Status of the Claims
Claims 1-28 are cancelled.
Claims 29-59 are pending.
Claims 37-59 are withdrawn.
Claims 29-36 are under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1, claims 29-36 in the reply filed on 7 July 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant also elected: 177LU, SCLC, paraffin-embedded and fixed biopsy sample, and DNA damage response inhibitors. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 37-59 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7 July 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 29, 30, and 33 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite abbreviations for the first time without identifying what the abbreviation is. For example, in claim 29, the abbreviation CCKBR and CCK2R are used. It appears that the full name is used earlier in the claim, however applicant should place the abbreviation after the name.
Claim 29 recites “for the mRNA expression level” in part (a) and it should read “for an mRNA expression level.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The claims do not add additional limitations to the active method steps of claim 29. Note that while the claims limit the specific compound the compound is not required to perform the active steps of the method. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 29-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a natural phenomenon and an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) predicting a response of a patient diagnosed with cancer to treatment and/or imaging with a compound targeting cholecystokinin 2 receptor. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application based on the reasoning below:
The unpatentability of laws of nature and abstract ideas was confirmed by the U.S. Supreme Court in Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories, Inc., No. 10-1150 (March 20, 2012). “[L]aws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas” are not patentable. Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U. S. 175, 185 (1981); see also Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U. S., (2010) (slip op., at 5). “Phenomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U. S. 63, 67 (1972).
Additionally, the unpatentability of abstract ideas was confirmed by the U.S. Supreme court in Bilski v. Kappos, No. 08-964, 2010 WL 2555192 (June 28, 2010) and in Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Inti, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2354 (2014).
The following inquiries are used to determine whether a claim is drawn to patent-eligible subject matter:
Step 1. Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter? Yes, the claims are directed to a method.
Step 2A, prong 1. Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea (judicially recognized exceptions)? Yes, where the claims recite a step of determining a biomarker level and predicting response to a treatment or imaging, they encompass the mental comparison of data and the correlation of data and information to reach a conclusion. Further, the treatment decision is based on a law of nature or natural phenomenon because it is based on a level of a biomarker already occurring in the subject.
Step 2A, prong 2. Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application? No, the judicial exceptions to which the claims are directed are not integrated into a practical application because the rejected claims do not require any particular practical steps related to the determining a biomarker level and predicting response to a treatment.
Step 2B. Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claims assay a tumor sample and determine an expression level to predict treatment response.
For these reasons, the claims are rejected under USC 35 section 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 29, 32, 33, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumori et al. (Cancer Research, 1995).
Matsumori et al. teach assaying a tumor sample from both lung cancer and matched normal lung tissues. (page 276). Matsumori et al. teach examining the expression of CCK-B/gastrin receptor mRNA in human lung cancers. (page 277). Matsumori et al. teach that expression of CCK-B/gastrin receptor mRNA was not detected in normal lung tissues. (page 277). Matsumori et al. teach CCK-B/gastrin receptor was detected in all SCLCs. (page 277).
Matsumori et al. teach the active steps of claim 29. The active steps of claim 29 are assaying a tumor sample from a patient diagnosed with cancer for an mRNA expression level of CCKBR. Matsumori et al. teach this step.
The second active method step of claim 29 is determining whether the mRNA expression level of CCKBR is equal to, or greater than a predetermined cut-off range. The rest of part (b) is the result. Matsumori et al. teach the active method step of (b).
Regarding the wherein clause of claim 29, The MPEP 2111.04 states that a "wherein" clause limits a process claim where the clause "meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps". In the instant case, the "wherein" clause does not give meaning and purpose to the manipulative steps. Rather, it attempts to recite an intrinsic property of the samples tested in the claim. The active method steps of the claim do not require a type of treatment or a compound. They only require measuring an mRNA level in a sample and determining if it meets a cutoff value. Matsumori et al. teach tumor samples with greater values than non-tumor samples.
Regarding claims 32 and 33, Matsumori et al. teach tumor samples from patients with SCLC. (page 277).
Regarding claim 35, Matsumori et al. teach the use of RT-PCR. (page 276).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumori, et al. (Cancer Research, 1995) in view of Godfrey et al. (Journal of Molecular Diagnostics, 2000).
The teachings of Matsumori et al. are applied to claim 34 as they were applied to claims 29, 32, 33, and 35 above. Matsumori et al. does not teach wherein the tumor sample is a biopsy sample that is paraffin-embedded and fixed biopsy sample. Godfrey et al. teach quantitative mRNA expression analysis from formalin-fixed, paraffin-embedded tissues using RT-PCR. Godfrey et al. teach that formalin-fixed, paraffin embedded tissues proved comparable results to fresh RNA samples allowing for samples to be tested after they are harvested. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use a tissue storage method that shows comparable results to a method on fresh tissue samples allowing testing to be carried out at a later time and not in the surgical suite.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MINDY G BROWN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1683
/ANNE M. GUSSOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1683