Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-14, 16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paul, Jr. (U.S. Patent 3,410,304), hereinafter “Paul”.
In regards to claim 1, Paul discloses an insert arrangement (13,46) for a control valve for adjusting a process fluid flow of a process plant, the control valve having a valve housing (10), a housing cover (11), and an actuator (33, 34), the insert arrangement comprising: an annular mounting flange (13) configured to be inserted between the valve housing (10) and the housing cover (11), the annular mounting flange (13) being retained in an axial direction and in a radial direction in a unified fastening interface between the valve housing (10) and the hosuing cover (11); and an insert sleeve (46) configured to be reversibly attachable or attached radially on an inner side of the annular mounting flange (13) to guide the actuator (33, 34), the insert sleeve (46) including a guide surface (GS) and the actuator (33) including a guide cylinder (34) corresponding to the guide surface (GS); wherein the mounting flange (13) is adapted to hold the insert sleeve (46) in a contact-free manner with respect to the valve housing (10) and the housing cover (11).
In regards to claim 2, the insert sleeve (46) is arranged and adapted to hold the actuator (33, 34) in a contact-free manner in relation to the mounting flange (13) (at least at the guide surface).
In regards to claim 5, Paul illustrates that sleeve 46 is threaded within flange 13 such that sleeve 46 and flange 13 press against each other. Accordingly, it is the office’s position that Paul discloses that the mounting flange (13) and the insert sleeve (46) are adapted to each other to form a press connection.
In regards to claim 6, the mounting flange (13) and the insert sleeve (46) are threaded to each other.
In regards to claim 7, the mounting flange (13) includes a first axial stop (13S) to define an operation position of the insert sleeve (46). See above.
In regards to claim 8, the insert sleeve (46) includes an axial stop (46S) to define an operation position of the insert sleeve (46). See above.
In regards to claim 9, the insert sleeve (46) includes a penetration opening (i.e. the opening for actuator 33, 34) that provides pressure compensation. The office notes that the penetration opening facilitates reciprocation of actuator 33, 34 and that actuator 33, 34 controls pressure control (i.e. compensation) between an upstream end and a downstream end of the valve.
In regards to claim 10, a securing means (46S, 13S) holds the insert sleeve (46) on the mounting flange (13)
In regards to claim 11, Paul further discloses an inlet opening (21) and an outlet opening (22) and a passage opening arranged between the inlet opening (21) and the outlet opening (22), a valve seat (24) surrounding the passage opening; an actuator rod (34, 35) movable in the valve housing (10, 11), the actuator (33, 34) brought into sealing engagement with the valve seat (24), the housing cover (11) arranged opposite the passage opening and having a trough- opening adapted to the for the actuator rod (33, 35), wherein the housing cover (11) is attached to the valve housing (10). See also the rejection of claim 1.
In regards to claim 12, the (i) the guide surface (GS) has a guide surface which corresponds to an outer circumferential surface of the actuator (33, 34); (ii) the guide surface corresponds to a circumferential surface of the actuator rod (33, 34).
In regards to claim 13, the housing cover (11) and the valve housing (10) delimit an annular receiving section for an annular shoulder (AS) of the mounting flange (13) wherein the annular shoulder (AS) of the mounting flange (13) is clamped in an axial direction between the housing cover (11) and the valve housing (10).
In regards to claim 14, the housing cover (11) is configured to cover an insertion operation of the actuator (33, 34) and a sealing element (SE) is arranged between the cover (11) and the housing (10).
In regards to claim 16, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product in the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (see MPEP 2113).
In regards to claim 18, the sealing element (SE) is arranged in a contact free manner relative to the insert sleeve (46)
In regards to claim 19, the insert arrangement (6) comprises at least one mounting flange (6S) adapted to provide a seal between the mounting flange (6s) and the housing cover (7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul in view of Singleton (U.S. Patent 6,505,646).
Paul discloses all of the elements as discussed above.
Paul does not specifically disclose a valve cage integrally formed with the mounting flange.
However, Singleton teaches a flow control valve wherein a mounting flange (MF) is formed with a valve cage (C).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have designed the mounting flange of Paul to include a valve cage as taught by Singleton to reduce noise through the valve assembly.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul.
In regards to claim 17, Paul only discusses a single control valve. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have utilized a plurality of control valves within a larger system so as to facilitate user defined flow control. The office notes that each control valve would include a mounting flange. Accordingly, it is the office’s position that the plurality of control valves would include at least two different mounting flanges.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection as outlined above.
Paul discloses applicant’s invention as now claimed.
The office notes that Paul, as applied in the Non-Final Rejection and this Final Rejection, disclosed insert sleeve 46. However, applicant’s remarks, received 03/16/2026, make no mention of sleeve 46.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/ROBERT K ARUNDALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753