DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/25/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 06/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “the number” in line 5 should read “a number”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Itoh et al. (US 20070098883 A1, cited in Office Action dated 03/28/2024).
Itoh teaches a metal nanoparticle dispersion usable for ejection in the form of fine droplets to be applied in the layered shape (Title), where metal-containing dispersion (i.e., a liquid) (Abstract, [0009]) is stacked to form a wiring [0009]. Itoh teaches acquiring metal-containing liquid information including the specific gravity (i.e., density) of a metal-containing liquid containing metal fine particles [0127, 0148] and a content of solvent relative to the amount of metals (i.e., a content of metal fine particles) [0127, 0147]. Itoh teaches the fluid viscosity of the dispersion depends on the average particle size and concentration of the metal used [0105], where as the fluid fluidity (which is directly inverse to the fluid’s viscosity) affects the ratio of layer thickness to width of the dispersion applied [0016], thus the concentration of metal used intrinsically affects the thickness of each layer deposited, and in turn affects the number of layers needed to achieve a certain thickness of the layered shape. Therefore, in forming the wiring, which has a set height (e.g., in the range of 10 to 100 µm, [0045]), the process intrinsically requires calculating the number of layers of the metal-containing liquid required to form a wiring with the set overall height by stacking the metal-containing liquid, based on the metal containing liquid information acquired in the acquiring step as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh as applied to claim 1 under 35 USC 102 above, further in view of Katsumura (US 20130129916 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Itoh teaches a method according to claim 1 as noted above.
Itoh teaches Itoh teaches the fluid viscosity of the dispersion depends on the average particle size and concentration of the metal used [0105], where as the fluid fluidity (which is directly inverse to the fluid’s viscosity) affects the ratio of layer thickness [0016], and as the wiring has a set overall height (which determines the number of layers required) [0045], the fluid viscosity/fluidity comprises information indicating a correspondence relationship between the metal-containing liquid information and the number of layers of the metal-containing liquid is used to calculate the number of layers of the metal-containing liquid, based on the metal-containing liquid information acquired in the acquiring step.
Itoh does not teach wherein in the calculating step, the information is stored in a memory.
Katsumura teaches a conductive pattern forming method and conductive pattern forming system (Title), where a pattern of functional fluid is formed layer by layer by inkjet printing [0136-0138], where the pattern is a conductive pattern and the fluid contains metal microparticles [0009], thus Katsumura and Itoh are analogous to the instant application as both are directed to a circuit forming method comprising printing with layers of metal-containing liquid. Katsumura teaches where a system controller 72 controls the forming of the conductive pattern (Fig. 6, [0111]), where the system 72 receives various input information which is used to generate command signals for components of the system [0112] such as a discharge controller 84 which controls printing by ink-jet head 50 (Fig. 4, [0115]). Katsumura teaches the system controller 72 stores data in memory 82 before it is subjected to computation (i.e., a calculating step) in the system controller (Fig. 6, [0113]), thus Katsumura teaches wherein in the calculating step, information is stored in a memory.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a system controller connected to a memory and to the ink-jet head as taught by Katsumura to in the method of Itoh, as doing so would automate the manual activity of manually calculating a number of layers required to form a wiring of a set height of Katsumura, where it has long been held obvious to automate a manual activity. See MPEP 2144.04 (III).
Further, because Itoh is silent with respect to how the calculating step is used to communicate the number of layers calculated to the wiring forming step, in order to carry out the invention of Itoh one of ordinary skill in the art would necessarily look to the art for a reference teaching methods of calculating a number of layers required based on the metal-containing liquid information and communicating such to a wiring forming step suitable for use within the process of Itoh, such as that of using a system controller and memory which generates command signals for the ink-jet head as taught by Katsumura. As Itoh and Katsumura both relate to inkjet printing of metal-containing liquid to form circuits, one of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the system controller and memory as described by Katsumura.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh as applied to claim 1 under 35 USC 102 above, further in view of Chaves (US 20110062237 A1).
Regarding claim 2-4, Itoh teaches a method according to claim 1 as noted above.
Itoh teaches Itoh teaches the fluid viscosity of the dispersion depends on the average particle size and concentration of the metal used [0105], where as the fluid fluidity (which is directly inverse to the fluid’s viscosity) affects the ratio of layer thickness [0016], and as the wiring has a set overall height (which determines the number of layers required) [0045], the fluid viscosity/fluidity comprises information indicating a correspondence relationship between the metal-containing liquid information and the number of layers of the metal-containing liquid is used to calculate the number of layers of the metal-containing liquid, based on the metal-containing liquid information acquired in the acquiring step.
Itoh does not teach wherein in the calculating step, the information is stored in a memory or wherein in the acquiring step, the metal-containing liquid information is acquired by reading an identification code in which the metal-containing liquid is coded, by a reading device.
Chaves teaches an integrated smart label (Title) comprising data (Abstract, [0002, 0006]), and a system for reading data from the integrated smart label (Fig. 4, [0018]), where the smart label is attached to an item 404 (Fig. 4, [0001, 0030]), where the item may be good or materials used in a manufacturing process [0001], thus Chaves and Itoh are analogous as both relate to materials used in a manufacturing process. Chaves teaches the data from the smart label is read by the scanner 406 and reader 408 (Fig. 4, [0059-0060], and is communicated to a network with a computer 412 and database 414 which can store additional information about the item 404 (Fig. 4, [0059-0061]), where the additional information about the item is not limited [0031, 0041]. Chaves teaches the label comprises a memory 110 (Fig. 1B, [0043]), which contains the additional data (i.e., information stored in a memory) [0069, 0071]. Chaves teaches the reader can read the data stored in the semiconductor device, decode it and provide it to a computer system for eventual processing [0031].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an integrated smart label containing the metal-containing liquid information on a memory, to a container of the metal-containing liquid of Itoh and read the label of the container using a scanner and a reader as taught by Chaves, as doing so would read and provide the metal-providing liquid information to a computer system and database, enabling storage of the information and automated processing/calculating using the information, where it has long been held obvious to automate a manual activity.
As Itoh in view of Chaves suggest adding a smart label to containers of the metal-containing liquid of Itoh so that the metal-containing liquid information is provided on the memory in the identification code on the container, and suggests reading the smart label (i.e., an identification code provided on a container) to acquire such information; Itoh in view of Chaves teaches wherein in the acquiring step the metal-containing liquid information is acquired by reading an identification code provided on a container of the metal-containing liquid, in which the metal-containing liquid information is coded, by a reading device, teaching all of claims 2-4 as claimed.
Conclusion
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/NIKOLAS TAKUYA PULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1733