic interruption unit becomes high resistance and said mechanical isolating contact unit is opened, for a determined current exceeding a second current value or for a second time limit; and said electronic interruption unit becomes high resistance and said mechanical isolating contact unit is opened, for a determined current exceeding a third current value.
Response to argument
Applicant’s argument filed on 11-10-25 with respect to claims 18-36 has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/ESAYAS G YESHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/Menatoallah Youssef/ SPE, Art Unit 2849